Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "first frame structure" (610) and "second frame structure" (612) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: fig. 7a: 700 and fig. 7b: 702. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 0045, lines 4-5, ” The removable seat may include as third storage locking structure 232 and a fourth use locking structure 434, as discussed hereinafter.”
It appears this should be “locking structure 234” instead.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kain (US 6428100) in view of Lawrence (US 20230271534).
As concerns claim 1, Kain teaches a child car seat comprising: a support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12) having a seat portion (Kain, fig. 1: 12); the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12) comprising a first frame structure (Kain, fig. 4: 55) and a second frame structure (Kain, fig. 2: 47) each extending from a front area of the seat portion (Kain, fig. 1: 12); and a locking structure (Kain, fig. 1: 24) having a first end (Kain, fig. 1: 28) secured to the first frame structure (Kain, fig. 4: 55) and a second end (Kain, fig. 1: 26) attached to the second frame structure (Kain, fig. 2: 47); and a removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10) that is releasably coupled to the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12), wherein in a first use configuration (Kain, as seen in fig. 6), the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10) is coupled to the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12) and is positioned on top of the seat portion (Kain, fig. 1: 12) of the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12), and wherein in a second use configuration (Kain, as seen in fig. 14), the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10) is uncoupled from the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12) and is configured to be positioned on a vehicle seat surface (Kain, column 3, lines 6-7); wherein the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10) comprises one or more locking members (Kain, fig. 1: 18 and 20) that releasably engage with the locking structure (Kain, fig. 1: 24) on the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12) when the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10) is in the first use configuration (Kain, as seen in fig. 6).
Kain does not teach a back portion extending upward from a rear end of the seat portion or the first and second frame structures each extending from a front area of the seat portion to a top area of the back portion.
Lawrence teaches a back portion (Lawrence, fig. 18: 310) extending upward from a rear end of the seat portion and the first and second frame structures each extending from a front area of the seat portion to a top area of the back portion (Lawrence, fig. 18: 310).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the teachings of Kain to include the teachings of Lawrence in order to provide more stability to the user.
As concerns claim 2, Kain discloses wherein the one or more locking members (Kain, fig. 1: 18 and 20) of the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10) comprise at least one hook that pivots (Kain, column 3, lines 32-33) from an engaged position (Kain, as seen in fig. 10) to a disengaged position (Kain, as seen in fig. 11).
As concerns claim 3, Kain discloses wherein the at least one hook pivots (Kain, column 3, lines 32-33) upward (Kain, fig. 11, shows the hook, 18, has moved upward into the disengaged position) when moving from the engaged position (Kain, as seen in fig. 10) to the disengaged position (Kain, as seen in fig. 11).
As concerns claim 4, Kain discloses wherein the one or more locking members (Kain, fig. 1: 18 and 20) comprise a first hook (Kain, fig. 1: 20)and a second hook (Kain, fig. 1: 18) extending parallel to each other (Kain, in fig. 1, 18 and 20 are shown parallel to each other).
As concerns claim 5, Kain teaches wherein the first frame structure (Kain, fig. 4: 55) and the second frame structure (Kain, fig. 2: 47).
However, Kain does not teach the first and second frame structures are a tubular structure.
Lawrence teaches the first and second frame structure are a tubular structure (Lawrence, shown in fig. 30, 311).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the teachings of Kain to include a tubular structure as taught by Lawrence for the first and second frame structures in order to have more stability for the user.
As concerns claim 6, Kain is discussed above.
Lawrence teaches the first and second frame structure are a tubular structure (Lawrence, shown in fig. 30, 311).
However, Lawrence does not explicitly teach the tubular structure is comprised of steel.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the tubular structure of Lawrence with a well-known steel material in order for a more durable structure.
As concerns claim 7, Kain discloses wherein the locking structure (Kain, fig. 1: 24) of the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12) comprises at least one opening (Kain, see annotated figures 2 and 4 below) configured to receive the one or more locking members (Kain, fig. 1: 18 and 20) of the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10).
As concerns claim 8, Kain teaches a top side of the locking structure (Kain, fig. 1: 24) and the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12).
However, Kain does not teach the top side of the locking structure is secured to a back portion.
Lawrence teaches a top side of the locking structure is secured to the back portion (Lawrence, fig. 18: 310).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the teachings of Kain to include the back portion as taught by Lawrence in order to support the user.
As concerns claim 9, Kain discloses wherein the first end (Kain, fig. 1: 28) of the locking structure (Kain, fig. 1: 24) is attached to an upward-facing surface of the first frame structure (Kain, fig. 4: 55) and the second end (Kain, fig. 1: 26) of the locking structure (Kain, fig. 1: 24) is attached to an upward-facing surface of the second frame structure (Kain, fig. 2: 47).
As concerns claim 10, Kain teaches a child car seat comprising: a support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12) having a seat portion (Kain, fig. 1: 12); the seat portion (Kain, fig. 1: 12) of the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12); and a removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10) that is releasably coupled to the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12), wherein in a first use configuration (Kain, as seen in fig. 6), the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10) is coupled to the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12) and is positioned on top of the seat portion (Kain, fig. 1: 12) of the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12), and wherein in a second use configuration (Kain, as seen in fig. 14), the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10) is uncoupled from the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12) and is configured to be positioned on a vehicle seat surface (Kain, column 3, lines 6-7); wherein the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10) comprises one or more hooks (Kain, fig. 1: 18 and 20) that each pivot (Kain, column 3, lines 32-33) upward (Kain, fig. 11, shows the hook, 18, has moved upward into the disengaged position) when moving from an engaged position (Kain, as seen in fig. 10) when the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10) is in the first use configuration (Kain, as seen in fig. 6) to a disengaged position (Kain, as seen in fig. 11) to release the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10) from the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12).
Kain does not teach the back portion.
Lawrence teaches a back portion (Lawrence, fig. 18: 310) extending upward from a rear end of the seat portion.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the child car seat of Kain to include a back portion as taught by Lawrence in order to provide more support for the user.
As concerns claim 11, Kain discloses wherein the one or more hooks comprise a first hook (Kain, fig. 1: 20) and a second hook (Kain, fig. 1: 18) extending parallel to each other (Kain, in fig. 1, 18 and 20 are shown parallel to each other).
As concerns claim 12, Kain discloses wherein the first hook (Kain, fig. 1: 20) and the second hook (Kain, fig. 1: 18) are secured to a receiver (Kain, fig. 1: 62) in the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12) when the first hook (Kain, fig. 1: 20) and the second hook (Kain, fig. 1: 18) are in the engaged position (Kain, as seen in fig. 10).
As concerns claim 13, Kain teaches wherein the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12) further comprises a first frame structure (Kain, fig. 4: 55) and a second frame structure (Kain, fig. 2: 47) each extending from a front area of the seat portion; wherein a first end (Kain, fig. 1: 28) of the receiver (Kain, fig. 1: 62) is secured to the first frame structure (Kain, fig. 4: 55) and second end (Kain, fig. 1: 26) of the receiver (Kain, fig. 1: 62) is secured to the second frame structure (Kain, fig. 2: 47).
Kain does not teach the back portion.
Lawrence teaches the back portion (Lawrence, fig. 18: 310).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the child car seat of Kain to include a back portion as taught by Lawrence in order to provide more support for the user.
As concerns claim 14, Kain discloses wherein the receiver (Kain, fig. 1: 62) of the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12) comprises a locking structure (Kain, fig. 1: 24) having at least one opening (Kain, see annotated figures 2 and 4 below) configured to receive the first hook (Kain, fig. 1: 20) and the second hook (Kain, fig. 1: 20) of the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10).
As concerns claim 15, Kain discloses wherein the first end (Kain, fig. 1: 28) of the receiver (Kain, fig. 1: 62) is attached to an upward-facing surface of the first frame structure (Kain, fig. 4: 55) and the second end (Kain, fig. 1: 26) of the receiver (Kain, fig. 1: 62) is attached to an upward-facing surface of the second frame structure (Kain, fig. 2: 47).
As concerns claim 16, Kain discloses wherein when the one or more hooks (Kain, fig. 1: 18 and 20) are in the engaged position (Kain, as seen in fig. 10), the one or more hooks (Kain, fig. 1: 18 and 20) each extend rearward from a pivot point (Kain, fig. 10: 36) at an angle relative to a vertical reference plane at the pivot point (Kain, fig. 10: 36), wherein the angle is no greater than 100 degrees (Kain, see annotated fig. 10 below).
As concerns claim 17, Kain teaches a child car seat comprising: a support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12) having a seat portion (Kain, fig. 1: 12); and a removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10) that is releasably coupled to the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12), wherein in a first use configuration (Kain, as seen in fig. 6), the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10) is coupled to the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12) and is positioned on top of the seat portion (Kain, fig. 1: 12) of the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12), and wherein in a second use configuration (Kain, as seen in fig. 14), the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10) is uncoupled from the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12) and is configured to be positioned on a vehicle seat surface (Kain, column 3, lines 6-7); wherein the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10) comprises one or more hooks (Kain, fig. 1: 18 and 20) that extend outward in a rearward direction from a pivot point (Kain, fig. 10: 36) on a bottom side (Kain, column 3, lines 14-16) of the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10), the one or more hooks (Kain, fig. 1: 18 and 20) pivot (Kain, column 3, lines 32-33) between engaged (Kain, as seen in fig. 10) and disengaged positions (Kain, as seen in fig. 11) to release the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10) from the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12), wherein when the one or more hooks (Kain, fig. 1: 18 and 20) are in the engaged position (Kain, as seen in fig. 10), the one or more hooks (Kain, fig. 1: 18 and 20) each extend in the rearward direction at an angle relative to a vertical reference plane at the pivot point (Kain, fig. 10: 36) , wherein the angle is no greater than 100 degrees (Kain, see annotated fig. 10 below).
Kain does not teach the back portion.
Lawrence teaches the back portion (Lawrence, fig. 18: 310).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the child car seat of Kain to include a back portion as taught by Lawrence in order to provide more support for the user.
As concerns claim 18, Kain teaches wherein the support base (Kain, fig. 1: 12) further comprises: a first frame structure (Kain, fig. 4: 55) and a second frame structure (Kain, fig. 2: 47) each extending from a front area of the seat portion (Kain, fig. 1: 12); and a receiver (Kain, fig. 1: 62) to which the one or more hooks (Kain, fig. 1: 18 and 20) are secured (Kain, see fig. 1) when the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10) is in the first use configuration (Kain, as seen in fig. 6), wherein a first end (Kain, fig. 1: 28) of the receiver (Kain, fig. 1: 62) is secured to the first frame structure (Kain, fig. 4: 55) and second end (Kain, fig. 1: 26) of the receiver (Kain, fig. 1: 62) is secured to the second frame structure (Kain, fig. 2: 47).
Kain does not teach the back portion.
Lawrence teaches the back portion (Lawrence, fig. 18: 310).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the child car seat of Kain to include a back portion as taught by Lawrence in order to provide more support for the user.
As concerns claim 19, Kain discloses wherein the one or more hooks (Kain, fig. 1: 18 and 20) comprise a first hook (Kain, fig. 1: 20) and a second hook (Kain, fig. 1: 18) extending parallel to each other (Kain, in fig. 1, 18 and 20 are shown parallel to each other), the first hook (Kain, fig. 1: 20) and the second hook (Kain, fig. 1: 18) each pivoting (Kain, column 3, lines 32-33) upward (Kain, fig. 11, shows the hook, 18, has moved upward into the disengaged position) when moving from the engaged position (Kain, as seen in fig. 10) to the disengaged position (Kain, as seen in fig. 11).
As concerns claim 20, Kain teaches wherein the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10) has a bottom surface extending from a front end of the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10) to the rear end of the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10), wherein when the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10) is in the first use configuration (Kain, as seen in fig. 6), the bottom surface of the removable seat (Kain, fig. 1: 10).
Kain does not explicitly teach the bottom surface of the removable seat at the rear end is positioned at least 5 centimeters superior to the bottom surface at the front end. The bottom surface of the removable seat at the rear end appears to be in the range of about 5 cm as seen in fig. 9, but Kain is silent on the measurement. However, it would have been obvious to make such a distance of at least 5 centimeters in order to provide a comfortable and safe seating position for the child
Conclusion
JESSICA K THOMPSON
Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/DAVID R DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3636