DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application and are subject to examination herein.
Information Disclosure Statements
The six (6) information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 10/23/2024; 04/07/2025; 05/27/2025; 09/29/2025; 07/07/2026; and 07/13/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, and are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6 recites “is moved the second position” (claim 6 at line 2), which likely was meant to be “is moved to the second position” and “is moved the third position” (claim 6 at lines 2-3), which likely was meant to be “is moved to the third position”; Claim 7 recites “is moved the first position” (claim 7 at line 2), which likely was meant to be “is moved to the first position”; . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “a float arm”, “a locked configuration” and “an unlocked configuration (claim 10 at lines 1-2) and then later recites “a float arm”, “a locked configuration” and “an unlocked configuration” again (claim 10 at lines 3-4). The metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined because it is unclear whether the second reference to a float arm, a locked configuration and an unlocked configuration is referring to the elements as originally recited or to another instance of those elements. Claims 11-13 each depend, either directly or ultimately, from independent claim 10 and are, therefore, likewise rejected as indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). For purposes of examination, the second recitation of each of those terms will be construed as being the same as the first recitation and the Examiner suggests that Applicant may wish to amend Claim 10 to recite “to move the float arm between the locked configuration and the unlocked configuration” in lines 3-4 to clarify.
Similarly, Claim 11 recites “selectively configuring the first valve and the second valve” (claim 11 at line 1) and later recites “a second valve” again (claim 11 at line 4). The metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined because it is unclear whether the second reference to a second valve is referring to the same second valve originally recited or to another instance of that element. Claims 12 depends directly from independent claim 11 and is, therefore, likewise rejected as indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). For purposes of examination, the second recitation of “a second valve” will be construed as being the same as the first recitation and the Examiner suggests that Applicant may wish to amend Claim 11 to recite “the second valve” in line 4 to clarify.
Similarly, Claim 11 recites “a source of pressurized fluid” (claim 11 at line 4). However, this element was previously introduced in Claim 10. The metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined because it is unclear whether the reference to a source of pressurized fluid in claim 11 is referring to the same source of pressurized fluid originally recited in claim 10 or to another instance of that element. Claims 12 depends directly from independent claim 11 and is, therefore, likewise rejected as indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). For purposes of examination, the second recitation of “a source of pressurized fluid” will be construed as being the same as the first recitation of that element in claim 10 and the Examiner suggests that Applicant may wish to amend Claim 11 to recite “the source of pressurized fluid” in line 4 to clarify.
Claim 14 recites “configured to permit flow of the fluid from the first location transmission of the fluid from the first location” (claim 14 at lines 18-19). The metes and bounds of this limitation cannot be determined because it is unclear what meaning the phrase “configured to permit flow of the fluid from the first location transmission of the fluid from the first location” is intended to convey. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitation to be “configured to permit transmission of the fluid from the first location”. The Examiner suggests that Applicant may wish to amend claim 14 to clarify this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2023/0076930 to Modak et al. (hereinafter Modak) (cited by Applicant in IDS filed on 10/23/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Modak discloses a system for controlling operation of one or more float arms (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) of an agricultural header (draper header 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0034]), the system comprising:
a float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) pivotably connected to a frame (frame 102 and/or frame 200) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0025], [0027]-[0028], [0031]-[0032], [0034], [0037]) of the agricultural header (draper header 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0034]), the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) moveable between a locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) in which the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) is secured in a retracted position and an unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]) in which the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) is released from the retracted position;
a source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) including a fluid at a first fluid pressure;
a first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) in fluid communication with the source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]), the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) movable between a first position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]) in which the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) transmits passage of the fluid from the source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) and a second position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]) that prevents passage of the fluid from the source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]); and
a second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) positioned downstream of the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]), the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) movable between a third position (Fig. 8; Para. [0078]) configured to provide fluid communication to a first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]) downstream of the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) and a fourth position (Fig. 8; Para. [0078]) configured to prevent fluid communication with the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]);
the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]), in the third position (Fig. 8; Para. [0078]), being configured to permit flow of the fluid from the source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) to the first location to cause the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) to move to the locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) in response to the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) being in the first position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]), and, in the third position (Fig. 8; Para. [0078]), configured to permit flow of the fluid from the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]) to cause the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) to move to the unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]) in response to the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) being in the second position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]).
Regarding claim 2, Modak discloses the system of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses a system further comprising a pressure sensor (pressure sensor 886) (Fig. 8; Para. [0085]) at a location downstream of the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]), the pressure sensor (pressure sensor 886) (Fig. 8; Para. [0085]) configured to sense a pressure of the fluid at the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]), wherein the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) is movable to the fourth position (Fig. 8; Para. [0078]) in response to the sensed pressure at the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]) satisfying a first threshold pressure value (Para. [0085]).
Regarding claim 5, Modak discloses the system of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses a system further comprising a gauge wheel (gauge wheel(s) 228) (Abstract; Fig. 2; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0040]-[0041], [0062]-[0064], [0068], [0070]) movable between an extended position (Para. [0040]) and a retracted position (Para. [0040]).
Regarding claim 6, Modak discloses the system of claim 5 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses a system wherein, in response to a first input, the gauge wheel (gauge wheel(s) 228) (Abstract; Fig. 2; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0040]-[0041], [0062]-[0064], [0068], [0070]) is moved to the retracted position (Para. [0040]), the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) is moved the second position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]), and the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) is moved the third position (Fig. 8; Para. [0078]).
Regarding claim 7, Modak discloses the system of claim 6 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses a system wherein, in response to a second input, the gauge wheel (gauge wheel(s) 228) (Abstract; Fig. 2; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0040]-[0041], [0062]-[0064], [0068], [0070]) is moved to the extended position (Para. [0040]), the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) is moved the first position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]), and the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) is moved to the third position (Fig. 8; Para. [0078]).
Regarding claim 8, Modak discloses the system of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses a system further comprising an actuator (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078, [0086]) coupled to the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]), wherein, in response to the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) being positioned in the first position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]) and the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) being positioned in the third position (Fig. 8; Para. [0078]), fluid from the source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) actuates the actuator to move the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) into the locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 9, Modak discloses the system of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses a system further comprising an actuator (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078, [0086]) coupled to the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]), wherein, in response to the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) being in the second position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]) and the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) being in the third position (Fig. 8; Para. [0078]), fluid is released from the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]) to actuate the actuator (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078, [0086]) to move the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) into the unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]).
Regarding claim 10, Modak discloses a method of actuating a float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) between one of a locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) and an unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]), the method comprising selectively configuring a first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) and a second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) to transmit fluid from a source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) to a first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]) to move a float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) between a locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) and an unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]).
Regarding claim 11, Modak discloses the method of claim 10 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses a method wherein selectively configuring the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) and the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) comprises:
moving the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) that is movable between a first position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]) and a second (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]) to the first position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]) to transmit fluid from a source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) to a second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]);
moving the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) moveable between a third position (Fig. 8; Para. [0078]) and a fourth position (Fig. 8; Para. [0078]), to a third position (Fig. 8; Para. [0078]) to transmit the fluid from the source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) to a first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]); and
placing the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) in the locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) in response to the fluid being transmitted to the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]).
Regarding claim 12, Modak discloses the method of claim 11 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses a method further comprising:
sensing a pressure (via pressure sensor 886) (Fig. 8; Para. [0085]) of the fluid in the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]); and
moving the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) to the fourth position (Fig. 8; Para. [0078]) to prevent transmission of fluid from the source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) to the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]) in response to the pressuring satisfying a selected pressure threshold (Para. [0085]).
Regarding claim 13, Modak discloses the method of claim 10 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses a method wherein selectively configuring the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) and the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) comprises:
moving the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) to the second position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]) or maintaining the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) in the second position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]); and
moving the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) to the third position (Fig. 8; Para. [0078]) to cause the fluid to flow out of the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]); and
placing the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) in the unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]) in response to flow of the fluid out of the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]).
Regarding claim 14, Modak discloses an agricultural header (draper header 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0034]) comprising:
a first section (center region comprising center conveyor 108) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0027], [0034]);
a wing section (wing(s) 204) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0027], [0034]) including a first end pivotably connected to the first section (center conveyor 108) (Fig. 1; Para. [0027]), the wing section (wing(s) 204) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0027], [0034]) including a float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]), the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) moveable between a locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) in which the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) is secured in a retracted position and an unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]) in which the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) is released from the retracted position;
a cutter bar (cutterbar 132, 216) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0034], [0036]-[0038], [0056], [0100]) including a first portion and second portion, the first portion of the cutter bar extending along the first section and the second portion of the cutter bar (cutterbar 132, 216) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0034], [0036]-[0038], [0056], [0100]) extending along the wing section (wing(s) 204) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0027], [0034]), the second portion connected to the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]); and
a float arm control system including:
a source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) including a fluid at a first fluid pressure;
a first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) in fluid communication with the source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]), the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) movable between a first position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]) in which the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) transmits passage of the fluid from the source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) and a second position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]) that prevents passage of the fluid from the source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]); and
a second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) positioned downstream of the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]), the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) movable between a third position (Fig. 8; Para. [0078]) configured selectively to provide fluid communication to a first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]) downstream of the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) and a fourth position (Fig. 8; Para. [0078]) configured to prevent fluid communication with the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]);
the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]), in the third position (Fig. 8; Para. [0078]), being configured to permit flow of the fluid from the source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) to the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]) to cause the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) to move to the locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) in response to the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) being in the first position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]), and, in the third position (Fig. 8; Para. [0078]), configured to permit transmission of the fluid from the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086])to cause the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) to move to the unlocked configuration in response to the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) being in the second position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]).
Regarding claim 15, Modak discloses the agricultural header of claim 14 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses an agricultural header (draper header 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0034]) further comprising a pressure sensor (pressure sensor 886) (Fig. 8; Para. [0085]) at a location downstream of the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]), the pressure sensor (pressure sensor 886) (Fig. 8; Para. [0085]) configured to sense a pressure of the fluid at the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]), wherein the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) is movable to the fourth position (Fig. 8; Para. [0078]) in response to the sensed pressure at the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]) satisfying a first threshold pressure value (Para. [0085]).
Regarding claim 18, Modak discloses the agricultural header of claim 14 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses an agricultural header (draper header 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0034]) further comprising a gauge wheel (gauge wheel(s) 228) (Abstract; Fig. 2; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0040]-[0041], [0062]-[0064], [0068], [0070]) movable between an extended position (Para. [0040]) and a retracted position (Para. [0040]).
Regarding claim 19, Modak discloses the agricultural header of claim 14 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses an agricultural header (draper header 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0034]) further comprising an actuator (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078, [0086]) coupled to the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]), wherein, in response to the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) being positioned in the first position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]) and the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) being positioned in the third position (Fig. 8; Para. [0078]), fluid from the source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) actuates the actuator (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078, [0086]) to move the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) into the locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 20, Modak discloses the agricultural header of claim 14 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses an agricultural header (draper header 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0034]) further comprising an actuator (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078, [0086]) coupled to the float arm, wherein, in response to the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) being in the second position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]) and the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) being in the third position (Fig. 8; Para. [0078]), fluid is released from the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]) to actuate the actuator (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078, [0086]) to move the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) into the unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modak in view of U.S. Pat. No. 4,202,250 to Zeuner et al. (hereinafter Zeuner).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Modak discloses the system of claim 1 and the agricultural header of claim 14, respectively (see above). However, Modak does not expressly disclose that the second valve includes an orifice configured to control a flow rate of fluid through the first valve. Nevertheless, Zeuner teaches an agricultural header comprising valves including orifices to control a flow rate of fluid through the valves. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system/agricultural header disclosed in Modak with the valves including an orifice to control a flow rate of fluid, as taught by Zeuner, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce the shocks applied to the system when actuating the header as taught by Zeuner (Col. 1, lines 14-39; col. 1, lines 63-68). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system/agricultural header disclosed in Modak with the valves including an orifice to control a flow rate of fluid, as taught by Zeuner, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Modak in view of Zeuner teaches the system of claim 3 and the agricultural header of claim 16, respectively (see above). However, neither Modak nor Zeuner discloses or otherwise teaches that the flow rate is within a range of five liters per min (L/min) (1.3 gallons per minute (gal/min) to 20 L/min (5.3 gal/min). Nevertheless, in cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. See MPEP 2144.05(III)(A). As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-2 and 11-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/911,837 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they include the same limitations as those in the ’837 Patent and the instant application merely broadens the claims of the ’837 Patent to recite remove the “accumulator” limitation as recited in claim 1 of the ’837 Patent. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to broaden the claims of the ’837 Patent to remove the “accumulator" limitation and allowance thereof would be an improper time-wise extension of the ’837 Patent.
Dependent claim 2 of the instant application is patentably indistinct from dependent claim 5 of the ’837 Patent and is therefore rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting for the same reasons provided above.
Claim 11-12 of the instant application are each patentably indistinct from claims 11-12 of the ’837 Patent.
The Examiner suggests that Applicants may wish to file a terminal disclaimer to overcome these obviousness-type double patenting rejections.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Canadian Pat. Pub. No. CA 3 213 182 A1 to Barnett et al. relates to an automated lockout system for a header. U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0096497 to Bollin et al. relates to a harvesting header. U.S. Pat. Pub. Nos. 2017/0348718 to Preheim et al. relate to valves using orifices for flow rate control.
/CLAUDE J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671