Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
In claim 8: “a frame-based camera module configure to…” and
“an event-based camera module configure to…”
In claim 9: “an event counter configured…to…”
In claim 10: “a flicker filter configured to…”
In claim 12: “a motion-deblurring filter configured to…”
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows the following structure corresponding to the claim limitations:
Regarding claim 8, the frame-based camera module and event-based camera modules are disclosed as either sensor arrays that are within respective separate cameras, or sensor arrays within one hybrid camera, where the sensor arrays obtain the frame-based and event-based pixel information. (See, for example, specification paragraph 31.)
Regarding claims 9, 10, and 12, although the event counter, flicker filter, and motion-deblurring filter do not have explicit corresponding hardware description, it appears that these are functions performed by the control circuit in the camera, which is described as “operating on the stored frames and events.” (See, for example, specification paragraphs 18-20 and 22.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Perrone et al. (WO 2021/259994), referred herein as Perrone.
Regarding claim 1, Perrone teaches an image enhancement method using multi-frame stacking (page 8, lines 24-26), the method comprising the following steps:
storing multiple frames of a target scene captured by a frame-based camera during an acquisition interval, storing a series of events produced during the acquisition interval by an event-based camera viewing the target scene (page 6, lines 17-25; page 8, lines 20-21; a frame-based camera captures and stores frames of a target scene, while an event-based camera produces events viewed in the target scene);
synchronizing timestamps of the events and timestamps of the frames (page 7, lines 14-24; page 7, line 28 through page 8, line 2; timestamps associated with the frames and events are synchronized);
selecting an anchor frame among the multiple frames, aligning a current frame with respect to the anchor frame, based on stored events having timestamps corresponding to an interval between the anchor frame and the current frame, and merging the aligned frame and the anchor frame (page 9, lines 1-12; page 21, lines 20-31; page 22, lines 1-3; a reference [anchor] frame is selected, frames occurring in an interval between the reference frame and current frame are aligned with respect to the reference frame, and the aligned and reference frames may be merged).
Regarding claim 3, Perrone teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the step of selecting the anchor frame comprises: for each frame, counting a number of stored events having timestamps corresponding to an exposure interval of the frame; and selecting the anchor frame based on the event counts (page 7, lines 19-24; page 9, lines 20-25; page 13, lines 8-12; page 13, line 24 through page 14, line 7; page 21, lines 24-31).
Regarding claim 6, Perrone teaches the method of claim 1, comprising a further step of subjecting each frame to a motion- deblurring operation based on stored events having timestamps corresponding to an exposure interval of the frame (page 9, lines 14-25; page 10, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 8, the limitations of this claim substantially correspond to the limitations of claim 1; thus they are rejected on similar grounds.
Regarding claim 12, the limitations of this claim substantially correspond to the limitations of claim 6; thus they are rejected on similar grounds.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7, 9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perrone, in view of Daniilidis et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0265590), referred herein as Daniilidis.
Regarding claim 2, Perrone teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the aligning step comprises: generating image information for a current frame with respect to the anchor frame, based on the stored events, and creating the aligned frame by applying the image information to the current frame (page 9, lines 1-12; page 21, lines 20-31; page 22, lines 1-3).
Perrone does not teach utilizing an optical flow.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Daniilidis teaches a method comprising storing events acquired by an event-based camera and frames captured by a frame-based camera of a target scene, and synchronizing timestamps of the events and frames (paragraph 47, lines 1-10; paragraph 163; paragraph 164, lines 1-6), and further comprising generating an optical flow for a frame based on the stored events and applying the optical flow to a current frame (paragraphs 33 and 34; paragraph 47, lines 1-10 and the last 4 lines; paragraph 70).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the optical flow of Daniilidis with the frame processing of Perrone because this facilitates deblurring of the events such that frames can be synchronized and processed with fewer errors, while producing these improved results across a broader range of target scenes (see, for example, Daniilidis, paragraph 70, lines 1-4; paragraph 78; paragraph 83, lines 1-4; paragraph 85, lines 1-4; paragraph 161, lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 7, Perrone in view of Daniilidis teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the step of generating the optical flow comprises applying a convolutional neural network to stored events having timestamps corresponding to an interval between the anchor frame and the current frame (Perrone, page 7, lines 19-24; page 9, lines 20-25; page 13, lines 8-12; page 13, line 24 through page 14, line 7; page 21, lines 20-31; Daniilidis, paragraph 34; the motivation to combine is similar to that discussed above in the rejection of claim 2).
Regarding claim 9, Perrone teaches the camera of claim 8, comprising: an event counter configured, for each frame, to count a number of events occurring during an exposure interval of the frame, and the control circuit programmed to select the anchor frame based on the event count (page 7, lines 19-24; page 9, lines 20-25; page 13, lines 8-12; page 13, line 24 through page 14, line 7; page 21, lines 24-31).
Perrone does not teach utilizing frames producing the lowest event count.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Daniilidis teaches a method comprising storing events acquired by an event-based camera and frames captured by a frame-based camera of a target scene, and synchronizing timestamps of the events and frames (paragraph 47, lines 1-10; paragraphs 93 and 94; paragraph 163; paragraph 164, lines 1-6), and further comprising counting a number of events occurring during an exposure interval of a frame, and utilizing frames producing the lowest event count (paragraphs 99 and 100; paragraph 126; paragraph 127, lines 4-10; paragraph 128).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the lowest event count utilization of Daniilidis with the frame processing of Perrone because this helps maintain a sharp contrast among pixel information and minimizes processing, without losing valuable pixel information (see, for example, Daniilidis, paragraph 100, lines 1-7; paragraph 127, lines 1-8; paragraph 128, the last 6 lines)
Regarding claim 13, Perrone teaches the camera of claim 8, comprising generating image information for the current frame from events occurring in an interval between the anchor frame and the current frame (Perrone, page 7, lines 19-24; page 9, lines 1-12 and 20-25; page 13, lines 8-12; page 13, line 24 through page 14, line 7; page 21, lines 20-31).
Perrone does not teach utilizing a convolutional neural network configured to generate an optical flow.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Daniilidis teaches a method comprising storing events acquired by an event-based camera and frames captured by a frame-based camera of a target scene, and synchronizing timestamps of the events and frames (paragraph 47, lines 1-10; paragraph 163; paragraph 164, lines 1-6), and further comprising utilizing a convolutional neural network configured to generate an optical flow for a frame based on the stored events (paragraphs 33 and 34; paragraph 47, lines 1-10 and the last 4 lines; paragraph 70).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the optical flow of Daniilidis with the frame processing of Perrone because this facilitates deblurring of the events such that frames can be synchronized and processed with fewer errors, while producing these improved results across a broader range of target scenes (see, for example, Daniilidis, paragraph 70, lines 1-4; paragraph 78; paragraph 83, lines 1-4; paragraph 85, lines 1-4; paragraph 161, lines 1-8).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perrone, in view of Tzvieli et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0318558), referred herein as Tzvieli.
Regarding claim 4, Perrone teaches the method of claim 3, comprising a further step of subjecting the events to a filtering operation prior to the counting step (page 7, line 28 through page 8, line 8; page 10, lines 25-28; page 13, lines 20-25; page 14, lines 5-10; the filtering occurs after synchronization, but before further processing [such as the selecting, aligning, and merging], in order to limit the events to those that exceed a threshold, thus reducing the number of events to process).
Perrone does not teach an operation to filter ambient flicker.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Tzvieli teaches a method comprising storing events acquired by an event-based camera and synchronizing the events with images (paragraph 136, lines 1-18), wherein the method includes an operation to filter ambient flicker (paragraph 157; paragraph 185, the last 10 lines; paragraph 198, the right side of the page, lines 3-9)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the ambient flicker filtering of Tzvieli with the filtering of Perrone because this helps reduce noise in the event information, thereby improving the processing results of the camera operations (see, for example, Tzvieli, paragraph 185, lines 1-6).
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perrone, in view of Stec et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0354897), referred herein as Stec.
Regarding claim 5, Perrone teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the interval between the anchor frame and the current frame is defined between respective exposure intervals of the anchor frame and the current frame (page 7, lines 19-24; page 9, lines 20-25; page 13, lines 8-12; page 13, line 24 through page 14, line 7; page 21, lines 24-31).
Perrone does not teach defining the interval as being between the middles of the exposure intervals.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Stec teaches a method comprising storing events acquired by an event-based camera and frames captured by a frame-based camera of a target scene, and synchronizing timestamps of the events and frames (fig 1; paragraph 20, lines 1-6; paragraph 23, lines 1-5; paragraph 68, lines 1-9 and the last 6 lines), and further comprising defining frame intervals as being between the middles of the exposure intervals (fig 2; paragraphs 27 and 28; paragraph 29, lines 1-11; for example, a frame interval at TA in the middle of exposure interval wdw, bounding frames ef1 and ef3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine middle exposure intervals disclosed by Stec with the interval determinations of Perrone because this ensures that events on either side of a frame are given equal weight, which helps to ensure continuity between frames (see, for example, Stec, paragraph 2; paragraph 29, the last 6 lines).
Regarding claim 11, the limitations of this claim substantially correspond to the limitations of claim 5; thus they are rejected on similar grounds.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perrone, in view of Daniilidis, and further in view of Tzvieli.
Regarding claim 10, Perrone in view of Daniilidis teaches the camera of claim 9, comprising a filter configured to remove events from events being provided to the event counter (Perrone, page 7, line 28 through page 8, line 8; page 10, lines 25-28; page 13, lines 20-25; page 14, lines 5-10; the filtering limits the events to those that exceed a threshold, thus reducing the number of events to process).
Perrone in view of Daniilidis does not teach an operation to filter ambient flicker.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Tzvieli teaches a method comprising storing events acquired by an event-based camera and synchronizing the events with images (paragraph 136, lines 1-18), wherein the method includes an operation to filter ambient flicker (paragraph 157; paragraph 185, the last 10 lines; paragraph 198, the right side of the page, lines 3-9)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the ambient flicker filtering of Tzvieli with the filtering of Perrone in view of Daniilidis because this helps reduce noise in the event information, thereby improving the processing results of the camera operations (see, for example, Tzvieli, paragraph 185, lines 1-6).
Response to Arguments
On page 6 of the Remarks, with respect to the Daniilidis reference, Applicant points out a typographical issue with the reference’s publication number. The Examiner confirms that Applicant correctly treated Daniilidis et al., 2020/0265590, as cited in the Notice of Referenced cited, in the response.
On pages 7 and 8 of the Remarks, with respect to the 112(f) interpretation, Applicant argues, in summary, that each of the terms corresponds to hardware in the specification, thus both the claim and specification identify physical structure. The Examiner disagrees in part, and agrees in part, with these arguments.
As noted in the 112(f) interpretation section, and in the Remarks, the specification does indeed describe the hardware corresponding to the terms in the claims. But this does not preclude an interpretation under 112(f). If such structure was present in the claim language, then the limitation would recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed function. If, however, the terminology in the claim language does not recite sufficient structure to perform the function, then the presumption that 112(f) does not apply may be overcome. One then turns to the specification to determine what is disclosed as the corresponding structure performing the function. If no corresponding structure can be found, a rejection under 112(b) may be warranted. On the other hand, if corresponding structure can be identified, as it is in the instant application, the scope of the claim is clear, and would not warrant a 112(b) rejection. Thus the Examiner agrees that the specification discloses the corresponding structure.
However, the Remarks do not provide evidence that sufficient structure is present in the claim terminology; instead, they focus on the content of the specification. These arguments are not persuasive. In the claims, a “module configured to…,” “counter configured to…,” and “filter configured to…” do not recite or impart sufficient structure of any kind. For example, if not for the 112(f) interpretation incorporating the structure from the specification, these components could merely comprise software. This is evident to one skilled in the art, but also in Applicant’s specification, paragraph 30, which refers to an embodiment of the invention as a circuit or microcontroller “programmed to perform or manage various of the operations in the pipeline.” Thus it is clear that the claim terminology, per se, is not limited to structural components, as asserted in the Remarks. Accordingly, since the claim terminology discussed in the 112(f) interpretation does not impart sufficient structure itself, and is not modified by sufficient structure that performs the claimed function, the Examiner respectfully maintains the 112(f) interpretation.
On pages 10 and 11 of the Applicant’s Remarks, with respect to the 102 rejection of claim 1, the Applicant argues, in summary, that Perrone does not teach the selecting, aligning, and merging because 1) the passage of claim 9 concerns one frame and target time, not one frame among several capture frames, 2) Perrone teaches a time selected for the shifting, rather than selecting a frame as an anchor frame, 3) Perrone describes merging of frames after their alignment to a target time, whereas claim 1 merges an aligned frame with the anchor frame, and 4) the vocabulary of Perrone corroborates this interpretation because it does not use the words “anchor” or variations of “selecting” and thus describes no selection step of any kind. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments.
Regarding the first argument, the Examiner respectfully submits that while this particular passage does indeed discuss selecting the reference frame, the remaining cited passages then build on this and clearly describe aligning and merging multiple frames based on the reference frame. Citations to preceding pages 7 and 8 also explicitly describe that this concerns multiple frames at different times, and events between those times.
Regarding the second and third arguments, the Examiner respectfully submits that Perrone does not only teach a target time – this target time is clearly disclosed as the time of a reference frame, upon which the remaining aligning and merging is based. Further, as discussed above, Perrone does not merely merge frames to a time, but rather, merges aligned frames, one of which is the reference frame upon which the aligning and merging was based.
Regarding the fourth argument, the Examiner respectfully submits that a reference does not need to use the exact terms of the claim language to show disclosure of that claim language, nor would this constitute evidence of any difference in the claim. Absent clarifying claim language, one skilled in the art would not, for example, impart any difference between an “anchor” frame and a “reference” frame. Additionally, one skilled in the art readily recognizes that there are a myriad of manners in which the term “selecting” can be disclosed, such as identifying, estimating, choosing, and so on. Virtually any identification and use of a particular frame would meet the requirements of “selecting” a frame; and this is clearly disclosed in Perrone. The Examiner respectfully submits that any potential differences between the invention and the prior art are not currently reflected in the claims.
On pages 10 and 11 of the Applicant’s Remarks, with respect to the 102 rejection of claim 3, the Applicant argues, in summary, that 1) Perrone refers to collections of binned sums of events, but this does not teach event counts associated with the exposure intervals of different frames or using this to select a frame, and 2) the vocabulary of Perrone corroborates this interpretation because it does not use variations of the word “counting”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments.
Regarding the first argument, the citations provide clear disclosure that the events that are binned are associated with the exposure intervals, which is evident in both in the words and the equations present in the citations, particularly in the citations on pages 7-9 of Perrone. Further, the binning is explicitly disclosed as inputs into the time shifting, image deblurring, and reblurring modules, which is where the reference frame is disclosed as being selected. Thus it is clear that the reference frame selection is “based on” the event binning.
Regarding the second argument, as discussed above, the Examiner respectfully submits that a reference does not need to use the exact terms of the claim language to show disclosure of that claim language, nor would this constitute evidence of any difference in the claim. In this case, for example, one skilled in the art readily recognizes that binning is very clearly “counting” in a mathematical sense. Thus, absent clarifying language, this does not represent a patentable distinction.
On pages 11 and 12 of the Applicant’s Remarks, the Applicant argues that the remaining independent claim is not taught by the prior art for reasons similar to those discussed in regard to claim 1, and that the dependent claims are not taught by the prior art, insomuch as they depend from claims that are not taught by the prior art. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, for the reasons discussed above.
On pages 12 and 13 of the Applicant’s Remarks, with respect to the 103 rejections of claims 2, 7, and 13, the Applicant argues, in summary, that these claims are not taught by the prior art because they do not resolve the anchor frame deficiencies of the claim(s) from which they depend. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument, for the reasons discussed above.
On page 13 of the Applicant’s Remarks, with respect to the 103 rejection of claim 9, the Applicant argues, in summary, that 1) claim 9 requires the event counter limitations, and the Office Action relies on Daniilidis for that limitation, but Daniilidis does not teach a count associated with the exposure interval of captured frames, 2) the vocabulary of Daniilidis corroborates this interpretation because it does not use variations of the words “exposure” or “lowest”, and 3) the stated rationale does not support the modification of counting events over each frame’s exposure interval, compare the resulting frame-level counts, and select an anchor frame on that basis. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments.
Regarding the first argument, contrary to the Applicant’s assertion, the Office Action clearly shows that Daniilidis is not relied upon to teach the event counter, as it is disclosed by Perrone. Instead, the Office Action states that the deficiency of Perrone is a teaching of utilizing frames producing the lowest event count. This is clearly disclosed by Daniilidis, which was properly combined with Perrone; thus it is respectfully submitted that the combination of Perrone and Daniilidis clearly teaches claim 9. It is noted that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Further, although Daniilidis is not relied upon to teach exposure, as it is clearly disclosed in Perrone, exposure is simply the amount of light that reaches a camera’s sensor, which is controlled by various settings. Daniilidis explicitly describes event-based cameras and detecting and responding to changes in the amount of light captured; thus, contrary to Applicant’s assertion, Daniilidis indeed involves exposure.
Regarding the second argument, it is again noted that a reference does not need to use the exact terms of the claim language to show disclosure of that claim language, nor would this constitute evidence of any difference in the claim. Several example have been discussed above in this regard, but additionally, Daniilidis is replete with disclosing the “lowest” event count, such as disclosed very low event counts at a maximum value of 1, which is the lowest possible non-zero event count. Thus, absent clarifying language, this does not represent a patentable distinction.
Regarding the third argument, it is again noted that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. The motivation is not directed to the features described by the Applicant because Daniilidis is not relied upon to teach those features. Instead, as clearly stated in the Office Action, Daniilidis is relied upon to teach the feature missing from Perrone showing utilizing frames producing the lowest event count. This is what the motivation addresses, which is clearly supported in Daniilidis, and which was properly combined with Perrone.
On page 14 of the Applicant’s Remarks, with respect to the 103 rejections of claims 4, 5, 10, and 11, the Applicant argues, in summary, that these claims are not taught by the prior art because they do not resolve the anchor frame deficiencies of the claim(s) from which they depend. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument, for the reasons discussed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID T. WELCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2613
/DAVID T WELCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613