DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application and are subject to examination herein.
Information Disclosure Statements
The six (6) information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 10/23/2024; 04/07/2025; 05/27/2025; 09/09/2025; 07/07/2026; and 07/13/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2023/0076930 to Modak et al. (hereinafter Modak) (cited by Applicant in IDS filed on 10/23/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Modak discloses a system for controlling operation of one or more float arms (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) of an agricultural header (draper header 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0034]), the system comprising:
a float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) pivotably connected to frame (frame 102 and/or frame 200) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0034]) of the agricultural header (draper header 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0034]), the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) moveable between a locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) in which the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) is secured in retracted position (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) and an unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]) in which the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) is released from the retracted position (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]);
a first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) movable between a first position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]) configured to cause the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) to move to the locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) and a second position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]) configured to cause the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) to move to the unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]);
a first source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) in communication with the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]), the first source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) including a first fluid (pressurized fluid in pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) at a first fluid pressure;
a second source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic line 812) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0065]-[0072], [0074]-[0075], [0077]-[0078], [0085]-[0086], [0088], [0092]-[0094], [0097]-[0098]) in communication with the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]), the second source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic line 812) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0065]-[0072], [0074]-[0075], [0077]-[0078], [0085]-[0086], [0088], [0092]-[0094], [0097]-[0098]) including a second fluid (pressurized fluid in pressurized hydraulic fluid line 812) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) at a second fluid pressure; and
a second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) in fluid communication with the second source of pressurized fluid (pressurized hydraulic line 812) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0065]-[0072], [0074]-[0075], [0077]-[0078], [0085]-[0086], [0088], [0092]-[0094], [0097]-[0098]), the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]), in the first position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]), being configured to transmit the first fluid (pressurized fluid in pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) from the first source (pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) to a first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]) and, in response, to cause the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) to move to the locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) and, in the second position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]), configured to transmit the second fluid (pressurized fluid in pressurized hydraulic fluid line 812) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) from the second fluid source (pressurized hydraulic line 812) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0065]-[0072], [0074]-[0075], [0077]-[0078], [0085]-[0086], [0088], [0092]-[0094], [0097]-[0098]) and, in response, cause the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) to move to the unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]), and the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) configured to adjust a fluid pressure at the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]) along a pressure range.
Regarding claim 5, Modak discloses the system of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses a system wherein the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) is pivotable over an angular range from a first limit position to a second limit position and wherein the first limit position corresponds to the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) being in the locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 6, Modak discloses the system of claim 5 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses a system wherein the second fluid pressure of the second fluid (pressurized fluid in pressurized hydraulic fluid line 812) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) is at a selected level such that, with the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) in the second position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]), the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) occupies a location along the angular range away from the second limit position.
Regarding claim 7, Modak discloses the system of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses a system wherein, in the first position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]), the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) is further configured to block passage of the second fluid (pressurized fluid in pressurized hydraulic fluid line 812) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]). As recited in Para. [0086], movement of the first valve to the first position (in the direction of arrow 890) causes the fluid in the lower portion of pressurized hydraulic line 808 to go to the upper portion of pressurized hydraulic line 812, thus blocking passage of the second fluid to pressurized hydraulic line 808 (Fig. 8; Paras. [0086]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 8, Modak discloses the system of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses a system wherein, in the second position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]), the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) is further configured to block passage of first fluid (pressurized fluid in pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]). As recited in Para. [0088], movement of the first valve to the second position (in the direction of arrow 892) causes the fluid in the lower portion of pressurized hydraulic line 808 to go to the upper portion of pressurized hydraulic line 812, thus blocking passage of the first fluid to the upper portion of pressurized hydraulic line 808 (Fig. 8; Paras. [0086]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 9, Modak discloses the system of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses a system further comprises a gauge wheel (gauge wheel(s) 228) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0040]-[0041], [0062]-[0064], [0068]-[0070], [0077], [0082], [0086]-[0088], [0090]-[0093], [0095]-[0096], [0098]-[0100], [0105], [0120]-[0123], [0126]-[0129], [0132]-[0135]) movable between an extended position (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0040], [0086]) and a retracted position (Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0040], [0086]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 10, Modak discloses the system of claim 9 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses a system wherein, in response to a first input, the gauge wheel (gauge wheel(s) 228) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0040]-[0041], [0062]-[0064], [0068]-[0070], [0077], [0082], [0086]-[0088], [0090]-[0093], [0095]-[0096], [0098]-[0100], [0105], [0120]-[0123], [0126]-[0129], [0132]-[0135]) is moved to the retracted position (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0040], [0086]-[0088]) and the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) is moved to the second position (Fig. 8; Paras. [0086]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 11, Modak discloses the system of claim 9 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses a system wherein, in response to a second input, the gauge wheel (gauge wheel(s) 228) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0040]-[0041], [0062]-[0064], [0068]-[0070], [0077], [0082], [0086]-[0088], [0090]-[0093], [0095]-[0096], [0098]-[0100], [0105], [0120]-[0123], [0126]-[0129], [0132]-[0135]) is moved to the extended position (Para. [0086]) and the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) is moved to the first position (Fig. 8; Paras. [0086]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 12, Modak discloses the system of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses a system further comprising an actuator (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0081], [0085]-[0089], [0091]-[0092], [0094], [0096], [0099]) coupled to the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]), wherein, in the first position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]), the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) is configured to transmit the first fluid (pressurized fluid in pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) to the actuator (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0081], [0085]-[0089], [0091]-[0092], [0094], [0096], [0099]) to cause the actuator (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0081], [0085]-[0089], [0091]-[0092], [0094], [0096], [0099]) to move the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) into the locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]), and wherein, in the second position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]), the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) is configured to transmit the second fluid (pressurized fluid in pressurized hydraulic fluid line 812) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) to the actuator (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0081], [0085]-[0089], [0091]-[0092], [0094], [0096], [0099]) to cause the actuator (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0081], [0085]-[0089], [0091]-[0092], [0094], [0096], [0099]) to move the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) into the unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]), the second fluid (pressurized fluid in pressurized hydraulic fluid line 812) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) being at a selected pressure along the pressure range in response to adjustment by the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]).
Regarding claim 13, Modak discloses an agricultural header (draper header 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0034]) comprising:
a first section (center region comprising conveyor 108) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0027], [0034]);
a wing section (wing(s) 204) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0027], [0034]) including a first end pivotably connected to the first section (center region comprising conveyor 108) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0027], [0034]), the wing section (wing(s) 204) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0027], [0034]) including a plurality of float arms (float arms 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]), the plurality of float arms (float arms 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) moveable between a locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) and an unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]);
a cutter bar (cutterbar 132, 216) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0034], [0036]-[0038], [0056], [0100]) including a first portion and second portion, the first portion of the cutter bar (cutterbar 132, 216) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0034], [0036]-[0038], [0056], [0100]) extending along the first section and the second portion of the cutter bar extending along the wing section (wing(s) 204) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0027], [0034]), the second portion connected to the plurality of float arms (float arms 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]); and
a float arm control system including:
a first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) movable between a first position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]) configured to cause the plurality of float arms (float arms 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) to move to the locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) and a second position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]) configured to cause the plurality of float arms (float arms 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) to move to the unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]);
a first pressurized fluid (pressurized fluid in pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) in communication with the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]), the first pressurized (pressurized fluid in pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) having a first fluid pressure;
a second pressurized fluid (pressurized fluid in pressurized hydraulic fluid line 812) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) in communication with the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]), the second pressurized fluid (pressurized fluid in pressurized hydraulic fluid line 812) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) having a second fluid pressure; and
a second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) in fluid communication with the second pressurized fluid (pressurized fluid in pressurized hydraulic fluid line 812) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]), the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]), in the first position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]), being configured to transmit the first pressurized fluid (pressurized fluid in pressurized hydraulic fluid line 808) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) to a first location (line 865 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]) and, in response, to cause the plurality of float arms (float arms 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) to move to the locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) and, in the second position (Fig. 8; Para. [0086]), configured to transmit the second pressurized fluid (pressurized fluid in pressurized hydraulic fluid line 812) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) and, in response, cause the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) to move to the unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]), and the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) configured to adjust a fluid pressure at the first location (line 864 and/or first end 866 of second actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0086]) along a pressure range.
Regarding claim 14, Modak discloses the agricultural header of claim 13 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses an agricultural header (draper header 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0034]) further comprising a hydraulic actuator (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0081], [0085]-[0089], [0091]-[0092], [0094], [0096], [0099]) coupled to the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]), wherein the hydraulic actuator (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0081], [0085]-[0089], [0091]-[0092], [0094], [0096], [0099]) is configured to move the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) into the locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]) in response to movement of the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) into the first position (Fig. 8; Paras. [0086]-[0088]), and wherein the hydraulic actuator (actuator 868) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078], [0081], [0085]-[0089], [0091]-[0092], [0094], [0096], [0099]) is configured to move the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) into the unlocked configuration (flexible configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]-[0090]) in response to movement of the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) into the second position (Fig. 8; Paras. [0086]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 16, Modak discloses the agricultural header of claim 13 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses an agricultural header (draper header 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0034]) wherein the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) is pivotable over an angular range from a first limit position to a second limit position and wherein the first limit position corresponds to the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) being in the locked configuration (rigid configuration) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0037]-[0038], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 17, Modak discloses the agricultural header of claim 16 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses an agricultural header (draper header 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0034]) wherein the second fluid pressure of the second fluid (pressurized fluid in pressurized hydraulic fluid line 812) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0064]-[0072]) is at a selected level such that, with the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) in the second position, the float arm (float arm(s) 214) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0034]-[0038], [0042]-[0044], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054], [0056]-[0063]) occupies a location along the angular range away from the second limit position.
Regarding claim 18, Modak discloses the agricultural header of claim 13 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses an agricultural header (draper header 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0034]) further comprises a gauge wheel (gauge wheel(s) 228) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0040]-[0041], [0062]-[0064], [0068]-[0070], [0077], [0082], [0086]-[0088], [0090]-[0093], [0095]-[0096], [0098]-[0100], [0105], [0120]-[0123], [0126]-[0129], [0132]-[0135]) movable between an extended position (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0040], [0086]) and a retracted position (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0040], [0086]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 19, Modak discloses the agricultural header of claim 18 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses an agricultural header (draper header 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0034]) wherein, in response to a first input, the gauge wheel (gauge wheel(s) 228) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0040]-[0041], [0062]-[0064], [0068]-[0070], [0077], [0082], [0086]-[0088], [0090]-[0093], [0095]-[0096], [0098]-[0100], [0105], [0120]-[0123], [0126]-[0129], [0132]-[0135]) is moved to the retracted position (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0040], [0086]-[0088]) and the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) is moved to the second position (Fig. 8; Paras. [0086]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 20, Modak discloses the agricultural header of claim 18 (see above). Furthermore, Modak discloses an agricultural header (draper header 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0034]) wherein, in response to a second input, the gauge wheel (gauge wheel(s) 228) (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0023], [0040]-[0041], [0062]-[0064], [0068]-[0070], [0077], [0082], [0086]-[0088], [0090]-[0093], [0095]-[0096], [0098]-[0100], [0105], [0120]-[0123], [0126]-[0129], [0132]-[0135]) is moved to the extended position (Abstract; Paras. [0003]-[0006], [0040], [0086]) and the first valve (valve 814) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0068]-[0071], [0075]-[0077], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0088]) is moved to the first position (Fig. 8; Paras. [0086]-[0088]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modak.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Modak discloses the system of claim 1 and the header of claim 14, respectively (see above). However, Modak does not expressly disclose that the second valve (valve 860) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0078]-[0080], [0086], [0088]-[0091]) is a proportional valve. Nevertheless, although in the cited portion above, valve 860 is described as a two-position valve, Modak teaches that other types of valves, such as proportional valves, can be used instead of two-position valves (Para. [0100]). Modak further teaches that the first valve is a proportional valve in some instances and can be a nonproportional valve in other instances, suggesting the interchangeability of two-position and proportional valves. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use a proportional valve instead of a two-position valve for the second valve with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 3, Modak teaches the system of claim 2 (see above). However, Modak does not expressly disclose that the proportional valve is solenoid operated. Nevertheless, Modak teaches that valves can be solenoid operated (Paras. [0068], [0079], [0100]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use a solenoid to operate the second valve with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 4, Modak teaches the system of claim 2 (see above). However, Modak does not expressly disclose that the pressure range is between 550 pounds per square inch (psi) (3.8 megapascals (MPa)) and 2200 psi (15.2 MPa). Nevertheless, in cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. See MPEP 2144.05(III)(A). As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 13 and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, 14 and 18, respectively, of copending Application No. 18/911,766 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ’766 reference does not include the second source of pressurized fluid and does not require the second valve.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 9-11, 13 and 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6-8, 12 and 15-17, respectively, of copending Application No. 18/911,767 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ’767 reference does not require the second valve.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Canadian Pat. Pub. No. CA 3 213 182 A1 to Barnett et al. relates to a flexing header with a float system.
/CLAUDE J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671