Election/Restrictions
Claims 64-71 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/3/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 55-63, 72-74 in the reply filed on 9/3/2026 is acknowledged.
The status of the claim(s) are:
Claim(s) 1-54 is/are cancelled;
Claim(s) 55-74 is/are presently pending;
Claim(s) 64-71 is/are withdrawn;
Claim(s) 55-63, 72-74 is/are examined on the merits.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 55, 59-62, 72 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-2, 13, 28, 51 of U.S. Patent No. 11318323. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim(s) is/are broader than the corresponding claim(s) in the reference patent and thus the corresponding claim(s) is/are a species of the more generic instant claim(s). It has been held that the generic invention is "anticipated" by the "species". See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Furthermore, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim(s) overlap in scope with and are anticipated and/or obvious over the reference claim(s).
Regarding claim 55, U.S. Patent No. 11318323 teaches a handheld probe configured to be optically connected to a coherent light generator, the handheld probe comprising (claim 51):
a shaft (claim 51);
an optical box at a distal end of the shaft, the optical box including at least one of an emission lens or a reflector that is angled with respect to a central axis of the optical box in at least one position of the optical box, the optical box forming a closed tip (claim 51); and
a fiber optic cable extending at least to a proximal end of the shaft (claim 51 “an optical box at a distal end of a shaft and the fiber optic cable extends through the shaft to the optical box”).
Claim 72 is rejected under substantially the same basis as claim 55 above.
Regarding claim 59, wherein the optical box is configured to at least one of collimate or diffuse coherent light from the coherent light generator for delivery to a treatment site (claim 28 “diffusing lens”).
Regarding claim 60, U.S. Patent No. 11318323 teaches wherein the optical box is configured to reflect coherent light from the coherent light generator (claim 1 “coherent”) in a non-Gaussian light distribution pattern for delivery to a treatment site (claim 13).
Regarding claim 61, U.S. Patent No. 11318323 teaches further comprising a handle and a coupler configured to selectively couple the shaft to the handle (claim 1 “handheld probe”; it is inherent that handheld probe would have handle and coupler to shaft as claimed.
Regarding claim 62, U.S. Patent No. 11318323 teaches wherein the coupler includes at least one electrical contact configured to provide electrical communication between the handle and the shaft (claims 1-2; processor, memory; inherent to have electrical contact).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 55-57, 59, 72, 73 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tearney (US 20070282403 A1; 12/6/2007).
Regarding claim 55, Tearney teaches a handheld probe configured to be optically connected to a coherent light generator (Fig. 22-23; [0088]; [0124]-[0125]; endoscope is handheld), the handheld probe comprising:
a shaft (Fig. 22-23; [0124]-[0125]);
an optical box at a distal end of the shaft, the optical box including at least one of an emission lens or a reflector that is angled with respect to a central axis of the optical box in at least one position of the optical box, the optical box forming a closed tip (Fig. 22-23); and
a fiber optic cable extending at least to a proximal end of the shaft (Fig. 23).
Claim 72 is rejected under substantially the same basis as claim 55 above.
Regarding claim 56, Tearney teaches wherein the optical box is selectively rotatable between a plurality of positions (Fig. 23; [0125] “manual rotation”).
Claim 73 is rejected under substantially the same basis as claim 56 above.
Regarding claim 57, Tearney teaches further comprising a handle having a probe tip rotator configured to receive input from a user to selectively rotate the optical box (Fig. 23; [0125] “manual rotation…automated rotation”).
Regarding claim 59, Tearney teaches wherein the optical box is configured to at least one of collimate or diffuse coherent light from the coherent light generator for delivery to a treatment site (Fig. 4; [0088]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tearney as applied to claim 57 above, in view of Crozier (US 20170367760 A1; 12/28/2017).
Regarding claim 58, Tearney does not teach wherein the probe tip rotator is a thumb wheel configured to move one or more control cables to selectively rotate the optical box. However, Crozier teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract; Fig. 8) wherein the probe tip rotator is a thumb wheel configured to move one or more control cables to selectively rotate the optical box ([0097]). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Tearney to include this feature as taught by Crozier because this enables operator control of rotation ([0097]).
Claim(s) 60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tearney as applied to claim 55 above, in view of Beaurepaire (US 20110147616 A1; 6/23/2011).
Regarding claim 60, Tearney does not teach wherein the optical box is configured to reflect coherent light from the coherent light generator in a non-Gaussian light distribution pattern for delivery to a treatment site. However, Beaurepaire teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract; Fig. 1) wherein the optical box is configured to reflect coherent light from the coherent light generator in a non-Gaussian light distribution pattern for delivery to a treatment site (claim 17). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Tearney to include this feature as taught by Beaurepaire because this enables obtaining better optical measurements ([0032]-[0037]; [0059]; claim 17).
Claim(s) 61-63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tearney as applied to claim 55 above, in view of Weber (US 20010025190 A1; 9/27/2010).
Regarding claim 61, Tearney does not teach further comprising a handle and a coupler configured to selectively couple the shaft to the handle. However, Weber teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract; Fig. 1) further comprising a handle and a coupler configured to selectively couple the shaft to the handle (Fig. 11; [0101]). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Tearney to include this feature as taught by Weber because this enables connecting the device to function ([0101]).
Regarding claim 62, in the combination of Tearney and Weber, Weber teaches wherein the coupler includes at least one electrical contact configured to provide electrical communication between the handle and the shaft (Fig. 11; [0101]). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Tearney to include this feature as taught by Weber because this enables connecting the device to function ([0101]).
Regarding claim 63, in the combination of Tearney and Weber, Weber teaches further comprising at least one temperature sensor arranged in or on at least one of the shaft or the optical box, and the at least one electrical contact provides electrical communication between the handle and the at least one temperature sensor (Fig. 11; [0101]). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Tearney to include this feature as taught by Weber because this enables connecting the device to function ([0101]).
Claim(s) 74 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tearney as applied to claim 72 above, in view of Onimura (US 20110237958 A1; 9/29/2011).
Regarding claim 74, Tearney does not teach wherein the fiber optic cable includes an emission portion configured to emit coherent light from a coherent light generator out of the optical box, and the method further comprises moving at least a portion of the fiber optic cable to adjust the emission portion. However, Onimura teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract; Fig. 1) wherein the fiber optic cable includes an emission portion configured to emit coherent light from a coherent light generator out of the optical box (claim 6), and the method further comprises moving at least a portion of the fiber optic cable to adjust the emission portion (claim 6). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Tearney to include these features as taught by Onimura because this enables control of the light delivered (claim 6; Fig. 6).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN T KUO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792