DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/18/2026. The claims as amended have changed the relationship between the battery electric vehicle of claim 1 and the vehicle characteristics customization system of claim 8 to that of subcombinations usable together. Therefore, claims 1-7 are examined as elected.
As claim 1 is not in condition for allowance, the claims are not rejoined at this time.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“driving operation member” in claim 1
“pseudo shifting operation member” in claim 1
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,932,118 in view of Bernatchez et al. (US 20220314818). Claim 3 of the reference patent (and claim 1, upon which it depends) teaches:
A battery electric vehicle that includes an electric motor as a drive source
(Claim 1) “An electric vehicle configured to use an electric motor as a power device for traveling”
a driving operation member that is used to drive the battery electric vehicle
(Claim 1) “an accelerator pedal”
a pseudo shifting operation member that imitates an operation member that is used to perform a shifting operation of a manual-transmission internal combustion engine vehicle
(Claim 1) “a pseudo-clutch pedal; a pseudo-gearshift”
a control device configured to control motion of the battery electric vehicle with respect to an operation of the driving operation member according to an operation state of the pseudo shifting operation member
(Claim 1) “a controller configured to control a motor torque output by the electric motor in accordance with the operation mode selected by the operation mode selector”
acquire customized setting of vehicle characteristics of the manual-transmission internal combustion engine vehicle to be replicated by the battery electric vehicle
(Claim 3) “the operation mode selector is configured to switch the operation mode in accordance with a selection by a driver.”
change setting of motion characteristics of the battery electric vehicle with respect to the operation of the driving operation member and an operation of the pseudo shifting operation member based on the customized setting when the customized setting is suitable for the battery electric vehicle
(Claim 1) “an operation mode selector configured to switch an operation mode between a first operation mode and a second operation mode”
change setting of motion characteristics of the battery electric vehicle with respect to the operation of the driving operation member and an operation of the pseudo shifting operation member based on the customized setting when the customized setting is suitable for the battery electric vehicle
(Claim 1) “a controller configured to control a motor torque output by the electric motor in accordance with the operation mode selected by the operation mode selector”
The reference patent does not explicitly teach maintaining a present setting if a selection is invalid; however, Bernatchez et al. teaches:
maintain the setting of the motion characteristics at present setting or default setting when the customized setting is not suitable for the battery electric vehicle
(Bernatchez – [0174]) “The validation of the value(s) may be used to prevent regulating the output of electric motor 50, 150 using invalid value(s) of parameter(s) 36.”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings, modifying the electric vehicle settings of the reference patent with the validation routine of Bernatchez et al. One would have been motivated to do this in order to prevent the vehicle from operating in an unsafe manner (Bernatchez – [0174]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “suitable” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “suitable” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purposes of examination, the term “suitable” will be interpreted as meaning a characteristic which is within an allowable range, in light of the disclosure of, in paragraph [0089] of the present application, a “suitable range” outside of which customized settings are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimine et al. (US 20220041062) in view of Bernatchez et al. (US 20220314818).
Claim 1.
Nishimine et al. teaches:
A battery electric vehicle that includes an electric motor as a drive source
(Nishimine – [0010]) “The electric vehicle according to the present disclosure is an electric vehicle using an electric motor as a power device for traveling, comprising an accelerator pedal, a pseudo-clutch pedal, a pseudo-gearshift, an operation mode selector, and a controller.”
a driving operation member that is used to drive the battery electric vehicle
(Nishimine – [0010]) “The electric vehicle according to the present disclosure is an electric vehicle using an electric motor as a power device for traveling, comprising an accelerator pedal, a pseudo-clutch pedal, a pseudo-gearshift, an operation mode selector, and a controller.”
a pseudo shifting operation member that imitates an operation member that is used to perform a shifting operation of a manual-transmission internal combustion engine vehicle
(Nishimine – [0010]) “The electric vehicle according to the present disclosure is an electric vehicle using an electric motor as a power device for traveling, comprising an accelerator pedal, a pseudo-clutch pedal, a pseudo-gearshift, an operation mode selector, and a controller.”
a control device configured to control motion of the battery electric vehicle with respect to an operation of the driving operation member according to an operation state of the pseudo shifting operation member
(Nishimine – [0010]) “The operation mode selector is a device configured to switch an operation mode between a first operation mode and a second operation mode. The first operation mode is an operation mode reflecting operation of the pseudo-clutch pedal and operation of the pseudo-gearshift in control of the electric motor. The second operation mode is an operation mode not requiring the operation of the pseudo-clutch pedal for the control of the electric motor. The controller is a device configured to control a motor torque output by the electric motor in accordance with the control mode selected by the mode selector.”
acquire customized setting of vehicle characteristics of the manual-transmission internal combustion engine vehicle to be replicated by the battery electric vehicle
(Nishimine – [0010]) “The operation mode selector is a device configured to switch an operation mode between a first operation mode and a second operation mode. The first operation mode is an operation mode reflecting operation of the pseudo-clutch pedal and operation of the pseudo-gearshift in control of the electric motor. The second operation mode is an operation mode not requiring the operation of the pseudo-clutch pedal for the control of the electric motor. The controller is a device configured to control a motor torque output by the electric motor in accordance with the control mode selected by the mode selector.”
change setting of motion characteristics of the battery electric vehicle with respect to the operation of the driving operation member and an operation of the pseudo shifting operation member based on the customized setting when the customized setting is suitable for the battery electric vehicle
(Nishimine – [0010]) “The operation mode selector is a device configured to switch an operation mode between a first operation mode and a second operation mode. The first operation mode is an operation mode reflecting operation of the pseudo-clutch pedal and operation of the pseudo-gearshift in control of the electric motor. The second operation mode is an operation mode not requiring the operation of the pseudo-clutch pedal for the control of the electric motor. The controller is a device configured to control a motor torque output by the electric motor in accordance with the control mode selected by the mode selector.”
While Nishimine et al. teaches an automatic switching determination unit that automatically selects a suitable mode, Nishimine et al. does not explicitly teach determining the suitability of a user setting. However, Bernatchez et al. teaches, with respect to Fig. 1 below:
Figure 1: A parameter setting interface according to Bernatchez et al. (originally Bernatchez Fig. 9)
acquire customized setting of vehicle characteristics of the manual-transmission internal combustion engine vehicle to be replicated by the battery electric vehicle
(Bernatchez – [0140, 0143]) “receiving, via operator interface 26A, 26B, a value of an individually-variable parameter 36 defining a propulsive performance characteristic of electric vehicle 12 … when motor 50 is being driven, regulating an output of motor 50 based on the value of the individually-variable parameter 36”
change setting of motion characteristics of the battery electric vehicle with respect to the operation of the driving operation member and an operation of the pseudo shifting operation member based on the customized setting when the customized setting is suitable for the battery electric vehicle
(Bernatchez – [0140, 0143]) “receiving, via operator interface 26A, 26B, a value of an individually-variable parameter 36 defining a propulsive performance characteristic of electric vehicle 12 … when motor 50 is being driven, regulating an output of motor 50 based on the value of the individually-variable parameter 36”
maintain the setting of the motion characteristics at present setting or default setting when the customized setting is not suitable for the battery electric vehicle
(Bernatchez – [0174]) “The validation of the value(s) may be used to prevent regulating the output of electric motor 50, 150 using invalid value(s) of parameter(s) 36.”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings, modifying the electric vehicle settings of Nishimine et al. with the parameter customization system of Bernatchez et al. Both Nishimine et al. and Bernatchez et al. are directed towards adjusting operating characteristics of a vehicle according to user preferences; therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the teachings could be combined with predictable results. One would have been motivated to do in order to prevent the user from setting preferences which would create an unsafe situation (Bernatchez – [0174]).
Claim 2.
The combination of Nishimine et al. and Bernatchez et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Bernatchez et al. further teaches:
wherein the control device is configured to present, to a user, a settable range for customizing from the present setting or the default setting
(Bernatchez – [0155]) “a value of an operating parameter 36 may be selectable within a predefined range.”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art to combine these teachings for the reasons given in discussion of claim 1.
Claim 3.
The combination of Nishimine et al. and Bernatchez et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. With respect to Fig. 2 below, Nishimine et al. further teaches:
Figure 2: A block diagram of the transmission model of Nishimine et al. (originally Nishimine Fig. 5)
the driving operation member includes an accelerator pedal
(Nishimine – [0010]) “The electric vehicle according to the present disclosure is an electric vehicle using an electric motor as a power device for traveling, comprising an accelerator pedal, a pseudo-clutch pedal, a pseudo-gearshift, an operation mode selector, and a controller.”
the pseudo shifting operation member includes a pseudo shifter that imitates a shifter of a manual transmission
(Nishimine – [0010]) “The electric vehicle according to the present disclosure is an electric vehicle using an electric motor as a power device for traveling, comprising an accelerator pedal, a pseudo-clutch pedal, a pseudo-gearshift, an operation mode selector, and a controller.”
the customized setting includes a relationship among a vehicle speed of a host vehicle, an operation amount of the accelerator pedal, a shift position selected by an operation of the pseudo shifter, and torque of the electric motor
(Nishimine – [0049]) “The MT vehicle model 530 is a model that calculates the driving wheel torque obtained by operating the accelerator pedal 22, the pseudo-clutch pedal 28, and the pseudo-gearshift 26”
(Nishimine – [0055]) “the accelerator opener Pap detected by the acceleration position sensor 32 is input to the engine model 531. A clutch pedal depression amount Pc is input to the clutch model 532. … A shift position Sp is input to the MT model 533. … in the MT vehicle model 530, the vehicle speed Vw (or wheel speed) detected by the wheel speed sensor 30 is used in a plurality of models. In the MT vehicle model 530, a driving wheel torque Tw and an imaginary engine speed Ne are calculated based on these input signals.”
Claim 4.
The combination of Nishimine et al. and Bernatchez et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. With respect to Fig. 2 above, Nishimine et al. further teaches:
the driving operation member includes an accelerator pedal
(Nishimine – [0010]) “The electric vehicle according to the present disclosure is an electric vehicle using an electric motor as a power device for traveling, comprising an accelerator pedal, a pseudo-clutch pedal, a pseudo-gearshift, an operation mode selector, and a controller.”
the pseudo shifting operation member includes a pseudo shifter that imitates a shifter of a manual transmission
(Nishimine – [0010]) “The electric vehicle according to the present disclosure is an electric vehicle using an electric motor as a power device for traveling, comprising an accelerator pedal, a pseudo-clutch pedal, a pseudo-gearshift, an operation mode selector, and a controller.”
a pseudo clutch operation device that imitates a clutch operation device
(Nishimine – [0010]) “The electric vehicle according to the present disclosure is an electric vehicle using an electric motor as a power device for traveling, comprising an accelerator pedal, a pseudo-clutch pedal, a pseudo-gearshift, an operation mode selector, and a controller.”
the customized setting includes a relationship among a vehicle speed of a host vehicle, an operation amount of the accelerator pedal, a shift position selected by an operation of the pseudo shifter, an operation amount of the pseudo clutch operation device, and torque of the electric motor
(Nishimine – [0049]) “The MT vehicle model 530 is a model that calculates the driving wheel torque obtained by operating the accelerator pedal 22, the pseudo-clutch pedal 28, and the pseudo-gearshift 26”
(Nishimine – [0055]) “the accelerator opener Pap detected by the acceleration position sensor 32 is input to the engine model 531. A clutch pedal depression amount Pc is input to the clutch model 532. … A shift position Sp is input to the MT model 533. … in the MT vehicle model 530, the vehicle speed Vw (or wheel speed) detected by the wheel speed sensor 30 is used in a plurality of models. In the MT vehicle model 530, a driving wheel torque Tw and an imaginary engine speed Ne are calculated based on these input signals.”
Claim 5.
The combination of Nishimine et al. and Bernatchez et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 4, as discussed above. Nishimine et al. further teaches:
wherein the customized setting includes whether the pseudo clutch operating device is used
(Nishimine – [0010]) “The operation mode selector is a device configured to switch an operation mode between a first operation mode and a second operation mode. The first operation mode is an operation mode reflecting operation of the pseudo-clutch pedal and operation of the pseudo-gearshift in control of the electric motor. The second operation mode is an operation mode not requiring the operation of the pseudo-clutch pedal for the control of the electric motor. The controller is a device configured to control a motor torque output by the electric motor in accordance with the control mode selected by the mode selector.”
Claim 7.
The combination of Nishimine et al. and Bernatchez et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Nishimine et al. further teaches:
wherein the customized setting includes at least one of settings of engine characteristics, shifting characteristics, and suspension characteristics of the manual-transmission internal combustion engine vehicle
(Nishimine – [0010]) “The operation mode selector is a device configured to switch an operation mode between a first operation mode and a second operation mode. The first operation mode is an operation mode reflecting operation of the pseudo-clutch pedal and operation of the pseudo-gearshift in control of the electric motor. The second operation mode is an operation mode not requiring the operation of the pseudo-clutch pedal for the control of the electric motor. The controller is a device configured to control a motor torque output by the electric motor in accordance with the control mode selected by the mode selector.”
Bernatchez et al. further teaches:
wherein the customized setting includes at least one of settings of engine characteristics, shifting characteristics, and suspension characteristics of the manual-transmission internal combustion engine vehicle
(Bernatchez – [0134]) “operating parameter(s) 36 may define respective propulsive performance characteristics of vehicle 12. For example, parameter(s) 36 may define output characteristics of powertrain 16 so as to customize the propulsive behaviour of vehicle 12 according to operator preferences.”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art to combine these teachings for the reasons given in discussion of claim 1.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Nishimine et al. and Bernatchez et al. as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Chen (US 20190358535).
Claim 6.
The combination of Nishimine et al. and Bernatchez et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 4, as discussed above. Neither Nishimine et al. nor Bernatchez et al. explicitly teaches a type of shifter; however, Chen teaches:
a pseudo sequential shifter that imitates a sequential shifter of the manual transmission
(Chen – [0027]) “the game machine is able to provide a gear shifting device having the sequential gear-shifting mode and the H-pattern gear shifting mode for example on the same machine.”
a pseudo H-shifter that imitates an H-shifter of the manual transmission
(Chen – [0027]) “the game machine is able to provide a gear shifting device having the sequential gear-shifting mode and the H-pattern gear shifting mode for example on the same machine.”
the customized setting includes whether the pseudo sequential shifter or the pseudo H-shifter is used
(Chen – [0007, 0008]) “The host computer includes a control unit electrically connected to the switching module for triggering the switching module to switch the current gear-operation mode to either the first mode or the second mode. … the first mode and the second mode are a sequential gear-shifting mode and an H-pattern gear-shifting mode, respectively.”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings, modifying the pseudo shifter of Nishimine et al. with the alternate gear operation modes of Chen. Both Nishimine et al. and Chen are directed towards the simulation of a vehicle manual transmission; therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that these teachings could be combined with predictable results. One would have been motivated to do this in order to further enhance the user’s ability to customize the controls of the vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Duo’ et al. (US 20220063494) teaches a sound and performance emulator for an electric vehicle which simulates the use of a clutch and a gear-shifter.
/S.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669