Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJII KENSUKE et al (JP 2020093839) in view of Niiyama et al (US 20070058114) in view of KHO DONG HAN et al (KR 20110080422 A)
Regarding Claim 1,
FUJII KENSUKE et al discloses (Drawing 1 through Drawings 4) a packaging body (10) for a light control sheet (2), comprising: a light control sheet (2); a packaging member (10, 22,23,4,5) supporting the light control sheet (2).
FUJII KENSUKE et al does not disclose an easy-peel tape fixing the light control sheet to the packaging member, wherein the light control sheet includes a first transparent electrode film, a second transparent electrode film, a sealing section sealing a gap between the first transparent electrode film and the second transparent electrode film in an outer peripheral section of the light control sheet, and a liquid crystal composition enclosed in the gap surrounded by the sealing section, and the easy-peel tape is configured to cover the sealing section of the light control sheet and fix the sealing section of the light control sheet to the packaging member.
Niiyama et al discloses [0082] herein the light control sheet includes a first transparent electrode film (33), a second transparent electrode film (34), a sealing section sealing (37) a gap between the first transparent electrode film and the second transparent electrode film in an outer peripheral section of the light control sheet, and a liquid crystal composition (13) enclosed in the gap surrounded by the sealing section.
KHO DONG HAN et al discloses an easy peel tape (ABSTRACT)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify FUJII KENSUKE et al to include Niiyama et al discloses wherein the light control sheet includes a first transparent electrode film, a second transparent electrode film, a sealing section sealing a gap between the first transparent electrode film and the second transparent electrode film in an outer peripheral section of the light control sheet, and a liquid crystal composition enclosed in the gap surrounded by the sealing section to further include KHO DONG HAN et al discloses an easy peel tape motivated by the desire to temporarily fix the peripheral sealing region of the optical sheet to an adjacent supporting component of the packaging member to further restrain relative movement of the sealing region.
Regarding Claim 2,
In addition to FUJII KENSUKE et al, Niiyama et al, and KHO DONG HAN et al, FUJII KENSUKE et al discloses (Drawing 1 through Drawings 4) wherein the packaging member (10) includes a first protective plate (22), a second protective plate (23) entirely sandwiching the light control sheet (2, 21) with the first protective plate, a first protective sheet sandwiched between the light control sheet and the first protective plate such that the first protective sheet is in contact with one of entire surfaces of the light control sheet, and a second protective sheet sandwiched between the light control sheet and the second protective plate such that the second protective sheet is in contact with another one of the entire surfaces of the light control sheet, and the easy-peel tape (taught by KHO DONG HAN et al) is configured to cover the sealing section of the light control sheet entirely and fix the light control sheet to the first protective sheet.
Regarding Claim 3,
In addition to FUJII KENSUKE et al, Niiyama et al, and KHO DONG HAN et al, FUJII KENSUKE et al discloses (Drawing 1 through Drawings 4) wherein the easy-peel tape is a first easy-peel tape (taught by KHO DONG HAN et al), the first transparent electrode film (taught by Niiyama et al) includes a first transparent electrode layer, the light control sheet includes a flexible wiring substrate connected to the first transparent electrode layer, the flexible wiring substrate includes an extending section extending toward outside of the first transparent electrode film, the first easy-peel tape (taught by KHO DONG HAN et al) fixes a proximal end section of the extending section to the first protective sheet, and the packaging body includes a second easy-peel tape configured to fix a distal end section of the extending section to the first protective sheet.
Regarding Claim 4,
In addition to FUJII KENSUKE et al, Niiyama et al, and KHO DONG HAN et al, FUJII KENSUKE et al discloses (Drawing 1 through Drawings 4) further comprising: a first adhesive tape (taught by KHO DONG HAN et al) configured to fix a plurality of portions of the first protective sheet (22) to the first protective plate; and a second adhesive tape configured to fix a plurality of portions of the second protective sheet (23) to the second protective plate.
Regarding Claim 5,
In addition to FUJII KENSUKE et al, Niiyama et al, and KHO DONG HAN et al, FUJII KENSUKE et al discloses (Drawing 1 through Drawings 4) wherein the first protective plate (22), the second protective plate (23), and a plurality of sheets (22a,22b) sandwiched between the first protective plate (22) and the second protective plate (23)form a protector such that the packaging body (10) includes a plurality of protectors stacked and each comprising the protector and that the first protective plate in one of the protectors is the second protective plate in another of the protectors in adjacent protectors.
Regarding Claim 6,
In addition to FUJII KENSUKE et al, Niiyama et al, and KHO DONG HAN et al, FUJII KENSUKE et al discloses (Drawing 1 through Drawings 4) a first protective plate (22); a second protective plate (23) positioned such that the light control sheet (21) is sandwiched between the first protective plate and the second protective plate, and a packaging box configured to accommodate a protector comprising the first protective plate (22), the second protective plate (23) and the light control sheet (21); and a cushioning member (13) positioned at an edge of the protector to space a corner portion of the protector apart from an inner surface of the packaging box in a planar direction of the light control sheet.
Regarding Claim 7,
In addition to FUJII KENSUKE et al, Niiyama et al, and KHO DONG HAN et al, FUJII KENSUKE et al discloses (Drawing 1 through Drawings 4) wherein the cushioning member (13) has a slit to which the corner portion of the protector is inserted.
Regarding Claim 8,
In addition to FUJII KENSUKE et al, Niiyama et al, and KHO DONG HAN et al, FUJII KENSUKE et al discloses (Drawing 1 through Drawings 4) a first protective plate (22); a second protective plate (23) positioned such that the light control sheet (21) is sandwiched between the first protective plate (22) and the second protective plate (23); a packaging box (10) configured to accommodate a protector comprising the first protective plate, the second protective plate and the light control sheet; and a cushioning member (13) positioned at an edge of the protector to space the protector apart from an inner surface of the packaging box in a thickness direction of the light control sheet.
Regarding Claim 9,
In addition to FUJII KENSUKE et al, Niiyama et al, and KHO DONG HAN et al, FUJII KENSUKE et al discloses (Drawing 1 through Drawings 4) a first protective plate (22); a second protective plate (23); a light control sheet (2) sandwiched between the first protective plate and the second protective plate; a packaging member (10) supporting the light control sheet; a packaging box configured to accommodate a protector comprising the first protective plate, the second protective plate and the light control sheet; and a cushioning member (13) positioned at an edge of the protector to space a corner portion of the protector apart from an inner surface of the packaging box in a planar direction of the light control sheet, wherein the light control sheet includes a first transparent electrode film (33), a second transparent electrode film (34) (discloses by Niiyama et al discloses [0082]) a sealing section sealing (37) a gap between the first transparent electrode film and the second transparent electrode film in an outer peripheral section of the light control sheet, and a liquid crystal composition enclosed in the gap surrounded by the sealing section.
Regarding Claim 10,
In addition to FUJII KENSUKE et al, Niiyama et al, and KHO DONG HAN et al, FUJII KENSUKE et al discloses (Drawing 1 through Drawings 4) a first protective plate (22); a second protective plate (23); a light control sheet (2) sandwiched between the first protective plate and the second protective plate; a packaging member (10) supporting the light control sheet; a packaging box configured to accommodate a protector comprising the first protective plate, the second protective plate and the light control sheet; and a cushioning member (13) positioned at an edge of the protector to space the protector apart from an inner surface of the packaging box in a thickness direction of the light control sheet (2), wherein the light control sheet includes a first transparent electrode film, a second transparent electrode film, a sealing section sealing a gap between the first transparent electrode film (33) and the second transparent electrode film (34) in an outer peripheral section of the light control sheet, and a liquid crystal composition enclosed in the gap surrounded by the sealing section.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11-14 are allowed.
Regarding Claim 11,
FUJII KENSUKE et al discloses (Drawing 1 through Drawings 4) a packaging body (10) for a light control sheet (2), comprising: a light control sheet (2); a packaging member (10, 22,23,4,5) supporting the light control sheet (2).
Niiyama et al discloses [0082] herein the light control sheet includes a first transparent electrode film (33), a second transparent electrode film (34), a sealing section sealing (37) a gap between the first transparent electrode film and the second transparent electrode film in an outer peripheral section of the light control sheet, and a liquid crystal composition (13) enclosed in the gap surrounded by the sealing section.
KHO DONG HAN et al discloses an easy peel tape (ABSTRACT)
It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art combine all these references to disclose the packaging member includes a tubular member around which the light control sheet is wound, the tubular member includes two tube end sections on sides of the tubular member in an axial direction such that the two tube end sections are exposed from the light control sheet wound around the tubular member, the light control sheet includes a winding start section that comes into contact with an outer peripheral surface of the tubular member and at which the light control sheet starts to be wound around the tubular member, the winding start section includes one short side of the light control sheet, and a fixation target section positioned apart from the short side on each of two long sides joined to the short side, the first easy-peel tapes are configured to fix the short side and a corner portion of the light control sheet to the outer peripheral surface of the tubular member of the packaging member such that the corner portion includes the short side and each of the long sides, and the second easy-peel tapes are configured to fix the two respective fixation target sections to the outer peripheral surface in the tube end sections.
Claim 12 depends on Claim 11, therefore is allowable.
Regarding Claim 13,
FUJII KENSUKE et al discloses (Drawing 1 through Drawings 4) a packaging body (10) for a light control sheet (2), comprising: a light control sheet (2); a packaging member (10, 22,23,4,5) supporting the light control sheet (2).
Niiyama et al discloses [0082] herein the light control sheet includes a first transparent electrode film (33), a second transparent electrode film (34), a sealing section sealing (37) a gap between the first transparent electrode film and the second transparent electrode film in an outer peripheral section of the light control sheet, and a liquid crystal composition (13) enclosed in the gap surrounded by the sealing section.
KHO DONG HAN et al discloses an easy peel tape (ABSTRACT)
It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art combine all these references to disclose and two second easy-peel tapes fixing the light control sheet to the packaging member, the packaging member includes a tubular member around which the light control sheet is wound, the tubular member includes two tube end sections on sides of the tubular member in an axial direction such that the two tube end sections are exposed from the light control sheet wound around the tubular member, the light control sheet includes a winding start section that comes into contact with an outer peripheral surface of the tubular member and at which the light control sheet starts to be wound around the tubular member, the winding start section includes one short side of the light control sheet, and fixation target sections for two respective long sides joined to the short side such that the fixation target sections are positioned apart from the short side on the two long sides and that each of the two fixation target sections is positioned only between the tube end section exposed in the axial direction from the fixation target section and the fixation target section, the first easy-peel tape is configured to fix the short side to an outer peripheral surface of the tubular member, and the two second easy-peel tapes are spaced apart from each other in the axial direction and configured to fix the fixation target sections one by one to the outer peripheral surface in the tube end sections.
Claim 14 depends on Claim 13, therefore is allowable.
Conclusion
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871