DETAILED ACTION
1. It is hereby acknowledged that 18/911794 the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Remark date 11/27/24
Claim Objections
3.Claim1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 7, and 13 are objected for stating “the measurement clock offset of the nth link is measurement clock offsets of two to-be-synchronized hosts”. It is unclear the meaning of this limitation. This leaves one of ordinary skill in the art questioning if there are two offsets and how the singular offset is related to the multiple offset.
The specification does not seem to provide further clarification.
Claim 3, 9, and 15 uses the term correction. However this is considered vague. It is unclear what type of correction it is (i.e frequency, link correction…etc)
The specification does not seem to provide further clarification [0091].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1, 7 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by WANG (US 1163738B1)
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a clock synchronization method, comprising: determining delay information and a measurement clock offset of an n.sup.th link in N links between at least two to-be-synchronized hosts, wherein the delay information comprises round-trip time or a difference between one-way delays of round trips, the measurement clock offset of the n.sup.th link is measurement clock offsets of two to-be-synchronized hosts connected to the n.sup.th link, n=1, . . . , N, and N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1; (see Wang col. 1 line 55-col. 2 line 4 performing time synchronization for a plurality of computing devices that are interconnected to each other in a network….col 3 lines 58-63… see Wang col. 1 line 55-col. 2 line 4…. measured delays for a path between the first computing device and a second computing device of the network…col 9 lines 1-2, col 13 lines 46-47…. The offset estimate refers to a clock time difference between the first clock and the second clock,… ) determining a weight of the n.sup.th link based on the delay information of the n.sup.th link;(see column 2 lines 34-35 explains …set of weights to be applicated to data points (e.g. measured delays) ); and synchronizing clock time of the at least two to-be-synchronized hosts based on weights and measurement clock offsets of the N links. (see Wang col. 14 lines 6-20, col 18 lines 13-19….When a timing protocol executes a time synchronization operation, an offset between the two clocks at Node i and Node j is determined and used to correct one of the clocks. Due to the delay of the network, the measured delays between the nodes vary. Therefore, finding the offset at a minimum path bound means minimum network traffic effect on the measured delay. The techniques described herein implement a weighted regression analysis to identify the minimum path as a bound (e.g., a lower or upper linear/non-linear bound) on the measured delays….. )
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches a computing device, comprising at least one processor and a memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to be coupled to a memory, and store programming instructions, the programming instructions, when executed or read by the at least one processor, instruct the at least one processor to perform operations: determining delay data and a measurement clock offset of an n.sup.th link in N links between at least two to-be-synchronized hosts, wherein the delay data comprises round-trip time or a difference between one-way delays of round trips, the measurement clock offset of the n.sup.th link is measurement clock offsets of two to-be-synchronized hosts connected to the n.sup.th link, n=1, . . . , N, and N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1; (see Wang col. 1 line 55-col. 2 line 4 performing time synchronization for a plurality of computing devices that are interconnected to each other in a network….col 3 lines 58-63… see Wang col. 1 line 55-col. 2 line 4…. measured delays for a path between the first computing device and a second computing device of the network…col 9 lines 1-2, col 13 lines 46-47…. The offset estimate refers to a clock time difference between the first clock and the second clock,… ) determining a weight of the n.sup.th link based on the delay data of the n.sup.th link; (see column 2 lines 34-35 explains …set of weights to be applicated to data points ) and synchronizing clock time of the at least two to-be-synchronized hosts based on weights and measurement clock offsets of the N links. (see Wang col. 14 lines 6-20, col 18 lines 13-19….When a timing protocol executes a time synchronization operation, an offset between the two clocks at Node i and Node j is determined and used to correct one of the clocks. Due to the delay of the network, the measured delays between the nodes vary. Therefore, finding the offset at a minimum path bound means minimum network traffic effect on the measured delay. The techniques described herein implement a weighted regression analysis to identify the minimum path as a bound (e.g., a lower or upper linear/non-linear bound) on the measured delays….. )
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing program instructions, when the program instructions is executed on a computer, the computer is configured to perform operations comprising: determining delay data and a measurement clock offset of an n.sup.th link in N links between at least two to-be-synchronized hosts, wherein the delay data comprises round-trip time or a difference between one-way delays of round trips, the measurement clock offset of the n.sup.th link is measurement clock offsets of two to-be-synchronized hosts connected to the n.sup.th link, n=1, . . . , N, and N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1; (see Wang col. 1 line 55-col. 2 line 4 performing time synchronization for a plurality of computing devices that are interconnected to each other in a network….col 3 lines 58-63… see Wang col. 1 line 55-col. 2 line 4…. measured delays for a path between the first computing device and a second computing device of the network…col 9 lines 1-2, col 13 lines 46-47…. The offset estimate refers to a clock time difference between the first clock and the second clock,… ) determining a weight of the n.sup.th link based on the delay data of the n.sup.th link(see column 2 lines 34-35 explains …set of weights to be applicated to data points (e.g. measured delays) ); and synchronizing clock time of the at least two to-be-synchronized hosts based on weights and measurement clock offsets of the N links. (see Wang col. 14 lines 6-20, col 18 lines 13-19….When a timing protocol executes a time synchronization operation, an offset between the two clocks at Node i and Node j is determined and used to correct one of the clocks. Due to the delay of the network, the measured delays between the nodes vary. Therefore, finding the offset at a minimum path bound means minimum network traffic effect on the measured delay. The techniques described herein implement a weighted regression analysis to identify the minimum path as a bound (e.g., a lower or upper linear/non-linear bound) on the measured delays….. )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
7. Claims 2, 8, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over WANG (US 1163738B1) in view of Suzuki (US 9634782 B2)
Regarding claim 2, Wang taught the method according to claim 1, as described above. Wang alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however further combined with Suzuki teaches wherein the weight of the nth link is inversely proportional to the delay information of the n"' link. (Suzuki column 7 lines 8-10…In this processing, weight is given so as to be inversely proportional to the propagation delay D but proportional to clock precision of a master node…. see Wang col. 1 line 55-col. 2 line 4 performing time synchronization for a plurality of computing devices that are interconnected to each other in a network….col 3 lines 58-63… see Wang col. 1 line 55-col. 2 line 4…. measured delays for a path between the first computing device and a second computing device of the network…col 9 lines 1-2, col 13 lines 46-47…. The offset estimate refers to a clock time difference between the first clock and the second clock,… col. 14 lines 6-20, col 18 lines 13-19….When a timing protocol executes a time synchronization operation, an offset between the two clocks at Node i and Node j is determined and used to correct one of the clocks. Due to the delay of the network, the measured delays between the nodes vary. Therefore, finding the offset at a minimum path bound means minimum network traffic effect on the measured delay. The techniques described herein implement a weighted regression analysis to identify the minimum path as a bound (e.g., a lower or upper linear/non-linear bound) on the measured delays )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Wang with Suziki’s . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further improving delay between synchronization of nodes . (see column 1 lines 55-60)
Regarding claim 8, Wang taught the computing device according to claim 7, as described above. Wang alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however further combined with Suzuki teaches wherein the weight of the n.sup.th link is inversely proportional to the delay data of the n.sup.th link. (Suzuki column 7 lines 8-10…In this processing, weight is given so as to be inversely proportional to the propagation delay D but proportional to clock precision of a master node…. see Wang col. 1 line 55-col. 2 line 4 performing time synchronization for a plurality of computing devices that are interconnected to each other in a network….col 3 lines 58-63… see Wang col. 1 line 55-col. 2 line 4…. measured delays for a path between the first computing device and a second computing device of the network…col 9 lines 1-2, col 13 lines 46-47…. The offset estimate refers to a clock time difference between the first clock and the second clock,… col. 14 lines 6-20, col 18 lines 13-19….When a timing protocol executes a time synchronization operation, an offset between the two clocks at Node i and Node j is determined and used to correct one of the clocks. Due to the delay of the network, the measured delays between the nodes vary. Therefore, finding the offset at a minimum path bound means minimum network traffic effect on the measured delay. The techniques described herein implement a weighted regression analysis to identify the minimum path as a bound (e.g., a lower or upper linear/non-linear bound) on the measured delays )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Wang with Suziki’s . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further improving delay between synchronization of nodes . (see column 1 lines 55-60)
Regarding claim 14, Wang taught the computer-readable medium according to claim 13, as described above. Wang alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however further combined with Suzuki teaches wherein the weight of the n.sup.th link is inversely proportional to the delay data of the n.sup.th link. (Suzuki column 7 lines 8-10…In this processing, weight is given so as to be inversely proportional to the propagation delay D but proportional to clock precision of a master node…. see Wang col. 1 line 55-col. 2 line 4 performing time synchronization for a plurality of computing devices that are interconnected to each other in a network….col 3 lines 58-63… see Wang col. 1 line 55-col. 2 line 4…. measured delays for a path between the first computing device and a second computing device of the network…col 9 lines 1-2, col 13 lines 46-47…. The offset estimate refers to a clock time difference between the first clock and the second clock,… col. 14 lines 6-20, col 18 lines 13-19….When a timing protocol executes a time synchronization operation, an offset between the two clocks at Node i and Node j is determined and used to correct one of the clocks. Due to the delay of the network, the measured delays between the nodes vary. Therefore, finding the offset at a minimum path bound means minimum network traffic effect on the measured delay. The techniques described herein implement a weighted regression analysis to identify the minimum path as a bound (e.g., a loer or upper linear/non-linear bound) on the measured delays )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Wang with Suziki’s . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further improving delay between synchronization of nodes . (see column 1 lines 55-60)
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claim 3-6, 9-12, 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Gerald Smarth whose telephone number is (571) 270-1923. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 6am-4:30pm ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GERALD A SMARTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478