DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: “configured to supply” appears to be in error for “is configured to supply”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: an R744 refrigerant formed of carbon dioxide is redundant since R744 refrigerant is carbon dioxide. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: control device, i.e. (device [generic placeholder] for control [functional language]) in claim 1-15, 18-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a first end of the fourth connection”. It is unclear if this is the same or different from the first end of the fourth connection from claim 1. It is believed to be the same and that the limitation should read “the first end of the fourth connection”. Claims 3-13 and 17-19 are rejected insofar as they are dependent on claim 2 and therefore include the same error(s).
Claims 3-13, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitations “the internal heat-exchanger configured to exchange heat between the refrigerant supplied from the second heat-exchanger and the refrigerant supplied from the third heat-exchanger with each other, and to supply the refrigerant with a higher temperature among the heat-exchanged refrigerant to the third heat-exchanger”. This is unclear in that “exchange heat between” appears to be redundant with “with each other”. Additionally, the refrigerant with a higher temperature among the heat-exchanged refrigerant is unclear. It appears that Applicant intended for the refrigerant stream having a higher temperature resulting from the heat exchange from the refrigerant supplied from the second heat-exchanger and from the refrigerant supplied from the third heat-exchanger to be supplied to the third heat-exchanger. Claims 4-13 and 17-19 are rejected insofar as they are dependent on claim 3 and therefore include the same error(s).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “a partial refrigerant”. It is not understood how a partial refrigerant would be discharged from the internal heat exchanger. It is believed Applicant intended a portion of the refrigerant.
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitations “a first end” and “a second end” with respect to the ends of the connection lines earlier introduced. It is unclear if these are the same or different from the first end and second end introduced in claim 1. It is believed that they are the same and that each recitation should be “the first end” and “the second end”. Claims 8-11 are rejected insofar as they are dependent on claim 7 and therefore include the same error(s).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “a partial refrigerant”. It is not understood how a partial refrigerant would be discharged/introduced. It is believed Applicant intended a portion of the refrigerant.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a partial refrigerant”. It is not understood how a partial refrigerant would be discharged/introduced. It is believed Applicant intended a portion of the refrigerant.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitations “a first end” and “a second end” with respect to the ends of the connection lines earlier introduced. It is unclear if these are the same or different from the first end and second end introduced in claim 1. It is believed that they are the same and that each recitation should be “the first end” and “the second end”. Claim 13 is rejected insofar as it is dependent on claim 12 and therefore include the same error(s).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “an interiorly introduced refrigerant”. It is unclear if this is the same or different from the refrigerant of claim 1. It is believed to be the same.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “a second end” with respect to the end of the fifth connection line earlier introduced. It is unclear if this is the same or different from the second end introduced in claim 1. It is believed that it is the same and that the recitation should be “the second end”.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “a second end”. It is unclear if this is the same or different from the second end introduced in claim 1. It is believed to be the same. Claims 18-19 are rejected insofar as they are dependent on claim 17 and therefore include the same error(s).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitations “a first end” and “a second end” with respect to the ends of the connection lines earlier introduced. It is unclear if these are the same or different from the first end and second end introduced in claim 1. It is believed that they are the same and that each recitation should be “the first end” and “the second end”. Claim 19 is rejected insofar as it is dependent on claim 18 and therefore include the same error(s).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “a partial refrigerant”. It is not understood how a partial refrigerant would be discharged/introduced. It is believed Applicant intended a portion of the refrigerant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0185067) in view of Kim et al. ‘86 (US 2018/0117986).
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al. discloses a heat pump system for a vehicle, the heat pump system comprising:
a refrigerant line (see at least refrigerant line #11);
a first connection line (see at least line #21);
an air conditioner unit including a compressor (see at least compressor #19), a first heat-exchanger (see at least heat exchanger #12a), a second heat-exchanger (see at least heat exchanger #14), a first expansion valve (see at least expansion valve #15), and a third heat-exchanger (see at least heat exchanger #16) that are connected through the refrigerant line to circulate a refrigerant through the refrigerant line (see Figures, refrigerant flows through line #11 through each of the above); and
a chiller (see at least chiller #40) connected to the refrigerant line through the first connection line (see at least line #21 which connects chiller #40 to refrigerant line #11), the chiller configured to adjust a temperature of a coolant by heat-exchanging the coolant with the refrigerant supplied from the air conditioner unit (see at least paragraph [0064]),
wherein the air conditioner unit further includes:
a control device disposed on the refrigerant line between the first heat-exchanger and the second heat-exchanger (see at least gas injection device #30);
a second connection line having a first end connected to the refrigerant line between the compressor and the first heat-exchanger and having a second end connected to the control device (see at least line #27; paragraphs [0127]-[0128]: #34 is part of #30);
a third connection line having a first end connected to the refrigerant line between the first heat-exchanger and the second heat-exchanger and having a second end connected to the refrigerant line between the second heat-exchanger and the third heat-exchanger (see at least line #51);
a fourth connection line having a first end connected to the refrigerant line between the second heat-exchanger and the third heat-exchanger and having a second end connected to the refrigerant line at the compressor (see at least line #29/#32); and
a fifth connection line having a first end connected to the refrigerant line between the third heat-exchanger and the compressor and having a second end connected to the refrigerant line between the first heat-exchanger and the second heat-exchanger (see at least line #25).
Kim et al. does not disclose that the fourth connection line connects between the third heat-exchanger and the compressor.
However, there are only a finite number of connection points available to one having ordinary skill in the art in a vehicle heat pump system. In this regard, it is noted that Kim et al. ’86 teaches another vehicle heat pump system with a fourth connection line that connects between a second heat exchanger and a third heat exchanger and between the third heat exchanger and the compressor (see at least line #113).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Kim et al. with the fourth connection line connects between the third heat-exchanger and the compressor, since, as taught by Kim et al. ’86 such connection port is a suitable and known connection point for a vehicle heat pump system (see KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)): such would provide the predictable benefit of allowing for mixing prior to entry into the compressor, thus reducing risk of slugging or cavitation.
Regarding claim 14, Kim et al. further discloses wherein the second heat-exchanger and the third heat-exchanger are configured to cool or evaporate an interiorly introduced refrigerant (see at least paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim et al. further discloses wherein:
a first end of the first connection line is connected to the refrigerant line between the second heat-exchanger and the first expansion valve (see at least top half of #21 which connects between heat exchanger #14 and expansion valve #15);
a second end of the first connection line is connected to the refrigerant line between the third heat-exchanger and the compressor (see at least bottom half of #21 which connects between heat exchanger #16 and compressor #19); and
a second end of the second connection line is connected to the refrigerant line between the first heat-exchanger and the second heat-exchanger (see at least end of #27 between #30 and #13, which lies between #12a and #14).
Regarding claim 16, Kim et al. further discloses wherein the control device comprises:
a first control valve disposed on the refrigerant line between the first heat-exchanger and the second heat-exchanger (see at least valve(s) #35/#34); and
a second control valve disposed on the second connection line, the second control valve configured to control a flow of the refrigerant flowing through the second connection line (see at least valve #26).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Kim et al. ’86 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Durrani et al. (US 2017/0182867).
Regarding claim 20, Kim et al. in view of Kim et al. ‘86 is silent regarding wherein the refrigerant is an R744 refrigerant formed of carbon dioxide.
It was, however, old and well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make use of carbon dioxide refrigerant in a heat pump system for a vehicle, as evidenced by Durrani et al. (see at least paragraph [0070]; [0077]).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Kim et al. in view of Kim et al. ’86 with herein the refrigerant is an R744 refrigerant formed of carbon dioxide, since, as evidenced by Durrani et al., such provision was old and well-known in the art and would provide the predictable benefit of making use of an abundant low-global warming potential refrigerant.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-13 and 17-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In combination with the limitations of claim 1, the prior art alone or in combination fails to teach or disclose the limitations of claim 2, particularly regarding the sixth connection line and third expansion valve.
Conclusion
/TAVIA SULLENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763