DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 with the benefit of a prior-filed application with the priority of Indian Patent Application No. 202341069101 filed on October 13, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samuel Asangbeng Atungsiri (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0056886), and further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 107949065 A). Hereinafter Atungsiri and Zhang.
Regarding claim 1, Atungsiri discloses a method for determining a combinatorial capacity of a communication channel, the method comprising:
determining one or more waveforms associated with the one or more subcarriers based on the distributed power (the propagation channel combined with transmitter and receiver degradation in multi-carrier transmission system is
B
k
=
H
k
e
j
(
W
D
+
W
o
)
+
N
k
, WD is the doppler frequency in radians per second due to relative movement between transmitter and the receiver, Wo is the combined transmitter and receiver frequency offsets in radians per second, and N(k) is the combined noise and interference from all source impinging on subcarrier k, where the channel transfer function H(k) is
H
k
=
H
(
k
|
e
j
∆
k
+
k
∅
, where
∆
k
is the subcarrier phase shift due to the channel,
∅
is the phase slope due to any timing offset, and |H(k)| is the amplitude fading coefficient of sub-carrier k shaped by the frequency selectivity due to multi-path propagation, where Shannon capacity equation is used for determining the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k, the equation being
b
k
=
W
l
o
g
2
1
+
|
H
k
|
2
(
N
(
k
)
|
2
, where W is the subcarrier bandwidth, and b(k) is the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k using a constellation of size 2b(k) , paragraphs [0068] – [0074]); and
mapping a block of bits from a received bit stream with each of the one or more waveforms of a waveform combination, wherein the waveform combination is selected among predetermined waveform combinations and recording the mapping (the propagation channel combined with transmitter and receiver degradation in multi-carrier transmission system is
B
k
=
H
k
e
j
(
W
D
+
W
o
)
+
N
k
, WD is the doppler frequency in radians per second due to relative movement between transmitter and the receiver, Wo is the combined transmitter and receiver frequency offsets in radians per second, and N(k) is the combined noise and interference from all source impinging on subcarrier k, where the channel transfer function H(k) is
H
k
=
H
(
k
|
e
j
∆
k
+
k
∅
, where
∆
k
is the subcarrier phase shift due to the channel,
∅
is the phase slope due to any timing offset, and |H(k)| is the amplitude fading coefficient of sub-carrier k shaped by the frequency selectivity due to multi-path propagation, where Shannon capacity equation is used for determining the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k, the equation being
b
k
=
W
l
o
g
2
1
+
|
H
k
|
2
(
N
(
k
)
|
2
, where W is the subcarrier bandwidth, and b(k) is the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k using a constellation of size 2b(k) , paragraphs [0068] – [0074]).
However, Atungsiri does not explicitly disclose “distributing power across one or more subcarriers by varying a phase and an amplitude of the one or more subcarriers over a predetermined period.”
Zhang discloses the system targets initialization of the power distributing aspects to improve the greedy algorithm by selecting system modulation method with (0, BPSK, QAM, 16QAM, 64 QAM, 128QAM), where each time of allocating the selected subsystem total power increment to make NOMA (Non-OrthogonalMultiple Access) minimum until the system ends the allocation process until the system distributing the total power of one bit (page 3 paragraph 3 – 4).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Atungsiri and Zhang before him or her, to incorporate the power distribution system as taught by Zhang, to improve the dynamic and adaptive generation of waveforms of Atungsiri for the transmission of data in accordance with channel conditions. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the transmission performance by overcoming the different existing technology (page 2 paragraph 4 of Zhang).
Regarding claim 2, Atungsiri and Zhang disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, Atungsiri discloses wherein the method comprises:
receiving the bit stream (the UE receives reference symbols from the eNodeB, paragraph [0129]);
identifying the block of bits from the received bit stream (the UE estimates the channel conditions then transmits to the eNodeB, where the channel conditions include multiple modulation schemes indicated for use over different portions of the resource allocation, paragraph [0129]; where the Shannon capacity equation is used for determining the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k, the equation being
b
k
=
W
l
o
g
2
1
+
|
H
k
|
2
(
N
(
k
)
|
2
, where W is the subcarrier bandwidth, and b(k) is the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k using a constellation of size 2b(k) , paragraphs [0068] – [0074]);
selecting, a waveform among the one or more waveforms to be transmitted based on the block of bits (the UE estimates the channel conditions then transmits to the eNodeB, where the channel conditions include multiple modulation schemes indicated for use over different portions of the resource allocation, paragraph [0129]; where the Shannon capacity equation is used for determining the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k, the equation being
b
k
=
W
l
o
g
2
1
+
|
H
k
|
2
(
N
(
k
)
|
2
, where W is the subcarrier bandwidth, and b(k) is the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k using a constellation of size 2b(k) , paragraphs [0068] – [0074]);
matching, all the waveforms of the waveform combination with a received waveform (the UE estimates the channel conditions then transmits to the eNodeB, where the channel conditions include multiple modulation schemes indicated for use over different portions of the resource allocation, paragraph [0129]; where the Shannon capacity equation is used for determining the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k, the equation being
b
k
=
W
l
o
g
2
1
+
|
H
k
|
2
(
N
(
k
)
|
2
, where W is the subcarrier bandwidth, and b(k) is the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k using a constellation of size 2b(k) , paragraphs [0068] – [0074]);
selecting, a waveform from a waveform combination (the UE estimates the channel conditions then transmits to the eNodeB, where the channel conditions include multiple modulation schemes indicated for use over different portions of the resource allocation, paragraph [0129]; where the Shannon capacity equation is used for determining the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k, the equation being
b
k
=
W
l
o
g
2
1
+
|
H
k
|
2
(
N
(
k
)
|
2
, where W is the subcarrier bandwidth, and b(k) is the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k using a constellation of size 2b(k) , paragraphs [0068] – [0074]); and
determining a combinatorial capacity of the communication channel based on the selection of the waveform combination (the UE estimates the channel conditions then transmits to the eNodeB, where the channel conditions include multiple modulation schemes indicated for use over different portions of the resource allocation, paragraph [0129]; where the Shannon capacity equation is used for determining the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k, the equation being
b
k
=
W
l
o
g
2
1
+
|
H
k
|
2
(
N
(
k
)
|
2
, where W is the subcarrier bandwidth, and b(k) is the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k using a constellation of size 2b(k) , paragraphs [0068] – [0074]).
Regarding claim 3, Atungsiri and Zhang disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, Atungsiri discloses comprising modulating a subcarrier among the one or more subcarriers into an in-phase component and a quadrature-phase component and utilizing the in-phase component and the quadrature-phase component of the subcarrier over the predetermined period for generating the one or more waveforms (the propagation channel combined with transmitter and receiver degradation in multi-carrier transmission system is
B
k
=
H
k
e
j
(
W
D
+
W
o
)
+
N
k
, WD is the doppler frequency in radians per second due to relative movement between transmitter and the receiver, Wo is the combined transmitter and receiver frequency offsets in radians per second, and N(k) is the combined noise and interference from all source impinging on subcarrier k, where the channel transfer function H(k) is
H
k
=
H
(
k
|
e
j
∆
k
+
k
∅
, where
∆
k
is the subcarrier phase shift due to the channel,
∅
is the phase slope due to any timing offset, and |H(k)| is the amplitude fading coefficient of sub-carrier k shaped by the frequency selectivity due to multi-path propagation, where Shannon capacity equation is used for determining the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k, the equation being
b
k
=
W
l
o
g
2
1
+
|
H
k
|
2
(
N
(
k
)
|
2
, where W is the subcarrier bandwidth, and b(k) is the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k using a constellation of size 2b(k) , paragraphs [0068] – [0074]).
Regarding claim 4, Atungsiri and Zhang disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, Atungsiri discloses comprising determining a capacity of the communication channel by determining a base two logarithmic value of the total number of waveforms in the waveform combination (the propagation channel combined with transmitter and receiver degradation in multi-carrier transmission system is
B
k
=
H
k
e
j
(
W
D
+
W
o
)
+
N
k
, WD is the doppler frequency in radians per second due to relative movement between transmitter and the receiver, Wo is the combined transmitter and receiver frequency offsets in radians per second, and N(k) is the combined noise and interference from all source impinging on subcarrier k, where the channel transfer function H(k) is
H
k
=
H
(
k
|
e
j
∆
k
+
k
∅
, where
∆
k
is the subcarrier phase shift due to the channel,
∅
is the phase slope due to any timing offset, and |H(k)| is the amplitude fading coefficient of sub-carrier k shaped by the frequency selectivity due to multi-path propagation, where Shannon capacity equation is used for determining the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k, the equation being
b
k
=
W
l
o
g
2
1
+
|
H
k
|
2
(
N
(
k
)
|
2
, where W is the subcarrier bandwidth, and b(k) is the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k using a constellation of size 2b(k) , paragraphs [0068] – [0074]).
Regarding claim 5, Atungsiri discloses a system for determining a combinatorial capacity of a communication channel, the system comprising:
a processor communicatively coupled to a transceiver of the system (the communications device includes controller connected to receiver and transmitter, paragraphs [0051] – [0052]);
a memory operatively coupled with the processor, wherein said memory stores instructions which, when executed by the processor (the communications device includes controllers configured to carry out instructions which are stored on a computer readable medium, such as a non-volatile memory, i.e. the processing steps described herein is carried out by a microprocessor in conjunction with a random access memory, operating according to instructions stored on a computer readable medium, paragraph [0053]), cause the processor to:
determine one or more waveforms associated with the one or more subcarriers to be transmitted based on the distributed power (the propagation channel combined with transmitter and receiver degradation in multi-carrier transmission system is
B
k
=
H
k
e
j
(
W
D
+
W
o
)
+
N
k
, WD is the doppler frequency in radians per second due to relative movement between transmitter and the receiver, Wo is the combined transmitter and receiver frequency offsets in radians per second, and N(k) is the combined noise and interference from all source impinging on subcarrier k, where the channel transfer function H(k) is
H
k
=
H
(
k
|
e
j
∆
k
+
k
∅
, where
∆
k
is the subcarrier phase shift due to the channel,
∅
is the phase slope due to any timing offset, and |H(k)| is the amplitude fading coefficient of sub-carrier k shaped by the frequency selectivity due to multi-path propagation, where Shannon capacity equation is used for determining the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k, the equation being
b
k
=
W
l
o
g
2
1
+
|
H
k
|
2
(
N
(
k
)
|
2
, where W is the subcarrier bandwidth, and b(k) is the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k using a constellation of size 2b(k) , paragraphs [0068] – [0074]);
map a block of bits received from a bit stream, with each of the one or more waveforms and record the mapping (the propagation channel combined with transmitter and receiver degradation in multi-carrier transmission system is
B
k
=
H
k
e
j
(
W
D
+
W
o
)
+
N
k
, WD is the doppler frequency in radians per second due to relative movement between transmitter and the receiver, Wo is the combined transmitter and receiver frequency offsets in radians per second, and N(k) is the combined noise and interference from all source impinging on subcarrier k, where the channel transfer function H(k) is
H
k
=
H
(
k
|
e
j
∆
k
+
k
∅
, where
∆
k
is the subcarrier phase shift due to the channel,
∅
is the phase slope due to any timing offset, and |H(k)| is the amplitude fading coefficient of sub-carrier k shaped by the frequency selectivity due to multi-path propagation, where Shannon capacity equation is used for determining the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k, the equation being
b
k
=
W
l
o
g
2
1
+
|
H
k
|
2
(
N
(
k
)
|
2
, where W is the subcarrier bandwidth, and b(k) is the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k using a constellation of size 2b(k) , paragraphs [0068] – [0074]).
However, Atungsiri does not explicitly disclose “distribute power across one or more subcarriers by varying a phase and an amplitude of the one or more subcarriers over a predetermined period.”
Zhang discloses the system targets initialization of the power distributing aspects to improve the greedy algorithm by selecting system modulation method with (0, BPSK, QAM, 16QAM, 64 QAM, 128QAM), where each time of allocating the selected subsystem total power increment to make NOMA (Non-OrthogonalMultiple Access) minimum until the system ends the allocation process until the system distributing the total power of one bit (page 3 paragraph 3 – 4).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Atungsiri and Zhang before him or her, to incorporate the power distribution system as taught by Zhang, to improve the dynamic and adaptive generation of waveforms of Atungsiri for the transmission of data in accordance with channel conditions. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the transmission performance by overcoming the different existing technology (page 2 paragraph 4 of Zhang).
Regarding claim 6, Atungsiri and Zhang disclose the system as claimed in claim 5, Atungsiri discloses wherein the processor is configured to:
receive the bit stream via a transmitter configured with the transceiver (the UE receives reference symbols from the eNodeB, paragraph [0129]);
identify the block of bits from the received bit stream (the UE estimates the channel conditions then transmits to the eNodeB, where the channel conditions include multiple modulation schemes indicated for use over different portions of the resource allocation, paragraph [0129]; where the Shannon capacity equation is used for determining the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k, the equation being
b
k
=
W
l
o
g
2
1
+
|
H
k
|
2
(
N
(
k
)
|
2
, where W is the subcarrier bandwidth, and b(k) is the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k using a constellation of size 2b(k) , paragraphs [0068] – [0074]);
select, a waveform among the one or more waveforms to be transmitted based on the block of bits (the UE estimates the channel conditions then transmits to the eNodeB, where the channel conditions include multiple modulation schemes indicated for use over different portions of the resource allocation, paragraph [0129]; where the Shannon capacity equation is used for determining the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k, the equation being
b
k
=
W
l
o
g
2
1
+
|
H
k
|
2
(
N
(
k
)
|
2
, where W is the subcarrier bandwidth, and b(k) is the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k using a constellation of size 2b(k) , paragraphs [0068] – [0074]);
match, via a receiver, all the waveforms of the one or more waveforms used at the transmitter with a received waveform (the UE estimates the channel conditions then transmits to the eNodeB, where the channel conditions include multiple modulation schemes indicated for use over different portions of the resource allocation, paragraph [0129]; where the Shannon capacity equation is used for determining the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k, the equation being
b
k
=
W
l
o
g
2
1
+
|
H
k
|
2
(
N
(
k
)
|
2
, where W is the subcarrier bandwidth, and b(k) is the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k using a constellation of size 2b(k) , paragraphs [0068] – [0074]);
select, at the receiver configured with the transceiver, a waveform from a waveform combination (the UE estimates the channel conditions then transmits to the eNodeB, where the channel conditions include multiple modulation schemes indicated for use over different portions of the resource allocation, paragraph [0129]; where the Shannon capacity equation is used for determining the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k, the equation being
b
k
=
W
l
o
g
2
1
+
|
H
k
|
2
(
N
(
k
)
|
2
, where W is the subcarrier bandwidth, and b(k) is the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k using a constellation of size 2b(k) , paragraphs [0068] – [0074]); and
determine a combinatorial capacity of the communication channel based on the selection of the waveform combination (the UE estimates the channel conditions then transmits to the eNodeB, where the channel conditions include multiple modulation schemes indicated for use over different portions of the resource allocation, paragraph [0129]; where the Shannon capacity equation is used for determining the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k, the equation being
b
k
=
W
l
o
g
2
1
+
|
H
k
|
2
(
N
(
k
)
|
2
, where W is the subcarrier bandwidth, and b(k) is the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k using a constellation of size 2b(k) , paragraphs [0068] – [0074]).
Regarding claim 7, Atungsiri and Zhang disclose the system as claimed in claim 5, Atungsiri discloses wherein the processor is configured to modulate a subcarrier among the one or more subcarriers into an in-phase component and a quadrature-phase component and utilize the in-phase component and the quadrature-phase component of the subcarrier over the predetermined period for generating the one or more waveforms (the propagation channel combined with transmitter and receiver degradation in multi-carrier transmission system is
B
k
=
H
k
e
j
(
W
D
+
W
o
)
+
N
k
, WD is the doppler frequency in radians per second due to relative movement between transmitter and the receiver, Wo is the combined transmitter and receiver frequency offsets in radians per second, and N(k) is the combined noise and interference from all source impinging on subcarrier k, where the channel transfer function H(k) is
H
k
=
H
(
k
|
e
j
∆
k
+
k
∅
, where
∆
k
is the subcarrier phase shift due to the channel,
∅
is the phase slope due to any timing offset, and |H(k)| is the amplitude fading coefficient of sub-carrier k shaped by the frequency selectivity due to multi-path propagation, where Shannon capacity equation is used for determining the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k, the equation being
b
k
=
W
l
o
g
2
1
+
|
H
k
|
2
(
N
(
k
)
|
2
, where W is the subcarrier bandwidth, and b(k) is the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k using a constellation of size 2b(k) , paragraphs [0068] – [0074]).
Regarding claim 8, Atungsiri and Zhang disclose the system as claimed in claim 5, Atungsiri discloses wherein the processor is configured to determine a capacity of the communication channel in the transceiver by determining a base two logarithmic value of the total number of waveforms in the waveform combination (the propagation channel combined with transmitter and receiver degradation in multi-carrier transmission system is
B
k
=
H
k
e
j
(
W
D
+
W
o
)
+
N
k
, WD is the doppler frequency in radians per second due to relative movement between transmitter and the receiver, Wo is the combined transmitter and receiver frequency offsets in radians per second, and N(k) is the combined noise and interference from all source impinging on subcarrier k, where the channel transfer function H(k) is
H
k
=
H
(
k
|
e
j
∆
k
+
k
∅
, where
∆
k
is the subcarrier phase shift due to the channel,
∅
is the phase slope due to any timing offset, and |H(k)| is the amplitude fading coefficient of sub-carrier k shaped by the frequency selectivity due to multi-path propagation, where Shannon capacity equation is used for determining the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k, the equation being
b
k
=
W
l
o
g
2
1
+
|
H
k
|
2
(
N
(
k
)
|
2
, where W is the subcarrier bandwidth, and b(k) is the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k using a constellation of size 2b(k) , paragraphs [0068] – [0074]).
Regarding claim 9, Atungsiri discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a processor with executable instructions (the communications device includes controllers configured to carry out instructions which are stored on a computer readable medium, such as a non-volatile memory, i.e. the processing steps described herein is carried out by a microprocessor in conjunction with a random access memory, operating according to instructions stored on a computer readable medium, paragraph [0053]), causing the processor to:
determine one or more waveforms associated with the one or more subcarriers to be transmitted based on the distributed power (the propagation channel combined with transmitter and receiver degradation in multi-carrier transmission system is
B
k
=
H
k
e
j
(
W
D
+
W
o
)
+
N
k
, WD is the doppler frequency in radians per second due to relative movement between transmitter and the receiver, Wo is the combined transmitter and receiver frequency offsets in radians per second, and N(k) is the combined noise and interference from all source impinging on subcarrier k, where the channel transfer function H(k) is
H
k
=
H
(
k
|
e
j
∆
k
+
k
∅
, where
∆
k
is the subcarrier phase shift due to the channel,
∅
is the phase slope due to any timing offset, and |H(k)| is the amplitude fading coefficient of sub-carrier k shaped by the frequency selectivity due to multi-path propagation, where Shannon capacity equation is used for determining the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k, the equation being
b
k
=
W
l
o
g
2
1
+
|
H
k
|
2
(
N
(
k
)
|
2
, where W is the subcarrier bandwidth, and b(k) is the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k using a constellation of size 2b(k) , paragraphs [0068] – [0074]); and
map a block of bits received from a bit stream, with each of the one or more waveforms and record the mapping (the propagation channel combined with transmitter and receiver degradation in multi-carrier transmission system is
B
k
=
H
k
e
j
(
W
D
+
W
o
)
+
N
k
, WD is the doppler frequency in radians per second due to relative movement between transmitter and the receiver, Wo is the combined transmitter and receiver frequency offsets in radians per second, and N(k) is the combined noise and interference from all source impinging on subcarrier k, where the channel transfer function H(k) is
H
k
=
H
(
k
|
e
j
∆
k
+
k
∅
, where
∆
k
is the subcarrier phase shift due to the channel,
∅
is the phase slope due to any timing offset, and |H(k)| is the amplitude fading coefficient of sub-carrier k shaped by the frequency selectivity due to multi-path propagation, where Shannon capacity equation is used for determining the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k, the equation being
b
k
=
W
l
o
g
2
1
+
|
H
k
|
2
(
N
(
k
)
|
2
, where W is the subcarrier bandwidth, and b(k) is the number of bits to carry in subcarrier k using a constellation of size 2b(k) , paragraphs [0068] – [0074]).
However, Atungsiri does not explicitly disclose “distribute power across one or more subcarriers by varying a phase and an amplitude of the one or more subcarriers over a predetermined period.”
Zhang discloses the system targets initialization of the power distributing aspects to improve the greedy algorithm by selecting system modulation method with (0, BPSK, QAM, 16QAM, 64 QAM, 128QAM), where each time of allocating the selected subsystem total power increment to make NOMA (Non-OrthogonalMultiple Access) minimum until the system ends the allocation process until the system distributing the total power of one bit (page 3 paragraph 3 – 4).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Atungsiri and Zhang before him or her, to incorporate the power distribution system as taught by Zhang, to improve the dynamic and adaptive generation of waveforms of Atungsiri for the transmission of data in accordance with channel conditions. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the transmission performance by overcoming the different existing technology (page 2 paragraph 4 of Zhang).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Urbain Alfred VON DER EMBSE (US Patent Application Publication 2010/0205510) – the quadrature layered modulation (QLM) which supports data rates independent of Shannon bound, where Trellis symbol and bit demodulation algorithms recover QLM data symbols and bit algorithms offer computational efficiency at a cost of decisioning errors, and correlated bit decisioning error correction decoding and re-encoding are implemented in a bit demodulation algorithm, where Trellis demodulation and trellis decoding algorithms support parallel implementations, and concatenated implementations support turbo decoding, MAP decoding, convolutional decoding, and block decoding by using the decisioning metrics available from QLM demodulation in place of generating the decisioning metrics directly from the detected symbol measurements after the QLM demodulation
/Kai Chang/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468