Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/04/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/04/2026 has been entered. Claim 42 is cancelled, claims 48-49 are added, and claims 21-41 and 43-49 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection and 101 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 04/08/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/04/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Given the amendments to claim 21, reference to Abolmaesumi is being relied upon to teach dependent claim 22, 25, and 35 more-consistently with the instant claim language, as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22, 25, 31, 35, 43, and 47-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over P. Abolmaesumi et al, “Image-Guided Control of a Robot for Medical Ultrasound”, IEEE Transactions on Robotics and Automation, vol. 18, no. 1, pp. 11-23, Feb. 2002 in view of Blaivas et al. (US 20130131501 A1, published May 23, 2013), hereinafter referred to as Blaivas.
Regarding claim 21, and similarly for claims 31 and 47, Abolmaesumi teaches an ultrasound system configured to guide ultrasound acquisition in an individual, comprising:
a handheld transducer configured to direct ultrasound signals towards tissue and to detect corresponding echo signals from the tissue (see Fig. 1 – “Experimental setup for robot-assisted ultrasound. The 6-DOF parallelogram linkage robot moves the ultrasound probe on the patient’s neck for the carotid artery examination.” Where a transducer configured to transmit ultrasound signals to tissue and receive echoes from the tissue is inherent and known in the art); and
processing circuitry operably coupled to the handheld transducer and configured to execute program instructions (see pg. 13, col. 1, para. 5 – “The image processing system captures the ultrasound images at a rate of 30 frames/s by using a Matrix Vision™ Mv-delta frame grabber and processes them at the same rate.” Where processors coupled to the transducer to execute program instructions of ultrasound image processing is inherent and known in the art) to:
display, on a user interface, ultrasound image data based on the detected echo signals, wherein the ultrasound image data includes a circular or oval cross-section of a blood vessel (Fig. 4, ultrasound image of a circular or oval-cross section of a blood vessel; see pg. 12, col. 2, para. 5 – “Ultrasound images are captured in real-time and are displayed in the GUI [graphical user interface].”);
analyze the image data via the processing circuitry (see pg. 13, col. 1, para. 5 – “The image processing system captures the ultrasound images at a rate of 30 frames/s by using a Matrix Vision™ Mv-delta frame grabber and processes them at the same rate.”), wherein analyzing the image data comprises:
(i) defining a region of interest from the tissue (see Fig. 14 – “Tracking the carotid artery by the Star-Kalman algorithm; the extracted carotid artery contours is shown in the image.”);
(ii) updating the defining of the region of interest at a rate of at least 10 times per second (see pg. 13, col. 1, para. 5 – “The image processing system captures the ultrasound images at a rate of 30 frames/s by using a Matrix Vision™ Mv-delta frame grabber and processes them at the same rate [30 Hz, which is at least 10 times per second].”; see Fig. 14 – “Tracking the carotid artery by the Star-Kalman algorithm; the extracted carotid artery contours is shown in the image.” Where processing at 30 Hz includes tracking the carotid artery in real time);
(iii) identifying the blood vessel from the region of interest as the echo signals are being acquired (real time), based at least in part on a difference between a brightness of the blood vessel wall and a darkness of the blood vessel lumen (Fig. 14, extracted carotid artery contours based on brightness of vessel wall and darkness of vessel lumen; see pg. 15, col. 1, para. 2 – “This subsection describes the development of a novel fully automatic segmentation and tracking system to track the carotid artery in ultrasound images in real-time.”); and
(iv) classifying the blood vessel in the region of interest as an artery (see pg. 15, col. 1, para. 2 – “This subsection describes the development of a novel fully automatic segmentation and tracking system to track the carotid artery in ultrasound images in real-time.”).
Abolmaesumi teaches classifying (identifying by tracking) a ROI as an artery, but does not explicitly teach providing an indication that the blood vessel in the region of interest has been classified as an artery.
Whereas, Blaivas, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches provide, on the user interface, an indication that the blood vessel in the region of interest has been classified as an artery (see para. 0088 – “FIG. 24 schematically depicts in screenshot 304 [on user interface] the results of ascertaining the blood vessel type upon application of a downward force from the ultrasound transceiver 12. The larger of the two blood vessels collapses substantially from the location at the 20 degree cross hair position when receiving the downward force and the smaller blood vessel remains substantially un-collapsed or is not distorted substantially as the anterior wall remains close to the 25 degree location in the non-compressed state. The larger blood vessel is designated to be a vein V and the smaller blood vessel to be an artery A [providing an indication] since the vein V collapses more so than the artery A upon exposure to the downward force.”); and
store a sequence of image data where the artery is in a desired location in the image data (see para. 0088 – “FIG. 24 schematically depicts in screenshot 304 [stored image data of artery in desired location] the results of ascertaining the blood vessel type upon application of a downward force from the ultrasound transceiver 12.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified classifying a ROI as an artery, as disclosed in Abolmaesumi, by providing an indication the ROI has been classified as an artery, as disclosed in Blaivas. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to use the characteristic of veins and arteries, of thinner walled veins will collapse while thicker walled arteries will retain their substantially circular cross-sectional shape, to identify the target vessel, as taught in Blaivas (see para. 0087).
Furthermore, regarding claim 22, Abolmaesumi further teaches wherein the user interface is located on a video monitor (see pg. 12, col. 2, para. 4-5 – “Fig. 4 shows a typical screen view of the GUI...Ultrasound images are captured in real-time and are displayed in the GUI [graphical user interface].”).
Furthermore, regarding claims 25 and 35, Abolmaesumi further teaches wherein analyzing the image data comprises analyzing an ovalness of the artery in the image data (see Fig. 14 – “Tracking the carotid artery by the Star-Kalman algorithm; the extracted carotid artery contours [analyzing an ovalness of the artery] is shown in the image.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 43, Blaivas further teaches wherein analyzing the image data further comprises classifying a blood vessel as either an artery or a vein based on a compressibility of the blood vessel (see para. 0088 "FIGS. 23 and 24 schematically depict the differential compressibility of veins and arteries as presented on screen images on touch screen 208 under the "Locate vessel" procedure of the access menu 280. The larger blood vessel is designated to be a vein V and the smaller blood vessel to be an artery A since the vein V collapses more so than the artery A upon exposure to the downward force.").
Furthermore, regarding claim 48, Blaivas further teaches wherein classifying the blood vessel in the region of interest comprises classifying the blood vessel as an artery based at least in part on a position of the blood vessel (see para. 088 – “FIGS. 23 and 24 schematically depict the differential compressibility of veins and arteries as presented on screen images on touch screen 208 under the “Locate vessel” procedure of the access menu 280…The larger of the two blood vessels collapses substantially from the location at the 20 degree cross hair position when receiving the downward force and the smaller blood vessel remains substantially un-collapsed or is not distorted substantially as the anterior wall remains close to the 25 degree location in the non-compressed state. The larger blood vessel is designated to be a vein V and the smaller blood vessel to be an artery A since the vein V collapses more so than the artery A upon exposure to the downward force.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 49, Blaivas further teaches wherein classifying the blood vessel in the region of interest comprises classifying the blood vessel as an artery based at least in part on a position of the blood vessel and a compressibility of the blood vessel (see para. 088 – “FIGS. 23 and 24 schematically depict the differential compressibility of veins and arteries as presented on screen images on touch screen 208 under the “Locate vessel” procedure of the access menu 280…The larger of the two blood vessels collapses substantially from the location at the 20 degree cross hair position when receiving the downward force and the smaller blood vessel remains substantially un-collapsed or is not distorted substantially as the anterior wall remains close to the 25 degree location in the non-compressed state. The larger blood vessel is designated to be a vein V and the smaller blood vessel to be an artery A since the vein V collapses more so than the artery A upon exposure to the downward force.”).
The motivation for claims 43 and 48-49 was shown previously in claim 21.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas, as applied to claim 21 above, and in further view of Mauldin Jr. (US 20160374644A1, published December 29, 2016), hereinafter referred to as Mauldin.
Regarding claim 23, Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 21 above.
Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas teaches a user interface, but does not explicitly teach wherein the user interface is located on the handheld transducer.
Whereas, Mauldin, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein the user interface is located on the handheld transducer (Fig. 2, touchscreen 240 (user interface) located on handle 230 of portable system 200 (handheld transducer)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the user interface, as disclosed in Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas, by having the user interface located on the handheld transducer, as disclosed in Mauldin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to further integrate the ultrasound imaging system into the handheld probe and improve ease of use, as taught in Mauldin (see para. 0052-0053).
Claims 24, 34, and 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas, as applied to claim 21 and 31 above, and in further view of Toma et al. (US 20140303499 A1, published October 9, 2014), hereinafter referred to as Toma.
Regarding claims 24 and 34, Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 21 and 31 above.
Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas teaches guiding the ultrasound transducer to a location (Abolmaesumi: see pg. 17, col. 2, para. 1 – “This could help ultrasound technicians in guiding the motion of the ultrasound probe during the examination. The feature tracking algorithms provide the image controller with the required feature coordinates (e.g., the center of the carotid artery) to control the robot [with ultrasound probe].”), but does not explicitly teach providing indicators to move the transducer.
Whereas, Toma, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein the indication includes first indicators to move the handheld transducer in at least one of (i) a left/right direction or (ii) an up/down direction, and second indicators to change at least one of (i) a pitch of the handheld transducer or (ii) a roll of the handheld transducer (see para. 0075 "Alternatively, the measurement information display unit 106 may display information that indicates an amount that the current position or the current orientation of the ultrasound probe should be changed in order that the angle θ does not exceed a predetermined value.").
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified guiding the transducer, as disclosed in Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas, by also providing indicators to move the transducer, as disclosed in Toma. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve reliability of results obtained during measurement by Doppler ultrasound, as taught in Toma (see para. 0080).
Furthermore, regarding claim 44, Toma further teaches wherein providing the indication for moving the handheld transducer is based, at least in part, on a comparison between current ultrasound image data and previous ultrasound image data (see para. 0106 "When at a current position and a current orientation of the ultrasound probe, a scan plane [current image] of the ultrasound probe does not match a cross-sectional image [previous image] including the measurement position, a guidance operation (Step S208) is performed in order to guide the ultrasound probe to a position and an orientation at which the scan plane includes the measurement position.").
Furthermore, regarding claim 45, Toma further teaches wherein the ultrasound image data comprises first ultrasound image data associated with the handheld transducer in a first orientation, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to execute the program instructions to analyze second ultrasound image data associated with the handheld transducer in a second orientation different from the first orientation, and wherein analyzing the second ultrasound image data comprises identifying the artery (see para. 0106 "More specifically, the measurement information display unit 106 displays information indicating an amount that position or orientation of the ultrasound probe should be changed from the current position and the current orientation in order that the scan plane [first image] of the ultrasound probe matches the cross-sectional image [second image]. Once the ultrasound probe has been moved to an appropriate position [second image], measurement by Doppler ultrasound is performed [identifying artery] at a position corresponding to a Doppler gate which has been set (Step S209).").
The motivation for claims 44-45 was shown previously in claim 24.
Claims 26-27 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas, as applied to claim 21 and 31 above, and in further view of Matsunaga et al. (US 20160000408 A1, published January 7, 2016), hereinafter referred to as Matsunaga.
Regarding claims 26 and 36, Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 21 above.
Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas teaches guiding the ultrasound transducer to a location (Abolmaesumi: see pg. 17, col. 2, para. 1 – “This could help ultrasound technicians in guiding the motion of the ultrasound probe during the examination. The feature tracking algorithms provide the image controller with the required feature coordinates (e.g., the center of the carotid artery) to control the robot [with ultrasound probe].”), but does not explicitly teach providing on the user interface the indication for moving that handheld transducer to position the artery such that the artery has a minimal ovalness in the image data.
Whereas, Matsunaga, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein providing on the user interface the indication comprises providing on the user interface the indication for moving that handheld transducer to position the artery such that the artery has a minimal ovalness in the image data (see para. 0072 "If the ultrasound probe 1 is transmitting an ultrasound wave onto a perpendicular plane, a blood vessel 2i during the short axis image scan is rendered as a perfect circle, as illustrated in FIG. 2C. In contrast, if the ultrasound probe 1 is not transmitting an ultrasound wave onto a perpendicular plane, the blood vessel during the short-axis image scan is rendered as an oval.").
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified guiding the ultrasound transducer to a location, as disclosed in Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas, by providing on the user interface the indication for moving that handheld transducer to position the artery such that the artery has a minimal ovalness in the image data, as disclosed in Matsunaga. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to transmit an ultrasound wave in a desirable position and obtain accurate blood flow information, as taught in Matsunaga (see para. 0069).
Furthermore, regarding claims 27 and 37, Matsunaga further teaches wherein providing on the user interface the indication comprises providing on the user interface the indication for moving that handheld transducer to position the artery such that the artery is positioned at or near a center of the image data (Fig. 2C, blood vessel 2i near center of image data; see para. 0072 "If the ultrasound probe 1 is transmitting an ultrasound wave onto a perpendicular plane, a blood vessel 2i during the short-axis image scan is rendered as a perfect circle, as illustrated in FIG. 2C. In contrast, if the ultrasound probe 1 is not transmitting an ultrasound wave onto a perpendicular plane, the blood vessel during the short-axis image scan is rendered as an oval.").
The motivation for claims 27 and 37 was shown previously in claim 26 and 36.
Claims 28-30 and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas, as applied to claim 21 and 31 above, and in further view of Suzuki et al. (US 20100312110 A1, published December9, 2010), hereinafter referred to as Suzuki.
Regarding claims 28 and 38, Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 21 and 31 above.
Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas teaches analyzing the image data in real time, but does not explicitly teach measuring artery wall thickness.
Whereas, Suzuki, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein analyzing the image data comprises measuring at the region of interest, one or more thicknesses of constituent layers of the artery wall as the echo signals are being acquired (see para. 0084 "If the radius and wall thickness of the blood vessel have been automatically detected properly, an image including the two-dimensional map image of the circumferential elasticities is automatically presented on the monitor 107 in the freeze state following the procedure described above.").
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified analyzing the image data in real time, as disclosed in Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas, by also measuring artery wall thickness, as disclosed in Suzuki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to calculate circumferential elasticities of the artery wall, as taught in Suzuki (see Abstract).
Furthermore, regarding claims 29 and 39, Suzuki further teaches wherein analyzing the image data comprises identifying an atheroma or an onset of an atheroma in the region of interest based on one or more thicknesses of constituent layers of the artery wall (see para. 0012 "Therefore, by measuring the elasticity Er for multiple spots on a tomographic image, an image representing the distribution of elasticities can be obtained. If an atheroma 220 has been created in the vascular wall of the blood vessel 222 as shown in FIG. 4(a), the atheroma 220 and its surrounding vascular wall tissue have different elasticities.").
Furthermore, regarding claims 30 and 40, Suzuki further teaches wherein the region of interest is a first region of interest, and wherein analyzing the image data comprises defining a second region of interest smaller than and within the first region of interest (see para. 0012 "Therefore, by measuring the elasticity Er for multiple spots on a tomographic image, an image representing the distribution of elasticities can be obtained. If an atheroma 220 [second region of interest] has been created in the vascular wall of the blood vessel 222 [first region of interest] as shown in FIG. 4(a), the atheroma 220and its surrounding vascular wall tissue have different elasticities.").
The motivation for claims 29-30 and 39-40 was shown previously in claim 28 and 38.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas, as applied to claim 21 above, and in further view of Buras et al. (US 20180225993 A1, published August 9, 2018 with a priority date of January 24, 2017), hereinafter referred to as Buras.
Regarding claim 41, Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 21 above.
Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas teaches identifying an artery, but does not explicitly teach identifying an artery based on a trained neural network.
Whereas, Buras, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein identifying the artery from the region of interest is further based on a trained neural network (see para. 0083 "In one embodiment, the outcome-based feedback provided by the MLM [machine learning module] 600 includes 1) the most- probable identity of the ultrasound image (e.g., the name of a desired structure such as "radial cross section of the carotid artery," "lateral cross-section of the jugular vein," etc.)...").
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified identifying an artery from a ROI, as disclosed Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas, by identifying the artery based on a trained neural network, as disclosed in Buras. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to achieve improved diagnostic or treatment outcomes by novice users having limited medical training, as taught in Buras (see para. 0027).
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas, as applied to claim 21 above, and in further view of Thompson et al. (US 20180158201 A1, published June 7, 2018 with a priority date of June 7, 2018), hereinafter referred to as Thompson.
Regarding claim 46, Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 21 above.
Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas teaches analyzing image data of an artery, but does not explicitly teach fitting the artery to an oval.
Whereas, Thompson, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein analyzing the image data further comprises fitting the artery to an oval (see para. 0056 "Since vessel centre points are employed for registration in the approach described herein, ellipses are fitted to those contours to derive centre points in each ultrasound image (as per FIG. 3g).").
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified analyzing image data of an artery, as disclosed in Abolmaesumi in view of Blaivas, by fitting the artery to an oval, as disclosed in Thompson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to produce reliable ellipse centers and exclude outliers by defining minimal and maximal values for the (short axis) length of an ellipse and for the ratio of the axes of the ellipse, as taught in Thompson (see para. 0056).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Nakaya (US 20080269605 A1, published October 30, 2008) discloses displaying a value of the blood vessel diameter of a blood vessel visualized on the reference image in the display region of the reference image.
Suri (US 20120078099 A1, published, March 29, 2012) discloses performing automated artery recognition in real time.
Patwardhan et al. (US 20110150274 A1, published June 23, 2011) discloses the blood vessels are segmented in cross-sectional ultrasound images in real-time, with frame rates of 10-16 Hz or more, and the feature location is tracked over successive 3D volumes using a temporal Kalman filter.
Wiets (US 20130083985 A1, published April 4, 2013) discloses determination of the movements of the vascular walls may be improved, if the acquisition of the angiography images takes place with a high image refresh rate, for instance with 25/30 Hz.
Buras et al. (US 20200268349 A1, published August 27, 2020 with a priority date of January 24, 2017) discloses the GUI enables a user to program the image capture module to capture images automatically (e.g., at a specified time interval such as 10 Hz).
Jaworski (US 20140296694 A1, published October 2, 2014) discloses ultrasound imaging system may continuously acquire ultrasound data at a frame rate of, for example, 10 Hz to 30 Hz. Images generated from the ultrasound data may be refreshed at a similar frame rate. A memory may be included for storing processed frames of acquired ultrasound data.
Wang et al. (US 20090024039 A1, published January 22, 2009) discloses the closer-together disposition “B” may be used once the user has narrowed down the specific region of interest and is desirous of a faster volume refresh rate (e.g., between 10 Hz-30 Hz) for faster visual feedback during crucial manipulations of the biopsy instrument.
J. Guerrero et al., “System for Deep Venous Thrombosis Detection Using Objective Compression Measures”, IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering, vol. 53, no. 5, pp. 845-854, May 2006 discloses a modified star-Kalman algorithm is used for feature detection in acquired ultrasound images, and objective measures of vessel compressibility are calculated from the detected features and acquired force and location data from the sensorized probe.
J. Guerrero et al., “Real-Time Vessel Segmentation and Tracking for Ultrasound Imaging Applications”, IEEE Transactions on Medical Imaging, vol. 27, no. 8, pp. 1079-1090, Aug. 2007 discloses the vessel segmentation uses an extended Kalman filter and an elliptical vessel model to determine the vessel boundary and estimate ellipse parameters for that vessel, which can be used to quickly calculate the transverse area. A tracking method, which uses location measurements from a sensorized ultrasound probe, is implemented using a temporal Kalman filter to track the vessel location in real-time over image sequences.
P. Abolmaesumi et al., “Real-Time Extraction of Carotid Artery Contours from Ultrasound Images”, Proceedings 13th IEEE Symposium on Computer-Based Medical Systems (CBMS 2000), pp. 1-6, 2000 discloses motion of the carotid artery is tracked for more than 30 seconds at 30 frames/second by using the Star-Kalman method, where a Star algorithm with a temporal Kalman filter is used to track the center of the carotid artery while a spatial Kalman filter is used to estimate the carotid artery contours.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798