DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the claimed, “wherein the sensors” is unclear because only one (single) sensor is required by the claim. The claim should be amended to recite, “wherein the at least one sensor”.
Regarding claim 13, the claimed, “at least one sensors” (2 occurrences), should be amended to recite, “at least once sensor”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1–4, 8–11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zmrzli et al. (US Pub. # 20260118840), hereinafter referred to as Zmrzli.
Regarding claim 1, Zmrzli teaches, “A diaper rash prevention system, comprising: an Internet of Things gas detection device equipped with at least one sensor that wirelessly communicates its readings to a communication device in the form of a software application running on a smartphone (Fig. 1–2, ref. # 100, 110; para. [0035–0037, 0062]); wherein the sensors inside the Internet of Things gas detection device analyze the gases in the air to determine when a child has a dirty diaper or underpants providing accurate and real-time notifications to caregivers (see para. [0010, 0032–0034, 0038, 0047, 0054, 0063]).”
Regarding claim 2, Zmrzli teaches, “wherein the Internet of Things gas detection device is plugged into a wall outlet near a child’s crib [0035].”
Regarding claim 3, Zmrzli teaches, “wherein the Internet of Things gas detection device includes a housing supporting an electrical plug for attachment to an external power source (Fig. 1, 2, 8; ref. # 100, 820; para. [0006, 0035, 0070]).”
Regarding claim 4, Zmrzli teaches, “wherein the housing includes a cover and a base (front and back of 100 & Fig. 8a, 8b, 8c, 8d, para. [0070, 0099] in combination with Fig. 2, para. [0006, 0037, 0100], showing and discussing sensors within the housing).”
Regarding claim 8, Zmrzli teaches, “wherein the at least one sensor includes a network of sensors (para. [0032, 0047, 0104]).”
Regarding claim 9, Zmrzli teaches, “wherein the network of sensors includes a CH4 (methane) sensor, a VOC (volatile organic compound) sensor, and a H2S (hydrogen sulfide) sensor (para. [0032, 0047, 0104]).”
Regarding claim 10, Zmrzli teaches, “wherein the network of sensors is mounted on a circuit board (ref. # 110; para. [0032–0035]; sensors inherently connected to a PCB).”
Regarding claim 11, Zmrzli teaches, “wherein the circuit board includes a processor, a transceiver, and a power source connection (Abstract; para. [0006, 0035, 0037, 0041–0042, 0071–0073, 0099, 0100]).”
Regarding claim 14, Zmrzli teaches, “wherein the diaper rash prevention system utilizes Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning algorithms to process data collected from the at least one sensors to correlate and determine when a soiled diaper event has taken place (Fig. 4; para. [0020, 0033, 0034, 0042, 0046, 0048, 0061–0063, 0068]).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5–7 and 12–13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zmrzli (US Pub. # 20260118840) in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. # 20230041557), hereinafter referred to as Lee.
Regarding claim 5, Zmrzli doesn’t necessarily teach, “wherein the cover is connected to the base for selective attachment thereto.” However, Lee teaches the deficiencies of Zmrzli (Fig. 1a, 1b, 1c; ref. # 100, 101, 102; para. [0064–0066]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zmrzli’s invention to include wherein the cover is connected to the base for selective attachment thereto.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Zmrzli’s invention for at least the purpose of allowing ease of access to the interior of the device for maintenance purposes (replacement of parts, etc.).
Regarding claim 6, Zmrzli teaches, “wherein the cover is provided with a perforated grill allowing gases to readily pass therethrough such that they may be sensed by the sensors within the IoT gas detection device (Fig. 8c, ref. # 840; para. [0099] in combination with para. [0006, 0037, 0100]; furthermore, perforations exist in cover/housing for interior sensors within housing to be able to detect gases).”
Regarding claim 7, Zmrzli teaches, “wherein the electric plug is mounted along a base wall of the base of the housing (ref. # 820 as seen in Fig. 8b, 8c).”
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Zmrzli does not appear to teach, “wherein the Internet of Things gas detection device includes a fan; wherein the fan is positioned within a housing of the Internet of Things gas detection device such that it accesses the air that it needs to move, and the fan is positioned slightly above the at least one sensors such that the air being drawn in by the fan passes over and around the at least one sensors.” However, Lee teaches the deficiencies of Zmrzli (Fig. 13a, ref. # 1301 with sensors as described throughout [0095, 0096, 0135, 0136, 0144–0146, 0155–0157]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zmrzli’s invention to include wherein the Internet of Things gas detection device includes a fan; wherein the fan is positioned within a housing of the Internet of Things gas detection device such that it accesses the air that it needs to move, and the fan is positioned slightly above the at least one sensors such that the air being drawn in by the fan passes over and around the at least one sensors.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Zmrzli’s invention for at least the purpose of ensuring the flow of air around the sensor(s) is kept constant while also providing a humidity control means in the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO–892 form. The references cited herewith teach internet connected sensing devices for detecting methane or other gases in a room, with configurations similar to the present application.
/RYAN D WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852