DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10, 13, 14, 17, 18, and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8-10, 13, 14, 17, 18, and 20 recite the opening associated with “a [the] tie down of the trim cover assembly.” As the opening is introduced as being of the trim cover assembly or the comfort layer, it is unclear if this language is intended to specify that the opening must be in the trim cover assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bonk (US Patent Number 11312273).
Regarding claim 1, Bonk discloses an assembly, comprising: a trim cover assembly (including 20); a comfort layer (including 30); and a retention fastener (including 62, 68) including a stem and a crossbar (an upper or left portion, and a lower or right portion, respectively as in Figure 7 for instance), wherein the stem is joined to one of the trim cover assembly and the comfort layer at a joining point (the stem of 62 is joined to 20 at 68), the other of the trim cover assembly and the comfort layer includes an opening (44 of 30 for instance), and the retention fastener received through the opening with the crossbar opposite the opening from the joining point (see at least Figure 7).
Regarding claim 2, Bonk further discloses a seat frame (inherent even if not clearly described; alternatively, a base portion of the assembly as in Figure 1); and a seat cushion (18 for instance) supported by at least a portion of the seat frame, wherein the trim cover assembly is positioned over the seat cushion (this is the general arrangement).
Regarding claim 3, Bonk further discloses the comfort layer is positioned between the seat cushion and the trim cover assembly (this is the general arrangement; see again at least Figure 7).
Regarding claim 4, Bonk further discloses the comfort layer is a heat mat (member 30 provides heat via element 34).
Regarding claim 5, Bonk further discloses the retention fastener is T-shaped (see Figure 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bong. Bong discloses an assembly as explained above but may not disclose a method of use. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the assembly as claimed because the normal use of the device would encompass the steps as set forth.
Claim(s) 6-10 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bong in view of Brandt et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2014/0346820).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Bong discloses an assembly as explained above but does not disclose particular materials or welding. Brandt discloses a related device including the use of thermoplastic polyurethane and welding of components (see at least paragraphs 22-24). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use materials and welding as taught by Brandt in the Bong assembly because this could provide simple and inexpensive means of providing safe and secure components for user comfort and safety. Note that even if the arrangement of components were not clear (e.g. welding with comfort layer), duplication and reversal of components require only routine skill in the art. Accordingly, it would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the arrangement as claimed base on normal variation to improve fit, comfort, or convenience for various users.
Regarding claim 8, Bong discloses an assembly as explained above and would appear to at least disclose the opening provided at a tie down of the trim cover assembly but may not disclose it in the assembly as best understood. However, duplication and reversal of components require only routine skill in the art. Accordingly, it would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the arrangement as claimed base on normal variation to improve fit, comfort, or convenience for various users.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Bong discloses an assembly as explained above including a seat frame; and a seat cushion supported by at least a portion of the seat frame, wherein the trim cover assembly is positioned over the seat cushion, wherein the comfort layer is a heat mat positioned between the seat cushion and the trim cover assembly, and the retention fastener is T-shaped (see at least the rejections of claims 2-5 above), but does not disclose particular materials or welding, and may not disclose the opening arrangement as best understood. Brandt discloses a related device including the use of thermoplastic polyurethane and welding of components (see at least paragraphs 22-24). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use materials and welding as taught by Brandt in the Bong assembly because this could provide simple and inexpensive means of providing safe and secure components for user comfort and safety. Regarding the arrangement of components and the opening, duplication and reversal of components require only routine skill in the art. Accordingly, it would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the arrangement as claimed base on normal variation to improve fit, comfort, or convenience for various users.
Regarding claims 12-15, Bong, modified as described, discloses an assembly as explained above but may not disclose a method of use. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the assembly as claimed because the normal use of the device would encompass the steps as set forth.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PHILIP F GABLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636