DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shakirov (RU 2240584 C1).
Regarding claim 12, Shakirov discloses a method performed by a downhole robot that comprises a power source (Shakirov, an autonomous integrated downhole tool containing an autonomous power source; Fig. 1)
disposed inside a housing of the downhole robot, (Shakirov, an autonomous downhole tool contains an independent power source 4; Fig. 1)
the method comprising: receiving, at a latch also disposed within the housing, (Shakirov, the electronic key 5, which connects the autonomous power supply 4 to the electronic circuit 6 when the control voltage is applied to the input of the inclusion of the electronic key 5. Fig. 1)
a signal that wirelessly penetrates the housing; and either forming or interrupting a current flow path that couples the power source and equipment of the downhole robot in response to the signal. (Shakirov, To turn on an autonomous power source 4 of the downhole tool, ... The alternating magnetic flux generated by the external source 1 passes through the diamagnetic casing 7 of the downhole tool, penetrates the core of the inductor 8 located in the downhole tool and induces an alternating voltage on its winding. This voltage is converted by the converter 9 into the supply voltage of the electronic key 5, which connects the autonomous power supply 4 to the electronic circuit 6 when the control voltage is applied to the input of the inclusion of the electronic key 5, Fig. 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shakirov (RU 2240584 C1).
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 depends form claim 12. As already discussed, the limitations of 12 are anticipated by Shakirov. Concerning claim 15, wherein either forming or interrupting the current flow path comprises forming or interrupting a return current flow path. (Shakirov, To turn on an autonomous power source 4 of the downhole tool, ... The alternating magnetic flux generated by the external source 1 passes through the diamagnetic casing 7 of the downhole tool, penetrates the core of the inductor 8 located in the downhole tool and induces an alternating voltage on its winding. This voltage is converted by the converter 9 into the supply voltage of the electronic key 5, which connects the autonomous power supply 4 to the electronic circuit 6 when the control voltage is applied to the input of the inclusion of the electronic key 5, Fig. 1) Shakirov does not specifically state whether or not the interrupting or forming occurs in a towards or returning path. However, it would be an obvious matter of design choice, prior to the effective date of the claimed subject matter, to implement the Shakirov with forming or interrupting a return current flow path since interrupting either of a returning or towards path would server to interrupt the current flow.
Regarding claim 20, which depends from claim 12, Shakirov discloses further comprising: receiving, at a second latch also disposed within the housing, (Shakirov, the electronic key 5, which connects the autonomous power supply 4 to the electronic circuit 6 when the control voltage is applied to the input of the inclusion of the electronic key 5. Fig. 1) Shakirov does not specifically disclose a second latch. However, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject, to implement Shakirov with a second electronic key circuit, since it has been held that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harz, 274 F.2d 669 (MPEP § 2144.04 VI B)
a signal that wirelessly penetrates the housing; and either forming or interrupting a second current flow path that couples the power source and second equipment of the downhole robot in response to the signal. (Shakirov, To turn on an autonomous power source 4 of the downhole tool, ... The alternating magnetic flux generated by the external source 1 passes through the diamagnetic casing 7 of the downhole tool, penetrates the core of the inductor 8 located in the downhole tool and induces an alternating voltage on its winding. This voltage is converted by the converter 9 into the supply voltage of the electronic key 5, which connects the autonomous power supply 4 to the electronic circuit 6 when the control voltage is applied to the input of the inclusion of the electronic key 5, Fig. 1) Shakirov does not specifically disclose a second equipment. However, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject, to implement Shakirov with a second equipment, since it has been held that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harz, 274 F.2d 669 (MPEP § 2144.04 VI B)
Claim 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shakirov (RU 2240584 C1) in view of Hardin, Jr et al. (US Pub. 20160290059 A1).
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 depends form claim 12. As already discussed, the limitations of 12 are anticipated by Shakirov. Concerning claim 17, wherein forming or interrupting the current flow path comprising biasing a transistor switch coupled such that the current flow path flows through main terminals of the transistor switch. (Shakirov, the electronic key 5) Shakirov does not specifically discloses that electronic key 5 comprises a transistor switch. Hardin, also in the field of employing downhole robots, ¶0013, however, discloses that switches to control a conduction path comprise transistors. (Hardin, ¶0041; controller may control the first conductor path switch 506 and the first plurality of signal-type switches ... the second plurality of signal-type switches 516 may comprise transistors,) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject, to implement Shakirov with the known technique of employing transistors, in order to implement the controlled conduction path the switching of the electronic key. (Hardin, ¶0041)
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shakirov (RU 2240584 C1) in view of Wang (CN112796716 A).
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 depends form claim 12. As already discussed, the limitations of 12 are anticipated by Shakirov. Concerning claim 19, Shakirov does not specifically disclose wherein the equipment of the downhole robot includes at least one of: a propulsion system; or a communication system; or a sensor system. Wang, in the same field of endeavor, however, expressly teaches including the features. (Wang, located in the robot main body, a signal collecting circuit 5, a first control unit 6, a motor driving assembly 7, first wireless charging and communication module 10; Fig. 2)
Claims 1-4 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN112796716 B) in view of Shakirov (RU 2240584 C1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a downhole robot (Wang an underground intelligent robot 1, Fig. 1.)
comprising: a housing; (Wang, the underground intelligent robot 1 comprises a robot main body, Fig. 1)
electrically-powered equipment configured to perform operations of the downhole robot; (Wang, located in the robot main body, a signal collecting circuit 5, a first control unit 6, a motor driving assembly 7, Fig. 2)
a power source disposed inside the housing, the power source coupled by a current flow path to provide electrical current to power to the electrically-powered equipment; (Wang, a first power supply module 4 located in the robot main body, ... the first power supply module 4 is the whole underground intelligent robot 1 power supply, Fig. 2)
Wang does not disclose, and a resettable latch disposed inside the housing, wherein the resettable latch is configured to either interrupt flow of electrical along the current flow path or allow current to flow along the current flow path in response to a signal that wirelessly penetrates the housing. Shakirov, in the same field of endeavor, (an autonomous integrated downhole tool containing an autonomous power source) however, teaches providing the functionality.
Shakirov discloses a resettable latch disposed inside the housing, (Shakirov, the electronic key 5, which connects the autonomous power supply 4 to the electronic circuit 6 when the control voltage is applied to the input of the inclusion of the electronic key 5. Fig. 1)
wherein the resettable latch is configured to either interrupt flow of electrical along the current flow path (Shakirov, To turn off the autonomous power supply 4 of the downhole tool, the external electromagnetic energy source 1 is located opposite the core end the end face of the core of the inductor 11 of the second electromagnetic energy converter 3 of the downhole tool. The alternating magnetic flux generated by the external source 1 passes through the diamagnetic casing 7 of the downhole tool, penetrates the core of the choke 11 located in the downhole tool and induces an alternating voltage on its winding. This voltage is converted by the converter 10 into the supply voltage of the electronic switch 5, which disconnects the stand-alone power source 4 from the electronic circuit 6 when the control voltage is applied to the off input of the electronic switch 5, Fig. 1)
or allow current to flow along the current flow path in response to a signal that wirelessly penetrates the housing (Shakirov, To turn on an autonomous power source 4 of the downhole tool, an external source of electromagnetic energy 1 is located by the end of the core opposite the end of the core of the inductor 8 of the first electromagnetic energy converter 2 of the downhole tool. The alternating magnetic flux generated by the external source 1 passes through the diamagnetic casing 7 of the downhole tool, penetrates the core of the inductor 8 located in the downhole tool and induces an alternating voltage on its winding. This voltage is converted by the converter 9 into the supply voltage of the electronic key 5, which connects the autonomous power supply 4 to the electronic circuit 6 when the control voltage is applied to the input of the inclusion of the electronic key 5, Fig. 1) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Wang with the known technique of employing a resettable latch disposed inside the housing, as taught by Shakirov, in order to save the power resources of an autonomous device, increasing the reliability of its operation.”(Shakirov)
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim Shakirov, discloses wherein: the resettable latch is magnetically-resettable or acoustically-resettable; and the signal comprises a magnetic field or an acoustic pulse.( Shakirov, electromagnetic energy 1; The alternating magnetic flux generated by the external source 1 passes through the diamagnetic casing 7 of the downhole tool, penetrates the core of the inductor 8 located in the downhole tool and induces an alternating voltage on its winding. This voltage is converted by the converter 9 into the supply voltage of the electronic key 5, which connects the autonomous power supply 4 to the electronic circuit 6 when the control voltage is applied to the input of the inclusion of the electronic key 5, Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 1, Wang discloses wherein the electrically-powered equipment includes at least one of: a propulsion system; or a communication system; or a sensor system. (Wang, located in the robot main body, a signal collecting circuit 5, a first control unit 6, a motor driving assembly 7, the sensor assembly 11, and communication module 9, Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 4, which depends from claim 1, Shakirov discloses wherein the housing (Wang, Claim 3, the inner side of the outer shell magnetic permeable area of the underground intelligent robot (1).)
Wang does not discloses a resettable latch and therefore does not discloses the housing comprises a housing portion disposed in vicinity of the resettable latch. Shakirov, however, teaches the limitation. Shakirov discloses a housing portion(Fig. 1 and the diamagnetic casing 7 of the downhole tool)
disposed in vicinity of the resettable latch (Shakirov, the electronic key 5)
wherein the housing portion is formed from material that has a relatively lower permeability than a remainder of the housing. (Shakirov, The body of the downhole tool 7 is made of diamagnetic material... the chokes 8 (11) are made of a material with high magnetic permeability,) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to provide a housing portion from material that has a relatively lower permeability, as taught by Shakirov, in order to implement Shakirov’s teaching of providing a robot with a magnetic resettable latch.
Regarding claim 8, which depends from claim 1, Shakirov discloses wherein the resettable latch is powered by a second power source that differs from the power source. (Shakirov, To turn on an autonomous power source 4 of the downhole tool, ... The alternating magnetic flux generated by the external source 1 passes through the diamagnetic casing 7 of the downhole tool, penetrates the core of the inductor 8 located in the downhole tool and induces an alternating voltage on its winding. This voltage is converted by the converter 9 into the supply voltage of the electronic key 5 , Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 9, which depends from claim 1, Shakirov discloses wherein the current flow path passes through the resettable latch. (Shakirov, the electronic key 5, which connects the autonomous power supply 4 to the electronic circuit 6 when the control voltage is applied to the input of the inclusion of the electronic key 5, Fig. 1)
Regarding 10 which depends from claim 1, Wang discloses wherein: the electrically-powered equipment comprises a first subsystem of the downhole robot; (Wang, 4, first power supply module; 5, signal collecting circuit; 6, first control unit; 7, motor drive assembly; 8, wearable inflatable bladder; 9, first wireless charging and communication module; 10. first storage unit; Fig. 2)
and wherein the downhole robot further comprises: a second electrically-powered subsystem configured to perform operations of the downhole robot, (Wang, 12, second control unit; 13, the second wireless charging and communication module; 14, second storage unit; 15, second power supply module; 16, communication interface; 17, solar charging manager; 18, solar photovoltaic panel; 19, second storage battery; Fig. 3)
wherein the power source is coupled by a second current flow path to provide electrical current to power to the second electrically-powered subsystem, (Wang, 17,solar charging manager; 19, second storage battery; Fig. 3 Fig. 3) and a second resettable latch disposed inside the housing and configured to reversibly allow current to flow along the second current flow path in response to a signal that wirelessly penetrates the housing. (Shakirov, the electronic key 5, which connects the autonomous power supply 4 to the electronic circuit 6 when the control voltage is applied to the input of the inclusion of the electronic key 5. Fig. 1 [Reversibility allow current is interpreted as on or off since current flows from the positive source to the negative return line, i.e. into the positive Vin terminal 231 and out of the GND terminal 233 weather or not the equipment is coupled to the Supply rail or the return rail via the latch of the instant application. (Figs.2-3 and 5 )
] ) While Shakirov does not specifically disclose a second resettable latch, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject, to implement Shakirov with a second electronic key circuit, since it has been held that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harz, 274 F.2d 669 (MPEP § 2144.04 VI B)
Regarding claim 11, which depends from claim 1, wherein the housing is configured to withstand ten megapascals of differential pressure or more. (Wang, the underground intelligent robot 1 comprises a robot main body, Fig. 1) While Wang does not specifically disclose with a particular differential pressure the housing is configured to withstand, the downhole pressures are operational environment parameters for the intelligent robot. Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Wang with a housing configured to withstand 10 megapascals of differential pressure or more, since it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of operation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454 (MPEP § 2144.05 II A )
Claims 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN112796716 B) in view of Shakirov (RU 2240584 C1) ) in view of Hardin, Jr et al. (US Pub. 20160290059 A1).
Regarding claim 5, which depends from claim 1, wherein the downhole robot comprises: a transistor switch, (Shakirov, the electronic key 5). Shakirov does not specifically discloses that electronic key 5 comprises a transistor switch. Hardin, also in the field of employing downhole robots, ¶0013, however, discloses that switches to control a conduction path comprise transistors. (Hardin, ¶0041; controller may control the first conductor path switch 506 and the first plurality of signal-type switches ... the second plurality of signal-type switches 516 may comprise transistors,) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject, to implement Shakirov with the known technique of employing transistors, in order to implement the controlled conduction path the switching of the electronic key. (Hardin, ¶0041)
wherein the resettable latch is configured to latch the transistor switch in a conductive state in response to the signal that wirelessly penetrates the housing. (Shakirov, To turn on an autonomous power source 4 of the downhole tool, ... The alternating magnetic flux generated by the external source 1 passes through the diamagnetic casing 7 of the downhole tool, penetrates the core of the inductor 8 located in the downhole tool and induces an alternating voltage on its winding. This voltage is converted by the converter 9 into the supply voltage of the electronic key 5, which connects the autonomous power supply 4 to the electronic circuit 6 when the control voltage is applied to the input of the inclusion of the electronic key 5, Fig. 1)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 13-14, 16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Shakirov does not disclose the latch arrangement specifics of the instant claims, nor is there an obvious rational to modify Shakirov to do so absent impermissible hindsight reason.
Conclusion
/JEROLD B MURPHY/Examiner, Art Unit 2688
/STEVEN LIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2688