DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding Claim 1; “a connection extending from the busbar parallel to a direction of current flow” is asserted as if “a connection” extends from the busbar in a direction that is parallel to current flow. However, it appears the assertion may intend” “a connection extending from the busbar, in which the busbar is parallel to a direction of current flow”; whereas i.e. 204-Fig. 2B appears to depict current flow in-part parallel to busbar-210. Further, in re: claim(s) 1 and 7; “a connection” is unclear; whereas a connection may be construed as electrical, mechanical, thermal, electrical and thermal, and/or electro-mechanical etc., and thus the term is hereby deemed to read on more than one plausible claim construction and varying inventive constructions thereof. Going further, in re: claim(s) 1 and 7; “a busbar configured to transport current between two locations in an electrical system” is unclear; whereas it cannot be readily ascertained if a busbar is intended to comprise extend between two different spaces or mechanical parts or otherwise intended to directly connect electrically to two locations defined by electrical connectors or devices etc, wherein the locations are presented without asserting any actual electrical features to transport, send or receive current, and thus the limitation reads on more than one plausible claim construction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, and 3-4, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (Khzouz 2023/0344203).
Regarding Claim 1; Khzouz discloses a busbar configured to transport current between two locations in an electrical system (as depicted by Fig. 2--whereas a busbar, as constituted by 140,142 is configured to transport current between a circuit breaker-122 and disconnect 144 to/from a busbar assembly 118 and an external electrical source coupled thereto—as set forth by para.’s 0016, 0020, and 0022), comprising: a connection extending from the busbar (as depicted by Fig. 4-whereas a busbar portion 140b constitutes a connection extending from busbar portion 142b) parallel to a direction of current flow (as depicted by Fig. 2—whereas 140 and 142 is atleast in-part disposed in parallel to current E1 and E2) and configured so that a thermal interface material of the connection contacts a heat sink when the heat sink is secured to the connection (as depicted by Fig.’s 4 and 8A--whereas 140b comprises an interface defined by an electrically insulating material 146—para. 0025, and atleast adjacent ones of fingers-236 of thermally conductive plate 216b constitutes a heat sink defined by aluminum in which heat is conducted therethrough—para.’s 0026 and 0033 interleaved in contact with the connection—as further set forth by para. 0029).
Regarding Claim 3; Khzouz discloses the busbar of claim 1, wherein the thermal interface material is at least one of a gap pad, a gel gap filler (whereas 146 defines an epoxy coating an constitutes a gel gap filler).
Regarding Claim 4; Khzouz discloses the busbar of claim 1, wherein the thermal interface material is electrically insulative and thermally conductive (whereas 146 defines an epoxy coating and constitutes being electrically insulative and thermally conductive).
Claim(s) 7-8, and 10-11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by (Costello 2023/0180443).
Regarding Claim 7; Costello discloses a method of manufacturing a busbar (as constituted by a busbar is an extruded metal—as set forth by para. 0049) configured to transport current between two locations in an electrical system (as set forth by para.’s 0022 and 0035—whereas a busbar assembly is electrically coupled to a to electrical components including power supply and/or a server blade which defined by a computer system or a data communications system—para. 0003, and where para.’s 0005 and 0025 further discloses a power return path for the electrical component), comprising: monolithically forming the busbar and a connection using an extrusion process (as depicted by Fig. 4—whereas 400 constitutes an extruded metal busbar comprising a thermal conduit-402 defining an internal connection); and applying a thermal interface material to an interior surface of the connection (whereas 420 defines an thermally conductive electrically insulating coating disposed on an internal surface of the thermal conduit--as set forth by para. 0050).
Regarding Claim 8; Costello discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the connection has a generally u-shape with a width that is less than a width of a heat sink for providing a clamping force to the heat sink to secure the heat sink to the busbar (as depicted by Fig.’s 11-12—whereas walls 410, 412, and 416 forms a u-shape defining a width that is less than a fitting 432 of coolant line 430, so as to press-fit therein—as set forth by para. 0047 for supply and return to dissipate heat from the busbar—para. 0007).
Regarding Claim 10; Costello discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the thermal interface material is electrically insulative and thermally conductive (as already set forth by para. 0050).
Regarding Claim 11; Costello discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the thermal interface material is adhesively bonded to an inner surface of the connection (as constituted by coating 420 on an inner surface defined by the connection 402).
Claim(s) 1-2, and 5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by (Rai 2021/0112680).
Regarding Claim 1; Rai discloses a busbar configured to transport current between two locations in an electrical system (whereas a busbar assembly-24 comprises a busbar-60, 62 and/or 64 configured to electrically connect a power source, a contactor and/or an electrical load of an electrical system defined by an air conditioner—as set forth by para.’s 0029 and 0037-0038), comprising: a connection extending from the busbar parallel to a direction of current flow (whereas Fig.’s 4 or 5 depicts a connection portion as constituted by 26, 100, and/or fasteners depicted between 100, 60, 64 and terminals 52, whereas 26 and/or 100 atleast in-part extends parallel to atleast a portion of the busbar(s) 60, 64) and configured so that a thermal interface material of the connection contacts a heat sink when the heat sink is secured to the connection (as depicted by Fig.’s 4 or 5—whereas the connection portion and thermal interface material-100 in contact therewith—para. 0040 contacts and secures to heat sink 28/90 to facilitate heat transfer—as set forth by para.’s 0032-0033).
Regarding Claim 2; Rai discloses the busbar of claim 1, wherein the connection has a generally u-shape with a width that is less than a width of the heat sink for providing a clamping force to the heat sink to secure the heat sink to the busbar (as depicted by Fig.’s 4 or 5 and further disclosed by para. 0033—whereas the connection portion comprises 26 which defines a bracket that in-part forms a u-shape via atleast 3 perimeter walls thereof having latches-102 coupled to 104 of the heat sink).
Regarding Claim 5; Rai discloses the busbar of claim 1, wherein the thermal interface material is adhesively bonded to an inner surface of the connection (as depicted by Fig. 4--whereas 100 is a potting material disposed in contact with an inner surface of 26 and/or disposed in contact with an inner surface defined by a bottom head of the fasteners—as further depicted by Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Rai 2021/0112680).
Regarding Claim 6; Rai discloses the busbar of claim 1, except, explicitly wherein the connection is monolithically formed with the busbar using an extrusion process. However, ‘**an extrusion process**’ constitutes a method of manufacture and is not structurally distinguished from the prior art. (In re Johnson, 157 USPQ 670, 1968; In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 1985; See MPEP 2113—Product by Process Claims). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made that the disclosed structure of the prior art is a fully functional equivalent to the claimed structure as evidenced by meeting all of the claimed structural limitations thereof.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Costello 2023/0180443).
Regarding Claim 9; Costello discloses the method of claim 7, suggests wherein the thermal interface material is at least a gel (whereas para. 0050 discloses the interface as a coating comprising silica), except, explicitly disclosing a gel. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the silica as a gel since it was known in the art that that enhanced thermal stability and sealing will be provided for a more reliable thermal interface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 12604442 B2
Frank; Alexander et al.
Fig. 1
/COURTNEY L SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841