DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of the Claims
Claims 1-11 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the instant claim requires that the separation distance be less than half of the solar light wavelengths. It is well known that the full range of solar wavelengths range from gamma and x-rays to radio, i.e. an extremely broad range of emission wavelengths. Thus the claimed separation distance may be less than half of one wavelength, while not being less than half of an adjacent wavelength, i.e. the metes and bounds of the claim is variable based on its construction by one of ordinary skill in the art and is indefinite. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song (KR 20120060042 A).
Regarding claim 1, 6, and 9, Song teaches a method for creating an anti-reflective surface (Figs. 13), the method comprising:
patterning a material (102) on a substrate (100) to mask the substrate (Fig. 13B and 13C); and
etching the substrate to produce a nanotextured surface, the nanotextured surface comprising a plurality of nanostructures (id.), each nanostructure of the plurality of nanostructures having a base (103 being etched into cones having a base disposed on layer 104);
wherein the plurality of nanostructures are sized smaller than solar light wavelengths (Abstract, “A solar cell using a substrate integrated with an antireflective nano structure and a fabricating method thereof are provided to minimize a reflection amount of light generated due to a refractive index difference between the substrate and air by forming an anti-reflective nano structure having a cycle or an average distance below an optical wavelength … … More preferably, it is preferable to have a period smaller than (wavelength) / (refractive index of the incident medium). In the case of sunlight, since light enters a solar cell that is an optical device from air (refractive index = 1), it is preferable to have a cycle of about 300 nm or less.”) and shaped such that the nanotextured surface has an effective refractive index that has a gradual variation to a refractive index of the substrate as a function of height from the base of each nanostructure of the plurality of nanostructures (Fig. 3B, showing the refractive index variation from tip to base where it matches the substrate; see also Fig. 4, variation from air 1.0 to that of the glass substrate 1.47, “In addition, the filling ratio of the antireflective nanostructure 110 (which is closely related to the distance between adjacent structures) is preferably as large as possible to induce the effective refractive index to change more gradually, as shown in FIG. 3B … That is, the anti-reflective nanostructure 110, the smaller the period, the higher the height, the parabola type, the filling ratio is good … In addition, the non-periodic structure in the non-reflective nanostructure 110 refers to a structure in which the height of each structure and the distance between adjacent structures are not constant, as shown in FIG. 3C. Even in such an aperiodic structure, the average distance between adjacent protrusions can be regarded as a period.”).
Regarding claim 2, Song teaches the method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein etching the substrate comprises anisotropically etching the substrate and isotropically etching the substrate (“Referring to FIG. 13C, for example, a dry etching process may be performed on the entire surface of the substrate 100 … An antireflective nanostructure 110 'is formed. The remaining buffer layer and the metal particles 102 are then removed by wet etching”; i.e. anisotropic and isotropic etching, respectively).
Regarding claim 4, Song discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the bases of adjacent nanostructures of the plurality of nanostructures are in contact with one another (Figs. 2, 3A-C, 4, 7, 8, at least).
Regarding claim 5, Song discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the gradual variation in the effective refractive index varies from a refractive of index of 1.0 to the refractive index of the substrate (Fig. 4, air at 1.0 to glass substrate 100).
Regarding claim 7, Song discloses the method of claim 1, Song teaches that the period (i.e. separation distance) is 300nm or less (Description of Embodiments, ¶9, “For example, in the case of sunlight, since light of about 300 nm to 3000 nm is incident, it should have a period of about 300 nm or less”), but as best understood does not explicitly show wherein a separation distance between adjacent nanostructures of the plurality of nanostructures is less than half of the solar light wavelengths.
However, Song’s period is 300nm or less for an incident waveband of 300nm to 3000nm and is therefore less than half of the solar wavelengths for the 600nm to 3000nm waveband.
Regarding claim 8, Song discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein etching the substrate comprises plasma etching (“Referring to FIG. 9C, by performing a dry etching process on the entire surface of the substrate 100 using the metal particles 102 as a mask, for example, using an inductively coupled plasma (ICP) etching apparatus.”; dry etch also disclosed for Figs. 13 as discussed supra).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Clevenger (US 20090117360 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Song discloses the method of claim 2, but does not explicitly show wherein anisotropically etching the substrate and isotropically etching the substrate are performed simultaneously.
Clevenger drawn to polymer block semiconductor fabrication of antireflective coatings (¶34, ¶49, ¶73; cf. Applicant’s specification ¶5) explicitly shows anisotropically etching the substrate and isotropically etching the substrate can be performed simultaneously in semiconductor fabrication methods (¶34, ¶49, ¶73), which methods analogous with that of Song (Song, “Here, the substrate 100 is preferably made of, for example, a transparent glass substrate or a transparent polymer substrate, but is not limited thereto. Any substrate having a transparent material may be used.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have carried out processes together in the method of Song according to the teachings of Clevenger toward shortening fabrication timelines and thus increasing yield.
Regarding claim 10 and 11, Song discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly show further comprising forming a template from the patterned material for use as a mask for etching the substrate.
Clevenger drawn to polymer block semiconductor fabrication (cf. Applicant’s specification ¶5) explicitly shows forming a template from the patterned material for use as a mask for etching the substrate (¶49, template layer 30 formed of oxide and patterned).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the patterned template of Clevenger known to be operable for implemented antireflection structures with the antireflection fabrication method of Song and thus obtaining a predictable result with high expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20030180476 A1 discloses an antireflective member and fabrication method
/COLLIN X BEATTY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872