DETAILED ACTION
Miscellaneous
Claims pending: 1-20
Claims elected: 1, 4-6, 13, 17-20,
Claims withdrawn: 2-3, 7-12, 14-16,
Claims amended: 1, 4, 8, 10-14, 16-17, 20,
Claims cancelled: n/a
New claims: n/a
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 13, 20, have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s remarks dated 04/03/2026, regarding Allen and Jain both fail to teach the amended portion of the claims.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in further view of Allen, see below action for detail.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 13, 17-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20040078814) to (Allen) in view of (US 20210044559) to (Jain).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 13, 20, Allen teach precomputing, by one or more server device, one or more sections of a user interface (UI) that is to be displayed on a client device; instantiating one or more listeners associated with one or more respective precomputed sections of the one or more sections of the UI that are subject to change based on an occurrence of one or more events, wherein one or more listeners are configured to provide, an indication of whether an event associated with the listener has occurred; upon determining that event associated with listener has occurred, adaptively generating an updated version of a section of the UI that corresponds to the listener; and dynamically updating the user interface to include the updated version of the section of the UI that corresponds to the listener. (Fig. 6, 8, 10, 12, 13-14, P. 4, 25, 27, 29-31, 35, 47, 52, 57, 64, 69, 84, 88-89, 91-92, module-based ticker for an interactive television system consisting of one or more modules of content that the user can select for presentation via a UI, separate modules of the UI ticker are selected for sports, news, weather, email, traffic, stocks, interactive applications, movies, and so forth, as the sporting events, or news change the content of the tickers are updated accordingly to reflect the latest news, weather module 602 can constantly display the current forecast, and then scroll new data only when the forecast changes, …ticker API 1604 interfaces with a plurality of module applications 1609 more than one ticker API 1604 may be present to interface with module applications 1609, a feed manager (FM) 1606 (or other software controller) operates to determine when new or updated ticker information is present and needs to be provided to the ticker API 1604,… If it is time for an update, the ticker API 1604 (acting as a container of data) calls a load function that will cause the feed manager 1606 to loop through the module applications 1608 to search for new data, and if there is new data, the feed manager 1606 will pass the new data from the module application(s) 1609 to the ticker API 1604 so that the ticker API 1604 can pass the new data to the ticker UI 1602, … Fig 1, 2, 13-14, 16, P. 29-31, 35, 88, 91, a content source 104 is depicted as receiving data from data feeds 112, advertisement servers 114, image sources 116, and streaming video sources 118, all communicating with H/E 106 also consists of servers, providing updated information to client device 108, which can be STB or PC, reads on (precomputing, by one or more server device, one or more sections of a user interface (UI) that is to be displayed on a client device;)… the ticker API 1604 logs and knows what the ticker 600 is displaying, and also knows how often the displayed information needs to be refreshed (based on business rules or other requirements present in functions defined in the ticker UI 1602), search for new data and if there is new data, the feed manager 1606 will pass the new data from the module application(s) 1609 to the ticker API 1604 so that the ticker API 1604 can pass the new data to the ticker UI 1602, which reads on (one or more listeners are configured to provide, an indication of whether an event associated with the listener has occurred; upon determining that event associated with listener has occurred, adaptively generating an updated version of a section of the UI that corresponds to the listener; and dynamically updating the user interface to include the updated version of the section of the UI that corresponds to the listener)).
Allen further teach physical processor; an electronic display; and physical memory, computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the physical processor, cause the physical processor to, non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising one or more computer-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a computing device, cause the computing device to. (Fig. 3, 5, P. 14, 25, 27, 37, 40, 43, 48, 54, 55, 72, 85,)
Allen fails to specifically teach one or more event listeners.
Jain teach one or more event listeners. (p. 3-6, 34, 51, displays the groups on an interface of the user based on the ranked list, wherein different ranked groups are recommended to the user, recommendations can be displayed to the user via a user interface view model, and wherein the chat application have an event listener mechanism utilized for monitoring user activity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Allen by one or more event listeners as taught by Jain in order to recommending groups to a user that enable the user to prioritize groups in a chat application.
Regarding claim(s) 4, 17, Allen in view of Jain teach the computer-implemented method, event listener.
Allen further teach receiving an input from the client device interacting with the user interface; determining that the input received from the client device comprises an event associated with an additional section of UI that corresponds to an additional listener; and dynamically updating the additional section of the UI to include a newly updated version of the additional section of the UI. (Fig. 6, P. 62-64, some of the modules in the ticker 600 can be constantly scrolling, such as in a bottom to top direction for the television guide module 604 and the sports module 608. In this manner, such modules operate as "individual tickers within the ticker 600," where the viewer can concurrently view constantly changing ticker items from the same ticker 600, and in the case if the user interacts with one of the tickers, and when updated information becomes available at the module updating the weather module 602 can constantly display the current forecast, and then scroll new data when the forecast changes, Fig. 6, 8, 10, 12, 13-14, P. 4, 25, 27, 29-31, 35, 47, 52, 57, 64, 69, 84, 88-89, 91-92, module-based ticker for an interactive television system consisting of one or more modules of content that the user can select for presentation via a UI, separate modules of the UI ticker are selected for sports, news, weather, email, traffic, stocks, interactive applications, movies, and so forth, as the sporting events, or news change the content of the tickers are updated accordingly to reflect the latest news, weather module 602 can constantly display the current forecast, and then scroll new data only when the forecast changes, the user can select which ticker to add to the UI and updates happen accordingly, reads on (an additional section of UI that corresponds to an additional listener)).
Regarding claim(s) 5, 18, Allen in view of Jain teach the computer-implemented method, wherein the input received from the client device.
Alle further teach input selecting at least one media item from the user interface. (Fig. 6, 14, P. 60, 77, navigation, selection of ticker items, such as an "L-bar" module 1400 for the ticker 600 and different tabs of the sports module)
Regarding claim(s) 6, 19, Allen in view of Jain teach the computer-implemented method, wherein the input received from the client device, different precomputed sections of the UI.
Alle further teach UI is dynamically updated as further events are triggered for different precomputed sections of UI. (Fig. 6, 8, 10, 12, 13-14, P. 4, 25, 27, 47, 52, 57, 64, 69, 84, 88-89, 92, user can select for presentation via a UI, separate modules of the UI ticker are selected for sports, news, weather, email, traffic, stocks, interactive applications, movies, and so forth, as the sporting events, or news change the content of the tickers are updated accordingly to reflect the latest news, weather module 602 can constantly display the current forecast, and then scroll new data only when the forecast changes, …ticker API 1604 interfaces with a plurality of module applications 1609 more than one ticker API 1604 may be present to interface with module applications 1609, a feed manager (FM) 1606 (or other software controller) operates to determine when new or updated ticker information is present and needs to be provided to the ticker API 1604,… If it is time for an update, the ticker API 1604 (acting as a container of data) calls a load function that will cause the feed manager 1606 to loop through the module applications 1608 to search for new data, and if there is new data, the feed manager 1606 will pass the new data from the module application(s) 1609 to the ticker API 1604 so that the ticker API 1604 can pass the new data to the ticker UI 1602, … the module-based ticker 600 where the feed manager 1606 (not the ticker API 1604) knows when it is time for an update).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONG LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421