DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the rejection of record. However, a new ground of rejection is applied to the amended claims.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the a plurality of stopper grooves formed in the groove of the lid as recited in claim 1, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Since the disclosure lacks any disclosure of the lid having a plurality of stopper grooves formed in the bottom of the groove around the central axis of the lid. The disclosure does disclose a plurality of stopper grooves formed in the bottom of the groove around the central axis of the bottom wall, but the claim is currently further limiting either the groove of the lid or bottom wall with the plurality of stopper grooves.
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear how the groove around the central axis of the lid can have a plurality of stopper grooves formed in the bottom of the groove since the disclosure does not disclose such a feature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0060569) in view of Hu (U.S. Patent No. 12,169,025).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. disclose a manifold (Figs. 1-11) comprising: a resin-made manifold main body (paragraph 27) including a plurality of housings (10 and 17) joined to each other (paragraphs 27-30) and having a plurality of flow paths (141-144 and 1711-1741) therein; and a rotary valve (15) that regulates a flow of a fluid flowing through the flow paths (paragraph 19), wherein a first housing (10) that is one of two housings having joint portions (Fig. 4) joined to each other among the plurality of housings (paragraphs 27-30) constituting the manifold main body (10 and 17) includes a cylindrical valve accommodation portion (13) that is allowed to accommodate and support (paragraphs 20 and 25) the rotary valve (15), at least part (131) of the valve accommodation portion (13) protrudes toward a second housing (17) side relative to the joint portions (Fig. 2), the second housing (17) being the other of the two housings, the valve accommodation portion (13) has an opening (top opening connected to the actuator 20) into which the rotary valve (15) is allowed to be inserted and a bottom wall (paragraph 25) that is allowed to support the rotary valve (15), and the second housing (17) has a through hole (179), and the bottom wall is disposed radially inside (paragraph 27) the through hole (179) of the second housing (17); and a lid (20) that covers the opening (Fig. 1) and is fixed to the first housing (10), wherein the rotary valve (15) includes a rotor (15) that rotates about a central axis (Fig. 5) of the valve accommodation portion (30) to regulate a flow of the fluid (paragraph 19), and a seal member (16) disposed between the rotor (15) and the valve accommodation portion (30), but lack disclosure of at least one of the bottom wall and the lid of the valve accommodation portion has a groove around the central axis, the seal member is held by being inserted into the groove, the seal member includes a plurality of rotation stoppers, in the bottom of the groove, a plurality of stopper grooves is formed into which the rotation stoppers are inserted.
Hu teaches a manifold (Figs. 1-18) comprising a main body (10) having a cylindrical valve accommodation portion (102, Fig. 12), wherein the valve accommodation portion (102) has an opening (Fig. 12) for allowing a rotary valve (20) to be inserted and a bottom wall (11), the bottom wall (11) having an annular groove (124) around the central axis (Fig. 12), and a seal member (40) that is held by being inserted (Column 9 lines 18-41) into the annular groove (124), the seal member (40) includes a plurality of rotation stoppers (stoppers in between notches 46, Fig. 11) that are inserted into a plurality of stopper grooves (127, in between 126 Fig. 17) that are formed in the bottom (Figs. 10-18) of the annular groove (124).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the manifold of Wang et al. with a sealing member as taught by Hu for the advantage of limiting a position of the sealing member and preventing the sealing member from being separated from the valve body (Column 9 lines 18-41).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0060569) in view of Hu (U.S. Patent No. 12,169,025), and further in view of Gray (U.S. Patent No. 11,454,330).
Regarding claim 3, Wang et al. modified above disclose the essential features of the claimed invention but lack disclosure wherein an inner diameter of the valve accommodation portion decreases from an opening side toward a bottom wall side.
Gray teaches a manifold (Figs. 1-25) comprising a chamber (30) as a valve accommodation portion (30) for a rotary valve (50), wherein the inner diameter (Fig. 5, Column 6 lines 29-42) of the valve accommodation portion (30) decreases from an opening side (23) toward a bottom side wall (22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the manifold of Wang et al. with a change in diameter of the valve accommodation portion as taught by Gray, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0060569) in view of Hu (U.S. Patent No. 12,169,025), and further in view of Lin et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0011437).
Regarding claim 5, Wang et al. modified above disclose the essential features of the claimed invention but lack disclosure wherein the first housing includes a fixing portion fixed to a support frame.
Lin et al. teach a manifold (Figs. 1-9) comprising a housing (1) including a valve accommodation portion (101) for a rotary valve (2), wherein the housing (1) includes a fixing portion (50) for fixing to a support frame (paragraph 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing of Wang et al., with a fixing portion as taught by Lin et al. for the advantage of enabling the manifold to be connected/mounted to a vehicle (paragraph 30).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0060569) in view of Hu (U.S. Patent No. 12,169,025), and further in view of Gray (U.S. Patent No. 11,454,330), and even further in view of Lin et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0011437).
Regarding claim 7, Wang et al. modified above disclose the essential features of the claimed invention but lack disclosure wherein the first housing includes a fixing portion fixed to a support frame.
Lin et al. teach a manifold (Figs. 1-9) comprising a housing (1) including a valve accommodation portion (101) for a rotary valve (2), wherein the housing (1) includes a fixing portion (50) for fixing to a support frame (paragraph 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing of Wang et al., with a fixing portion as taught by Lin et al. for the advantage of enabling the manifold to be connected/mounted to a vehicle (paragraph 30).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REINALDO SANCHEZ-MEDINA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753