DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Isogawa et al. (2013/0324318). Claim 1, Isogawa discloses a golf ball comprising a spherical core, an intermediate layer covering the spherical core, and an outermost cover positioned outside the intermediate layer and having a plurality of dimples formed thereon (fig 1), wherein the spherical core is formed from a rubber composition containing a base rubber, a co-crosslinking agent, and a crosslinking initiator, the base rubber contains a natural rubber [0120], a total lower volume of the plurality of dimples is 365 mm3 or more [0117], and an occupation ratio of a total area of the plurality of dimples in a surface area of a virtual sphere that is assumed to have no dimples on the outermost cover is 78% or more [0103]. Claim 2, a center hardness (H0) of the spherical core, a hardness (H2.5) at a point having a radial distance of 2.5 mm from a center of the spherical core, a hardness (H5.0) at a point having a radial distance of 5.0 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H7.5) at a point having a radial distance of 7.5 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H10) at a point having a radial distance of 10 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H12.5) at a point having a radial distance of 12.5 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H15) at a point having a radial distance of 15 mm from the center of the spherical core, and a surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core satisfy a relationship of H0<H2.5<H5.0<H7.5<H10<H12.5<H15<Hs (table 13, example 2 illustrates the core hardness increasing from the center to the surface), and the center hardness (H0) of the spherical core is 60 or less in Shore C hardness (table 13, example 2, 55 Shore C). Claim 7, a hardness difference (Hs-H0) between the surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core and the center hardness (H0) of the spherical core is 20 or more in Shore C hardness (table 13, example 2, (86-55 = 31 Shore C). Claim 8, the hardness difference (Hs-H0) between the surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core and the center hardness (H0) of the spherical core ranges from 20 to 40 in Shore C hardness (table 13, example 2, (86-55 = 31 Shore C). Claim 9, the total lower volume of the plurality of dimples is 400 mm3 [0117]. Claim 10, an amount of the natural rubber ranges from 20 mass % to 100 mass % in 100 mass % of the base rubber [0122].
Claim 11, a slab hardness of an intermediate layer composition forming the intermediate layer is greater than a slab hardness of a cover composition forming the outermost cover (table 13, example 2). Claim 12, a cover composition forming the outermost cover is a resin composition containing a urethane resin as a base resin [0177], and a slab hardness of the cover composition forming the outermost cover is 40 or less in Shore D hardness (table 13, example 2, 55 Shore D 36). Claim 13, an intermediate layer composition forming the intermediate layer is a resin composition containing an ionomer resin as a base resin, and a slab hardness of the intermediate layer composition forming the intermediate layer is 50 or more in Shore D hardness [0165] (table 13, example 2, 65 Shore D). Claim 14, the surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core ranges from 70 to 90 in Shore C hardness (table 13, example 2, 86 Shore C). Claim 15, the golf ball has a surface hardness in a range from 45 to 65 in Shore D hardness is inherent because the core, intermediate layer hardness, and cover hardness values are identical to applicant’s.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isogawa et al. (2013/0324318) in view of Isogawa et al. (2011/0319193). Claim 5, Isogawa ‘318 discloses the core increasing in hardness from the core center to the cover but does not disclose the values at 2.5 mm increments. Isogawa ‘193 teaches a core increasing in hardness wherein the hardness (H5.0), the hardness (H7.5) and the hardness (H10) satisfy relationships of H7.5-H5.0<3.0 (68-67.5=0.5) and H10-H7.5<3.0 (68.5-68=0.5) in Shore C hardness. Claim 6, Isogawa ‘193 teaches wherein the hardness (H5.0), the hardness (H7.5) and the hardness (H10) satisfy relationships of 0.2≤H7.5-H5.0 (68-67.5=0.5) and 0.1≤H10-H7.5 (68.5-68=0.5) in Shore C hardness. One of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the core hardness for enhanced flight performance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RAEANN GORDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
September 17, 2026