DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-8 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claim(s) 1-10 and the species election of atractylodes extract, dandelion root extract, noni extract and hesperidin extract in the reply filed on September 28, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “The basis for Applicant's traversal is that there is no undue burden on the Examiner. Section 803 of the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure states that "[i]f the search and examination of an entire application can be made without serious burden, the examiner must examine it on the merits, even though it includes claims to independent or distinct inventions." Applicant submits that there is no undue burden in this case and therefore respectfully requests examination of all currently pending claims (pg. 1 of remarks) … [and that] the basis for Applicant's traversal is that there is no undue burden on the Examiner. Furthermore, there is no prohibition against claiming a reasonable number of species. 37 C.F.R. §1.141(a). In this case, there are only three species. The Office has not shown how the number of species (3), such as designated by the Office, is unreasonable. Accordingly, the election of species requirement is believed to be improper, and it should be withdrawn (pg. 2 of remarks)”. This is not found persuasive because the three groupings namely, group I (claim(s) 1-10), group II (claim(s) 11-17) and group III (claim(s) 18-20) are drawn to a composition, a method of using the composition and a method of making the composition, respectively, and each grouping raises distinct prior art and non-prior art issues. Thus, the search and examination of all groupings would be burdensome. Moreover, the election of species is because each species listed come from distinct plants and therefore an election of species has been deemed reasonable. The claims allow for the selection of two or more from a list of five. This reads on numerous distinct combinations that each require separate consideration and search. The restriction requirement for the groupings of claims and the election of species for this present invention is maintained. In addition, based on applicants’ election of species being applied to claim(s) 1-10, claims 5, 9, and 10 have been withdrawn from consideration because they require non-elected species. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim(s) 5, 9, and 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-8 are examined on the merits.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is not a single paragraph preferably within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract of the disclosure is roughly 45 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure within the preferred ranges disclosed is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to natural products without significantly more. A composition comprising Atractylodes extract, dandelion root extract, noni extract and hesperidin extract encompasses naturally occurring substances.
MPEP § 2106 sets forth the Subject Matter Eligibility Test to determine if a claim is directed to patent eligible subject matter. Step 1 asks if a claim is directed to a statutory category of invention. Applicant's claims are directed to a product; thus, the answer to Step 1 is Yes. The analysis then moves to Step 2A, Prong One, which asks if a claim recites to a product of nature. In this case, applicant's claim(s) 1-4 and 6-8 recite the following: Atractylodes extract, dandelion root extract, noni extract and hesperidin extract. Atractylodes (Atractylodes lancea, Atractylodes macrocephala, Atractylodes japonica) extract, dandelion root (Taraxcum officinale) extract, noni (Morinda citrifolia) extract and hesperidin extract (is found within oranges, grapefruit, lemons, tangerines) are all from naturally occurring plants. Thus, the claims do recite products of nature. MPEP § 2106.04(b) states that "When a claim recites a nature-based product limitation, examiners should use the markedly different characteristics analysis discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(c) to evaluate the nature-based product limitation and determine the answer to Step 2A."
MPEP § 2106.04(c)(I) states that "if the nature-based product limitation is not naturally occurring, for example due to some human intervention, then the markedly different characteristics analysis must be performed to determine whether the claimed product limitation is " a product of nature exception To perform the markedly different characteristic analysis, MPEP § 2106.04(c)(II) states "The markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature- based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state. Markedly different characteristics can be expressed as the product's structure, function, and/or other properties…".
In this case, the closest naturally occurring counterpart for the ingredient is the ingredient itself. Selection of a particular species of a naturally occurring plant does not create a markedly distinct plant. The selected plant would be the same as the identical plant because selection only occurs from what exists. Thus, the claims are drawn directly to a product of nature. Thus, the claimed Atractylodes extract, dandelion root extract, noni extract and hesperidin extract cannot display markedly different characteristics in comparison with the naturally occurring counterpart because they are one in the same. Thus, in this case, extraction of plants only concentrates and portions the naturally occurring compounds in the plants which are soluble or insoluble in the particular solvent. General extraction does not necessarily result in a markedly distinct change in the naturally occurring compounds from the plant. Thus, while a solvent extract itself may not be found in the nature, the compounds which are present in the plant and soluble in the selected solvent are found in nature. The creation of a solvent extract only partitions and concentrates the molecules that are naturally in the plant. There is no evidence or reason to expect that any new compounds are formed. The extract itself is a mixture of the naturally occurring compounds that are simply soluble in a particular solvent. Thus, while extraction of the compounds with the selected solvent would separate a portion of the plant matter away from the naturally-occurring ingredients, the result of extraction is still a mixture of ingredients which are naturally-found in the plant material; i.e., the compound is not inventive or "man-made." Thus, the extract in turn is a mixture of the naturally occurring compounds found in the particular plant. The extract from the individual plant leads to a combination of the naturally occurring compounds from the plant. Thus, the claim is drawn to a mixture of naturally occurring products.
There is no indication that the specified extract as commensurate in scope with the stated claim changes the structure, function, or other properties of the extract in any marked way in comparison with the closest naturally occurring counterpart. The closest naturally occurring counterpart for the extract is a mixture of the naturally occurring compounds that are present in the extract. Because, as discussed above, the plant extract contains only a mixture of the naturally occurring compounds found in the plant. The extract composition appears to maintain its naturally occurring structure and properties and is merely present in the combination. In addition, there is nothing to show that mixing the ingredients in the particular concentrations produces any sort of marked distinction. In addition, the closest naturally occurring counterpart for each ingredient is the ingredient itself. There is no indication that mixing the following ingredients together as commensurate in scope with the stated claims changes the structure, function, or other properties of the components in any marked way in comparison with the closest naturally occurring counterpart. Thus, the claims are drawn directly to a product of nature. Thus, the claimed mixture as a whole does not display markedly different characteristics in comparison with the naturally occurring counterparts. Therefore, the answer to Step 2A, Prong One, is Yes.
Thus, the analysis must move to Step 2A, Prong Two, which asks if the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) this evaluation is performed by identifying whether there are additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception and evaluating these additional elements to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. In this case, applicant's claims are directed to a composition with an intended use of alleviating symptoms of gastroesophageal reflux disease. MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) specifically states that a claim is only directed to "an intended use of a claimed invention or a field of use limitation, then it cannot integrate a judicial exception under the 'treatment or prophylaxis' consideration." Therefore, applicant's intended use is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Thus, the answer to Step 2A, Prong Two, is No.
Thus, the analysis must move to Step 2B which asks if claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP § 2106.05 states that this evaluation is performed by "Evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept requires considering them both individually and in combination to ensure that they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself." In this case, the additional element in the claims is the presence of a liquid ingredient to form the liquid composition. However, MPEP § 2106.05(d) states that well-understood, routine, and conventional activities are not sufficient to show that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, mixing the ingredients together does not amount to significantly more than a combination of judicial exception because mixing compounds is well- understood, routine, and conventional in the field. Thus, the answer to Step 2B is No. Consequently, the claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
In addition, applicant's intended use of alleviating symptoms of gastroesophageal reflux disease is not considered to amount to significantly more. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(I)(A), "Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use" is not considered to be enough to qualify as significantly more. An intended use of a claimed composition only generally links the exception to the field of use. Therefore, the additional elements are not considered to amount to significantly more. Thus, the answer to Step 2B is No. Consequently, the claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do (U.S. Pub. No. 20210290722 A1) in view of Jang (WO 2022108343 A1), Basu (U.S. Pub. No. 20020068097 A1) and Wang (CN 1748740 A).
Do teaches a composition that includes dandelion root extract that can treat heartburn (gastroesophageal reflux disease is also known as heartburn) (abstract and par. 0043). Do teaches that the composition can be in oral dosage form (par. 0057). Do teaches that the daily dosage for the present invention is from about 5 to about 30 mg of Dandelion (Taraxacum officinale) extract (par. 0043).
Do does not teach that the composition includes the additional ingredients: Atractylodes extract, noni extract and hesperidin extract and the Do reference does not teach the additional ingredients in the dosage forms, extraction ratio’s and HPLC ranges as claimed by the applicant across claim(s) 1-4 and 6-8 of the present invention.
Jang teaches a composition that includes noni fruit extract that can treat heartburn (abstract and pg. 2).
Basu teaches a composition that includes the extract of “bai zhu” (Atractylodes macrocephala) that can treat heartburn (abstract, par. 0064 and claim(s) 1 and 7).
Wang teaches hesperidin from immature bitter orange product (abstract and second-to-last par. of pg. 3). Wang teaches the product can be used to treat heartburn (pg. 2). Wang teaches that the hesperidin content can reach 90% purity, the preparation of the invention uses the method for measuring total flavone such as high performance liquid phase chromatography (HPLC) (pg. 3).
The composition as taught by Do can be modified to include the additional ingredients such as noni fruit extract as taught by Jang, the extract of “bai zhu” (Atractylodes macrocephala) as taught by Basu and hesperidin (which would be obtained via extraction) as taught by Wang.
These references show that it was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to use the claimed ingredients in compositions that treat gastroesophageal reflux disease (or heartburn). It is well known that it is prima facie obvious to combine two or more ingredients each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to form a third composition which is useful for the same purpose. The idea for combining them flows logically from their having been used individually in the prior art.
Based on the disclosure by these references that these substances are used in compositions to treat gastroesophageal reflux disease (or heartburn), an artisan of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation that a combination of the substances would also be useful in creating compositions to treat gastroesophageal reflux disease (or heartburn). Therefore, the artisan would have been motivated to combine the claimed ingredients into a single composition. No patentable invention resides in combining old ingredients of known properties where the results obtained thereby are no more than the additive effect of the ingredients. See MPEP section 2144.06, In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980), Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992).
In regard to claim(s) 6-8, the aforementioned references does not teach majority of the herbal components amounts in the form of dosage ranges and extraction ratios in the amounts as claimed by the applicant. However, as discussed in MPEP section 2144.05(II)(A), “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’ In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” The references teach the use of each of the ingredients in a composition. Varying the concentration of ingredients within a composition is not considered to be inventive unless the concentration is demonstrated as critical. In this particular case, there is no evidence that the claimed concentration of the ingredients produces an unexpected result. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameter, this optimization of ingredient concentration would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention.
Conclusion
NASHARA L MOREAUExaminer, Art Unit 1655
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655