DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/17/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-12, 17 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDonald et al (US Patent No. 5661623) in view of Aromin (US Patent No. 5757598).
Regarding claim 1, McDonald discloses a leakage protection devices (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) for power connection (i.e., such as power connection; for instance, this provides protection against unexpected starting of the AC load when the GFCI device is initially connected or after a power supply interruption, which can be dangerous when power equipment is involved; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+), comprising: a shell (i.e., such as shell 28, 12, 20, 14; for instance, the GFCI plug 10 includes a plastic housing which is made up of a rear cover 12, a front cover 14 and a wiring chamber cover 16. The rear cover 12 extends vertically from one end of the GFCI plug 10 to the other, while the front cover 14 has a lower edge 18 which terminates some distance above the bottom of the GFCI plug 10. The remaining distance between the bottom edge 18 of the front cover 14 and the bottom of the GFCI plug 10 is occupied by the wiring chamber cover 16. The front cover 14 is joined to the rear cover 12 along its entire perimeter by an adhesive along a seam line 20 to form a watertight enclosure. In order to preserve the watertight nature of the portion of the GFCI housing between by the covers 12 and 14, a generally rectangular flange 28 is formed around the plug blades 22, 24 and ground pin 26 to form a shallow cavity with the wall of the rear cover 12; see for example fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 17+); and a core assembly (i.e., such as core assembly FIG. 5; for instance, FIG. 5 is an enlarged perspective view of the circuit board 42 of FIG. 3, shown removed from the front cover 14, and FIGS. 6A and 6B are elevational views of the upper portion of the circuit board 42 illustrating the closed and open positions, respectively, of the relay contact sets 44 and 46. These Figures illustrate two significant features of the GFCI plug 10, specifically, the novel construction of the relay contacts sets 44 and 46 and the space-saving layout of components on the circuit board 42. The two relay contacts sets 44 and 46 are substantially identical to each other, although the corresponding components of each are mirror images of each other to provide a symmetrical arrangement about the vertical midline of the circuit board 42 as shown in FIG. 5; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) disposed in the shell (i.e., such as shell 28, 12, 20, 14; for instance, the GFCI plug 10 includes a plastic housing which is made up of a rear cover 12, a front cover 14 and a wiring chamber cover 16. The rear cover 12 extends vertically from one end of the GFCI plug 10 to the other, while the front cover 14 has a lower edge 18 which terminates some distance above the bottom of the GFCI plug 10. The remaining distance between the bottom edge 18 of the front cover 14 and the bottom of the GFCI plug 10 is occupied by the wiring chamber cover 16. The front cover 14 is joined to the rear cover 12 along its entire perimeter by an adhesive along a seam line 20 to form a watertight enclosure. In order to preserve the watertight nature of the portion of the GFCI housing between by the covers 12 and 14, a generally rectangular flange 28 is formed around the plug blades 22, 24 and ground pin 26 to form a shallow cavity with the wall of the rear cover 12; see for example fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 17+), including: an input-end assembly (i.e., such as input-end assembly 22, 24, 26; for instance, as illustrated in FIG. 1, the GFCI plug 10 has a generally vertical, upstanding configuration, with the plug blades 22 and 24 and ground pin 26 extending horizontally outward from the upper rear portion of the housing and with the pushbuttons 34 and 36 and lens 38 accessible at the front of the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+), configured to be coupled (i.e., such as configured to be coupled; for instance, a field-wired AC line cord 40 extends from the bottom of the GFCI plug 10 and serves to connect the GFCI plug 10 to an AC load (not shown), which may consist of a power tool, appliance or the like. When the plug blades 22 and 24 and ground pin 26 are inserted into a conventional three-prong AC receptacle, the GFCI plug 10 serves as a line cord plug for the AC load device to which it is attached by means of the line cord 40. It will be appreciated that the generally vertical, elongated configuration of the GFCI plug 10 is advantageous minimizing its depth and increasing its stability when connected to a wall-mounted AC receptacle; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) to input power supply (i.e., such as input power supply conventional three-prong AC receptacle/female; for instance, when the plug blades 22 and 24 and ground pin 26 are inserted into a conventional three-prong AC receptacle, the GFCI plug 10 serves as a line cord plug for the AC load device to which it is attached by means of the line cord 40. It will be appreciated that the generally vertical, elongated configuration of the GFCI plug 10 is advantageous minimizing its depth and increasing its stability when connected to a wall-mounted AC receptacle; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+); an output-end assembly (i.e., such as output-end assembly 58, 62; for instance, A line conductor 56 connects the load side of the relay contact set 44 to a line output terminal 58, and a neutral conductor 60 connects the load side of the relay contact set 46 to a neutral output terminal 62. The line and neutral conductors 56 and 60 both pass through the cores of the transformers 52 and 54 and are attached at their lower ends to conductive traces (located on the reverse side of the printed circuit board 42 and not visible in FIG. 3) which establish contact with the output terminals 58 and 62. The lower ends 64 and 66 of the output terminals 58 and 62, respectively, are provided with an enlarged rectangular shape to serve as nut plates. Holes 68 and 70 are formed in the nut plates to accommodate screws 69 (shown in FIG. 5) which are used with corresponding nuts 71 (also visible in FIG. 5) to secure the line and neutral conductors of the AC line cord 40 of FIG. 1 to the output terminals 58 and 62; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+), configured (i.e., such as be configured to; for instance, a field-wired AC line cord 40 extends from the bottom of the GFCI plug 10 and serves to connect the GFCI plug 10 to an AC load (not shown), which may consist of a power tool, appliance or the like. When the plug blades 22 and 24 and ground pin 26 are inserted into a conventional three-prong AC receptacle, the GFCI plug 10 serves as a line cord plug for the AC load device to which it is attached by means of the line cord 40; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) to be coupled (i.e., such as be coupled to; for instance, a field-wired AC line cord 40 extends from the bottom of the GFCI plug 10 and serves to connect the GFCI plug 10 to an AC load (not shown), which may consist of a power tool, appliance or the like. When the plug blades 22 and 24 and ground pin 26 are inserted into a conventional three-prong AC receptacle, the GFCI plug 10 serves as a line cord plug for the AC load device to which it is attached by means of the line cord 40; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) to an electrical load (i.e., such as electrical load as LOAD connected to terminals L/58, N/62; for instance, in the circuit of FIG. 8, the input terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator are connected across the load or output terminals 58 and 62 of the GFCI plug 10 in order to form a load power sensing circuit for detecting the availability of AC power at the load terminals; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+); an actuator assembly (i.e., such as actuator assembly 50/48; for instance, the actuator 50 of FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B is formed with rounded, downwardly-extending ridges 171 and 173 which bear against the respective free ends 152 and 168 of the spring arms. The actuator 50 is part of a one-piece plastic structure which also includes a cylindrical spacer 174 and a horizontal bar-like lower stop member 176. The actuator 50, spacer 174 and stop member 176 are carried as a unit by the plunger 178 of a relay coil 180. The relay coil 180 is housed within a U-shaped metal frame 182 which, along with a corresponding metal cover 184, concentrates the magnetic flux lines within the core 180. When the coil 180 is energized by an electrical current (as will occur during normal operation of the GFCI plug 10 in the absence of a ground fault condition), the metal plunger 178 is attracted to a magnetic core piece 188 which is secured to the bottom of the metal frame 182 and projects upwardly for a short distance into the core of the coil 180; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+), configured to control (i.e., such as configured to control; for instance, the actuator 50 of FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B is formed with rounded, downwardly-extending ridges 171 and 173 which bear against the respective free ends 152 and 168 of the spring arms. The actuator 50 is part of a one-piece plastic structure which also includes a cylindrical spacer 174 and a horizontal bar-like lower stop member 176. The actuator 50, spacer 174 and stop member 176 are carried as a unit by the plunger 178 of a relay coil 180. The relay coil 180 is housed within a U-shaped metal frame 182 which, along with a corresponding metal cover 184, concentrates the magnetic flux lines within the core 180. When the coil 180 is energized by an electrical current (as will occur during normal operation of the GFCI plug 10 in the absence of a ground fault condition), the metal plunger 178 is attracted to a magnetic core piece 188 which is secured to the bottom of the metal frame 182 and projects upwardly for a short distance into the core of the coil 180. When this occurs, the actuator 50 is pulled downwardly as shown in FIG. 6A, thereby deflecting the resilient portions 150 and 166 of the spring arms to bring the upper relay contacts 154 and 172 into contact with the lower contacts 144 and 170. This closes both relay contact sets 44 and 46, and completes a circuit between each of the plug blades 22 and 24 and the corresponding output terminal 58 or 62. When current is removed from the relay coil 180, the plunger 178 and actuator 50 move upwardly under the restoring force of the resilient portions 150 and 166 of the spring arms, until these components assume the positions shown in FIG. 6B. In this condition, the upper relay contact discs 154 and 172 are separated from the lower relay contact discs 144 and 170, thereby opening both relay contact sets 44 and 46 and breaking the circuit between each plug blade 22 and 24 and its corresponding output terminal 58 or 62. It will be observed from FIG. 6B that the contact which occurs between the lower stop member 176 and the bottom surfaces of the contact-bearing portions 140 and 160 of the fixed contact structures limits the upward travel of the plunger 178 and actuator 50. This has a number of advantages. First, it helps to limit the size of the magnetic gap which can exist between the bottom of the plunger 178 and the top of the magnetic core piece 188, and thereby assures that the plunger 178 will respond properly when the relay coil 180 is energized. Secondly, by dimensioning the components in a manner such that the stop member 176 strikes the bottom surfaces of the contact-bearing portions 140 and 160 before the resilient portions 150 and 166 of the spring arms have deflected fully upward, a certain amount of preload force can be maintained on the spring arms when the relay contact sets 44 and 46 are in the open position shown in FIG. 6B. This maintains the actuator 50 in contact with the free ends 152 and 168 of the spring arms at all times, which sets the gap between the contact discs of each relay contact set 44 and 46 and provides more positive control over the movement of the spring arms; see for example figs 5-6, Col. 4 lines 17+) a connection (i.e., such as connection as the relay contact sets 44 and 46 are in the close position; see for example fig. 6A, Col. 4 lines 17+) and disconnection state (i.e., such as disconnection as the relay contact sets 44 and 46 are in the open position; see for example fig. 6A, Col. 4 lines 17+) between the input-end assembly (i.e., such as input-end assembly 22, 24, 26; for instance, as illustrated in FIG. 1, the GFCI plug 10 has a generally vertical, upstanding configuration, with the plug blades 22 and 24 and ground pin 26 extending horizontally outward from the upper rear portion of the housing and with the pushbuttons 34 and 36 and lens 38 accessible at the front of the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) and the output-end assembly (i.e., such as output-end assembly 58, 62; for instance, A line conductor 56 connects the load side of the relay contact set 44 to a line output terminal 58, and a neutral conductor 60 connects the load side of the relay contact set 46 to a neutral output terminal 62. The line and neutral conductors 56 and 60 both pass through the cores of the transformers 52 and 54 and are attached at their lower ends to conductive traces (located on the reverse side of the printed circuit board 42 and not visible in FIG. 3) which establish contact with the output terminals 58 and 62. The lower ends 64 and 66 of the output terminals 58 and 62, respectively, are provided with an enlarged rectangular shape to serve as nut plates. Holes 68 and 70 are formed in the nut plates to accommodate screws 69 (shown in FIG. 5) which are used with corresponding nuts 71 (also visible in FIG. 5) to secure the line and neutral conductors of the AC line cord 40 of FIG. 1 to the output terminals 58 and 62; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+); a control circuit board (i.e., such as control circuit board PCB 42/IC-Chip 212; for instance, as can be appreciated from FIG. 5, the principal components of the GFCI plug 10 are arranged in a tandem or in-line manner on the circuit board 42, with the plug blades 22, 24 at the top, the output terminals 58, 62 at the bottom, and the relay contact sets 44, 46, the relay coil 180 and the toroidal transformers 52, 54 arranged linearly in between. This arrangement is relatively compact and provides spaces on either side of the circuit board 42 for the resistors, capacitors, integrated circuits and other electrical components required to detect ground fault conditions and control the energization and de-energization of the relay coil 180. A particularly advantageous arrangement, which is employed in the illustrated embodiment, is to mount power supply components on the upper portion of the circuit board 42 (near the relay coil 180 and relay contact sets 44, 46), and to mount integrated circuits and other sensitive components on the lower part of the circuit board 42 to isolate them from interference caused by the operation of the relay coil 180 and relay contact sets 44, 46. In FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B, the electrical components carried by the circuit board 42 are individually designated to correspond with reference numerals used in the schematic diagrams of FIGS. 7 and 8, so that the preferred positions of the components will be apparent; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+), configured to control movement (i.e., such as configured to control movement of the plunger 178; for instance, as can be appreciated from FIG. 5, the principal components of the GFCI plug 10 are arranged in a tandem or in-line manner on the circuit board 42, with the plug blades 22, 24 at the top, the output terminals 58, 62 at the bottom, and the relay contact sets 44, 46, the relay coil 180 and the toroidal transformers 52, 54 arranged linearly in between. This arrangement is relatively compact and provides spaces on either side of the circuit board 42 for the resistors, capacitors, integrated circuits and other electrical components required to detect ground fault conditions and control the energization and de-energization of the relay coil 180. A particularly advantageous arrangement, which is employed in the illustrated embodiment, is to mount power supply components on the upper portion of the circuit board 42 (near the relay coil 180 and relay contact sets 44, 46), and to mount integrated circuits and other sensitive components on the lower part of the circuit board 42 to isolate them from interference caused by the operation of the relay coil 180 and relay contact sets 44, 46. In FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B, the electrical components carried by the circuit board 42 are individually designated to correspond with reference numerals used in the schematic diagrams of FIGS. 7 and 8, so that the preferred positions of the components will be apparent; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) and state (i.e., such as state as either OPEN-state or CLOSE state; for instance, as can be appreciated from FIG. 5, the principal components of the GFCI plug 10 are arranged in a tandem or in-line manner on the circuit board 42, with the plug blades 22, 24 at the top, the output terminals 58, 62 at the bottom, and the relay contact sets 44, 46, the relay coil 180 and the toroidal transformers 52, 54 arranged linearly in between. This arrangement is relatively compact and provides spaces on either side of the circuit board 42 for the resistors, capacitors, integrated circuits and other electrical components required to detect ground fault conditions and control the energization and de-energization of the relay coil 180. A particularly advantageous arrangement, which is employed in the illustrated embodiment, is to mount power supply components on the upper portion of the circuit board 42 (near the relay coil 180 and relay contact sets 44, 46), and to mount integrated circuits and other sensitive components on the lower part of the circuit board 42 to isolate them from interference caused by the operation of the relay coil 180 and relay contact sets 44, 46. In FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B, the electrical components carried by the circuit board 42 are individually designated to correspond with reference numerals used in the schematic diagrams of FIGS. 7 and 8, so that the preferred positions of the components will be apparent; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) of the actuator assembly (i.e., such as actuator assembly 50/48; for instance, the actuator 50 of FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B is formed with rounded, downwardly-extending ridges 171 and 173 which bear against the respective free ends 152 and 168 of the spring arms. The actuator 50 is part of a one-piece plastic structure which also includes a cylindrical spacer 174 and a horizontal bar-like lower stop member 176. The actuator 50, spacer 174 and stop member 176 are carried as a unit by the plunger 178 of a relay coil 180. The relay coil 180 is housed within a U-shaped metal frame 182 which, along with a corresponding metal cover 184, concentrates the magnetic flux lines within the core 180. When the coil 180 is energized by an electrical current (as will occur during normal operation of the GFCI plug 10 in the absence of a ground fault condition), the metal plunger 178 is attracted to a magnetic core piece 188 which is secured to the bottom of the metal frame 182 and projects upwardly for a short distance into the core of the coil 180; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+); and a fault detection assembly (i.e., such as fault detection assembly 52, 54; for instance, the circuit board 42 provides physical support for the plug blades 22 and 24, and also carries the various electrical components that are required to detect and respond to ground fault conditions. These include a relay contact set 44 for opening and closing the line side of the AC supply, a similar relay contact set 46 for opening and closing the neutral side of the AC supply, a relay coil and plunger assembly 48 for opening and closing the relay contact sets 44 and 46 by means of an actuator 50, and a pair of toroidal transformers 52 and 54 which are used to detect ground fault conditions; see for example fig. 3, Col. 4 lines 17+), coupled to the control circuit board (i.e., such as control circuit board PCB 42/IC-Chip 212; for instance, as can be appreciated from FIG. 5, the principal components of the GFCI plug 10 are arranged in a tandem or in-line manner on the circuit board 42, with the plug blades 22, 24 at the top, the output terminals 58, 62 at the bottom, and the relay contact sets 44, 46, the relay coil 180 and the toroidal transformers 52, 54 arranged linearly in between. This arrangement is relatively compact and provides spaces on either side of the circuit board 42 for the resistors, capacitors, integrated circuits and other electrical components required to detect ground fault conditions and control the energization and de-energization of the relay coil 180. A particularly advantageous arrangement, which is employed in the illustrated embodiment, is to mount power supply components on the upper portion of the circuit board 42 (near the relay coil 180 and relay contact sets 44, 46), and to mount integrated circuits and other sensitive components on the lower part of the circuit board 42 to isolate them from interference caused by the operation of the relay coil 180 and relay contact sets 44, 46. In FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B, the electrical components carried by the circuit board 42 are individually designated to correspond with reference numerals used in the schematic diagrams of FIGS. 7 and 8, so that the preferred positions of the components will be apparent; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+), configured to detect (i.e., such as configured to detect faults; for instance, this arrangement is relatively compact and provides spaces on either side of the circuit board 42 for the resistors, capacitors, integrated circuits and other electrical components required to detect ground fault conditions and control the energization and de-energization of the relay coil 180; see for example fig. 3, Col. 4 lines 17+) one or more electrical parameters (i.e., such as electrical parameters as ground faults; for instance, the relay coil 180 is de-energized in response to the detection of a ground fault condition, in a manner to be described below, and prevents an electrical shock hazard by immediately and simultaneously removing power from both sides of the AC load when such a condition is detected; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) of the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+), wherein the actuator assembly (i.e., such as actuator assembly 50/48; for instance, the actuator 50 of FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B is formed with rounded, downwardly-extending ridges 171 and 173 which bear against the respective free ends 152 and 168 of the spring arms. The actuator 50 is part of a one-piece plastic structure which also includes a cylindrical spacer 174 and a horizontal bar-like lower stop member 176. The actuator 50, spacer 174 and stop member 176 are carried as a unit by the plunger 178 of a relay coil 180. The relay coil 180 is housed within a U-shaped metal frame 182 which, along with a corresponding metal cover 184, concentrates the magnetic flux lines within the core 180. When the coil 180 is energized by an electrical current (as will occur during normal operation of the GFCI plug 10 in the absence of a ground fault condition), the metal plunger 178 is attracted to a magnetic core piece 188 which is secured to the bottom of the metal frame 182 and projects upwardly for a short distance into the core of the coil 180; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) is configured to disconnect (i.e., such as to disconnect as the relay contact sets 44 and 46 are in the open position; for instance, When the relay coil 180 is de-energized, the relay contact sets 44 and 46 are both moved to the open position shown in FIG. 6B, thereby interrupting the conductive paths 56 and 60 and removing AC power from the load. The relay coil 180 is de-energized in response to the detection of a ground fault condition, in a manner to be described below, and prevents an electrical shock hazard by immediately and simultaneously removing power from both sides of the AC load when such a condition is detected; see for example fig. 6A, Col. 4 lines 17+) the input-end assembly (i.e., such as input-end assembly 22, 24, 26; for instance, as illustrated in FIG. 1, the GFCI plug 10 has a generally vertical, upstanding configuration, with the plug blades 22 and 24 and ground pin 26 extending horizontally outward from the upper rear portion of the housing and with the pushbuttons 34 and 36 and lens 38 accessible at the front of the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) and the output-end assembly (i.e., such as output-end assembly 58, 62; for instance, A line conductor 56 connects the load side of the relay contact set 44 to a line output terminal 58, and a neutral conductor 60 connects the load side of the relay contact set 46 to a neutral output terminal 62. The line and neutral conductors 56 and 60 both pass through the cores of the transformers 52 and 54 and are attached at their lower ends to conductive traces (located on the reverse side of the printed circuit board 42 and not visible in FIG. 3) which establish contact with the output terminals 58 and 62. The lower ends 64 and 66 of the output terminals 58 and 62, respectively, are provided with an enlarged rectangular shape to serve as nut plates. Holes 68 and 70 are formed in the nut plates to accommodate screws 69 (shown in FIG. 5) which are used with corresponding nuts 71 (also visible in FIG. 5) to secure the line and neutral conductors of the AC line cord 40 of FIG. 1 to the output terminals 58 and 62; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) based on at least one of the electrical parameters (i.e., such as electrical parameters as ground faults; for instance, the relay coil 180 is de-energized in response to the detection of a ground fault condition, in a manner to be described below, and prevents an electrical shock hazard by immediately and simultaneously removing power from both sides of the AC load when such a condition is detected; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) detected (i.e., such as detected fault; for instance, this arrangement is relatively compact and provides spaces on either side of the circuit board 42 for the resistors, capacitors, integrated circuits and other electrical components required to detect ground fault conditions and control the energization and de-energization of the relay coil 180; see for example fig. 3, Col. 4 lines 17+) by the fault detection assembly (i.e., such as fault detection assembly 52, 54; for instance, the circuit board 42 provides physical support for the plug blades 22 and 24, and also carries the various electrical components that are required to detect and respond to ground fault conditions. These include a relay contact set 44 for opening and closing the line side of the AC supply, a similar relay contact set 46 for opening and closing the neutral side of the AC supply, a relay coil and plunger assembly 48 for opening and closing the relay contact sets 44 and 46 by means of an actuator 50, and a pair of toroidal transformers 52 and 54 which are used to detect ground fault conditions; see for example fig. 3, Col. 4 lines 17+) exceeding (i.e., such as exceeding as the rise to a potential at the output of the secondary coil 224; for instance, the transformer 52 serves as a differential transformer for detecting a connection between the line side of the AC load and an earth ground (not shown), while the transformer 54 serves as a grounded neutral transformer for detecting a connection between the neutral side of the AC load and an earth ground. In the absence of a ground fault, the currents flowing through the conductors 56 and 60 will be equal and opposite, and no net flux will be generated in the core 220 of the differential transformer 52. In the event that a connection occurs between the line side of the AC load and ground, however, the current flowing through the conductors 58 and 60 will no longer precisely cancel and a net flux will be generated in the core 220 of the transformer 52. This flux will give rise to a potential at the output of the secondary coil 224, and this output is applied to the inputs of the GFCI controller 212 to produce a trip signal on the output line 221. If the ground fault condition results from the neutral side of the AC load accidentally being connected to ground, a magnetic path is established between the differential transformer 52 and the grounded neutral transformer 54. When this occurs, a positive feedback loop is created around an operational amplifier within the GFCI controller 212, and the resulting oscillations of the amplifier will likewise give rise to the trip signal on line 221; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) a corresponding preset value (i.e., such as corresponding preset value of the net flux; for instance, the transformer 52 serves as a differential transformer for detecting a connection between the line side of the AC load and an earth ground (not shown), while the transformer 54 serves as a grounded neutral transformer for detecting a connection between the neutral side of the AC load and an earth ground. In the absence of a ground fault, the currents flowing through the conductors 56 and 60 will be equal and opposite, and no net flux will be generated in the core 220 of the differential transformer 52. In the event that a connection occurs between the line side of the AC load and ground, however, the current flowing through the conductors 58 and 60 will no longer precisely cancel and a net flux will be generated in the core 220 of the transformer 52. This flux will give rise to a potential at the output of the secondary coil 224, and this output is applied to the inputs of the GFCI controller 212 to produce a trip signal on the output line 221. If the ground fault condition results from the neutral side of the AC load accidentally being connected to ground, a magnetic path is established between the differential transformer 52 and the grounded neutral transformer 54. When this occurs, a positive feedback loop is created around an operational amplifier within the GFCI controller 212, and the resulting oscillations of the amplifier will likewise give rise to the trip signal on line 221; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+), and wherein the control circuit board (i.e., such as control circuit board PCB 42/IC-Chip 212; for instance, as can be appreciated from FIG. 5, the principal components of the GFCI plug 10 are arranged in a tandem or in-line manner on the circuit board 42, with the plug blades 22, 24 at the top, the output terminals 58, 62 at the bottom, and the relay contact sets 44, 46, the relay coil 180 and the toroidal transformers 52, 54 arranged linearly in between. This arrangement is relatively compact and provides spaces on either side of the circuit board 42 for the resistors, capacitors, integrated circuits and other electrical components required to detect ground fault conditions and control the energization and de-energization of the relay coil 180. A particularly advantageous arrangement, which is employed in the illustrated embodiment, is to mount power supply components on the upper portion of the circuit board 42 (near the relay coil 180 and relay contact sets 44, 46), and to mount integrated circuits and other sensitive components on the lower part of the circuit board 42 to isolate them from interference caused by the operation of the relay coil 180 and relay contact sets 44, 46. In FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B, the electrical components carried by the circuit board 42 are individually designated to correspond with reference numerals used in the schematic diagrams of FIGS. 7 and 8, so that the preferred positions of the components will be apparent; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) is configured to prevent (i.e., such as to prevent; for instance, the foregoing objects are substantially achieved by providing a ground fault circuit interrupter plug which comprises a housing having a pair of plug blades for connection to an AC receptacle and a pair of output terminals for connection to an AC load, and electrical circuitry within the housing for providing ground fault protection to an AC load connected to the output terminals. The electrical circuitry includes a relay comprising a relay coil and a pair of relay contact sets for selectively connecting and disconnecting the plug blades and the output terminals. The electrical circuitry also includes an electronic circuit coupled to the relay coil for maintaining the relay contact sets in a closed position to connect the plug blades to the output terminals in the absence of a ground fault condition, and for causing the relay contact sets to move to an open position to disconnect the plug blades from the output terminals in response to a ground fault condition; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) the input-end assembly (i.e., such as input-end assembly 22, 24, 26; for instance, as illustrated in FIG. 1, the GFCI plug 10 has a generally vertical, upstanding configuration, with the plug blades 22 and 24 and ground pin 26 extending horizontally outward from the upper rear portion of the housing and with the pushbuttons 34 and 36 and lens 38 accessible at the front of the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) and the output-end assembly (i.e., such as output-end assembly 58, 62; for instance, A line conductor 56 connects the load side of the relay contact set 44 to a line output terminal 58, and a neutral conductor 60 connects the load side of the relay contact set 46 to a neutral output terminal 62. The line and neutral conductors 56 and 60 both pass through the cores of the transformers 52 and 54 and are attached at their lower ends to conductive traces (located on the reverse side of the printed circuit board 42 and not visible in FIG. 3) which establish contact with the output terminals 58 and 62. The lower ends 64 and 66 of the output terminals 58 and 62, respectively, are provided with an enlarged rectangular shape to serve as nut plates. Holes 68 and 70 are formed in the nut plates to accommodate screws 69 (shown in FIG. 5) which are used with corresponding nuts 71 (also visible in FIG. 5) to secure the line and neutral conductors of the AC line cord 40 of FIG. 1 to the output terminals 58 and 62; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) from being re-connected (i.e., such as re-connected as pushing button 36 to reset the plug for re-connection; for instance, as is well known, an SCR will continue to conduct as long as current flows between its anode and cathode, even after the gating signal is removed. Thus, the SCR 236 will continue to maintain the relay coil 180 in a de-energized condition, and the contact sets 44 and 46 open, even after the ground fault condition has disappeared and the output of the GFCI controller 212 on line 221 has been restored to a zero-voltage level. Thus, the operation of the circuit 200 is similar to that of a GFCI device employing a mechanical circuit breaker, in that disappearance of the ground fault condition does not restore power to the AC load until a manual reset button is pushed. In the circuit of FIG. 7, momentary depression of the RESET pushbutton 36 will create a short circuit across the anode and cathode of the SCR 236, causing the SCR 236 to stop conducting current. When the RESET pushbutton 36 is released, the SCR 236 will remain in a non-conducting state in the absence of a new gating signal. This restores the control signal to the relay coil circuit and re-energizes the relay coil 180, thereby closing the relay contact sets 44 and 46 and restoring AC power to the load or output terminals 58 and 62; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) before (i.e., such as event button 34/TEST is before event button 36/SET/RESET; for instance, in addition to the RESET switch 36, a second normally-open momentary pushbutton switch 34 is provided to allow the user to test the operation of the GFCI plug 10. The TEST switch 34 is connected in series with a current limiting resistor 258, and the series connection of the switch 34 and resistor 258 is connected between the AC line conductor 56 on the load side of the transformers 52 and 54, and the AC neutral conductor 60 on the supply side of the transformers 52 and 54. When the TEST switch 34 is momentarily depressed, sufficient current will flow through the resistor 258 to cause an imbalance in the current flowing through the primary coil of the transformer 52. This will simulate a ground fault condition, causing the GFCI controller 212 to produce an output signal on line 221 that de-energizes the relay coil 180 by rendering the SCR 236 conductive and the MOSFET 248 nonconductive. The relay contact sets 44 and 46 will open, and can be closed again by depressing the RESET switch 36. If this sequence of events does not occur, the user will be alerted to the fact that the GFCI plug 10 is defective and requires repair or replacement; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) the input-end assembly (i.e., such as input-end assembly 22, 24, 26; for instance, as illustrated in FIG. 1, the GFCI plug 10 has a generally vertical, upstanding configuration, with the plug blades 22 and 24 and ground pin 26 extending horizontally outward from the upper rear portion of the housing and with the pushbuttons 34 and 36 and lens 38 accessible at the front of the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) is disconnected (i.e., such as disconnected as the relay contact sets 44 and 46 are in the open position; for instance, When the relay coil 180 is de-energized, the relay contact sets 44 and 46 are both moved to the open position shown in FIG. 6B, thereby interrupting the conductive paths 56 and 60 and removing AC power from the load. The relay coil 180 is de-energized in response to the detection of a ground fault condition, in a manner to be described below, and prevents an electrical shock hazard by immediately and simultaneously removing power from both sides of the AC load when such a condition is detected; see for example fig. 6A, Col. 4 lines 17+) from the input power supply (i.e., such as input power supply conventional three-prong AC receptacle/female; for instance, when the plug blades 22 and 24 and ground pin 26 are inserted into a conventional three-prong AC receptacle, the GFCI plug 10 serves as a line cord plug for the AC load device to which it is attached by means of the line cord 40. It will be appreciated that the generally vertical, elongated configuration of the GFCI plug 10 is advantageous minimizing its depth and increasing its stability when connected to a wall-mounted AC receptacle; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) whereby power output (i.e., such as power output at terminals 58, 62; for instance, A line conductor 56 connects the load side of the relay contact set 44 to a line output terminal 58, and a neutral conductor 60 connects the load side of the relay contact set 46 to a neutral output terminal 62. The line and neutral conductors 56 and 60 both pass through the cores of the transformers 52 and 54 and are attached at their lower ends to conductive traces (located on the reverse side of the printed circuit board 42 and not visible in FIG. 3) which establish contact with the output terminals 58 and 62. The lower ends 64 and 66 of the output terminals 58 and 62, respectively, are provided with an enlarged rectangular shape to serve as nut plates. Holes 68 and 70 are formed in the nut plates to accommodate screws 69 (shown in FIG. 5) which are used with corresponding nuts 71 (also visible in FIG. 5) to secure the line and neutral conductors of the AC line cord 40 of FIG. 1 to the output terminals 58 and 62; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) at the output-end assembly (i.e., such as output-end assembly 58, 62; for instance, A line conductor 56 connects the load side of the relay contact set 44 to a line output terminal 58, and a neutral conductor 60 connects the load side of the relay contact set 46 to a neutral output terminal 62. The line and neutral conductors 56 and 60 both pass through the cores of the transformers 52 and 54 and are attached at their lower ends to conductive traces (located on the reverse side of the printed circuit board 42 and not visible in FIG. 3) which establish contact with the output terminals 58 and 62. The lower ends 64 and 66 of the output terminals 58 and 62, respectively, are provided with an enlarged rectangular shape to serve as nut plates. Holes 68 and 70 are formed in the nut plates to accommodate screws 69 (shown in FIG. 5) which are used with corresponding nuts 71 (also visible in FIG. 5) to secure the line and neutral conductors of the AC line cord 40 of FIG. 1 to the output terminals 58 and 62; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) is prevented (i.e., such as prevented; for instance, the foregoing objects are substantially achieved by providing a ground fault circuit interrupter plug which comprises a housing having a pair of plug blades for connection to an AC receptacle and a pair of output terminals for connection to an AC load, and electrical circuitry within the housing for providing ground fault protection to an AC load connected to the output terminals. The electrical circuitry includes a relay comprising a relay coil and a pair of relay contact sets for selectively connecting and disconnecting the plug blades and the output terminals. The electrical circuitry also includes an electronic circuit coupled to the relay coil for maintaining the relay contact sets in a closed position to connect the plug blades to the output terminals in the absence of a ground fault condition, and for causing the relay contact sets to move to an open position to disconnect the plug blades from the output terminals in response to a ground fault condition; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+).
McDonald does not explicitly disclose wherein the control circuit board is configured to prevent the input-end assembly and the output-end assembly from being re-connected after the actuator assembly disconnects the input-end assembly and the output-end assembly.
Aromin discloses a GFCI (i.e., see for example fig. 2, Col. 8 lines 51+); wherein the control circuit board (i.e., such as the control circuit board 21; see for example fig. 2, Col. 8 lines 51+) is configured (i.e., such as configured to; for instance, fault detection circuit 21 acts to detect both ground fault and grounded neutral conditions in the conductive lines when switches SW1 and SW2 are in their second connective position; see for example fig. 2, Col. 8 lines 51+) to prevent (i.e., such as U1 is preventing 13 from becoming ON via SCR-1 regardless of the reset button SW4; for instance, if reset switch SW4 in GFCI 31 is depressed while in this condition, rectifier SCR1 will remain turned on for as long as the condition remains, regardless of whether switch SW4 is depressed. This prevents solenoid SOL1 from ever becoming re-energized while the ground fault condition remains in the conductive lines, thereby eliminating the potentially dangerous situation; see for example fig. 2, Col. 8 lines 51+) the input-end assembly (i.e., such as the input-end assembly POWER SOURCE; see for example fig. 2, Col. 8 lines 51+) and the output-end assembly (i.e., such as the output-end assembly LOAD; see for example fig. 2, Col. 8 lines 51+) from being re-connected (i.e., such as U1 keeps 13 OFF/SW1-SW2-OPENED via SCR-1 no matter what of any attempt to re-connect via reset button SW4; for instance, if reset switch SW4 in GFCI 31 is depressed while in this condition, rectifier SCR1 will remain turned on for as long as the condition remains, regardless of whether switch SW4 is depressed. This prevents solenoid SOL1 from ever becoming re-energized while the ground fault condition remains in the conductive lines, thereby eliminating the potentially dangerous situation; see for example fig. 2, Col. 8 lines 51+) after the actuator assembly (i.e., such as the actuator assembly SOL1; see for example fig. 2, Col. 8 lines 51+) disconnects (i.e., such as 13 is OFF as SOL1 opens SW1-SW2; see for example fig. 2, Col. 8 lines 51+) the input-end assembly (i.e., such as the input-end assembly POWER SOURCE; see for example fig. 2, Col. 8 lines 51+) and the output-end assembly (i.e., such as the output-end assembly LOAD; see for example fig. 2, Col. 8 lines 51+).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included reset-controller layout in McDonald, as taught by Aromin, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards eliminating the potentially dangerous situation.
Regarding claim 3, McDonald in view of Aromin and the teachings of McDonald as modified by Aromin have been discussed above.
McDonald further discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+); wherein the fault detection assembly (i.e., such as fault detection assembly 52, 54; for instance, the circuit board 42 provides physical support for the plug blades 22 and 24, and also carries the various electrical components that are required to detect and respond to ground fault conditions. These include a relay contact set 44 for opening and closing the line side of the AC supply, a similar relay contact set 46 for opening and closing the neutral side of the AC supply, a relay coil and plunger assembly 48 for opening and closing the relay contact sets 44 and 46 by means of an actuator 50, and a pair of toroidal transformers 52 and 54 which are used to detect ground fault conditions; see for example fig. 3, Col. 4 lines 17+) includes at least a current transformer (i.e., such as current transformer 52, 54; for instance, the line and neutral conductors 56 and 60 pass through the magnetic cores 220 and 222 of the transformers 52 and 54, as shown, with the secondary coil 224 of the transformer 52 being connected to the input of the GFCI controller 212 and the secondary coil 226 of the transformer 54 being connected between the GFCI controller 212 and the negative output terminal of the diode bridge 214. The transformer 52 serves as a differential transformer for detecting a connection between the line side of the AC load and an earth ground (not shown), while the transformer 54 serves as a grounded neutral transformer for detecting a connection between the neutral side of the AC load and an earth ground. In the absence of a ground fault, the currents flowing through the conductors 56 and 60 will be equal and opposite, and no net flux will be generated in the core 220 of the differential transformer 52. In the event that a connection occurs between the line side of the AC load and ground, however, the current flowing through the conductors 58 and 60 will no longer precisely cancel and a net flux will be generated in the core 220 of the transformer 52. This flux will give rise to a potential at the output of the secondary coil 224, and this output is applied to the inputs of the GFCI controller 212 to produce a trip signal on the output line 221. If the ground fault condition results from the neutral side of the AC load accidentally being connected to ground, a magnetic path is established between the differential transformer 52 and the grounded neutral transformer 54. When this occurs, a positive feedback loop is created around an operational amplifier within the GFCI controller 212, and the resulting oscillations of the amplifier will likewise give rise to the trip signal on line 221; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) coupled to the control circuit board (i.e., such as control circuit board PCB 42/IC-Chip 212; for instance, as can be appreciated from FIG. 5, the principal components of the GFCI plug 10 are arranged in a tandem or in-line manner on the circuit board 42, with the plug blades 22, 24 at the top, the output terminals 58, 62 at the bottom, and the relay contact sets 44, 46, the relay coil 180 and the toroidal transformers 52, 54 arranged linearly in between. This arrangement is relatively compact and provides spaces on either side of the circuit board 42 for the resistors, capacitors, integrated circuits and other electrical components required to detect ground fault conditions and control the energization and de-energization of the relay coil 180. A particularly advantageous arrangement, which is employed in the illustrated embodiment, is to mount power supply components on the upper portion of the circuit board 42 (near the relay coil 180 and relay contact sets 44, 46), and to mount integrated circuits and other sensitive components on the lower part of the circuit board 42 to isolate them from interference caused by the operation of the relay coil 180 and relay contact sets 44, 46. In FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B, the electrical components carried by the circuit board 42 are individually designated to correspond with reference numerals used in the schematic diagrams of FIGS. 7 and 8, so that the preferred positions of the components will be apparent; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) and configured to detect a current (i.e., such as to detect current; for instance, the line and neutral conductors 56 and 60 pass through the magnetic cores 220 and 222 of the transformers 52 and 54, as shown, with the secondary coil 224 of the transformer 52 being connected to the input of the GFCI controller 212 and the secondary coil 226 of the transformer 54 being connected between the GFCI controller 212 and the negative output terminal of the diode bridge 214. The transformer 52 serves as a differential transformer for detecting a connection between the line side of the AC load and an earth ground (not shown), while the transformer 54 serves as a grounded neutral transformer for detecting a connection between the neutral side of the AC load and an earth ground. In the absence of a ground fault, the currents flowing through the conductors 56 and 60 will be equal and opposite, and no net flux will be generated in the core 220 of the differential transformer 52. In the event that a connection occurs between the line side of the AC load and ground, however, the current flowing through the conductors 58 and 60 will no longer precisely cancel and a net flux will be generated in the core 220 of the transformer 52. This flux will give rise to a potential at the output of the secondary coil 224, and this output is applied to the inputs of the GFCI controller 212 to produce a trip signal on the output line 221. If the ground fault condition results from the neutral side of the AC load accidentally being connected to ground, a magnetic path is established between the differential transformer 52 and the grounded neutral transformer 54. When this occurs, a positive feedback loop is created around an operational amplifier within the GFCI controller 212, and the resulting oscillations of the amplifier will likewise give rise to the trip signal on line 221; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) of the output-end assembly (i.e., such as output-end assembly 58, 62; for instance, A line conductor 56 connects the load side of the relay contact set 44 to a line output terminal 58, and a neutral conductor 60 connects the load side of the relay contact set 46 to a neutral output terminal 62. The line and neutral conductors 56 and 60 both pass through the cores of the transformers 52 and 54 and are attached at their lower ends to conductive traces (located on the reverse side of the printed circuit board 42 and not visible in FIG. 3) which establish contact with the output terminals 58 and 62. The lower ends 64 and 66 of the output terminals 58 and 62, respectively, are provided with an enlarged rectangular shape to serve as nut plates. Holes 68 and 70 are formed in the nut plates to accommodate screws 69 (shown in FIG. 5) which are used with corresponding nuts 71 (also visible in FIG. 5) to secure the line and neutral conductors of the AC line cord 40 of FIG. 1 to the output terminals 58 and 62; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+).
Regarding claim 4, McDonald in view of Aromin and the teachings of McDonald as modified by Aromin have been discussed above.
McDonald further discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+); wherein the fault detection assembly (i.e., such as fault detection assembly 52, 54; for instance, the circuit board 42 provides physical support for the plug blades 22 and 24, and also carries the various electrical components that are required to detect and respond to ground fault conditions. These include a relay contact set 44 for opening and closing the line side of the AC supply, a similar relay contact set 46 for opening and closing the neutral side of the AC supply, a relay coil and plunger assembly 48 for opening and closing the relay contact sets 44 and 46 by means of an actuator 50, and a pair of toroidal transformers 52 and 54 which are used to detect ground fault conditions; see for example fig. 3, Col. 4 lines 17+) includes at least a resistor (i.e., such as resistors 216, 225, 234, etc.; for instance, since the GFCI controller 212 is a commercially available component, its operation is well known and need not be described in detail. In utilizing this device, a resistor 225 serves as a feedback resistor for setting the gain of the controller and hence its sensitivity to normal faults, and a capacitor 223 in parallel with the resistor 225 provides noise filtering. Capacitors 227 and 228 provide noise filtering at the inputs of the controller, and capacitor 230 provides AC input coupling. Capacitor 232 serves as a portion of the oscillatory circuit for the grounded neutral transformer 54. A capacitor 240 is connected between the gate of the SCR 236 and the negative output of the diode bridge 214 to serve as a filter for preventing narrow noise pulses from triggering the SCR. In the absence of a gating signal on line 221, the SCR 236 does not conduct and current from the full-wave power supply 214, 216, 218 passes through the resistor 234 to serve as a control signal for energizing the relay coil circuit in a manner to be described shortly. When a ground fault condition occurs, however, the GFCI controller 212 causes the output line 221 to go high, thereby gating the SCR 236 into conduction, shorting the resistor 234 directly to the negative output of the diode bridge 214, and thus removing the control signal from the input of the relay coil circuit; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) coupled to the control circuit board (i.e., such as control circuit board PCB 42/IC-Chip 212; for instance, as can be appreciated from FIG. 5, the principal components of the GFCI plug 10 are arranged in a tandem or in-line manner on the circuit board 42, with the plug blades 22, 24 at the top, the output terminals 58, 62 at the bottom, and the relay contact sets 44, 46, the relay coil 180 and the toroidal transformers 52, 54 arranged linearly in between. This arrangement is relatively compact and provides spaces on either side of the circuit board 42 for the resistors, capacitors, integrated circuits and other electrical components required to detect ground fault conditions and control the energization and de-energization of the relay coil 180. A particularly advantageous arrangement, which is employed in the illustrated embodiment, is to mount power supply components on the upper portion of the circuit board 42 (near the relay coil 180 and relay contact sets 44, 46), and to mount integrated circuits and other sensitive components on the lower part of the circuit board 42 to isolate them from interference caused by the operation of the relay coil 180 and relay contact sets 44, 46. In FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B, the electrical components carried by the circuit board 42 are individually designated to correspond with reference numerals used in the schematic diagrams of FIGS. 7 and 8, so that the preferred positions of the components will be apparent; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) and disposed (i.e., such as disposed as all electronic components are integrated in the PCB 42; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) configured to detect a voltage (i.e., such as to detect voltage as detecting the input voltage coming from 214 to drive relay 180; for instance, in the absence of a ground fault condition, no output is produced by the GFCI controller 212 on line 221. Under these circumstances, current flows from the full-wave power supply formed by the diode bridge 214, resistor 216 and filter capacitor 218 and then passes through a trip circuit to provide a control signal input to a further circuit which controls the energization of the relay coil 180. The trip circuit comprises a limiting resistor 234 connected to the positive terminal of the filter capacitor 218, a momentary normally-open pushbutton switch 36 corresponding to the RESET switch 36 of FIG. 1, and a switching or shunting circuit in the form of a silicon-controlled rectifier (SCR) 236 having its anode connected to the resistor 234 and its cathode connected to the negative output of the diode bridge 214. The node 238 between the resistor 234 and the anode of the SCR 236 serves as the output of the trip circuit and the input to a biasing and control circuit for the relay coil 180. The gate of the SCR 236 is connected to the output line 221 of the GFCI controller 212. A capacitor 240 is connected between the gate of the SCR 236 and the negative output of the diode bridge 214 to serve as a filter for preventing narrow noise pulses from triggering the SCR. In the absence of a gating signal on line 221, the SCR 236 does not conduct and current from the full-wave power supply 214, 216, 218 passes through the resistor 234 to serve as a control signal for energizing the relay coil circuit in a manner to be described shortly. When a ground fault condition occurs, however, the GFCI controller 212 causes the output line 221 to go high, thereby gating the SCR 236 into conduction, shorting the resistor 234 directly to the negative output of the diode bridge 214, and thus removing the control signal from the input of the relay coil circuit. Removal of the control signal from the relay coil circuit causes the relay coil 180 to become de-energized, thereby opening the relay contact sets 44 and 46 and removing AC power from the load or output terminal 58 and 62; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) of the input-end assembly (i.e., such as input-end assembly 22, 24, 26; for instance, as illustrated in FIG. 1, the GFCI plug 10 has a generally vertical, upstanding configuration, with the plug blades 22 and 24 and ground pin 26 extending horizontally outward from the upper rear portion of the housing and with the pushbuttons 34 and 36 and lens 38 accessible at the front of the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+).
Regarding claim 5, McDonald in view of Aromin and the teachings of McDonald as modified by Aromin have been discussed above.
McDonald further discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+); wherein the core assembly (i.e., such as core assembly FIG. 5; for instance, FIG. 5 is an enlarged perspective view of the circuit board 42 of FIG. 3, shown removed from the front cover 14, and FIGS. 6A and 6B are elevational views of the upper portion of the circuit board 42 illustrating the closed and open positions, respectively, of the relay contact sets 44 and 46. These Figures illustrate two significant features of the GFCI plug 10, specifically, the novel construction of the relay contacts sets 44 and 46 and the space-saving layout of components on the circuit board 42. The two relay contacts set 44 and 46 are substantially identical to each other, although the corresponding components of each are mirror images of each other to provide a symmetrical arrangement about the vertical midline of the circuit board 42 as shown in FIG. 5; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) further includes a reset assembly (i.e., such as reset assembly 36; for instance, the second pushbutton 36 serves as either a SET or RESET switch, depending upon whether the internal circuitry of the GFCI plug 10 is designed to provide manual or automatic setting; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) configured to reset (i.e., such as to reset the connection; for instance, as is well known, an SCR will continue to conduct as long as current flows between its anode and cathode, even after the gating signal is removed. Thus, the SCR 236 will continue to maintain the relay coil 180 in a de-energized condition, and the contact sets 44 and 46 open, even after the ground fault condition has disappeared and the output of the GFCI controller 212 on line 221 has been restored to a zero-voltage level. Thus, the operation of the circuit 200 is similar to that of a GFCI device employing a mechanical circuit breaker, in that disappearance of the ground fault condition does not restore power to the AC load until a manual reset button is pushed. In the circuit of FIG. 7, momentary depression of the RESET pushbutton 36 will create a short circuit across the anode and cathode of the SCR 236, causing the SCR 236 to stop conducting current. When the RESET pushbutton 36 is released, the SCR 236 will remain in a non-conducting state in the absence of a new gating signal. This restores the control signal to the relay coil circuit and re-energizes the relay coil 180, thereby closing the relay contact sets 44 and 46 and restoring AC power to the load or output terminals 58 and 62; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) the connection (i.e., such as to reset the connection; for instance, as is well known, an SCR will continue to conduct as long as current flows between its anode and cathode, even after the gating signal is removed. Thus, the SCR 236 will continue to maintain the relay coil 180 in a de-energized condition, and the contact sets 44 and 46 open, even after the ground fault condition has disappeared and the output of the GFCI controller 212 on line 221 has been restored to a zero-voltage level. Thus, the operation of the circuit 200 is similar to that of a GFCI device employing a mechanical circuit breaker, in that disappearance of the ground fault condition does not restore power to the AC load until a manual reset button is pushed. In the circuit of FIG. 7, momentary depression of the RESET pushbutton 36 will create a short circuit across the anode and cathode of the SCR 236, causing the SCR 236 to stop conducting current. When the RESET pushbutton 36 is released, the SCR 236 will remain in a non-conducting state in the absence of a new gating signal. This restores the control signal to the relay coil circuit and re-energizes the relay coil 180, thereby closing the relay contact sets 44 and 46 and restoring AC power to the load or output terminals 58 and 62; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) of the input-end assembly (i.e., such as input-end assembly 22, 24, 26; for instance, as illustrated in FIG. 1, the GFCI plug 10 has a generally vertical, upstanding configuration, with the plug blades 22 and 24 and ground pin 26 extending horizontally outward from the upper rear portion of the housing and with the pushbuttons 34 and 36 and lens 38 accessible at the front of the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) and the output-end assembly (i.e., such as output-end assembly 58, 62; for instance, A line conductor 56 connects the load side of the relay contact set 44 to a line output terminal 58, and a neutral conductor 60 connects the load side of the relay contact set 46 to a neutral output terminal 62. The line and neutral conductors 56 and 60 both pass through the cores of the transformers 52 and 54 and are attached at their lower ends to conductive traces (located on the reverse side of the printed circuit board 42 and not visible in FIG. 3) which establish contact with the output terminals 58 and 62. The lower ends 64 and 66 of the output terminals 58 and 62, respectively, are provided with an enlarged rectangular shape to serve as nut plates. Holes 68 and 70 are formed in the nut plates to accommodate screws 69 (shown in FIG. 5) which are used with corresponding nuts 71 (also visible in FIG. 5) to secure the line and neutral conductors of the AC line cord 40 of FIG. 1 to the output terminals 58 and 62; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) after they are disconnected (i.e., such as disconnected as the relay contact sets 44 and 46 are in the open position; for instance, When the relay coil 180 is de-energized, the relay contact sets 44 and 46 are both moved to the open position shown in FIG. 6B, thereby interrupting the conductive paths 56 and 60 and removing AC power from the load. The relay coil 180 is de-energized in response to the detection of a ground fault condition, in a manner to be described below, and prevents an electrical shock hazard by immediately and simultaneously removing power from both sides of the AC load when such a condition is detected; see for example fig. 6A, Col. 4 lines 17+).
Regarding claim 6, McDonald in view of Aromin and the teachings of McDonald as modified by Aromin have been discussed above.
McDonald further discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+); wherein the core assembly (i.e., such as core assembly FIG. 5; for instance, FIG. 5 is an enlarged perspective view of the circuit board 42 of FIG. 3, shown removed from the front cover 14, and FIGS. 6A and 6B are elevational views of the upper portion of the circuit board 42 illustrating the closed and open positions, respectively, of the relay contact sets 44 and 46. These Figures illustrate two significant features of the GFCI plug 10, specifically, the novel construction of the relay contacts sets 44 and 46 and the space-saving layout of components on the circuit board 42. The two relay contacts set 44 and 46 are substantially identical to each other, although the corresponding components of each are mirror images of each other to provide a symmetrical arrangement about the vertical midline of the circuit board 42 as shown in FIG. 5; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) further includes a status indicator (i.e., such as status indicator 208, 278; for instance, the input or control terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator 272 are connected to an internal light-emitting diode (LED) 278 which permits current to flow between the output terminals 280 and 282 of the opto-isolator when the LED 278 is forward-biased. In the circuit of FIG. 8, the input terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator are connected across the load or output terminals 58 and 62 of the GFCI plug 10 in order to form a load power sensing circuit for detecting the availability of AC power at the load terminals. The diode 206 is placed in series between the AC line output terminal 58 and the positive opto-isolator input terminal 274 to limit the reverse-bias potential across the LED 278. A resistor 286 is placed in series between the diode 284 and the LED 278 to limit the current flow through the LED 278. The LED 208 of FIG. 7 (which may be replaced by a neon bulb if desired) is placed in series between the resistor 286 and LED 278 in the circuit of FIG. 8, and is illuminated whenever AC power is available at the load terminals 58 and 62. The momentary pushbutton switch 36 is connected across the output terminals 280 and 282 of the opto-isolator 272 as shown; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) coupled to the control circuit board (i.e., such as control circuit board PCB 42/IC-Chip 212; for instance, as can be appreciated from FIG. 5, the principal components of the GFCI plug 10 are arranged in a tandem or in-line manner on the circuit board 42, with the plug blades 22, 24 at the top, the output terminals 58, 62 at the bottom, and the relay contact sets 44, 46, the relay coil 180 and the toroidal transformers 52, 54 arranged linearly in between. This arrangement is relatively compact and provides spaces on either side of the circuit board 42 for the resistors, capacitors, integrated circuits and other electrical components required to detect ground fault conditions and control the energization and de-energization of the relay coil 180. A particularly advantageous arrangement, which is employed in the illustrated embodiment, is to mount power supply components on the upper portion of the circuit board 42 (near the relay coil 180 and relay contact sets 44, 46), and to mount integrated circuits and other sensitive components on the lower part of the circuit board 42 to isolate them from interference caused by the operation of the relay coil 180 and relay contact sets 44, 46. In FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B, the electrical components carried by the circuit board 42 are individually designated to correspond with reference numerals used in the schematic diagrams of FIGS. 7 and 8, so that the preferred positions of the components will be apparent; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) to provide an indication (i.e., such as indication to SET/RESET; for instance, the input or control terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator 272 are connected to an internal light-emitting diode (LED) 278 which permits current to flow between the output terminals 280 and 282 of the opto-isolator when the LED 278 is forward-biased. In the circuit of FIG. 8, the input terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator are connected across the load or output terminals 58 and 62 of the GFCI plug 10 in order to form a load power sensing circuit for detecting the availability of AC power at the load terminals. The diode 206 is placed in series between the AC line output terminal 58 and the positive opto-isolator input terminal 274 to limit the reverse-bias potential across the LED 278. A resistor 286 is placed in series between the diode 284 and the LED 278 to limit the current flow through the LED 278. The LED 208 of FIG. 7 (which may be replaced by a neon bulb if desired) is placed in series between the resistor 286 and LED 278 in the circuit of FIG. 8, and is illuminated whenever AC power is available at the load terminals 58 and 62. The momentary pushbutton switch 36 is connected across the output terminals 280 and 282 of the opto-isolator 272 as shown; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) based on one or more states (i.e., such as on one or more states TEST, TRIP, SET, REST; for instance, the input or control terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator 272 are connected to an internal light-emitting diode (LED) 278 which permits current to flow between the output terminals 280 and 282 of the opto-isolator when the LED 278 is forward-biased. In the circuit of FIG. 8, the input terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator are connected across the load or output terminals 58 and 62 of the GFCI plug 10 in order to form a load power sensing circuit for detecting the availability of AC power at the load terminals. The diode 206 is placed in series between the AC line output terminal 58 and the positive opto-isolator input terminal 274 to limit the reverse-bias potential across the LED 278. A resistor 286 is placed in series between the diode 284 and the LED 278 to limit the current flow through the LED 278. The LED 208 of FIG. 7 (which may be replaced by a neon bulb if desired) is placed in series between the resistor 286 and LED 278 in the circuit of FIG. 8, and is illuminated whenever AC power is available at the load terminals 58 and 62. The momentary pushbutton switch 36 is connected across the output terminals 280 and 282 of the opto-isolator 272 as shown; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) of the core assembly (i.e., such as core assembly FIG. 5; for instance, FIG. 5 is an enlarged perspective view of the circuit board 42 of FIG. 3, shown removed from the front cover 14, and FIGS. 6A and 6B are elevational views of the upper portion of the circuit board 42 illustrating the closed and open positions, respectively, of the relay contact sets 44 and 46. These Figures illustrate two significant features of the GFCI plug 10, specifically, the novel construction of the relay contacts sets 44 and 46 and the space-saving layout of components on the circuit board 42. The two relay contacts set 44 and 46 are substantially identical to each other, although the corresponding components of each are mirror images of each other to provide a symmetrical arrangement about the vertical midline of the circuit board 42 as shown in FIG. 5; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+).
Regarding claim 7, McDonald in view of Aromin and the teachings of McDonald as modified by Aromin have been discussed above.
McDonald further discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+); wherein the one or more states (i.e., such as on one or more states TEST, TRIP, SET, REST; for instance, the input or control terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator 272 are connected to an internal light-emitting diode (LED) 278 which permits current to flow between the output terminals 280 and 282 of the opto-isolator when the LED 278 is forward-biased. In the circuit of FIG. 8, the input terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator are connected across the load or output terminals 58 and 62 of the GFCI plug 10 in order to form a load power sensing circuit for detecting the availability of AC power at the load terminals. The diode 206 is placed in series between the AC line output terminal 58 and the positive opto-isolator input terminal 274 to limit the reverse-bias potential across the LED 278. A resistor 286 is placed in series between the diode 284 and the LED 278 to limit the current flow through the LED 278. The LED 208 of FIG. 7 (which may be replaced by a neon bulb if desired) is placed in series between the resistor 286 and LED 278 in the circuit of FIG. 8, and is illuminated whenever AC power is available at the load terminals 58 and 62. The momentary pushbutton switch 36 is connected across the output terminals 280 and 282 of the opto-isolator 272 as shown; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) of the core assembly (i.e., such as core assembly FIG. 5; for instance, FIG. 5 is an enlarged perspective view of the circuit board 42 of FIG. 3, shown removed from the front cover 14, and FIGS. 6A and 6B are elevational views of the upper portion of the circuit board 42 illustrating the closed and open positions, respectively, of the relay contact sets 44 and 46. These Figures illustrate two significant features of the GFCI plug 10, specifically, the novel construction of the relay contacts sets 44 and 46 and the space-saving layout of components on the circuit board 42. The two relay contacts set 44 and 46 are substantially identical to each other, although the corresponding components of each are mirror images of each other to provide a symmetrical arrangement about the vertical midline of the circuit board 42 as shown in FIG. 5; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) include one or more of a connected state (i.e., such as connected state as ON, contacts 44 and 46 are closed; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+), a disconnected state (i.e., such as disconnected state as OFF, contacts 44 and 46 are opened; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+), a current leakage detected state (i.e., such as current leakage detected state as simulated ground fault by button 36/SET/RESET is TRIPPED by simulating ground fault via button 34/TEST; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+), an electrical fault state (i.e., such as electrical fault state as TRIPPED due to a real/non-simulation ground fault; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+), and a self-test fault state (i.e., such as self-test fault state as the pressing/de-pressing sequence of pushbuttons 34/TEST and 36/SET/RESET; for instance, when the TEST switch 34 is momentarily depressed, sufficient current will flow through the resistor 258 to cause an imbalance in the current flowing through the primary coil of the transformer 52. This will simulate a ground fault condition, causing the GFCI controller 212 to produce an output signal on line 221 that de-energizes the relay coil 180 by rendering the SCR 236 conductive and the MOSFET 248 nonconductive. The relay contact sets 44 and 46 will open, and can be closed again by depressing the RESET switch 36. If this sequence of events does not occur, the user will be alerted to the fact that the GFCI plug 10 is defective and requires repair or replacement; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+).
Regarding claim 8, McDonald in view of Aromin and the teachings of McDonald as modified by Aromin have been discussed above.
McDonald further discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+); wherein the status indicator (i.e., such as status indicator 208, 278; for instance, the input or control terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator 272 are connected to an internal light-emitting diode (LED) 278 which permits current to flow between the output terminals 280 and 282 of the opto-isolator when the LED 278 is forward-biased. In the circuit of FIG. 8, the input terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator are connected across the load or output terminals 58 and 62 of the GFCI plug 10 in order to form a load power sensing circuit for detecting the availability of AC power at the load terminals. The diode 206 is placed in series between the AC line output terminal 58 and the positive opto-isolator input terminal 274 to limit the reverse-bias potential across the LED 278. A resistor 286 is placed in series between the diode 284 and the LED 278 to limit the current flow through the LED 278. The LED 208 of FIG. 7 (which may be replaced by a neon bulb if desired) is placed in series between the resistor 286 and LED 278 in the circuit of FIG. 8, and is illuminated whenever AC power is available at the load terminals 58 and 62. The momentary pushbutton switch 36 is connected across the output terminals 280 and 282 of the opto-isolator 272 as shown; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) includes an indicator light (i.e., such as indicator light as LED/neon bulb; for instance, the input or control terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator 272 are connected to an internal light-emitting diode (LED) 278 which permits current to flow between the output terminals 280 and 282 of the opto-isolator when the LED 278 is forward-biased. In the circuit of FIG. 8, the input terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator are connected across the load or output terminals 58 and 62 of the GFCI plug 10 in order to form a load power sensing circuit for detecting the availability of AC power at the load terminals. The diode 206 is placed in series between the AC line output terminal 58 and the positive opto-isolator input terminal 274 to limit the reverse-bias potential across the LED 278. A resistor 286 is placed in series between the diode 284 and the LED 278 to limit the current flow through the LED 278. The LED 208 of FIG. 7 (which may be replaced by a neon bulb if desired) is placed in series between the resistor 286 and LED 278 in the circuit of FIG. 8, and is illuminated whenever AC power is available at the load terminals 58 and 62. The momentary pushbutton switch 36 is connected across the output terminals 280 and 282 of the opto-isolator 272 as shown; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+), wherein based on the state (i.e., such as on one or more states TEST, TRIP, SET, REST; for instance, the input or control terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator 272 are connected to an internal light-emitting diode (LED) 278 which permits current to flow between the output terminals 280 and 282 of the opto-isolator when the LED 278 is forward-biased. In the circuit of FIG. 8, the input terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator are connected across the load or output terminals 58 and 62 of the GFCI plug 10 in order to form a load power sensing circuit for detecting the availability of AC power at the load terminals. The diode 206 is placed in series between the AC line output terminal 58 and the positive opto-isolator input terminal 274 to limit the reverse-bias potential across the LED 278. A resistor 286 is placed in series between the diode 284 and the LED 278 to limit the current flow through the LED 278. The LED 208 of FIG. 7 (which may be replaced by a neon bulb if desired) is placed in series between the resistor 286 and LED 278 in the circuit of FIG. 8, and is illuminated whenever AC power is available at the load terminals 58 and 62. The momentary pushbutton switch 36 is connected across the output terminals 280 and 282 of the opto-isolator 272 as shown; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) of the core assembly (i.e., such as core assembly FIG. 5; for instance, FIG. 5 is an enlarged perspective view of the circuit board 42 of FIG. 3, shown removed from the front cover 14, and FIGS. 6A and 6B are elevational views of the upper portion of the circuit board 42 illustrating the closed and open positions, respectively, of the relay contact sets 44 and 46. These Figures illustrate two significant features of the GFCI plug 10, specifically, the novel construction of the relay contacts sets 44 and 46 and the space-saving layout of components on the circuit board 42. The two relay contacts set 44 and 46 are substantially identical to each other, although the corresponding components of each are mirror images of each other to provide a symmetrical arrangement about the vertical midline of the circuit board 42 as shown in FIG. 5; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+), the indicator light (i.e., such as indicator light as LED/neon bulb; for instance, the input or control terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator 272 are connected to an internal light-emitting diode (LED) 278 which permits current to flow between the output terminals 280 and 282 of the opto-isolator when the LED 278 is forward-biased. In the circuit of FIG. 8, the input terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator are connected across the load or output terminals 58 and 62 of the GFCI plug 10 in order to form a load power sensing circuit for detecting the availability of AC power at the load terminals. The diode 206 is placed in series between the AC line output terminal 58 and the positive opto-isolator input terminal 274 to limit the reverse-bias potential across the LED 278. A resistor 286 is placed in series between the diode 284 and the LED 278 to limit the current flow through the LED 278. The LED 208 of FIG. 7 (which may be replaced by a neon bulb if desired) is placed in series between the resistor 286 and LED 278 in the circuit of FIG. 8, and is illuminated whenever AC power is available at the load terminals 58 and 62. The momentary pushbutton switch 36 is connected across the output terminals 280 and 282 of the opto-isolator 272 as shown; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) is in an off state (i.e., such as off state as disconnected state as OFF, contacts 44 and 46 are opened; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+), steadily lit states (i.e., such as steadily lit states; for instance, in this type of switch, depression of the pushbutton 34 or 36 causes an internally-mounted conductive tab or layer to make contact with two conductive traces on the rear surface of a printed circuit board housed within the GFCI plug 10. Located adjacent to the pushbutton switches 34 and 36, at the edge of the recessed area 32, is a lens 38 for a light emitting diode (LED) or a neon bulb carried by the circuit board within the GFCI plug 10. The LED or neon bulb, when illuminated, provides an indication that the relay contacts within the GFCI plug 10 are closed and that power is available at the AC receptacle to which the GFCI plug 10 is connected; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) of one of multiple colors (i.e., such as one of multiple colors as the LED or neon bulb is illuminating; Note: Of course, it is well-known and it is by default that the light's color is one of plurality of colors as desired by the user), or flashing states one of multiple colors.
Regarding claim 9, McDonald in view of Aromin and the teachings of McDonald as modified by Aromin have been discussed above.
McDonald further discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+); wherein the indicator light (i.e., such as indicator light as LED/neon bulb; for instance, the input or control terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator 272 are connected to an internal light-emitting diode (LED) 278 which permits current to flow between the output terminals 280 and 282 of the opto-isolator when the LED 278 is forward-biased. In the circuit of FIG. 8, the input terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator are connected across the load or output terminals 58 and 62 of the GFCI plug 10 in order to form a load power sensing circuit for detecting the availability of AC power at the load terminals. The diode 206 is placed in series between the AC line output terminal 58 and the positive opto-isolator input terminal 274 to limit the reverse-bias potential across the LED 278. A resistor 286 is placed in series between the diode 284 and the LED 278 to limit the current flow through the LED 278. The LED 208 of FIG. 7 (which may be replaced by a neon bulb if desired) is placed in series between the resistor 286 and LED 278 in the circuit of FIG. 8, and is illuminated whenever AC power is available at the load terminals 58 and 62. The momentary pushbutton switch 36 is connected across the output terminals 280 and 282 of the opto-isolator 272 as shown; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) is configured to be steadily lit (i.e., such as steadily lit states; for instance, in this type of switch, depression of the pushbutton 34 or 36 causes an internally-mounted conductive tab or layer to make contact with two conductive traces on the rear surface of a printed circuit board housed within the GFCI plug 10. Located adjacent to the pushbutton switches 34 and 36, at the edge of the recessed area 32, is a lens 38 for a light emitting diode (LED) or a neon bulb carried by the circuit board within the GFCI plug 10. The LED or neon bulb, when illuminated, provides an indication that the relay contacts within the GFCI plug 10 are closed and that power is available at the AC receptacle to which the GFCI plug 10 is connected; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) or flashing in a first color (i.e., such as first color of multiple colors as the LED or neon bulb is illuminating; Note: Of course, it is well-known and it is by default that the light's color is one of plurality of colors as desired by the user) in response (i.e., such as in response; for instance, the input or control terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator 272 are connected to an internal light-emitting diode (LED) 278 which permits current to flow between the output terminals 280 and 282 of the opto-isolator when the LED 278 is forward-biased. In the circuit of FIG. 8, the input terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator are connected across the load or output terminals 58 and 62 of the GFCI plug 10 in order to form a load power sensing circuit for detecting the availability of AC power at the load terminals. The diode 206 is placed in series between the AC line output terminal 58 and the positive opto-isolator input terminal 274 to limit the reverse-bias potential across the LED 278. A resistor 286 is placed in series between the diode 284 and the LED 278 to limit the current flow through the LED 278. The LED 208 of FIG. 7 (which may be replaced by a neon bulb if desired) is placed in series between the resistor 286 and LED 278 in the circuit of FIG. 8, and is illuminated whenever AC power is available at the load terminals 58 and 62. The momentary pushbutton switch 36 is connected across the output terminals 280 and 282 of the opto-isolator 272 as shown; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) to the core assembly (i.e., such as core assembly FIG. 5; for instance, FIG. 5 is an enlarged perspective view of the circuit board 42 of FIG. 3, shown removed from the front cover 14, and FIGS. 6A and 6B are elevational views of the upper portion of the circuit board 42 illustrating the closed and open positions, respectively, of the relay contact sets 44 and 46. These Figures illustrate two significant features of the GFCI plug 10, specifically, the novel construction of the relay contacts sets 44 and 46 and the space-saving layout of components on the circuit board 42. The two relay contacts sets 44 and 46 are substantially identical to each other, although the corresponding components of each are mirror images of each other to provide a symmetrical arrangement about the vertical midline of the circuit board 42 as shown in FIG. 5; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) being in an electrical fault state (i.e., such as electrical fault state as TRIPPED due to a real/non-simulation ground fault; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+), or to be steadily lit in a second color in response to the core assembly being in a connected state, to be off or flashing in a second color in response to the core assembly being in a current leakage detected state, or to be steadily lit or flashing in a third color in response to the core assembly being in a self-test fault state.
Regarding claim 10, McDonald in view of Aromin and the teachings of McDonald as modified by Aromin have been discussed above.
McDonald further discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+); wherein the shell (i.e., such as shell 28, 12, 20, 14; for instance, the GFCI plug 10 includes a plastic housing which is made up of a rear cover 12, a front cover 14 and a wiring chamber cover 16. The rear cover 12 extends vertically from one end of the GFCI plug 10 to the other, while the front cover 14 has a lower edge 18 which terminates some distance above the bottom of the GFCI plug 10. The remaining distance between the bottom edge 18 of the front cover 14 and the bottom of the GFCI plug 10 is occupied by the wiring chamber cover 16. The front cover 14 is joined to the rear cover 12 along its entire perimeter by an adhesive along a seam line 20 to form a watertight enclosure. In order to preserve the watertight nature of the portion of the GFCI housing between by the covers 12 and 14, a generally rectangular flange 28 is formed around the plug blades 22, 24 and ground pin 26 to form a shallow cavity with the wall of the rear cover 12; see for example fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 17+) includes at least one status indication window (i.e., such as status indication window lens 38; for instance, in this type of switch, depression of the pushbutton 34 or 36 causes an internally-mounted conductive tab or layer to make contact with two conductive traces on the rear surface of a printed circuit board housed within the GFCI plug 10. Located adjacent to the pushbutton switches 34 and 36, at the edge of the recessed area 32, is a lens 38 for a light emitting diode (LED) or a neon bulb carried by the circuit board within the GFCI plug 10. The LED or neon bulb, when illuminated, provides an indication that the relay contacts within the GFCI plug 10 are closed and that power is available at the AC receptacle to which the GFCI plug 10 is connected; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) to permit direct observation (i.e., such as permit direct observation to lens 38; for instance, in this type of switch, depression of the pushbutton 34 or 36 causes an internally-mounted conductive tab or layer to make contact with two conductive traces on the rear surface of a printed circuit board housed within the GFCI plug 10. Located adjacent to the pushbutton switches 34 and 36, at the edge of the recessed area 32, is a lens 38 for a light emitting diode (LED) or a neon bulb carried by the circuit board within the GFCI plug 10. The LED or neon bulb, when illuminated, provides an indication that the relay contacts within the GFCI plug 10 are closed and that power is available at the AC receptacle to which the GFCI plug 10 is connected; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) of the one or more states (i.e., such as on one or more states TEST, TRIP, SET, REST; for instance, the input or control terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator 272 are connected to an internal light-emitting diode (LED) 278 which permits current to flow between the output terminals 280 and 282 of the opto-isolator when the LED 278 is forward-biased. In the circuit of FIG. 8, the input terminals 274 and 276 of the opto-isolator are connected across the load or output terminals 58 and 62 of the GFCI plug 10 in order to form a load power sensing circuit for detecting the availability of AC power at the load terminals. The diode 206 is placed in series between the AC line output terminal 58 and the positive opto-isolator input terminal 274 to limit the reverse-bias potential across the LED 278. A resistor 286 is placed in series between the diode 284 and the LED 278 to limit the current flow through the LED 278. The LED 208 of FIG. 7 (which may be replaced by a neon bulb if desired) is placed in series between the resistor 286 and LED 278 in the circuit of FIG. 8, and is illuminated whenever AC power is available at the load terminals 58 and 62. The momentary pushbutton switch 36 is connected across the output terminals 280 and 282 of the opto-isolator 272 as shown; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) of the core assembly (i.e., such as core assembly FIG. 5; for instance, FIG. 5 is an enlarged perspective view of the circuit board 42 of FIG. 3, shown removed from the front cover 14, and FIGS. 6A and 6B are elevational views of the upper portion of the circuit board 42 illustrating the closed and open positions, respectively, of the relay contact sets 44 and 46. These Figures illustrate two significant features of the GFCI plug 10, specifically, the novel construction of the relay contacts sets 44 and 46 and the space-saving layout of components on the circuit board 42. The two relay contacts set 44 and 46 are substantially identical to each other, although the corresponding components of each are mirror images of each other to provide a symmetrical arrangement about the vertical midline of the circuit board 42 as shown in FIG. 5; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) from outside (i.e., such as outside as being accessible by the user; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) of the shell (i.e., such as shell 28, 12, 20, 14; for instance, the GFCI plug 10 includes a plastic housing which is made up of a rear cover 12, a front cover 14 and a wiring chamber cover 16. The rear cover 12 extends vertically from one end of the GFCI plug 10 to the other, while the front cover 14 has a lower edge 18 which terminates some distance above the bottom of the GFCI plug 10. The remaining distance between the bottom edge 18 of the front cover 14 and the bottom of the GFCI plug 10 is occupied by the wiring chamber cover 16. The front cover 14 is joined to the rear cover 12 along its entire perimeter by an adhesive along a seam line 20 to form a watertight enclosure. In order to preserve the watertight nature of the portion of the GFCI housing between by the covers 12 and 14, a generally rectangular flange 28 is formed around the plug blades 22, 24 and ground pin 26 to form a shallow cavity with the wall of the rear cover 12; see for example fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 17+).
Regarding claim 11, McDonald in view of Aromin and the teachings of McDonald as modified by Aromin have been discussed above.
McDonald further discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+); wherein the status indication window (i.e., such as status indication window lens 38; for instance, in this type of switch, depression of the pushbutton 34 or 36 causes an internally-mounted conductive tab or layer to make contact with two conductive traces on the rear surface of a printed circuit board housed within the GFCI plug 10. Located adjacent to the pushbutton switches 34 and 36, at the edge of the recessed area 32, is a lens 38 for a light emitting diode (LED) or a neon bulb carried by the circuit board within the GFCI plug 10. The LED or neon bulb, when illuminated, provides an indication that the relay contacts within the GFCI plug 10 are closed and that power is available at the AC receptacle to which the GFCI plug 10 is connected; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) includes a light guide (i.e., such as light guide LED/neon-bulb 208, 272; for instance, in this type of switch, depression of the pushbutton 34 or 36 causes an internally-mounted conductive tab or layer to make contact with two conductive traces on the rear surface of a printed circuit board housed within the GFCI plug 10. Located adjacent to the pushbutton switches 34 and 36, at the edge of the recessed area 32, is a lens 38 for a light emitting diode (LED) or a neon bulb carried by the circuit board within the GFCI plug 10. The LED or neon bulb, when illuminated, provides an indication that the relay contacts within the GFCI plug 10 are closed and that power is available at the AC receptacle to which the GFCI plug 10 is connected; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+).
Regarding claim 12, McDonald in view of Aromin and the teachings of McDonald as modified by Aromin have been discussed above.
McDonald further discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+); wherein the input-end assembly (i.e., such as input-end assembly 22, 24, 26; for instance, as illustrated in FIG. 1, the GFCI plug 10 has a generally vertical, upstanding configuration, with the plug blades 22 and 24 and ground pin 26 extending horizontally outward from the upper rear portion of the housing and with the pushbuttons 34 and 36 and lens 38 accessible at the front of the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) or the output-end assembly (i.e., such as output-end assembly 58, 62; for instance, A line conductor 56 connects the load side of the relay contact set 44 to a line output terminal 58, and a neutral conductor 60 connects the load side of the relay contact set 46 to a neutral output terminal 62. The line and neutral conductors 56 and 60 both pass through the cores of the transformers 52 and 54 and are attached at their lower ends to conductive traces (located on the reverse side of the printed circuit board 42 and not visible in FIG. 3) which establish contact with the output terminals 58 and 62. The lower ends 64 and 66 of the output terminals 58 and 62, respectively, are provided with an enlarged rectangular shape to serve as nut plates. Holes 68 and 70 are formed in the nut plates to accommodate screws 69 (shown in FIG. 5) which are used with corresponding nuts 71 (also visible in FIG. 5) to secure the line and neutral conductors of the AC line cord 40 of FIG. 1 to the output terminals 58 and 62; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) includes resilient members (i.e., such as resilient members 150, 166; for instance, also attached to the circuit board 42, by means of a second rivet 146 located outside and slightly below the rivet 142, is a cantilevered spring arm having a base portion 148 and a resilient or deflectable portion 150. The base portion 148 is secured to the circuit board 42 by the rivet 146 and lies flat against the circuit board, and the resilient portion 150 is bent at an angle of 90. degree. The spring arm of the relay contact set 46 includes a base portion 162 which is secured to the circuit board 42 by means of a rivet 164, and a resilient or deflectable portion 166 which terminates in a free end 168, the latter being in contact with the bottom of the actuator 50. A disc-shaped contact 170 carried by the contact-bearing portion 160 of the fixed contact structure is positioned in opposed relationship with a similar disc-shaped contact 172 carried on the lower surface of the resilient or deflectable portion 166 of the spring arm; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+), wherein the resilient members (i.e., such as resilient members 150, 166; for instance, also attached to the circuit board 42, by means of a second rivet 146 located outside and slightly below the rivet 142, is a cantilevered spring arm having a base portion 148 and a resilient or deflectable portion 150. The base portion 148 is secured to the circuit board 42 by the rivet 146 and lies flat against the circuit board, and the resilient portion 150 is bent at an angle of 90. degree. The spring arm of the relay contact set 46 includes a base portion 162 which is secured to the circuit board 42 by means of a rivet 164, and a resilient or deflectable portion 166 which terminates in a free end 168, the latter being in contact with the bottom of the actuator 50. A disc-shaped contact 170 carried by the contact-bearing portion 160 of the fixed contact structure is positioned in opposed relationship with a similar disc-shaped contact 172 carried on the lower surface of the resilient or deflectable portion 166 of the spring arm; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) cooperate with the actuator assembly (i.e., such as actuator assembly 50/48; for instance, the actuator 50 of FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B is formed with rounded, downwardly-extending ridges 171 and 173 which bear against the respective free ends 152 and 168 of the spring arms. The actuator 50 is part of a one-piece plastic structure which also includes a cylindrical spacer 174 and a horizontal bar-like lower stop member 176. The actuator 50, spacer 174 and stop member 176 are carried as a unit by the plunger 178 of a relay coil 180. The relay coil 180 is housed within a U-shaped metal frame 182 which, along with a corresponding metal cover 184, concentrates the magnetic flux lines within the core 180. When the coil 180 is energized by an electrical current (as will occur during normal operation of the GFCI plug 10 in the absence of a ground fault condition), the metal plunger 178 is attracted to a magnetic core piece 188 which is secured to the bottom of the metal frame 182 and projects upwardly for a short distance into the core of the coil 180; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) to cause the input-end assembly (i.e., such as input-end assembly 22, 24, 26; for instance, as illustrated in FIG. 1, the GFCI plug 10 has a generally vertical, upstanding configuration, with the plug blades 22 and 24 and ground pin 26 extending horizontally outward from the upper rear portion of the housing and with the pushbuttons 34 and 36 and lens 38 accessible at the front of the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) and the output-end assembly (i.e., such as output-end assembly 58, 62; for instance, A line conductor 56 connects the load side of the relay contact set 44 to a line output terminal 58, and a neutral conductor 60 connects the load side of the relay contact set 46 to a neutral output terminal 62. The line and neutral conductors 56 and 60 both pass through the cores of the transformers 52 and 54 and are attached at their lower ends to conductive traces (located on the reverse side of the printed circuit board 42 and not visible in FIG. 3) which establish contact with the output terminals 58 and 62. The lower ends 64 and 66 of the output terminals 58 and 62, respectively, are provided with an enlarged rectangular shape to serve as nut plates. Holes 68 and 70 are formed in the nut plates to accommodate screws 69 (shown in FIG. 5) which are used with corresponding nuts 71 (also visible in FIG. 5) to secure the line and neutral conductors of the AC line cord 40 of FIG. 1 to the output terminals 58 and 62; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) to be separate (i.e., such as separate from each other as in disconnection state/OFF, contacts 44 and 46 are opened; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) from each other (i.e., such as separate from each other as in disconnection state/OFF, contacts 44 and 46 are opened; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) or in contact (i.e., such as in contact with each other as in connection state/ON, contacts 44 and 46 are closed; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) with each other (i.e., such as in contact with each other as in connection state/ON, contacts 44 and 46 are closed; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) to be in a disconnected state (i.e., such as disconnected state as OFF, contacts 44 and 46 are opened; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) or a connected state (i.e., such as connected state as ON, contacts 44 and 46 are closed; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+).
Regarding claim 17, McDonald in view of Aromin and the teachings of McDonald as modified by Aromin have been discussed above.
McDonald further discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+); wherein the core assembly (i.e., such as core assembly FIG. 5; for instance, FIG. 5 is an enlarged perspective view of the circuit board 42 of FIG. 3, shown removed from the front cover 14, and FIGS. 6A and 6B are elevational views of the upper portion of the circuit board 42 illustrating the closed and open positions, respectively, of the relay contact sets 44 and 46. These Figures illustrate two significant features of the GFCI plug 10, specifically, the novel construction of the relay contacts sets 44 and 46 and the space-saving layout of components on the circuit board 42. The two relay contacts sets 44 and 46 are substantially identical to each other, although the corresponding components of each are mirror images of each other to provide a symmetrical arrangement about the vertical midline of the circuit board 42 as shown in FIG. 5; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) includes a test assembly (i.e., such as test assembly recessed area 32/34; for instance, in this type of switch, depression of the pushbutton 34 or 36 causes an internally-mounted conductive tab or layer to make contact with two conductive traces on the rear surface of a printed circuit board housed within the GFCI plug 10. Located adjacent to the pushbutton switches 34 and 36, at the edge of the recessed area 32, is a lens 38 for a light emitting diode (LED) or a neon bulb carried by the circuit board within the GFCI plug 10. The LED or neon bulb, when illuminated, provides an indication that the relay contacts within the GFCI plug 10 are closed and that power is available at the AC receptacle to which the GFCI plug 10 is connected; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+), which includes a test switch (i.e., such as test switch 34; for instance, in this type of switch, depression of the pushbutton 34 or 36 causes an internally-mounted conductive tab or layer to make contact with two conductive traces on the rear surface of a printed circuit board housed within the GFCI plug 10. Located adjacent to the pushbutton switches 34 and 36, at the edge of the recessed area 32, is a lens 38 for a light emitting diode (LED) or a neon bulb carried by the circuit board within the GFCI plug 10. The LED or neon bulb, when illuminated, provides an indication that the relay contacts within the GFCI plug 10 are closed and that power is available at the AC receptacle to which the GFCI plug 10 is connected; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) coupled to the control circuit board (i.e., such as control circuit board PCB 42/IC-Chip 212; for instance, as can be appreciated from FIG. 5, the principal components of the GFCI plug 10 are arranged in a tandem or in-line manner on the circuit board 42, with the plug blades 22, 24 at the top, the output terminals 58, 62 at the bottom, and the relay contact sets 44, 46, the relay coil 180 and the toroidal transformers 52, 54 arranged linearly in between. This arrangement is relatively compact and provides spaces on either side of the circuit board 42 for the resistors, capacitors, integrated circuits and other electrical components required to detect ground fault conditions and control the energization and de-energization of the relay coil 180. A particularly advantageous arrangement, which is employed in the illustrated embodiment, is to mount power supply components on the upper portion of the circuit board 42 (near the relay coil 180 and relay contact sets 44, 46), and to mount integrated circuits and other sensitive components on the lower part of the circuit board 42 to isolate them from interference caused by the operation of the relay coil 180 and relay contact sets 44, 46. In FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B, the electrical components carried by the circuit board 42 are individually designated to correspond with reference numerals used in the schematic diagrams of FIGS. 7 and 8, so that the preferred positions of the components will be apparent; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) and a test button (i.e., such as test pushbutton 34; for instance, in this type of switch, depression of the pushbutton 34 or 36 causes an internally-mounted conductive tab or layer to make contact with two conductive traces on the rear surface of a printed circuit board housed within the GFCI plug 10. Located adjacent to the pushbutton switches 34 and 36, at the edge of the recessed area 32, is a lens 38 for a light emitting diode (LED) or a neon bulb carried by the circuit board within the GFCI plug 10. The LED or neon bulb, when illuminated, provides an indication that the relay contacts within the GFCI plug 10 are closed and that power is available at the AC receptacle to which the GFCI plug 10 is connected; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) attached to the test switch (i.e., such as test switch 34; for instance, in this type of switch, depression of the pushbutton 34 or 36 causes an internally-mounted conductive tab or layer to make contact with two conductive traces on the rear surface of a printed circuit board housed within the GFCI plug 10. Located adjacent to the pushbutton switches 34 and 36, at the edge of the recessed area 32, is a lens 38 for a light emitting diode (LED) or a neon bulb carried by the circuit board within the GFCI plug 10. The LED or neon bulb, when illuminated, provides an indication that the relay contacts within the GFCI plug 10 are closed and that power is available at the AC receptacle to which the GFCI plug 10 is connected; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+), where the test button (i.e., such as test pushbutton 34; for instance, in this type of switch, depression of the pushbutton 34 or 36 causes an internally-mounted conductive tab or layer to make contact with two conductive traces on the rear surface of a printed circuit board housed within the GFCI plug 10. Located adjacent to the pushbutton switches 34 and 36, at the edge of the recessed area 32, is a lens 38 for a light emitting diode (LED) or a neon bulb carried by the circuit board within the GFCI plug 10. The LED or neon bulb, when illuminated, provides an indication that the relay contacts within the GFCI plug 10 are closed and that power is available at the AC receptacle to which the GFCI plug 10 is connected; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) is exposed outside (i.e., such as exposed outside as being accessible by the user; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) the shell (i.e., such as shell 28, 12, 20, 14; for instance, the GFCI plug 10 includes a plastic housing which is made up of a rear cover 12, a front cover 14 and a wiring chamber cover 16. The rear cover 12 extends vertically from one end of the GFCI plug 10 to the other, while the front cover 14 has a lower edge 18 which terminates some distance above the bottom of the GFCI plug 10. The remaining distance between the bottom edge 18 of the front cover 14 and the bottom of the GFCI plug 10 is occupied by the wiring chamber cover 16. The front cover 14 is joined to the rear cover 12 along its entire perimeter by an adhesive along a seam line 20 to form a watertight enclosure. In order to preserve the watertight nature of the portion of the GFCI housing between by the covers 12 and 14, a generally rectangular flange 28 is formed around the plug blades 22, 24 and ground pin 26 to form a shallow cavity with the wall of the rear cover 12; see for example fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 17+).
Regarding claim 20, McDonald in view of Aromin and the teachings of McDonald as modified by Aromin have been discussed above.
McDonald further discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+); a corresponding preset parameter (i.e., such as corresponding preset parameter of the imbalanced currents with respect to the net flux generated; for instance, the transformer 52 serves as a differential transformer for detecting a connection between the line side of the AC load and an earth ground (not shown), while the transformer 54 serves as a grounded neutral transformer for detecting a connection between the neutral side of the AC load and an earth ground. In the absence of a ground fault, the currents flowing through the conductors 56 and 60 will be equal and opposite, and no net flux will be generated in the core 220 of the differential transformer 52. In the event that a connection occurs between the line side of the AC load and ground, however, the current flowing through the conductors 58 and 60 will no longer precisely cancel and a net flux will be generated in the core 220 of the transformer 52. This flux will give rise to a potential at the output of the secondary coil 224, and this output is applied to the inputs of the GFCI controller 212 to produce a trip signal on the output line 221. If the ground fault condition results from the neutral side of the AC load accidentally being connected to ground, a magnetic path is established between the differential transformer 52 and the grounded neutral transformer 54. When this occurs, a positive feedback loop is created around an operational amplifier within the GFCI controller 212, and the resulting oscillations of the amplifier will likewise give rise to the trip signal on line 221; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+); reset (i.e., such as reset 36; for instance, as is well known, an SCR will continue to conduct as long as current flows between its anode and cathode, even after the gating signal is removed. Thus, the SCR 236 will continue to maintain the relay coil 180 in a de-energized condition, and the contact sets 44 and 46 open, even after the ground fault condition has disappeared and the output of the GFCI controller 212 on line 221 has been restored to a zero-voltage level. Thus, the operation of the circuit 200 is similar to that of a GFCI device employing a mechanical circuit breaker, in that disappearance of the ground fault condition does not restore power to the AC load until a manual reset button is pushed. In the circuit of FIG. 7, momentary depression of the RESET pushbutton 36 will create a short circuit across the anode and cathode of the SCR 236, causing the SCR 236 to stop conducting current. When the RESET pushbutton 36 is released, the SCR 236 will remain in a non-conducting state in the absence of a new gating signal. This restores the control signal to the relay coil circuit and re-energizes the relay coil 180, thereby closing the relay contact sets 44 and 46 and restoring AC power to the load or output terminals 58 and 62; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Regarding claim 21, McDonald in view of Aromin and the teachings of McDonald as modified by Aromin have been discussed above.
McDonald further discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+); wherein the shell (i.e., such as shell 28, 12, 20, 14; for instance, the GFCI plug 10 includes a plastic housing which is made up of a rear cover 12, a front cover 14 and a wiring chamber cover 16. The rear cover 12 extends vertically from one end of the GFCI plug 10 to the other, while the front cover 14 has a lower edge 18 which terminates some distance above the bottom of the GFCI plug 10. The remaining distance between the bottom edge 18 of the front cover 14 and the bottom of the GFCI plug 10 is occupied by the wiring chamber cover 16. The front cover 14 is joined to the rear cover 12 along its entire perimeter by an adhesive along a seam line 20 to form a watertight enclosure. In order to preserve the watertight nature of the portion of the GFCI housing between by the covers 12 and 14, a generally rectangular flange 28 is formed around the plug blades 22, 24 and ground pin 26 to form a shallow cavity with the wall of the rear cover 12; see for example fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 17+) includes an upper shell (i.e., such as upper shell 14; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2. The GFCI plug 10 includes a plastic housing which is made up of a rear cover 12, a front cover 14 and a wiring chamber cover 16. The rear cover 12 extends vertically from one end of the GFCI plug 10 to the other, while the front cover 14 has a lower edge 18 which terminates some distance above the bottom of the GFCI plug 10. The remaining distance between the bottom edge 18 of the front cover 14 and the bottom of the GFCI plug 10 is occupied by the wiring chamber cover 16. The front cover 14 is joined to the rear cover 12 along its entire perimeter by an adhesive along a seam line 20 to form a watertight enclosure. The wiring chamber cover 16 is joined to the rear cover 12 by screws (not shown) so that the wiring chamber cover 16 can be removed for the purpose of attaching or removing an AC line cord. In a preferred embodiment, the GFCI plug 10 is approximately 5 inches in height, approximately 2 inches in width and (except in the area of the plug blades) approximately 1.5 inches in depth; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) and a lower shell (i.e., such as lower shell 16; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2. The GFCI plug 10 includes a plastic housing which is made up of a rear cover 12, a front cover 14 and a wiring chamber cover 16. The rear cover 12 extends vertically from one end of the GFCI plug 10 to the other, while the front cover 14 has a lower edge 18 which terminates some distance above the bottom of the GFCI plug 10. The remaining distance between the bottom edge 18 of the front cover 14 and the bottom of the GFCI plug 10 is occupied by the wiring chamber cover 16. The front cover 14 is joined to the rear cover 12 along its entire perimeter by an adhesive along a seam line 20 to form a watertight enclosure. The wiring chamber cover 16 is joined to the rear cover 12 by screws (not shown) so that the wiring chamber cover 16 can be removed for the purpose of attaching or removing an AC line cord. In a preferred embodiment, the GFCI plug 10 is approximately 5 inches in height, approximately 2 inches in width and (except in the area of the plug blades) approximately 1.5 inches in depth; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) attached to each other (i.e., such as attached to each other as sealed together; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+), the lower shell (i.e., such as lower shell 16; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2. The GFCI plug 10 includes a plastic housing which is made up of a rear cover 12, a front cover 14 and a wiring chamber cover 16. The rear cover 12 extends vertically from one end of the GFCI plug 10 to the other, while the front cover 14 has a lower edge 18 which terminates some distance above the bottom of the GFCI plug 10. The remaining distance between the bottom edge 18 of the front cover 14 and the bottom of the GFCI plug 10 is occupied by the wiring chamber cover 16. The front cover 14 is joined to the rear cover 12 along its entire perimeter by an adhesive along a seam line 20 to form a watertight enclosure. The wiring chamber cover 16 is joined to the rear cover 12 by screws (not shown) so that the wiring chamber cover 16 can be removed for the purpose of attaching or removing an AC line cord. In a preferred embodiment, the GFCI plug 10 is approximately 5 inches in height, approximately 2 inches in width and (except in the area of the plug blades) approximately 1.5 inches in depth; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) including a first lower shell portion (i.e., such as first lower shell portion 18/upper-edge of 16; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2. The GFCI plug 10 includes a plastic housing which is made up of a rear cover 12, a front cover 14 and a wiring chamber cover 16. The rear cover 12 extends vertically from one end of the GFCI plug 10 to the other, while the front cover 14 has a lower edge 18 which terminates some distance above the bottom of the GFCI plug 10. The remaining distance between the bottom edge 18 of the front cover 14 and the bottom of the GFCI plug 10 is occupied by the wiring chamber cover 16. The front cover 14 is joined to the rear cover 12 along its entire perimeter by an adhesive along a seam line 20 to form a watertight enclosure. The wiring chamber cover 16 is joined to the rear cover 12 by screws (not shown) so that the wiring chamber cover 16 can be removed for the purpose of attaching or removing an AC line cord. In a preferred embodiment, the GFCI plug 10 is approximately 5 inches in height, approximately 2 inches in width and (except in the area of the plug blades) approximately 1.5 inches in depth; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) and a second lower shell portion (i.e., such as second lower shell portion 16/bottom-edge of 16/14; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2. The GFCI plug 10 includes a plastic housing which is made up of a rear cover 12, a front cover 14 and a wiring chamber cover 16. The rear cover 12 extends vertically from one end of the GFCI plug 10 to the other, while the front cover 14 has a lower edge 18 which terminates some distance above the bottom of the GFCI plug 10. The remaining distance between the bottom edge 18 of the front cover 14 and the bottom of the GFCI plug 10 is occupied by the wiring chamber cover 16. The front cover 14 is joined to the rear cover 12 along its entire perimeter by an adhesive along a seam line 20 to form a watertight enclosure. The wiring chamber cover 16 is joined to the rear cover 12 by screws (not shown) so that the wiring chamber cover 16 can be removed for the purpose of attaching or removing an AC line cord. In a preferred embodiment, the GFCI plug 10 is approximately 5 inches in height, approximately 2 inches in width and (except in the area of the plug blades) approximately 1.5 inches in depth; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) attached to each other (i.e., such as attached to each other as being sealed together; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+), and wherein the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) further comprises least one sealing member (i.e., such as sealing member 20; for instance, the GFCI plug 10 includes a plastic housing which is made up of a rear cover 12, a front cover 14 and a wiring chamber cover 16. The rear cover 12 extends vertically from one end of the GFCI plug 10 to the other, while the front cover 14 has a lower edge 18 which terminates some distance above the bottom of the GFCI plug 10. The remaining distance between the bottom edge 18 of the front cover 14 and the bottom of the GFCI plug 10 is occupied by the wiring chamber cover 16. The front cover 14 is joined to the rear cover 12 along its entire perimeter by an adhesive along a seam line 20 to form a watertight enclosure. The wiring chamber cover 16 is joined to the rear cover 12 by screws (not shown) so that the wiring chamber cover 16 can be removed for the purpose of attaching or removing an AC line cord. In a preferred embodiment, the GFCI plug 10 is approximately 5 inches in height, approximately 2 inches in width and (except in the area of the plug blades) approximately 1.5 inches in depth; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) disposed between the upper shell (i.e., such as upper shell 14; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2. The GFCI plug 10 includes a plastic housing which is made up of a rear cover 12, a front cover 14 and a wiring chamber cover 16. The rear cover 12 extends vertically from one end of the GFCI plug 10 to the other, while the front cover 14 has a lower edge 18 which terminates some distance above the bottom of the GFCI plug 10. The remaining distance between the bottom edge 18 of the front cover 14 and the bottom of the GFCI plug 10 is occupied by the wiring chamber cover 16. The front cover 14 is joined to the rear cover 12 along its entire perimeter by an adhesive along a seam line 20 to form a watertight enclosure. The wiring chamber cover 16 is joined to the rear cover 12 by screws (not shown) so that the wiring chamber cover 16 can be removed for the purpose of attaching or removing an AC line cord. In a preferred embodiment, the GFCI plug 10 is approximately 5 inches in height, approximately 2 inches in width and (except in the area of the plug blades) approximately 1.5 inches in depth; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) and the lower shell (i.e., such as lower shell 16; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2. The GFCI plug 10 includes a plastic housing which is made up of a rear cover 12, a front cover 14 and a wiring chamber cover 16. The rear cover 12 extends vertically from one end of the GFCI plug 10 to the other, while the front cover 14 has a lower edge 18 which terminates some distance above the bottom of the GFCI plug 10. The remaining distance between the bottom edge 18 of the front cover 14 and the bottom of the GFCI plug 10 is occupied by the wiring chamber cover 16. The front cover 14 is joined to the rear cover 12 along its entire perimeter by an adhesive along a seam line 20 to form a watertight enclosure. The wiring chamber cover 16 is joined to the rear cover 12 by screws (not shown) so that the wiring chamber cover 16 can be removed for the purpose of attaching or removing an AC line cord. In a preferred embodiment, the GFCI plug 10 is approximately 5 inches in height, approximately 2 inches in width and (except in the area of the plug blades) approximately 1.5 inches in depth; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) and/or between the first lower shell portion and the second lower shell portion.
Claims 2 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDonald et al (US Patent No. 5661623) in view of Aromin (US Patent No. 5757598) and further in view of Borin (US Publication No. 20200217722).
Regarding claim 2, McDonald in view of Aromin and the teachings of McDonald as modified by Aromin have been discussed above.
Neither McDonald nor Aromin explicitly discloses wherein the fault detection assembly includes at least a temperature sensor coupled to the control circuit board and disposed adjacent to the input-end assembly to detect a temperature of the input-end assembly.
Borin discloses a temperature monitoring device (i.e., such as device 20; see for example fig. 2, para. [0034]- [0037]); wherein the fault detection assembly (i.e., such as fault detection assembly EVSE 10; see for example fig. 1A, para. [0033]) includes at least a temperature sensor (i.e., such as temperature sensor 24s; see for example fig. 2, para. [0037]) coupled to the control circuit board (i.e., such as control circuit board PCB 26; see for example fig. 2, para. [0035]) and disposed adjacent (i.e., such as adjacent as arranged proximally to the first aperture 30A; for instance, the plurality of temperature sensing elements 24 are each arranged proximal to the respective current carrying blade 18A, 18B of the electrical plug 14 and include at least a first temperature sensing element 24A arranged proximally to the first aperture 30A, and at least a second temperature sensing element 24B arranged proximally to the second aperture 30B. The plurality of temperature sensing elements 24 also comprise a first plurality of temperature sensing elements 32 (e.g. NTC1 and NTC2), and a second plurality of temperature sensing elements 34 (e.g. NTC3 and NTC4), each arranged proximal to each respective current carrying blade 18 of the electrical plug 14; see for example fig. 2, para. [0037]) to the input-end assembly (i.e., such as input-end assembly 30; for instance, The PCB 26 defines a plurality of apertures 30 each configured to receive one of the carrying blades 18 of the electrical plug 14. In the example illustrated in FIG. 2, the plurality of apertures 30 include a first aperture 30A for receiving a first current carrying blade 18A, a second aperture 30B for receiving a second current carrying blade 18B, and a third aperture 30C for receiving the ground conductor of the electrical plug 14; see for example fig. 1B, para. [0037]) to detect a temperature (i.e., such as detect temperature via 24s; see for example fig. 2, para. [0037]) of the input-end assembly (i.e., such as input-end assembly 30; for instance, The PCB 26 defines a plurality of apertures 30 each configured to receive one of the carrying blades 18 of the electrical plug 14. In the example illustrated in FIG. 2, the plurality of apertures 30 include a first aperture 30A for receiving a first current carrying blade 18A, a second aperture 30B for receiving a second current carrying blade 18B, and a third aperture 30C for receiving the ground conductor of the electrical plug 14; see for example fig. 1B, para. [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the temperature sensor in McDonald, as taught by Borin, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards preventing component failure and damage to infrastructure.
Regarding claim 18, McDonald in view of Aromin and further in view of Borin and the teachings of McDonald as modified by Aromin have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of McDonald as modified by Borin have been discussed above as well.
McDonald further discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+); wherein the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) is a power plug (i.e., such as power plug 10; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+), wherein the input-end assembly (i.e., such as input-end assembly 22, 24, 26; for instance, as illustrated in FIG. 1, the GFCI plug 10 has a generally vertical, upstanding configuration, with the plug blades 22 and 24 and ground pin 26 extending horizontally outward from the upper rear portion of the housing and with the pushbuttons 34 and 36 and lens 38 accessible at the front of the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) includes at least a pair of plug prongs (i.e., such as pair of plug prongs 22, 24; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) extending out of the shell (i.e., such as shell 28, 12, 20, 14; for instance, the GFCI plug 10 includes a plastic housing which is made up of a rear cover 12, a front cover 14 and a wiring chamber cover 16. The rear cover 12 extends vertically from one end of the GFCI plug 10 to the other, while the front cover 14 has a lower edge 18 which terminates some distance above the bottom of the GFCI plug 10. The remaining distance between the bottom edge 18 of the front cover 14 and the bottom of the GFCI plug 10 is occupied by the wiring chamber cover 16. The front cover 14 is joined to the rear cover 12 along its entire perimeter by an adhesive along a seam line 20 to form a watertight enclosure. In order to preserve the watertight nature of the portion of the GFCI housing between by the covers 12 and 14, a generally rectangular flange 28 is formed around the plug blades 22, 24 and ground pin 26 to form a shallow cavity with the wall of the rear cover 12; see for example fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 17+).
Borin furthermore discloses the temperature monitoring device (i.e., such as device 20; see for example fig. 2, para. [0034]- [0037]); wherein the temperature sensor (i.e., such as temperature sensor 24s; see for example fig. 2, para. [0037]) is disposed on an inner wall (i.e., such as inner wall of the housing of plug 14; see for example fig. 2, para. [0037]) of the shell (i.e., such as shell/housing of plug 14; see for example fig. 1B, para. [0037]) and between the pair of plug prongs or adjacent (i.e., such as adjacent as arranged proximally to the first aperture 30A; for instance, the plurality of temperature sensing elements 24 are each arranged proximal to the respective current carrying blade 18A, 18B of the electrical plug 14 and include at least a first temperature sensing element 24A arranged proximally to the first aperture 30A, and at least a second temperature sensing element 24B arranged proximally to the second aperture 30B. The plurality of temperature sensing elements 24 also comprise a first plurality of temperature sensing elements 32 (e.g. NTC1 and NTC2), and a second plurality of temperature sensing elements 34 (e.g. NTC3 and NTC4), each arranged proximal to each respective current carrying blade 18 of the electrical plug 14; see for example fig. 2, para. [0037]) to each plug prong (i.e., such as plug prong 18; see for example fig. 1B, para. [0037]).
Regarding claim 19, McDonald in view of Aromin and further in view of Borin and the teachings of McDonald as modified by Aromin have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of McDonald as modified by Borin have been discussed above as well.
Borin further discloses the temperature monitoring device (i.e., such as device 20; see for example fig. 2, para. [0034]- [0037]); a temperature detected (i.e., such as temperature detected via 24s; see for example fig. 2, para. [0034]- [0037]) by the temperature sensor (i.e., such as temperature sensor 24s; see for example fig. 2, para. [0034]- [0037]) exceeding (i.e., such as exceedingly as over; see for example fig. 2, para. [0034]) a preset parameter (i.e., such as preset parameter as in overtemperature parameters; for instance, the temperature condition 22 of the electrical plug 14 includes a condition selected from the group consisting of: a temperature of the electrical plug 14, the temperature associated with a respective current carrying blade 18, an ambient temperature surrounding the electrical plug 14, an overtemperature condition of the electrical plug 14, an overtemperature condition associated with a respective current carrying blade 18, and an identification of a respective current carrying blade 18; see for example fig. 2, para. [0034]).
McDonald furthermore discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+); by reset (i.e., such as reset 36; for instance, referring once again to FIG. 1, the front cover 14 of the GFCI plug 10 is formed with a recessed area 32 in which two momentary pushbutton switches 34 and 36 are provided. The pushbutton switch 34 serves as a TEST switch which allows the GFCI plug 10 to be tested by simulating a ground fault condition. The second pushbutton 36 serves as either a SET or RESET switch; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDonald et al (US Patent No. 5661623) in view of Aromin (US Patent No. 5757598) and further in view of Li (US Publication No. 20100067160).
Regarding claim 13, McDonald in view of Aromin and the teachings of McDonald as modified by Aromin have been discussed above.
McDonald further discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+); wherein the actuator assembly (i.e., such as actuator assembly 50/48; for instance, the actuator 50 of FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B is formed with rounded, downwardly-extending ridges 171 and 173 which bear against the respective free ends 152 and 168 of the spring arms. The actuator 50 is part of a one-piece plastic structure which also includes a cylindrical spacer 174 and a horizontal bar-like lower stop member 176. The actuator 50, spacer 174 and stop member 176 are carried as a unit by the plunger 178 of a relay coil 180. The relay coil 180 is housed within a U-shaped metal frame 182 which, along with a corresponding metal cover 184, concentrates the magnetic flux lines within the core 180. When the coil 180 is energized by an electrical current (as will occur during normal operation of the GFCI plug 10 in the absence of a ground fault condition), the metal plunger 178 is attracted to a magnetic core piece 188 which is secured to the bottom of the metal frame 182 and projects upwardly for a short distance into the core of the coil 180; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) includes a coil assembly (i.e., such as coil assembly 180; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) coupled to the control circuit board (i.e., such as control circuit board PCB 42/IC-Chip 212; for instance, as can be appreciated from FIG. 5, the principal components of the GFCI plug 10 are arranged in a tandem or in-line manner on the circuit board 42, with the plug blades 22, 24 at the top, the output terminals 58, 62 at the bottom, and the relay contact sets 44, 46, the relay coil 180 and the toroidal transformers 52, 54 arranged linearly in between. This arrangement is relatively compact and provides spaces on either side of the circuit board 42 for the resistors, capacitors, integrated circuits and other electrical components required to detect ground fault conditions and control the energization and de-energization of the relay coil 180. A particularly advantageous arrangement, which is employed in the illustrated embodiment, is to mount power supply components on the upper portion of the circuit board 42 (near the relay coil 180 and relay contact sets 44, 46), and to mount integrated circuits and other sensitive components on the lower part of the circuit board 42 to isolate them from interference caused by the operation of the relay coil 180 and relay contact sets 44, 46. In FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B, the electrical components carried by the circuit board 42 are individually designated to correspond with reference numerals used in the schematic diagrams of FIGS. 7 and 8, so that the preferred positions of the components will be apparent; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+), a magnetic frame assembly (i.e., such as magnetic frame assembly 182; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+), a reset plate (i.e., such as reset plate numeral 50; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+), and an iron core (i.e., such as iron core 188/178; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+), wherein the coil assembly (i.e., such as coil assembly 180; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) is disposed in the magnetic frame assembly (i.e., such as magnetic frame assembly 182; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) and is configured to generate a magnetic field (i.e., such as magnetic field/flux; for instance, the relay coil 180 is housed within a U-shaped metal frame 182 which, along with a corresponding metal cover 184, concentrates the magnetic flux lines within the core 180; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) in an energized state (i.e., such as energized state/ON/COLSE; for instance, when the coil 180 is energized by an electrical current (as will occur during normal operation of the GFCI plug 10 in the absence of a ground fault condition), the metal plunger 178 is attracted to a magnetic core piece 188 which is secured to the bottom of the metal frame 182 and projects upwardly for a short distance into the core of the coil 180. When this occurs, the actuator 50 is pulled downwardly as shown in FIG. 6A. Energization of the relay coil 180 causes both relay contact sets 44 and 46 to be held in the position shown in FIG. 6A, thereby establishing continuous conductive paths between the input terminals 22, 24 and the output terminals 58, 62 and delivering power from the AC source 204 to the load; see for example fig. 6A, Col. 4 lines 17+) and remove the magnetic field (i.e., such as magnetic field/flux; for instance, the relay coil 180 is housed within a U-shaped metal frame 182 which, along with a corresponding metal cover 184, concentrates the magnetic flux lines within the core 180; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) in a de-energized state (i.e., such as de-energized state/OFF/OPEN; for instance, when the relay coil 180 is de-energized, the relay contact sets 44 and 46 are both moved to the open position shown in FIG. 6B, thereby interrupting the conductive paths 56 and 60 and removing AC power from the load. The relay coil 180 is de-energized in response to the detection of a ground fault condition, in a manner to be described below, and prevents an electrical shock hazard by immediately and simultaneously removing power from both sides of the AC load when such a condition is detected; see for example fig. 6B, Col. 4 lines 17+), wherein the iron core (i.e., such as iron core 188/178; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) passes through an inner hole (i.e., such as inner hole through metal cover 184; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) of the coil assembly (i.e., such as coil assembly 180; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) and is configured to move (i.e., such as plunger 178/188 is configured to move UP and DOWN with respect to the Y-axis; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) in response to the energized state (i.e., such as energized state/ON/COLSE; for instance, when the coil 180 is energized by an electrical current (as will occur during normal operation of the GFCI plug 10 in the absence of a ground fault condition), the metal plunger 178 is attracted to a magnetic core piece 188 which is secured to the bottom of the metal frame 182 and projects upwardly for a short distance into the core of the coil 180. When this occurs, the actuator 50 is pulled downwardly as shown in FIG. 6A. Energization of the relay coil 180 causes both relay contact sets 44 and 46 to be held in the position shown in FIG. 6A, thereby establishing continuous conductive paths between the input terminals 22, 24 and the output terminals 58, 62 and delivering power from the AC source 204 to the load; see for example fig. 6A, Col. 4 lines 17+) or the de-energized state (i.e., such as de-energized state/OFF/OPEN; for instance, when the relay coil 180 is de-energized, the relay contact sets 44 and 46 are both moved to the open position shown in FIG. 6B, thereby interrupting the conductive paths 56 and 60 and removing AC power from the load. The relay coil 180 is de-energized in response to the detection of a ground fault condition, in a manner to be described below, and prevents an electrical shock hazard by immediately and simultaneously removing power from both sides of the AC load when such a condition is detected; see for example fig. 6B, Col. 4 lines 17+) of the coil assembly (i.e., such as coil assembly 180; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+).
Neither McDonald nor Aromin explicitly discloses that the metal of the plunger/magnetic core is iron.
Li discloses a leakage current protection plug (i.e., see for example fig. 1, para. [0023]- [0025]); wherein iron core (i.e., such as iron core 13; for instance, the leakage current protection device comprises two main moving arm 6, a reset button 15, a winding assembly 18, an iron core 13, a circuit board assemble 20 and an ZCT 4; see for example fig. 1, para. [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the iron core in McDonald, as taught by Li, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards amplifying the magnetic field strength, thereby more powerful actuation and faster switching response.
Regarding claim 14, McDonald in view of Aromin and further in view of Li and the teachings of McDonald as modified by Aromin have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of McDonald as modified by Li have been discussed above as well.
McDonald further discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+); wherein the reset plate (i.e., such as reset plate numeral 50; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) is attached to the iron core (i.e., such as iron core 188/178; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) and configured to be driven (i.e., such as configured to be driven/actuation by the magnetic flux generated from coil 180; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+), when the coil assembly (i.e., such as coil assembly 180; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) is energized (i.e., such as energized state/ON/COLSE; for instance, when the coil 180 is energized by an electrical current (as will occur during normal operation of the GFCI plug 10 in the absence of a ground fault condition), the metal plunger 178 is attracted to a magnetic core piece 188 which is secured to the bottom of the metal frame 182 and projects upwardly for a short distance into the core of the coil 180. When this occurs, the actuator 50 is pulled downwardly as shown in FIG. 6A. Energization of the relay coil 180 causes both relay contact sets 44 and 46 to be held in the position shown in FIG. 6A, thereby establishing continuous conductive paths between the input terminals 22, 24 and the output terminals 58, 62 and delivering power from the AC source 204 to the load; see for example fig. 6A, Col. 4 lines 17+), by movements (i.e., such as plunger 178/188 is configured to move UP and DOWN with respect to the Y-axis; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) of the iron core (i.e., such as iron core 188/178; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) from an initial position (i.e., such as initial position as zero-gap between the plate 176 and the frame 182; see for example fig. 6A, Col. 4 lines 17+), to cause the input-end assembly (i.e., such as input-end assembly 22, 24, 26; for instance, as illustrated in FIG. 1, the GFCI plug 10 has a generally vertical, upstanding configuration, with the plug blades 22 and 24 and ground pin 26 extending horizontally outward from the upper rear portion of the housing and with the pushbuttons 34 and 36 and lens 38 accessible at the front of the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) and the output-end assembly (i.e., such as output-end assembly 58, 62; for instance, A line conductor 56 connects the load side of the relay contact set 44 to a line output terminal 58, and a neutral conductor 60 connects the load side of the relay contact set 46 to a neutral output terminal 62. The line and neutral conductors 56 and 60 both pass through the cores of the transformers 52 and 54 and are attached at their lower ends to conductive traces (located on the reverse side of the printed circuit board 42 and not visible in FIG. 3) which establish contact with the output terminals 58 and 62. The lower ends 64 and 66 of the output terminals 58 and 62, respectively, are provided with an enlarged rectangular shape to serve as nut plates. Holes 68 and 70 are formed in the nut plates to accommodate screws 69 (shown in FIG. 5) which are used with corresponding nuts 71 (also visible in FIG. 5) to secure the line and neutral conductors of the AC line cord 40 of FIG. 1 to the output terminals 58 and 62; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) to be in contact (i.e., such as in contact as ON, contacts 44 and 46 are closed; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) and in a connected state (i.e., such as connected state as ON, contacts 44 and 46 are closed; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+), and wherein when the coil assembly (i.e., such as coil assembly 180; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) is de-energized (i.e., such as de-energized state/OFF/OPEN; for instance, when the relay coil 180 is de-energized, the relay contact sets 44 and 46 are both moved to the open position shown in FIG. 6B, thereby interrupting the conductive paths 56 and 60 and removing AC power from the load. The relay coil 180 is de-energized in response to the detection of a ground fault condition, in a manner to be described below, and prevents an electrical shock hazard by immediately and simultaneously removing power from both sides of the AC load when such a condition is detected; see for example fig. 6B, Col. 4 lines 17+), the resilient members (i.e., such as resilient members 150, 166; for instance, also attached to the circuit board 42, by means of a second rivet 146 located outside and slightly below the rivet 142, is a cantilevered spring arm having a base portion 148 and a resilient or deflectable portion 150. The base portion 148 is secured to the circuit board 42 by the rivet 146 and lies flat against the circuit board, and the resilient portion 150 is bent at an angle of 90. degree. The spring arm of the relay contact set 46 includes a base portion 162 which is secured to the circuit board 42 by means of a rivet 164, and a resilient or deflectable portion 166 which terminates in a free end 168, the latter being in contact with the bottom of the actuator 50. A disc-shaped contact 170 carried by the contact-bearing portion 160 of the fixed contact structure is positioned in opposed relationship with a similar disc-shaped contact 172 carried on the lower surface of the resilient or deflectable portion 166 of the spring arm; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) separate the input-end assembly (i.e., such as input-end assembly 22, 24, 26; for instance, as illustrated in FIG. 1, the GFCI plug 10 has a generally vertical, upstanding configuration, with the plug blades 22 and 24 and ground pin 26 extending horizontally outward from the upper rear portion of the housing and with the pushbuttons 34 and 36 and lens 38 accessible at the front of the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) from the output-end assembly (i.e., such as output-end assembly 58, 62; for instance, A line conductor 56 connects the load side of the relay contact set 44 to a line output terminal 58, and a neutral conductor 60 connects the load side of the relay contact set 46 to a neutral output terminal 62. The line and neutral conductors 56 and 60 both pass through the cores of the transformers 52 and 54 and are attached at their lower ends to conductive traces (located on the reverse side of the printed circuit board 42 and not visible in FIG. 3) which establish contact with the output terminals 58 and 62. The lower ends 64 and 66 of the output terminals 58 and 62, respectively, are provided with an enlarged rectangular shape to serve as nut plates. Holes 68 and 70 are formed in the nut plates to accommodate screws 69 (shown in FIG. 5) which are used with corresponding nuts 71 (also visible in FIG. 5) to secure the line and neutral conductors of the AC line cord 40 of FIG. 1 to the output terminals 58 and 62; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) into a disconnected state (i.e., such as disconnected state as OFF, contacts 44 and 46 are opened; see for example fig. 8, Col. 4 lines 17+) and drives (i.e., such as configured to be driven/actuation by the magnetic flux generated from coil 180; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) the reset plate (i.e., such as reset plate numeral 50; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) and the iron core (i.e., such as iron core 188/178; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) to move (i.e., such as plunger 178/188 is configured to move UP and DOWN with respect to the Y-axis; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) to the initial position (i.e., such as initial position as zero-gap between the plate 176 and the frame 182; see for example fig. 6A, Col. 4 lines 17+).
Li furthermore discloses the leakage current protection plug (i.e., see for example fig. 1, para. [0023]- [0025]); wherein iron core (i.e., such as iron core 13; for instance, the leakage current protection device comprises two main moving arm 6, a reset button 15, a winding assembly 18, an iron core 13, a circuit board assemble 20 and an ZCT 4; see for example fig. 1, para. [0023]).
Regarding claim 15, McDonald in view of Aromin and further in view of Li and the teachings of McDonald as modified by Aromin have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of McDonald as modified by Li have been discussed above as well.
McDonald further discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+); wherein the reset plate (i.e., such as reset plate numeral 50; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) has a first end (i.e., such as first end as the top face of numeral 50; see for example fig. 6, Col. 4 lines 17+) attached to the iron core (i.e., such as iron core 188/178; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) and a second end (i.e., such as second end bottom face of numeral 50/171/173; see for example fig. 6, Col. 4 lines 17+) adapted to abut against (i.e., such as adapted to abut against as the top face of numeral 50 versus the bottom face of numeral 50; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) the resilient members (i.e., such as resilient members 150, 166; for instance, also attached to the circuit board 42, by means of a second rivet 146 located outside and slightly below the rivet 142, is a cantilevered spring arm having a base portion 148 and a resilient or deflectable portion 150. The base portion 148 is secured to the circuit board 42 by the rivet 146 and lies flat against the circuit board, and the resilient portion 150 is bent at an angle of 90. degree. The spring arm of the relay contact set 46 includes a base portion 162 which is secured to the circuit board 42 by means of a rivet 164, and a resilient or deflectable portion 166 which terminates in a free end 168, the latter being in contact with the bottom of the actuator 50. A disc-shaped contact 170 carried by the contact-bearing portion 160 of the fixed contact structure is positioned in opposed relationship with a similar disc-shaped contact 172 carried on the lower surface of the resilient or deflectable portion 166 of the spring arm; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+), wherein the first end (i.e., such as first end as the top face of numeral 50; see for example fig. 6, Col. 4 lines 17+) and the second end (i.e., such as second end bottom face of numeral 50/171/173; see for example fig. 6, Col. 4 lines 17+) are configured to pivot around (i.e., such as 171 is to pivot around 152 and 173 is to pivot around 168; for instance, the actuator 50 of FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B is formed with rounded, downwardly-extending ridges 171 and 173 which bear against the respective free ends 152 and 168 of the spring arms. The actuator 50 is part of a one-piece plastic structure which also includes a cylindrical spacer 174 and a horizontal bar-like lower stop member 176. The actuator 50, spacer 174 and stop member 176 are carried as a unit by the plunger 178 of a relay coil 180. The relay coil 180 is housed within a U-shaped metal frame 182 which, along with a corresponding metal cover 184, concentrates the magnetic flux lines within the core 180; see for example fig. 6, Col. 4 lines 17+) a pivot axis (i.e., such as pivot axis as the X-axis; see for example fig. 6, Col. 4 lines 17+) under actions (i.e., such as actions as the deflection of the resilient portions 150 and 166 of the spring arms; see for example fig. 6, Col. 4 lines 17+) of the iron core (i.e., such as iron core 188/178; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) or the resilient members (i.e., such as resilient members 150, 166; for instance, also attached to the circuit board 42, by means of a second rivet 146 located outside and slightly below the rivet 142, is a cantilevered spring arm having a base portion 148 and a resilient or deflectable portion 150. The base portion 148 is secured to the circuit board 42 by the rivet 146 and lies flat against the circuit board, and the resilient portion 150 is bent at an angle of 90. degree. The spring arm of the relay contact set 46 includes a base portion 162 which is secured to the circuit board 42 by means of a rivet 164, and a resilient or deflectable portion 166 which terminates in a free end 168, the latter being in contact with the bottom of the actuator 50. A disc-shaped contact 170 carried by the contact-bearing portion 160 of the fixed contact structure is positioned in opposed relationship with a similar disc-shaped contact 172 carried on the lower surface of the resilient or deflectable portion 166 of the spring arm; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+).
Li furthermore discloses the leakage current protection plug (i.e., see for example fig. 1, para. [0023]- [0025]); wherein iron core (i.e., such as iron core 13; for instance, the leakage current protection device comprises two main moving arm 6, a reset button 15, a winding assembly 18, an iron core 13, a circuit board assemble 20 and an ZCT 4; see for example fig. 1, para. [0023]).
Regarding claim 16, McDonald in view of Aromin and further in view of Li and the teachings of McDonald as modified by Aromin have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of McDonald as modified by Li have been discussed above as well.
McDonald further discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device 10/male; for instance, a ground fault circuit interrupter plug (GFCI) 10 constructed in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+); wherein the reset assembly (i.e., such as reset assembly 36; for instance, the second pushbutton 36 serves as either a SET or RESET switch, depending upon whether the internal circuitry of the GFCI plug 10 is designed to provide manual or automatic setting; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) includes a reset switch (i.e., such as reset switch 36; for instance, the second pushbutton 36 serves as either a SET or RESET switch, depending upon whether the internal circuitry of the GFCI plug 10 is designed to provide manual or automatic setting; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) coupled to the control circuit board (i.e., such as control circuit board PCB 42/IC-Chip 212; for instance, as can be appreciated from FIG. 5, the principal components of the GFCI plug 10 are arranged in a tandem or in-line manner on the circuit board 42, with the plug blades 22, 24 at the top, the output terminals 58, 62 at the bottom, and the relay contact sets 44, 46, the relay coil 180 and the toroidal transformers 52, 54 arranged linearly in between. This arrangement is relatively compact and provides spaces on either side of the circuit board 42 for the resistors, capacitors, integrated circuits and other electrical components required to detect ground fault conditions and control the energization and de-energization of the relay coil 180. A particularly advantageous arrangement, which is employed in the illustrated embodiment, is to mount power supply components on the upper portion of the circuit board 42 (near the relay coil 180 and relay contact sets 44, 46), and to mount integrated circuits and other sensitive components on the lower part of the circuit board 42 to isolate them from interference caused by the operation of the relay coil 180 and relay contact sets 44, 46. In FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B, the electrical components carried by the circuit board 42 are individually designated to correspond with reference numerals used in the schematic diagrams of FIGS. 7 and 8, so that the preferred positions of the components will be apparent; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 17+) and a reset button (i.e., such as reset pushbutton 36; for instance, the second pushbutton 36 serves as either a SET or RESET switch, depending upon whether the internal circuitry of the GFCI plug 10 is designed to provide manual or automatic setting; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) attached to the reset switch (i.e., such as reset switch 36; for instance, the second pushbutton 36 serves as either a SET or RESET switch, depending upon whether the internal circuitry of the GFCI plug 10 is designed to provide manual or automatic setting; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+), wherein the reset button (i.e., such as reset pushbutton 36; for instance, the second pushbutton 36 serves as either a SET or RESET switch, depending upon whether the internal circuitry of the GFCI plug 10 is designed to provide manual or automatic setting; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) is exposed outside (i.e., such as exposed outside as being accessible by the user for pressing/depressing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 17+) the shell (i.e., such as shell 28, 12, 20, 14; for instance, the GFCI plug 10 includes a plastic housing which is made up of a rear cover 12, a front cover 14 and a wiring chamber cover 16. The rear cover 12 extends vertically from one end of the GFCI plug 10 to the other, while the front cover 14 has a lower edge 18 which terminates some distance above the bottom of the GFCI plug 10. The remaining distance between the bottom edge 18 of the front cover 14 and the bottom of the GFCI plug 10 is occupied by the wiring chamber cover 16. The front cover 14 is joined to the rear cover 12 along its entire perimeter by an adhesive along a seam line 20 to form a watertight enclosure. In order to preserve the watertight nature of the portion of the GFCI housing between by the covers 12 and 14, a generally rectangular flange 28 is formed around the plug blades 22, 24 and ground pin 26 to form a shallow cavity with the wall of the rear cover 12; see for example fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 17+).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838