DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application and are subject to examination herein.
Information Disclosure Statements
The four (4) information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 10/23/2024; 04/07/2025; 05/27/2025; and 09/29/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8, 11, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2023/0076930 to Modak et al. (hereinafter Modak) (cited by Applicant in IDS filed on 10/23/2024).
Regarding claim 8, Modak discloses a system for controlling operation of a float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) of an agricultural header (draper header 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0034]), the system comprising:
a frame (frame 102 and/or frame 200) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0025], [0027]-[0028], [0031]-[0032], [0034], [0037]) of the agricultural header (draper header 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0034]);
a float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) pivotably connected to the frame (frame 102 and/or frame 200) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0025], [0027]-[0028], [0031]-[0032], [0034], [0037]), the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) movable between a locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) in which the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) is secured in a retracted position (Para. [0086]) and an unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]) in which the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) is released from the retracted position (Para. [0086]);
a first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) configured selectively to control flow of fluid from a source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Para. [0064]-[0072]);
a second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) disposed downstream of the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]), the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) selectively movable into an open position to permit passage of fluid to a first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]) downstream of the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) and a closed position to prevent passage of fluid to the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]);
an actuator (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0081], [0085]-[0089], [0091]-[0092], [0094], [0096], [0099]) disposed at the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]), the actuator (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0081], [0085]-[0089], [0091]-[0092], [0094], [0096], [0099]) coupled to the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) and configured to move the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) between the locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) and the unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]);
one or more processors (processor 876) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0082]-[0083]); and
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (memory 878) (Fig. 8; Para. [0082]-[0083]) coupled to the one or more processors (processor 876) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0082]-[0083]) and storing programming instructions for execution by the one or more processors (processor 876) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0082]-[0083]), the programming instructions instruct the one or more processors (processor 876) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0082]-[0083]) to:
in response to a received input to place the float arm in the locked configuration (Para. [0086]), open the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) or maintain the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) in the open position (Para. [0086]);
open the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) or maintain that second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) in the open position (Para. [0086]); and
actuate the actuator (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0081], [0085]-[0089], [0091]-[0092], [0094], [0096], [0099]) to move the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) into or towards the locked configuration (Para. [0086]) in response to fluid flow into the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]) through the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]); or
in response to a received input to place the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) in the unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]), close the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) or maintain the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) in a closed position (Para. [0088]);
open the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) or maintain the second valve in the open position (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]); and
actuate the actuator (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0081], [0085]-[0089], [0091]-[0092], [0094], [0096], [0099]) to move the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) into the unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]) or from one position in the unlocked configuration (Para. [0088]) to a second position in the unlocked configuration (Para. [0088]) in response to fluid flow from the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]) through the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]).
Regarding claim 11, Modak discloses a method of controlling a configuration of a float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) of an agricultural header (draper header 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0034]), the method comprising:
one of:
placing the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) into a locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) including:
opening a first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) or maintaining the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) in an open position to permit passage of fluid from a source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Para. [0064]-[0072]) through the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]);
opening a second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) to permit flow of the fluid into a first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]) downstream of the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]); and
moving the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) into a locked configuration (Para. [0086]) or towards the locked configuration (Para. [0086]) in response to passage of the fluid into the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]); or
placing the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) into an unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]) including:
closing the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) or maintain the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) in a closed configuration to prevent passage of the fluid from the source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Para. [0064]-[0072]);
opening the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) to permit passage of the fluid from the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]); and
moving the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) into the unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]) or from one location to another location in the unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]) in response to passage of the fluid from the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]).
Regarding claim 15, Modak discloses the method of claim 11 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses a method wherein moving the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) into a locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) or towards the locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) in response to passage of the fluid into the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]) comprises actuating an actuator (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0081], [0085]-[0089], [0091]-[0092], [0094], [0096], [0099]) in response to the fluid passed to the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]).
Regarding claim 16, Modak discloses the method of claim 11 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses a method wherein moving the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) into the unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]) or from one location to another location in the unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]) in response to passage of the fluid from the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]) comprises actuating an actuator (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0081], [0085]-[0089], [0091]-[0092], [0094], [0096], [0099]) in response to passage of the fluid from the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]).
Regarding claim 17, Modak discloses the method of claim 11 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses a method wherein moving the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) into a locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) or towards the locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) in response to passage of the fluid into the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]) includes pivoting the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) about a pivot axis (Paras. [0023], [0034], [0036], [0041]) into the locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) in response to actuation of a hydraulic cylinder (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0081], [0085]-[0089], [0091]-[0092], [0094], [0096], [0099]) in response to passage of the fluid into the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]).
Regarding claim 18, Modak discloses the method of claim 11 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses a method wherein moving the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) into the unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]) or from one location to another location in the unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]) in response to passage of the fluid from the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]) includes pivoting the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) about a pivot axis (Paras. [0023], [0034], [0036], [0041]) into the unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]) in response to actuation of a hydraulic cylinder (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0081], [0085]-[0089], [0091]-[0092], [0094], [0096], [0099]) in response to passage of the fluid from the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]).
Allowable Subject Matter & Examiner's Reasons For Allowance
Claims 1-7 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record fails to disclose or otherwise teach the combination of limitations claimed in the aforementioned claims. In particular regarding independent claim 1, the prior art of record fails to disclose or otherwise teach a system for controlling operation of one or more float arms of an agricultural header, the system comprising:
a float arm pivotably connected to a frame of the agricultural header, the float arm moveable between a locked configuration in which the float arm is secured in a retracted position and an unlocked configuration in which the float arm is released from the retracted position;
a source of pressurized fluid including a fluid at a first fluid pressure;
a first valve in fluid communication with the source of pressurized fluid, the first valve movable between a first position in which the first valve transmits passage of the fluid from the source of pressurized fluid and a second position that prevents passage of the fluid from the source of pressurized fluid;
a second valve positioned downstream of the first valve, the second valve movable between a third position configured to provide fluid communication to a first location downstream of the second valve and a fourth position configured to prevent fluid communication with the first location;
an accumulator; and
a third valve disposed between accumulator and the first location, the third valve movable between a fifth position to isolate the accumulator from the first location and a sixth position to provide fluid communication between the accumulator and the first location,
wherein the second valve, in the third position, being configured to permit flow of the fluid from the source of pressurized fluid to the first location to cause the float arm to move to the locked configuration in response to the first valve being in the first position, and, in the third position, configured to permit flow of the fluid from the first location to cause the float arm to move to the unlocked configuration in response to the first valve being in the second position.
Specifically, the prior art does not disclose or otherwise teach the claimed combination and, in particular, does not teach a system for controlling operation of one or more float arms of an agricultural header comprising: a first valve movable between a first position in which the first valve transmits passage of the fluid from a source of pressurized fluid and a second position that prevents passage of the fluid from the source of pressurized fluid; a second valve positioned downstream of the first valve, the second valve movable between a third position configured to provide fluid communication to a first location downstream of the second valve and a fourth position configured to prevent fluid communication with the first location; an accumulator; and a third valve disposed between accumulator and the first location, the third valve movable between a fifth position to isolate the accumulator from the first location and a sixth position to provide fluid communication between the accumulator and the first location, wherein the second valve, in the third position, being configured to permit flow of the fluid from the source of pressurized fluid to the first location to cause the float arm to move to the locked configuration in response to the first valve being in the first position, and, in the third position, configured to permit flow of the fluid from the first location to cause the float arm to move to the unlocked configuration in response to the first valve being in the second position.
The closest prior art appears to be U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2023/0076930 to Modak et al. (hereinafter Modak) (cited by Applicant in IDS filed on 10/23/2024) in view of Canadian Pat. Pub. No. CA 3 213 182 A1 to Barnett et al. (hereinafter Barnett). Modak discloses a system for controlling operation of one or more float arms of an agricultural header and a hydraulic system comprising a controller, pressure sensors, various control valves and check valves, but does not disclose the specific limitations regarding the first, second and third valves and does not disclose an accumulator as recited in Claim 1. Barnett teaches a float control system comprising an accumulator with a bypass/check valve, a pilot operated check valve, a control valve having a first, second and neutral position that control LH and RH float cylinders, but do not teach the structural limitations of the valves and accumulator required by Claim 1. Neither reference discloses or otherwise teaches a first valve movable between a first position in which the first valve transmits passage of the fluid from a source of pressurized fluid and a second position that prevents passage of the fluid from the source of pressurized fluid; a second valve positioned downstream of the first valve, the second valve movable between a third position configured to provide fluid communication to a first location downstream of the second valve and a fourth position configured to prevent fluid communication with the first location; an accumulator; and a third valve disposed between accumulator and the first location, the third valve movable between a fifth position to isolate the accumulator from the first location and a sixth position to provide fluid communication between the accumulator and the first location, wherein the second valve, in the third position, being configured to permit flow of the fluid from the source of pressurized fluid to the first location to cause the float arm to move to the locked configuration in response to the first valve being in the first position, and, in the third position, configured to permit flow of the fluid from the first location to cause the float arm to move to the unlocked configuration in response to the first valve being in the second position.
Claims 2-7 each depend directly from allowable, independent claim 1 and are, therefore, likewise allowed.
Claims 9-10, 12-14 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Canadian Pat. Pub. No. CA 3 213 182 A1 to Barnett et al. relates to an automated lockout system for a header.
/CLAUDE J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671