DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Domestic
Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C.120, 121, or 365(c) or 365 (a) of any PCT Application international application is
acknowledged, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Double Patenting (Non-Statutory Obviousness Type)
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper time-wise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-7, 9-15 and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8, 12, 14, 17 and 1, of US Patent 12,120,591, in view of Martin, et al (US PG Publication 2020/0274962), hereafter Martin, which teaches the limitations from the claims that are not anticipated by (included within) the claims of the US Patent (see rejection after table below). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, as shown in the table below, which underlines similarities between the claim limitations of the current application and the US Patent, because all the limitations from the claims of the current application are obvious over the claims of the US Patent.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8 and 17 of US Patent 12,120,591, in view of Martin, and further in view of Petite (US PG Publication 2019/0098480), which teaches the limitations from the claims that are not anticipated by (included within) the claims of the US Patent (see rejection after table below). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, as shown in the table below, which underlines similarities between the claim limitations of the current application and the US Patent, because all the limitations from the claims of the current application are obvious over the claims of the US Patent.
Claims from Current Application
Claims from US Patent 12,120,591
A method comprising: receiving a first data signal comprising a first location and a first phone number and a second data signal comprising a second location and a second phone number; receiving data defining a geographic region and a message associated with the geographic region; determining that the first location and the second location are inside the geographic region; determining that the first data signal corresponds to an unanswered emergency call and the second data signal corresponds to an answered emergency call; and transmitting the message to the first phone number associated with the first data signal, the first data signal corresponding to the unanswered emergency call and comprising the first location inside the geographic region; wherein the message is not transmitted to the second phone number based on the determination that the second data signal corresponds to the answered emergency call.
8. A method for sending outbound messages from an emergency system, the method comprising: receiving a first data signal comprising a first location and a first phone number and a second data signal comprising a second location and a second phone number, the first data signal corresponding to an unanswered emergency call that is on hold and the second data signal corresponding to an answered emergency call; providing a user interface comprising a map and a signal indicator, the signal indicator positioned on the map at the first location; receiving a user selection of a geographic region on the map; receiving a message associated with the geographic region; determining that the first location and second location are inside the selected geographic region; determining that the first data signal corresponds to an unanswered emergency call and the second data signal corresponds to an answered emergency call; and transmitting the message to the first phone number associated with the first data signal corresponding to the unanswered emergency call associated with the selected geographic region, the message being transmitted while the unanswered emergency call is on hold; wherein the message is not transmitted to the second phone number based on the determination that the second data signal corresponds to the answered emergency call.
The method of claim 1, wherein the data defining the geographic region is based on a user selection of the geographic region in a map interface.
N/A
The method of claim 1, wherein the unanswered emergency call is on hold, and the message is transmitted while the unanswered emergency call is on hold.
8. A method for sending outbound messages from an emergency system, the method comprising: receiving a first data signal comprising a first location and a first phone number and a second data signal comprising a second location and a second phone number, the first data signal corresponding to an unanswered emergency call that is on hold and the second data signal corresponding to an answered emergency call; providing a user interface comprising a map and a signal indicator, the signal indicator positioned on the map at the first location; receiving a user selection of a geographic region on the map; receiving a message associated with the geographic region; determining that the first location and second location are inside the selected geographic region; determining that the first data signal corresponds to an unanswered emergency call and the second data signal corresponds to an answered emergency call; and transmitting the message to the first phone number associated with the first data signal corresponding to the unanswered emergency call associated with the selected geographic region, the message being transmitted while the unanswered emergency call is on hold; wherein the message is not transmitted to the second phone number based on the determination that the second data signal corresponds to the answered emergency call.
The method of claim 1, wherein the first data signal is received from a supplemental location provider.
N/A
The method of claim 4, wherein the second data signal is a call data signal received from a call handling equipment.
N/A
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising: after transmitting the message to the first phone number, receiving a third data signal comprising a third location and a third phone number; determining that the third location is inside the geographic region; determining that the third data signal corresponds to a second unanswered emergency call; and transmitting the message to the third phone number.
12. The method of claim 8, further comprising: receiving a third data signal comprising a third location and a third phone number after receiving the user selection of the geographic region; determining that the third location is inside the selected geographic region; and transmitting the message to the third phone number.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising: providing a user interface for a user to configure the message, wherein configuring the message comprises selecting text for the message; and receiving the selected text for the message from the user interface.
N/A
The method of claim 7, wherein configuring the message further comprises a duration for sending the message to new calls in the geographic region, and the method further comprises receiving the duration for sending the message.
N/A
9. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to: receive a first data signal comprising a first location and a first phone number and a second data signal comprising a second location and a second phone number; receive data defining a geographic region and a message associated with the geographic region; determine that the first location and the second location are inside the geographic region; determine that the first data signal corresponds to an unanswered emergency call and the second data signal corresponds to an answered emergency call; and transmit the message to the first phone number associated with the first data signal, the first data signal corresponding to the unanswered emergency call and comprising the first location inside the geographic region; wherein the message is not transmitted to the second phone number based on the determination that the second data signal corresponds to the answered emergency call.
14. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to: receive a first data signal comprising a first location and a first phone number and a second data signal comprising a second location and a second phone number, the first data signal corresponding to an unanswered emergency call that is on hold and the second data signal corresponding to an answered emergency call; provide a user interface comprising a map and a signal indicator, the signal indicator positioned on the map at the first location; receive a user selection of a geographic region on the map; receive a message associated with the geographic region; determine that the first location and second location are inside the selected geographic region; determine that the first data signal corresponds to an unanswered emergency call and the second data signal corresponds to an answered emergency call; and transmit the message to the first phone number associated with the first data signal corresponding to the unanswered emergency call associated with the selected geographic region, the message being transmitted while the unanswered emergency call is on hold; wherein the message is not transmitted to the second phone number based on the determination that the second data signal corresponds to the answered emergency call.
The computer-readable storage medium of claim 9, wherein the data defining the geographic region is based on a user selection of the geographic region in a map interface.
N/A
The computer-readable storage medium of claim 9, wherein the unanswered emergency call is on hold, and the message is transmitted while the unanswered emergency call is on hold.
14. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to: receive a first data signal comprising a first location and a first phone number and a second data signal comprising a second location and a second phone number, the first data signal corresponding to an unanswered emergency call that is on hold and the second data signal corresponding to an answered emergency call; provide a user interface comprising a map and a signal indicator, the signal indicator positioned on the map at the first location; receive a user selection of a geographic region on the map; receive a message associated with the geographic region; determine that the first location and second location are inside the selected geographic region; determine that the first data signal corresponds to an unanswered emergency call and the second data signal corresponds to an answered emergency call; and transmit the message to the first phone number associated with the first data signal corresponding to the unanswered emergency call associated with the selected geographic region, the message being transmitted while the unanswered emergency call is on hold; wherein the message is not transmitted to the second phone number based on the determination that the second data signal corresponds to the answered emergency call.
The computer-readable storage medium of claim 9, wherein the first data signal is received from a supplemental location provider.
N/A
The computer-readable storage medium of claim 12, wherein the second data signal is a call data signal received from a call handling equipment.
N/A
14. The computer-readable storage medium of claim 9, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: after transmitting the message to the first phone number, receive a third data signal comprising a third location and a third phone number; determine that the third location is inside the geographic region; determine that the third data signal corresponds to a second unanswered emergency call; and transmit the message to the third phone number.
17. The computer-readable storage medium of claim 14, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: receive a third data signal comprising a third location and a third phone number after receiving the user selection of the geographic region; determine that the third location is inside the selected geographic region; and transmit the message to the third phone number.
The computer-readable storage medium of claim 9, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: provide a user interface for a user to configure the message, wherein configuring the message comprises selecting text for the message; and receive the selected text for the message from the user interface.
N/A
The computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein configuring the message further comprises a duration for sending the message to new calls in the geographic region, and the instructions further cause the processor to receive the duration for sending the message.
N/A
17. An emergency system comprising: a data ingestion module to receive a first data signal comprising a first location and a first phone number and a second data signal comprising a second location and a second phone number; and a messaging interface to: receive data defining a geographic region and a message associated with the geographic region; determine that the first location and the second location are inside the geographic region; determine that the first data signal corresponds to an unanswered emergency call and the second data signal corresponds to an answered emergency call; and transmit the message to the first phone number associated with the first data signal, the first data signal corresponding to the unanswered emergency call and comprising the first location inside the geographic region, the message being transmitted while the unanswered emergency call is on hold; wherein the message is not transmitted to the second phone number based on the determination that the second data signal corresponds to the answered emergency call.
1. An emergency system for sending outbound messages, the system comprising: a data ingestion module to receive a first data signal comprising a first location and a first phone number and a second data signal comprising a second location and a second phone number, the first data signal corresponding to an unanswered emergency call that is on hold and the second data signal corresponding to an answered emergency call; a web server to: provide a user interface comprising a map and a signal indicator, the signal indicator positioned on the map at the first location; and receive a user selection of a geographic region on the map; and a messaging interface to: receive the selected geographic region from the web server, the selected geographic region associated with a message; determine that the first location and second location are inside the selected geographic region; determine that the first data signal corresponds to an unanswered emergency call and the second data signal corresponds to an answered emergency call; and transmit the message to the first phone number associated with the data signal corresponding to the unanswered emergency call associated with the selected geographic region, the message being transmitted while the unanswered emergency call is on hold; wherein the message is not transmitted to the second phone number based on the determination that the second data signal corresponds to the answered emergency call.
The emergency system of claim 17, wherein the data defining the geographic region is based on a user selection of the geographic region in a map interface.
N/A
The emergency system of claim 17, wherein the unanswered emergency call is on hold, and the message is transmitted while the unanswered emergency call is on hold.
1. An emergency system for sending outbound messages, the system comprising: a data ingestion module to receive a first data signal comprising a first location and a first phone number and a second data signal comprising a second location and a second phone number, the first data signal corresponding to an unanswered emergency call that is on hold and the second data signal corresponding to an answered emergency call; a web server to: provide a user interface comprising a map and a signal indicator, the signal indicator positioned on the map at the first location; and receive a user selection of a geographic region on the map; and a messaging interface to: receive the selected geographic region from the web server, the selected geographic region associated with a message; determine that the first location and second location are inside the selected geographic region; determine that the first data signal corresponds to an unanswered emergency call and the second data signal corresponds to an answered emergency call; and transmit the message to the first phone number associated with the data signal corresponding to the unanswered emergency call associated with the selected geographic region, the message being transmitted while the unanswered emergency call is on hold; wherein the message is not transmitted to the second phone number based on the determination that the second data signal corresponds to the answered emergency call.
The emergency system of claim 17, wherein the first data signal is received from a supplemental location provider, and the second data signal is a call data signal received from a call handling equipment.
N/A
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17, claims 8, 14 and 1, respectively, of US Patent No. 12,120,591 teaches all the limitations set forth in the table above, except
data defining a geographic region and the first data signal comprising the first location inside the geographic region.
In the same field of endeavor, Martin teaches the limitations not taught by claim 8 of US Patent No. 12,120,591, including
data defining a geographic region and the first data signal comprising the first location inside the geographic region
([0081] The emergency response application 760 displays location marker 724 and a device identifier, such as email address associated with an electronic device that generated the emergency alert within the list of incidents 710 as an incident 712. A location marker 724 (724B within region 722 of interactive map 720) selected to initiate autonomous communication session with a communication device associated with the emergency alert
[0082] Fig. 7A includes received emergency/incident calls 712A-712E
(The location marker 724B within region 722 of interactive map 720 from Fig. 7A is selected for received incident 712 that is part of the received emergency/incident calls 712A-712E, based on which autonomous communication session is initiated with a communication device associated with the emergency alert)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of claims 8, 14 and 1, respectively, of US Patent No. 12,120,591, which includes call handling of unanswered and answered calls, to include Martin’s teaching of call handling of unanswered and answered calls, for the benefit of leveraging devices, when in the vicinity of an emergency, to provide valuable information, or insight, into the emergency that can then be used to automate emergency response services, such as when all of the call-takers at a public safety answering point (PSAP) are occupied and cannot immediately respond to additional calls, or in environments without PSAPs (see [0003]).
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 18, claims 8, 14 and 1, respectively, of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, teaches all the limitations set forth in the table above, except
the data defining the geographic region is based on a user selection of the geographic region in a map interface.
Martin further teaches the limitations not taught by claims 8, 14 and 1, respectively, of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, including
the data defining the geographic region is based on a user selection of the geographic region in a map interface
([0081] The emergency response application 760 displays location marker 724 and a device identifier, such as email address associated with an electronic device that generated the emergency alert within the list of incidents 710 as an incident 712. An incident 712 or its corresponding location marker 724 (within region 722 of interactive map 720) selected to initiate autonomous communication session with a communication device associated with the emergency alert
(selection of one of incidents 712 or location markers 724A-724E within region 722 initiates message communication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of claims 8, 14 and 1, respectively, of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, which includes call handling of unanswered and answered calls, to include Martin’s teaching of call handling of unanswered and answered calls, for the benefit of leveraging devices, when in the vicinity of an emergency, to provide valuable information, or insight, into the emergency that can then be used to automate emergency response services, such as when all of the call-takers at a public safety answering point (PSAP) are occupied and cannot immediately respond to additional calls, or in environments without PSAPs (see [0003]).
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 19, claims 8, 14 and 1, respectively, of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, teaches all the limitations set forth in the table above.
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 20, claims 8, 14 and 1, respectively, of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, teaches all the limitations set forth in the table above, except
wherein the first data signal is received from a supplemental location provider.
Martin further teaches the limitations not taught by claims 8, 14 and 1, respectively, of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, including
wherein the first data signal is received from a supplemental location provider
([0065] In some embodiments, location and supplemental information is displayed for other emergency service providers (e.g., police, fire, medical, etc.) and/or responders on their respective devices. It is contemplated that responder devices have optionally installed a responder device program (not shown) similar to ESP display module 146. In some embodiments, the responder device program displays the emergency location on a map).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of claims 8, 14 and 1, respectively, of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, which includes call handling of unanswered and answered calls, to include Martin’s teaching of call handling of unanswered and answered calls, for the benefit of leveraging devices, when in the vicinity of an emergency, to provide valuable information, or insight, into the emergency that can then be used to automate emergency response services, such as when all of the call-takers at a public safety answering point (PSAP) are occupied and cannot immediately respond to additional calls, or in environments without PSAPs (see [0003]).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, claims 8 and 14, respectively, of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, teaches all the limitations set forth in the table above, except
wherein the second data signal is a call data signal received from a call handling equipment.
Martin further teaches the limitations not taught by claims 8 and 14, respectively, of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, including
wherein the second data signal is a call data signal received from a call handling equipment
([0065] In some embodiments, as depicted in FIG. 1B, the ESP application or program 139 installed on an ESP system 130 includes at least one software module 140, such as a call taking module 145 (e.g., a computer aided dispatch system), an ESP display module 146, a supplemental or updated information module 147, a feedback module 148 (for ESP users to request specific type of data), or a combination thereof. In some embodiments, the ESP application 139 displays the information on a map (e.g., on the display 131). In some embodiments, location and supplemental information is displayed for other emergency service providers (e.g., police, fire, medical, etc.) and/or responders on their respective devices. It is contemplated that responder devices have optionally installed a responder device program (not shown) similar to ESP display module 146. In some embodiments, the responder device program displays the emergency location on a map).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of claims 8 and 14, respectively, of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, which includes call handling of unanswered and answered calls, to include Martin’s teaching of call handling of unanswered and answered calls, for the benefit of leveraging devices, when in the vicinity of an emergency, to provide valuable information, or insight, into the emergency that can then be used to automate emergency response services, such as when all of the call-takers at a public safety answering point (PSAP) are occupied and cannot immediately respond to additional calls, or in environments without PSAPs (see [0003]).
Regarding claim 6, claim 12 of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, teaches all the limitations set forth in the table above, except
after transmitting the message to the first phone number, receiving a third data signal comprising a third location and a third phone number;
determining that the third location is inside the geographic region;
determining that the third data signal corresponds to a second unanswered emergency call.
Martin further teaches the limitations not taught by claim 12 of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, including
after transmitting the message to the first phone number, receiving a third data signal comprising a third location and a third phone number
([0082] Fig. 7A includes at least phone number (456-123-7897) corresponding to received emergency/incident call 712D that corresponds to location marker 724D with call status received/answered, indicated by the check mark);
determining that the third location is inside the geographic region
([0081] and Fig. 7A Location marker 724D determined to be within region 722);
determining that the third data signal corresponds to a second unanswered emergency call
([0178] Unfortunately, Darius' local PSAP is unable to answer Darius' 911 call because the city is experiencing many more emergencies than usual due to the hurricane. There are dozens of 911 calls on hold waiting in line before Darius' call. However, the EMS detects an emergency alert comprising Darius' location (their home address, 6104 Gatorback Lane) generated by Darius' cell phone in response to Darius dialing 9-1-1 and initiates an autonomous communication session with Darius by sending an emergency response text message to Darius' cell phone while Darius is on hold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of claim 12 of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, which includes call handling of unanswered and answered calls, to include Martin’s teaching of call handling of unanswered and answered calls, for the benefit of leveraging devices, when in the vicinity of an emergency, to provide valuable information, or insight, into the emergency that can then be used to automate emergency response services, such as when all of the call-takers at a public safety answering point (PSAP) are occupied and cannot immediately respond to additional calls, or in environments without PSAPs (see [0003]).
Regarding claim 7, claim 8 of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, teaches all the limitations set forth in the table above, except
further comprising:
providing a user interface for a user to configure the message, wherein configuring the message comprises selecting text for the message; and
receiving the selected text for the message from the user interface.
Martin further teaches the limitations not taught by claim 8 of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, including
further comprising:
providing a user interface for a user to configure the message, wherein configuring the message comprises selecting text for the message
([0008] Presenting an emergency response prompt at a communication device associated with the user; transmitting one or more messages comprising emergency response questions to the communication device according to a predetermined script. The method further comprises adapting the predetermined script during the autonomous communication session according to one or more responses from the user); and
receiving the selected text for the message from the user interface
([0008] transmitting one or more messages comprising emergency response questions to the communication device according to a predetermined script).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of claim 8 of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, which includes call handling of unanswered and answered calls, to include Martin’s teaching of call handling of unanswered and answered calls, for the benefit of leveraging devices, when in the vicinity of an emergency, to provide valuable information, or insight, into the emergency that can then be used to automate emergency response services, such as when all of the call-takers at a public safety answering point (PSAP) are occupied and cannot immediately respond to additional calls, or in environments without PSAPs (see [0003]).
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, teaches all the limitations set forth in the table above, except
wherein configuring the message further comprises a duration for sending the message to new calls in the geographic region, and the method further comprises receiving the duration for sending the message.
Petite further teaches the limitations not taught by claim 8 of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, including
wherein configuring the message further comprises a duration for sending the message to new calls in the geographic region, and the method further comprises receiving the duration for sending the message
([0121] - In addition to the mobile telephone device depicted in FIG. 1, the personal emergency message transceiver 124 can be a variety of different types of communication devices, including a smartphone, such as a Blackberry®, iPhone®, and Android® device, a tablet computer, such as an iPad®, PlayBook.sup.m4, and an Android® tablet, or a portable computer, such as a laptop, netbook, or other portable electronic device capable of communicating with the personal emergency message transceiver 124
[0128] - The emergency message application be configured to provide the user with control over the types of emergency messages received; the emergency message application can provide the user with control over time parameters for when messages are received. The user can configure the emergency message application to provide certain types of emergency messages at certain times of the day. The user can configure the emergency message application to provide emergency messages regarding traffic only during the morning rush hour and afternoon rush hour, emergency messages regarding thunderstorms and tornados only in the evening, and all other types of emergency messages at any time during the day. Additionally, the emergency message application can be configured to receive certain types of emergency messages based upon the location of the user. The emergency message application can be configured to provide emergency messages regarding earthquakes when the smartphone based personal emergency message transceiver 124 is in California, and emergency messages regarding tornadoes when the smartphone based personal emergency message transceiver 124 is in Kansas
([0128] indicates emergency messages are sent based on a message reception time parameter, the message received additionally based on location data from a device indicating a location of the device is within a particular location, but only during a message reception time period, before the message reception time period expires, where, as indicated in [0121], the messages are able to be received by a plurality of mobile devices that include at least a second mobile device having an associated second location data)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of claim 8 of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, which includes call handling of unanswered and answered calls, to include Petite’s teaching of call handling of unanswered and answered calls, for the benefit of providing an emergency message system that more accurately indicates the nature, location and other pertinent information of an emergency situation and providing a more convenient and effective emergency message system (see [0011]).
Regarding claim 14, claim 17 of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, teaches all the limitations set forth in the table above, except
after transmitting the message to the first phone number, receive a third data signal comprising a third location and a third phone number;
determine that the third location is inside the geographic region;
determine that the third data signal corresponds to a second unanswered emergency call.
Martin further teaches the limitations not taught by claim 17 of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, including
after transmitting the message to the first phone number, receive a third data signal comprising a third location and a third phone number
([0082] Fig. 7A includes at least phone number (456-123-7897) corresponding to received emergency/incident call 712D that corresponds to location marker 724D with call status received/answered, indicated by the check mark);
determine that the third location is inside the geographic region
([0081] and Fig. 7A Location marker 724D determined to be within region 722);
determine that the third data signal corresponds to a second unanswered emergency call
([0178] Unfortunately, Darius' local PSAP is unable to answer Darius' 911 call because the city is experiencing many more emergencies than usual due to the hurricane. There are dozens of 911 calls on hold waiting in line before Darius' call. However, the EMS detects an emergency alert comprising Darius' location (their home address, 6104 Gatorback Lane) generated by Darius' cell phone in response to Darius dialing 9-1-1 and initiates an autonomous communication session with Darius by sending an emergency response text message to Darius' cell phone while Darius is on hold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of claim 17 of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, which includes call handling of unanswered and answered calls, to include Martin’s teaching of call handling of unanswered and answered calls, for the benefit of leveraging devices, when in the vicinity of an emergency, to provide valuable information, or insight, into the emergency that can then be used to automate emergency response services, such as when all of the call-takers at a public safety answering point (PSAP) are occupied and cannot immediately respond to additional calls, or in environments without PSAPs (see [0003]).
Regarding claim 15, claim 14 of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, teaches all the limitations set forth in the table above, except
wherein the instructions further cause the processor to:
provide a user interface for a user to configure the message, wherein configuring the message comprises selecting text for the message; and
receive the selected text for the message from the user interface.
Martin further teaches the limitations not taught by claim 8 of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, including
wherein the instructions further cause the processor to:
provide a user interface for a user to configure the message, wherein configuring the message comprises selecting text for the message
([0008] Presenting an emergency response prompt at a communication device associated with the user; transmitting one or more messages comprising emergency response questions to the communication device according to a predetermined script. The method further comprises adapting the predetermined script during the autonomous communication session according to one or more responses from the user); and
receive the selected text for the message from the user interface
([0008] transmitting one or more messages comprising emergency response questions to the communication device according to a predetermined script).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of claim 8 of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, which includes call handling of unanswered and answered calls, to include Martin’s teaching of call handling of unanswered and answered calls, for the benefit of leveraging devices, when in the vicinity of an emergency, to provide valuable information, or insight, into the emergency that can then be used to automate emergency response services, such as when all of the call-takers at a public safety answering point (PSAP) are occupied and cannot immediately respond to additional calls, or in environments without PSAPs (see [0003]).
Regarding claim 16, claim 17 of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, teaches all the limitations set forth in the table above, except
wherein configuring the message further comprises a duration for sending the message to new calls in the geographic region, and the instructions further cause the processor to receive the duration for sending the message.
Petite further teaches the limitations not taught by claim 17 of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, including
wherein configuring the message further comprises a duration for sending the message to new calls in the geographic region, and the instructions further cause the processor to receive the duration for sending the message
([0121] - In addition to the mobile telephone device depicted in FIG. 1, the personal emergency message transceiver 124 can be a variety of different types of communication devices, including a smartphone, such as a Blackberry®, iPhone®, and Android® device, a tablet computer, such as an iPad®, PlayBook.sup.m4, and an Android® tablet, or a portable computer, such as a laptop, netbook, or other portable electronic device capable of communicating with the personal emergency message transceiver 124
[0128] - The emergency message application be configured to provide the user with control over the types of emergency messages received; the emergency message application can provide the user with control over time parameters for when messages are received. The user can configure the emergency message application to provide certain types of emergency messages at certain times of the day. The user can configure the emergency message application to provide emergency messages regarding traffic only during the morning rush hour and afternoon rush hour, emergency messages regarding thunderstorms and tornados only in the evening, and all other types of emergency messages at any time during the day. Additionally, the emergency message application can be configured to receive certain types of emergency messages based upon the location of the user. The emergency message application can be configured to provide emergency messages regarding earthquakes when the smartphone based personal emergency message transceiver 124 is in California, and emergency messages regarding tornadoes when the smartphone based personal emergency message transceiver 124 is in Kansas
([0128] indicates emergency messages are sent based on a message reception time parameter, the message received additionally based on location data from a device indicating a location of the device is within a particular location, but only during a message reception time period, before the message reception time period expires, where, as indicated in [0121], the messages are able to be received by a plurality of mobile devices that include at least a second mobile device having an associated second location data)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of claim 17 of US Patent No. 12,120,591, in view of Martin, which includes call handling of unanswered and answered calls, to include Petite’s teaching of call handling of unanswered and answered calls, for the benefit of providing an emergency message system that more accurately indicates the nature, location and other pertinent information of an emergency situation and providing a more convenient and effective emergency message system (see [0011]).
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Three-Prong Test
This application includes a claim limitation that does not use the word “means,” but is nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is modified by functional language and is linked by a transition word without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function, and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “data ingestion module to receive…” in claim 17.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Martin, et al (US PG Publication 2020/0274962), hereafter Martin.
Regarding claim 1, Martin teaches
a method comprising:
receiving a first data signal comprising a first location and a first phone number and a second data signal comprising a second location and a second phone number
([0082] Fig. 7A includes received emergency/incident calls 712A-712E, which include at least phone number (588-444-3232) corresponding to received emergency/incident call 712B that corresponds to location marker 724B with call status not received/not answered, indicated by the ‘X’ mark and phone number (655-222-4333) corresponding to received emergency/incident call 712A that corresponds to location marker 724A with call status received/answered, indicated by the check mark);
receiving data defining a geographic region and a message associated with the geographic region
([0081] The emergency response application 760 displays location marker 724 and a device identifier, such as email address associated with an electronic device that generated the emergency alert within the list of incidents 710 as an incident 712. A location marker 724 (724B within region 722 of interactive map 720) selected to initiate autonomous communication session with a communication device associated with the emergency alert
[0082] Fig. 7A includes received emergency/incident calls 712A-712E
(The location marker 724B within region 722 of interactive map 720 from Fig. 7A is selected for received incident 712 that is part of the received emergency/incident calls 712A-712E, based on which autonomous communication session is initiated with, and in turn a message is sent to, with a communication device associated with the emergency alert));
determining that the first location and the second location are inside the geographic region
([0081] and Fig. 7A Location markers 724B and 724A determined to be part of incident locations within region 722);
determining that the first data signal corresponds to an unanswered emergency call and the second data signal corresponds to an answered emergency call
([0082] and Fig. 7A Received emergency/incident calls 712B and 712A determined to correspond to call status not received/not answered, indicated by the ‘X’ mark and call status received/answered, indicated by the check mark, respectively); and
transmitting the message to the first phone number associated with the first data signal, the first data signal corresponding to the unanswered emergency call and comprising the first location inside the geographic region
(Figs 7A and 7B 724B - location of emergency/incident call 712B (corresponds to location 724B) not received/not answered from phone number 588-444-3232
[0082] An incident 712 can have a status of not received/not answered by the ESP (such as in the case of incident 712B, indicated by the ‘X’ mark). The status 714 of an incident 712 is included in an emergency alert associated with the incident 712. In response to a user of the emergency response application 760 selecting an incident 712 that has a status of not received/not answered, a digital communication is transmitted to the EMS that prompts the EMS to initiate an autonomous communication session with a communication device associated with the particular incident 712, as described above
(Based on the status of the incident 712, the autonomous communication message is sent to the communication device associated with the incident 712B with phone number 588-444-3232 at location marker 724B within region 722 for the call with call status not received/not answered));
wherein the message is not transmitted to the second phone number based on the determination that the second data signal corresponds to the answered emergency call
([0082] Fig. 7A, an incident 712 can have a status 714 of received/answered by the ESP (such as in the case of incident 712A, indicated by the check mark), not received/not answered by the ESP (such as in the case of incident 712B, indicated by the ‘X’ mark). In response to a user of the emergency response application 760 selecting an incident 712 that has a status of not received/not answered, a digital communication is transmitted to the EMS that prompts the EMS to initiate an autonomous communication session with a communication device associated with the particular incident 712, as described above
(Since the autonomous communication message is sent to the communication device associated with the incident 712B with phone number 588-444-3232, based on the call having call status not received/not answered, the autonomous communication message is not sent to any of the phone numbers with call status received/answered)).
Regarding claim 2, Martin teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the data defining the geographic region is based on a user selection of the geographic region in a map interface
([0081] The emergency response application 760 displays location marker 724 and a device identifier, such as email address associated with an electronic device that generated the emergency alert within the list of incidents 710 as an incident 712. An incident 712 or its corresponding location marker 724 (within region 722 of interactive map 720) selected to initiate autonomous communication session with a communication device associated with the emergency alert
(selection of one of incidents 712 or location markers 724A-724E within region 722 initiates message communication).
Regarding claim 3, Martin teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the unanswered emergency call is on hold, and the message is transmitted while the unanswered emergency call is on hold
(See [0178] for similar example for Darius’ call regarding emergency/incident while on hold
[0082] Fig. 7A includes received emergency/incident calls 712A-712E, which include at least phone number (588-444-3232) corresponding to received emergency/incident call 712B that corresponds to location marker 724B with call status not received/not answered, indicated by the ‘X’ mark and phone number (655-222-4333) corresponding to received emergency/incident call 712A that corresponds to location marker 724A with call status received/answered, indicated by the check mark).
Regarding claim 4, Martin teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the first data signal is received from a supplemental location provider
([0065] In some embodiments, location and supplemental information is displayed for other emergency service providers (e.g., police, fire, medical, etc.) and/or responders on their respective devices. It is contemplated that responder devices have optionally installed a responder device program (not shown) similar to ESP display module 146. In some embodiments, the responder device program displays the emergency location on a map).
Regarding claim 5, Martin teaches the method of claim 4,
wherein the second data signal is a call data signal received from a call handling equipment.
([0065] In some embodiments, as depicted in FIG. 1B, the ESP application or program 139 installed on an ESP system 130 includes at least one software module 140, such as a call taking module 145 (e.g., a computer aided dispatch system), an ESP display module 146, a supplemental or updated information module 147, a feedback module 148 (for ESP users to request specific type of data), or a combination thereof. In some embodiments, the ESP application 139 displays the information on a map (e.g., on the display 131). In some embodiments, location and supplemental information is displayed for other emergency service providers (e.g., police, fire, medical, etc.) and/or responders on their respective devices. It is contemplated that responder devices have optionally installed a responder device program (not shown) similar to ESP display module 146. In some embodiments, the responder device program displays the emergency location on a map).
Regarding claim 6, Martin teaches the method of claim 1,
further comprising:
after transmitting the message to the first phone number, receiving a third data signal comprising a third location and a third phone number
([0082] Fig. 7A includes at least phone number (456-123-7897) corresponding to received emergency/incident call 712D that corresponds to location marker 724D with call status received/answered, indicated by the check mark);
determining that the third location is inside the geographic region
([0081] and Fig. 7A Location marker 724D determined to be within region 722);
determining that the third data signal corresponds to a second unanswered emergency call
([0178] Unfortunately, Darius' local PSAP is unable to answer Darius' 911 call because the city is experiencing many more emergencies than usual due to the hurricane. There are dozens of 911 calls on hold waiting in line before Darius' call. However, the EMS detects an emergency alert comprising Darius' location (their home address, 6104 Gatorback Lane) generated by Darius' cell phone in response to Darius dialing 9-1-1 and initiates an autonomous communication session with Darius by sending an emergency response text message to Darius' cell phone while Darius is on hold);
and
transmitting the message to the third phone number
([0178] The EMS detects an emergency alert comprising Darius' location (their home address, 6104 Gatorback Lane) generated by Darius' cell phone in response to Darius dialing 9-1-1 and initiates an autonomous communication session with Darius by sending an emergency response text message to Darius' cell phone while Darius is on hold).
Regarding claim 7, Martin teaches the method of claim 1,
further comprising:
providing a user interface for a user to configure the message, wherein configuring the message comprises selecting text for the message
([0008] Presenting an emergency response prompt at a communication device associated with the user; transmitting one or more messages comprising emergency response questions to the communication device according to a predetermined script. The method further comprises adapting the predetermined script during the autonomous communication session according to one or more responses from the user); and
receiving the selected text for the message from the user interface
([0008] transmitting one or more messages comprising emergency response questions to the communication device according to a predetermined script).
Regarding claim 9, Martin teaches
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to
([0063] EMS with non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (flash memory or other) storing instructions in EMS memory that, when fetched and executed by a processor, cause the processor to):
receive a first data signal comprising a first location and a first phone number and a second data signal comprising a second location and a second phone number
([0082] Fig. 7A includes received emergency/incident calls 712A-712E, which include at least phone number (588-444-3232) corresponding to received emergency/incident call 712B that corresponds to location marker 724B with call status not received/not answered, indicated by the ‘X’ mark and phone number (655-222-4333) corresponding to received emergency/incident call 712A that corresponds to location marker 724A with call status received/answered, indicated by the check mark);
receive data defining a geographic region and a message associated with the geographic region
([0081] The emergency response application 760 displays location marker 724 and a device identifier, such as email address associated with an electronic device that generated the emergency alert within the list of incidents 710 as an incident 712. A location marker 724 (724B within region 722 of interactive map 720) selected to initiate autonomous communication session with a communication device associated with the emergency alert
[0082] Fig. 7A includes received emergency/incident calls 712A-712E
(The location marker 724B within region 722 of interactive map 720 from Fig. 7A is selected for received incident 712 that is part of the received emergency/incident calls 712A-712E, based on which autonomous communication session is initiated with, and in turn a message is sent to, with a communication device associated with the emergency alert));
determine that the first location and the second location are inside the geographic region
([0081] and Fig. 7A Location markers 724B and 724A determined to be part of incident locations within region 722);
determine that the first data signal corresponds to an unanswered emergency call and the second data signal corresponds to an answered emergency call
([0082] and Fig. 7A Received emergency/incident calls 712B and 712A determined to correspond to call status not received/not answered, indicated by the ‘X’ mark and call status received/answered, indicated by the check mark, respectively); and
transmit the message to the first phone number associated with the first data signal, the first data signal corresponding to the unanswered emergency call and comprising the first location inside the geographic region
(Figs 7A and 7B 724B - location of emergency/incident call 712B (corresponds to location 724B) not received/not answered from phone number 588-444-3232
[0082] An incident 712 can have a status of not received/not answered by the ESP (such as in the case of incident 712B, indicated by the ‘X’ mark). The status 714 of an incident 712 is included in an emergency alert associated with the incident 712. In response to a user of the emergency response application 760 selecting an incident 712 that has a status of not received/not answered, a digital communication is transmitted to the EMS that prompts the EMS to initiate an autonomous communication session with a communication device associated with the particular incident 712, as described above
(Based on the status of the incident 712, the autonomous communication message is sent to the communication device associated with the incident 712B with phone number 588-444-3232 at location marker 724B within region 722 for the call with call status not received/not answered));
wherein the message is not transmitted to the second phone number based on the determination that the second data signal corresponds to the answered emergency call
([0082] Fig. 7A, an incident 712 can have a status 714 of received/answered by the ESP (such as in the case of incident 712A, indicated by the check mark), not received/not answered by the ESP (such as in the case of incident 712B, indicated by the ‘X’ mark). In response to a user of the emergency response application 760 selecting an incident 712 that has a status of not received/not answered, a digital communication is transmitted to the EMS that prompts the EMS to initiate an autonomous communication session with a communication device associated with the particular incident 712, as described above
(Since the autonomous communication message is sent to the communication device associated with the incident 712B with phone number 588-444-3232, based on the call having call status not received/not answered, the autonomous communication message is not sent to any of the phone numbers with call status received/answered)).
Regarding claim 10, Martin teaches the computer-readable storage medium of claim 9,
wherein the data defining the geographic region is based on a user selection of the geographic region in a map interface
([0081] The emergency response application 760 displays location marker 724 and a device identifier, such as email address associated with an electronic device that generated the emergency alert within the list of incidents 710 as an incident 712. An incident 712 or its corresponding location marker 724 (within region 722 of interactive map 720) selected to initiate autonomous communication session with a communication device associated with the emergency alert
(selection of one of incidents 712 or location markers 724A-724E within region 722 initiates message communication).
Regarding claim 11, Martin teaches the computer-readable storage medium of claim 9,
wherein the unanswered emergency call is on hold, and the message is transmitted while the unanswered emergency call is on hold
(See [0178] for similar example for Darius’ call regarding emergency/incident while on hold
[0082] Fig. 7A includes received emergency/incident calls 712A-712E, which include at least phone number (588-444-3232) corresponding to received emergency/incident call 712B that corresponds to location marker 724B with call status not received/not answered, indicated by the ‘X’ mark and phone number (655-222-4333) corresponding to received emergency/incident call 712A that corresponds to location marker 724A with call status received/answered, indicated by the check mark).
Regarding claim 12, Martin teaches the computer-readable storage medium of claim 9,
wherein the first data signal is received from a supplemental location provider
([0065] In some embodiments, location and supplemental information is displayed for other emergency service providers (e.g., police, fire, medical, etc.) and/or responders on their respective devices. It is contemplated that responder devices have optionally installed a responder device program (not shown) similar to ESP display module 146. In some embodiments, the responder device program displays the emergency location on a map).
Regarding claim 13, Martin teaches the computer-readable storage medium of claim 12,
wherein the second data signal is a call data signal received from a call handling equipment.
([0065] In some embodiments, as depicted in FIG. 1B, the ESP application or program 139 installed on an ESP system 130 includes at least one software module 140, such as a call taking module 145 (e.g., a computer aided dispatch system), an ESP display module 146, a supplemental or updated information module 147, a feedback module 148 (for ESP users to request specific type of data), or a combination thereof. In some embodiments, the ESP application 139 displays the information on a map (e.g., on the display 131). In some embodiments, location and supplemental information is displayed for other emergency service providers (e.g., police, fire, medical, etc.) and/or responders on their respective devices. It is contemplated that responder devices have optionally installed a responder device program (not shown) similar to ESP display module 146. In some embodiments, the responder device program displays the emergency location on a map).
Regarding claim 14, Martin teaches the computer-readable storage medium of claim 9,
wherein the instructions further cause the processor to:
after transmitting the message to the first phone number, receive a third data signal comprising a third location and a third phone number
([0082] Fig. 7A includes at least phone number (456-123-7897) corresponding to received emergency/incident call 712D that corresponds to location marker 724D with call status received/answered, indicated by the check mark);
determine that the third location is inside the geographic region
([0081] and Fig. 7A Location marker 724D determined to be within region 722);
determine that the third data signal corresponds to a second unanswered emergency call
([0178] Unfortunately, Darius' local PSAP is unable to answer Darius' 911 call because the city is experiencing many more emergencies than usual due to the hurricane. There are dozens of 911 calls on hold waiting in line before Darius' call. However, the EMS detects an emergency alert comprising Darius' location (their home address, 6104 Gatorback Lane) generated by Darius' cell phone in response to Darius dialing 9-1-1 and initiates an autonomous communication session with Darius by sending an emergency response text message to Darius' cell phone while Darius is on hold);
and
transmit the message to the third phone number
([0178] The EMS detects an emergency alert comprising Darius' location (their home address, 6104 Gatorback Lane) generated by Darius' cell phone in response to Darius dialing 9-1-1 and initiates an autonomous communication session with Darius by sending an emergency response text message to Darius' cell phone while Darius is on hold).
Regarding claim 15, Martin teaches the computer-readable storage medium of claim 9,
wherein the instructions further cause the processor to:
provide a user interface for a user to configure the message, wherein configuring the message comprises selecting text for the message
([0008] Presenting an emergency response prompt at a communication device associated with the user; transmitting one or more messages comprising emergency response questions to the communication device according to a predetermined script. The method further comprises adapting the predetermined script during the autonomous communication session according to one or more responses from the user); and
receive the selected text for the message from the user interface
([0008] transmitting one or more messages comprising emergency response questions to the communication device according to a predetermined script).
Regarding claim 17, Martin teaches an emergency system comprising:
a data ingestion module to receive a first data signal comprising a first location and a first phone number and a second data signal comprising a second location and a second phone number
([0082] Fig. 7A includes received emergency/incident calls 712A-712E, which include at least phone number (588-444-3232) corresponding to received emergency/incident call 712B that corresponds to location marker 724B with call status not received/not answered, indicated by the ‘X’ mark and phone number (655-222-4333) corresponding to received emergency/incident call 712A that corresponds to location marker 724A with call status received/answered, indicated by the check mark), and
a messaging interface to:
receive data defining a geographic region and a message associated with the geographic region
([0081] The emergency response application 760 displays location marker 724 and a device identifier, such as email address associated with an electronic device that generated the emergency alert within the list of incidents 710 as an incident 712. A location marker 724 (724B within region 722 of interactive map 720) selected to initiate autonomous communication session with a communication device associated with the emergency alert
[0082] Fig. 7A includes received emergency/incident calls 712A-712E
(The location marker 724B within region 722 of interactive map 720 from Fig. 7A is selected for received incident 712 that is part of the received emergency/incident calls 712A-712E, based on which autonomous communication session is initiated with, and in turn a message is sent to, with a communication device associated with the emergency alert));
determine that the first location and second location are inside the selected geographic region
([0081] and Fig. 7A Location markers 724B and 724A determined to be part of incident locations within region 722);
determine that the first data signal corresponds to an unanswered emergency call and the second data signal corresponds to an answered emergency call
([0082] and Fig. 7A Received emergency/incident calls 712B and 712A determined to correspond to call status not received/not answered, indicated by the ‘X’ mark and call status received/answered, indicated by the check mark, respectively); and
transmit the message to the first phone number associated with the first data signal, the first data signal corresponding to the unanswered emergency call and comprising the first location inside the geographic region
(Figs 7A and 7B 724B - location of emergency/incident call 712B (corresponds to location 724B) not received/not answered from phone number 588-444-3232
[0082] An incident 712 can have a status of not received/not answered by the ESP (such as in the case of incident 712B, indicated by the ‘X’ mark). The status 714 of an incident 712 is included in an emergency alert associated with the incident 712. In response to a user of the emergency response application 760 selecting an incident 712 that has a status of not received/not answered, a digital communication is transmitted to the EMS that prompts the EMS to initiate an autonomous communication session with a communication device associated with the particular incident 712, as described above
(Based on the status of the incident 712, the autonomous communication message is sent to the communication device associated with the incident 712B with phone number 588-444-3232 at location marker 724B within region 722 for the call with call status not received/not answered)),
the message being transmitted while the unanswered emergency call is on hold
(See [0178] for similar example for Darius’ call regarding emergency/incident while on hold);
wherein the message is not transmitted to the second phone number based on the determination that the second data signal corresponds to the answered emergency call
([0082] Fig. 7A, an incident 712 can have a status 714 of received/answered by the ESP (such as in the case of incident 712A, indicated by the check mark), not received/not answered by the ESP (such as in the case of incident 712B, indicated by the ‘X’ mark). In response to a user of the emergency response application 760 selecting an incident 712 that has a status of not received/not answered, a digital communication is transmitted to the EMS that prompts the EMS to initiate an autonomous communication session with a communication device associated with the particular incident 712, as described above
(Since the autonomous communication message is sent to the communication device associated with the incident 712B with phone number 588-444-3232, based on the call having call status not received/not answered, the autonomous communication message is not sent to any of the phone numbers with call status received/answered)).
Regarding claim 18, Martin teaches the emergency system of claim 17,
wherein the data defining the geographic region is based on a user selection of the geographic region in a map interface
([0081] The emergency response application 760 displays location marker 724 and a device identifier, such as email address associated with an electronic device that generated the emergency alert within the list of incidents 710 as an incident 712. An incident 712 or its corresponding location marker 724 (within region 722 of interactive map 720) selected to initiate autonomous communication session with a communication device associated with the emergency alert
(selection of one of incidents 712 or location markers 724A-724E within region 722 initiates message communication).
Regarding claim 19, Martin teaches the emergency system of claim 17,
wherein the unanswered emergency call is on hold, and the message is transmitted while the unanswered emergency call is on hold
(See [0178] for similar example for Darius’ call regarding emergency/incident while on hold
[0082] Fig. 7A includes received emergency/incident calls 712A-712E, which include at least phone number (588-444-3232) corresponding to received emergency/incident call 712B that corresponds to location marker 724B with call status not received/not answered, indicated by the ‘X’ mark and phone number (655-222-4333) corresponding to received emergency/incident call 712A that corresponds to location marker 724A with call status received/answered, indicated by the check mark).
Regarding claim 20, Martin teaches the emergency system of claim 17,
wherein the first data signal is received from a supplemental location provider, and the second data signal is a call data signal received from a call handling equipment.
([0065] In some embodiments, as depicted in FIG. 1B, the ESP application or program 139 installed on an ESP system 130 includes at least one software module 140, such as a call taking module 145 (e.g., a computer aided dispatch system), an ESP display module 146, a supplemental or updated information module 147, a feedback module 148 (for ESP users to request specific type of data), or a combination thereof. In some embodiments, the ESP application 139 displays the information on a map (e.g., on the display 131). In some embodiments, location and supplemental information is displayed for other emergency service providers (e.g., police, fire, medical, etc.) and/or responders on their respective devices. It is contemplated that responder devices have optionally installed a responder device program (not shown) similar to ESP display module 146. In some embodiments, the responder device program displays the emergency location on a map).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin, in view of Petite (US PG Publication 2019/0098480).
Regarding claim 8, Martin teaches the method of claim 7.
Martin does not teach
wherein configuring the message further comprises a duration for sending the message to new calls in the geographic region, and the method further comprises receiving the duration for sending the message.
In the same field of endeavor, Petite teaches the limitations not taught by Martin, including
wherein configuring the message further comprises a duration for sending the message to new calls in the geographic region, and the method further comprises receiving the duration for sending the message
([0121] - In addition to the mobile telephone device depicted in FIG. 1, the personal emergency message transceiver 124 can be a variety of different types of communication devices, including a smartphone, such as a Blackberry®, iPhone®, and Android® device, a tablet computer, such as an iPad®, PlayBook.sup.m4, and an Android® tablet, or a portable computer, such as a laptop, netbook, or other portable electronic device capable of communicating with the personal emergency message transceiver 124
[0128] - The emergency message application be configured to provide the user with control over the types of emergency messages received, the emergency message application can provide the user with control over time parameters for when messages are received. The user can configure the emergency message application to provide certain types of emergency messages at certain times of the day. The user can configure the emergency message application to provide emergency messages regarding traffic only during the morning rush hour and afternoon rush hour, emergency messages regarding thunderstorms and tornados only in the evening, and all other types of emergency messages at any time during the day. Additionally, the emergency message application can be configured to receive certain types of emergency messages based upon the location of the user. The emergency message application can be configured to provide emergency messages regarding earthquakes when the smartphone based personal emergency message transceiver 124 is in California, and emergency messages regarding tornadoes when the smartphone based personal emergency message transceiver 124 is in Kansas
([0128] indicates emergency messages are sent based on a message reception time parameter, the message received additionally based on location data from a device indicating a location of the device is within a particular location, but only during a message reception time period, before the message reception time period expires, where, as indicated in [0121], the messages are able to be received by a plurality of mobile devices that include at least a second mobile device having an associated second location data)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin, which includes transmitting emergency messages to a plurality of devices in particular location, to include Petite’s teaching of transmitting emergency messages to a plurality of devices in particular location, only during an emergency notification period, for the benefit of providing a user with control over the types of emergency messages received and control over time parameters for when the emergency messages are received (see [0128]).
Regarding claim 16, Martin, teaches the computer-readable storage medium of claim 15.
Martin does not teach
wherein configuring the message further comprises a duration for sending the message to new calls in the geographic region, and the instructions further cause the processor to receive the duration for sending the message.
In the same field of endeavor, Petite teaches the limitations not taught by Martin, including
wherein configuring the message further comprises a duration for sending the message to new calls in the geographic region, and the instructions further cause the processor to receive the duration for sending the message
([0121] - In addition to the mobile telephone device depicted in FIG. 1, the personal emergency message transceiver 124 can be a variety of different types of communication devices, including a smartphone, such as a Blackberry®, iPhone®, and Android® device, a tablet computer, such as an iPad®, PlayBook.sup.m4, and an Android® tablet, or a portable computer, such as a laptop, netbook, or other portable electronic device capable of communicating with the personal emergency message transceiver 124
[0128] - The emergency message application be configured to provide the user with control over the types of emergency messages received, the emergency message application can provide the user with control over time parameters for when messages are received. The user can configure the emergency message application to provide certain types of emergency messages at certain times of the day. The user can configure the emergency message application to provide emergency messages regarding traffic only during the morning rush hour and afternoon rush hour, emergency messages regarding thunderstorms and tornados only in the evening, and all other types of emergency messages at any time during the day. Additionally, the emergency message application can be configured to receive certain types of emergency messages based upon the location of the user. The emergency message application can be configured to provide emergency messages regarding earthquakes when the smartphone based personal emergency message transceiver 124 is in California, and emergency messages regarding tornadoes when the smartphone based personal emergency message transceiver 124 is in Kansas
([0128] indicates emergency messages are sent based on a message reception time parameter, the message received additionally based on location data from a device indicating a location of the device is within a particular location, but only during a message reception time period, before the message reception time period expires, where, as indicated in [0121], the messages are able to be received by a plurality of mobile devices that include at least a second mobile device having an associated second location data)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin, which includes transmitting emergency messages to a plurality of devices in particular location, to include Petite’s teaching of transmitting emergency messages to a plurality of devices in particular location, only during an emergency notification period, for the benefit of providing a user with control over the types of emergency messages received and control over time parameters for when the emergency messages are received (see [0128]).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art Not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hoelzle, et al (US Patent No. 10,404,858), hereafter Hoelzle, teaches transmitting SMS messages geographic data for UE.
Reddy (US PG Publication 2019/0068784) teaches displaying a transcript to users in a dashboard while an emergency call is on hold, such that urgent emergency calls can be prioritized and answered before less urgent emergency calls.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK E DONADO/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641