DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dias et al (US 2021/0394155), as evidenced by Mehara et al (“Binding Interactions in Copper, Silver and Gold π-Complexes”) and Dias et al (“Coinage metal complexes of 3,5-bis(trifluoromethyl)pyrazolate ligand synthesis and characterization of {[3,5-(CF3)2Pz]Cu}3 and {[3,5-(CF3)2Pz]Ag}3”).
Dias discloses a composition comprising an alkene and a compound having Formula I:
wherein each X is individually chosen from H, CF3, and Br (see [0026]-[0028]).
Dias therefore discloses a compound that is isostructural with that claimed and differs only by the metal component thereof, containing copper instead of silver. However, it is noted that Dias discloses that silver complexes may also be used for the adsorption of an alkene in alkene/alkane separations (see [0078]; [0080]). This is further evidenced by Mehara (see Abstract; Introduction, wherein copper, silver, and gold play critical roles in forming metal-ethylene complexes).
It is further noted that the Formula I compound claimed, including Ag in place of Cu, is also a known compound (see Dias: “Coinage metal complexes…” – p. 166, Figs. 1, 2).
Accordingly, arriving at the claimed compound would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in light of the teachings in the Dias ‘155 reference, achieved by routine experimentation, and associated with a reasonable expectation of success. Given that Dias discloses silver complexes may be used for the adsorption of an alkene in alkene/alkane separations, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to try the isostructural equivalent comprising silver, which is known to provide the same functionality of alkene adsorption. MPEP 2144.06 II.
Regarding claim 2, Dias discloses wherein the alkene is ethene, propene, butene, or a mixture thereof (see [0028]).
Regarding claim 3, Dias discloses the composition further comprising an alkane, wherein the alkane comprises one or more of ethane, propane, and butane (see [0028]).
Regarding claims 4-8, Dias discloses wherein Formula I exhibits a reversible transformation to Formula III:
wherein each X is independently chosen from H, CF3, and Br (see [0030]).
Alkene desorption transforms Formula III back to Formula I (see Fig. 1; [0025]; [0061]).
Regarding claim 9, Dias discloses the reversible transformation is an endothermic structural rearrangement of Formula I (see [0052]).
Regarding claim 10, Dias discloses wherein the reversible transformation is a solid-state transformation (see Abstract; [0025]).
Regarding claim 11, Dias discloses a method of separating an alkene from a mixture, the method comprising contacting the mixture to a compound having Formula I (as shown above) to form a complex having Formula III (as shown above) (see [0008]; [0034]).
As noted above, Dias discloses a compound that is isostructural with that claimed and differs only by the metal component thereof, containing copper instead of silver. However, it is noted that Dias discloses that silver complexes may also be used for the adsorption of an alkene in alkene/alkane separations (see [0078]; [0080]). This is further evidenced by Mehara (see Abstract; Introduction, wherein copper, silver, and gold play critical roles in forming metal-ethylene complexes).
It is further noted that the Formula I compound claimed, including Ag in place of Cu, is also a known compound (see Dias: “Coinage metal complexes…” – p. 166, Figs. 1, 2).
Accordingly, arriving at a process using the claimed compound would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in light of the teachings in the Dias ‘155 reference, achieved by routine experimentation, and associated with a reasonable expectation of success. Given that Dias discloses silver complexes may be used for the adsorption of an alkene in alkene/alkane separations, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to try the isostructural equivalent comprising silver, which is known to provide the same functionality of alkene adsorption. MPEP 2144.06 II.
Regarding claim 12, Dias discloses wherein the mixture is contacted with the compound at a pressure below a partial pressure of the alkene (see [0034]).
Regarding claim 13, Dias discloses wherein the mixture is contacted with the compound at a temperature from 0 to 20°C (see [0036]), within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 14, Dias discloses wherein the mixture is contacted with the compound at a pressure of from ambient to 100 kPa (see [0037]).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Dias discloses wherein the mixture is contacted with the compound at a pressure from 600 to 1000 kPa (see [0037]), within the claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 17, Dias discloses the method further comprising reducing pressure to ambient pressure or below after forming the complex and collecting the alkene (see [0038]).
Regarding claim 18, Dias discloses the method further comprising increasing temperature after forming the complex and collecting the alkene (see [0038]).
Regarding claim 19, Dias discloses wherein the mixture is contacted with the compound in the presence of a solvent (see [0039]).
Regarding claim 20, Dias discloses wherein the mixture is a hydrocarbon feed gas mixture (see [0004]; [0034]-[0035]).
Conclusion
/Renee Robinson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772