DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimers filed on 12/29/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of Patent No. 11616893 and Patent No. 12143548 have been reviewed and are accepted. The terminal disclaimers have been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Sugita teaches that “user 3” is the specified as the intended user to receive the image data (¶ 0049) and “user 3” can acquire the file by selecting the file icon (¶ 0050). Thus, given the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation, Sugita teaches the claimed limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida (US 2021/0092253) Ishida (US 2021/0092253) in view of Sugita et al. (US 2021/0160393; hereinafter Sugita).
Regarding claim 1, Ishida teaches a communication method for a first terminal device that receives, from a server device, a communication result of a first image communicated between a first communication device and a second communication device by that communicate with the server device, the server device providing a service enabling message exchange among a plurality of terminal devices (terminal 30, image forming device 10, and notification server 40; ¶¶ 0089-0092, Fig. 7 and ¶¶ 0096-0110, Fig. 8), the communication method comprising:
But Ishida does not explicitly teach receiving a first instruction for sending a second image from the first communication device to the second communication device; and receiving a second instruction for sending a message to a second terminal device, wherein the first instruction and the second instruction are received via a user interface of a first application that are executed on the first terminal device.
However, Sugita teaches receiving a first instruction for sending a second image from the first communication device to the second communication device (user replies to chat; ¶¶ 0037-0038 and ¶¶ 0047-0050, Fig. 12); and receiving a second instruction for sending a message to a second terminal device (chat message can be sent to specific user with “@” attached to comment; ¶¶ 0037-0038 and ¶¶ 0047-0050, Fig. 12), wherein the first instruction and the second instruction are received via a user interface of a first application that are executed on the first terminal device (message screen 1200; ¶ 0037, Fig. 12).
Ishida and Sugita are in the same field of a terminal device that performs image transmission with a server device. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the terminal device of Ishida to include a server device which provides a service enabling message exchange as taught by Sugita. The combination improves the terminal device by providing a simple means of image transmission that saves a user time and effort (¶ 0122; Sugita).
Regarding claim 2, Ishida in view of Sugita teach the communication method for the first terminal device according to claim 1, wherein the first communication device receives the first image from the second communication device by using a first communication method (processor 31 displays message indicating image forming device 10 has received facsimile data from transmission source and displays a thumbnail 302 of the facsimile data; ¶¶ 0143-0147, Fig. 10), but Ishida does not explicitly teach the first communication device sends the second image to the second communication device by using the first communication method, and the message is sent to the second terminal device by a second communication method different from the first communication method.
However, Sugita teaches the first communication device sends the second image to the second communication device by using the first communication method (user replies to chat; ¶¶ 0037-0038 and ¶¶ 0047-0050, Fig. 12), and the message is sent to the second terminal device by a second communication method different from the first communication method (¶ 0035).
The motivation applied in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Claim 5 recites similar limitation as claim 1 thus, arguments similar to that presented above.
Regarding claim 6, Ishida in view of Sugita teach the image formation device according to claim 5, wherein the message contains text data (¶¶ 0146-0147, Ishida).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamamoto et al. (11750757) teaches an information processing apparatus that handles facsimile.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENT YIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681