DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application and are subject to examination herein.
Information Disclosure Statements
The four (4) information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 10/23/2024; 04/07/2025; 05/27/2025; and 09/29/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 13 recites “. . . along eth second operational range . . . .” and it appears that it should have recited “. . . along the second operation range . . . .” (Claim 13 at line 2); Claim 18 recites “. . . within eh second operational range . . . .” (Claim 18 at line 16) and it appears that it should have recited “. . . within the second operational range . . . .” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “in which the float arm is released from the retraced position” (Claim 1 at line 5). The metes and bounds of Claim 1 cannot be determined because it is unclear whether retraced is meant to recite retracted or a different term, namely retraced. Claims 2-10 each depend, either directly or ultimately, from Claim 1 and are, therefore, likewise rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret “retraced” to mean “retracted” therein.
Claim 18 recites “. . . flowing the fluid first location in response to the selective operation . . . .” (Claim 18 at line15). The metes and bounds of this limitation cannot be determined. The Examiner believes that Applicant may having intended to recite “. . . flowing the fluid into a first location in response to the selective operation . . . .” For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret Claim 18 in that way.
Claims 19 and 20 each depend directly from Claim 18 and are, therefore, likewise rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0153102 to Dunn et al. (hereinafter Dunn) (cited by Applicant in IDS filed on 09/29/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Dunn discloses a system for controlling operation of one or more float arms (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) of an agricultural header (header 104) (Fig. 1A; Paras. [0170]-[0172], [0174], [0176], [0255]), the system comprising:
a float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) pivotably connected (via connection to frame 303) (see Fig. 1A) to frame (frame 303) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) of the agricultural header (header 104) (Fig. 1A; Paras. [0170]-[0172], [0174], [0176], [0255]), the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) moveable between a locked configuration (e.g., retracted position above the ground) in which the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) is secured in retracted position (Para. [0284]) and an unlocked configuration (e.g., float above ground) in which the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) is released from the retracted position (e.g., float above ground);
a source of pressurized fluid (source 12 and/or pump 16) (Fig. 2; Para. [0178]) including a fluid at a first fluid pressure; and
a proportional valve (valve arrangement 18 including proportional pressure reducing relieving valve(s)) (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0125]-[0127], [0132], [0179]-[0180], [0195]-[0200]) that includes a first operational range and a second operational range (Paras. [0196]-[0199]), the proportional valve (valve arrangement 18 including proportional pressure reducing relieving valve(s)) (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0125]-[0127], [0132], [0179]-[0180], [0195]-[0200]) alterable into a first plurality of configurations within the first operational range to produce a first plurality of fluid flow rates of the fluid to the first location (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0196]-[0199]), each configuration of the first plurality of configurations corresponding to a different fluid flow rate of the first plurality of fluid flow rates, each of the different fluid flow rates associated with the first plurality of configurations operable to move the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) into the locked configuration (e.g., retracted position above the ground) at a different corresponding rate of movement, the proportional valve (valve arrangement 18 including proportional pressure reducing relieving valve(s)) (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0125]-[0127], [0132], [0179]-[0180], [0195]-[0200]) alterable into a second plurality of configuration within the second operational range to produce a second plurality of fluid flow rates of the fluid from the first location (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0196]-[0199]), each configuration of the first plurality of configurations corresponding to a different fluid flow rate of the second plurality of fluid flow rates, and each of the different fluid flow rates associated with the second plurality of configurations operable to move the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) into the unlocked configuration (e.g., float above ground) at a different corresponding rate of movement. It should be noted that when control valve 204 and shutoff valve 203 are both open to supply pressure on the head side of cylinder 116 that the position of the proportional valve 18 controls the rate of movement and fluid discharge into the sump of the hydraulic system. The same likewise applies in the other direction.
Regarding claim 2, Dunn discloses the system of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Dunn discloses a system wherein a first specified rate of movement associated with a first operational configuration (Fig. 6; Paras. [0238]-[0244]) of the proportional valve (valve arrangement 18 including proportional pressure reducing relieving valve(s)) (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0125]-[0127], [0132], [0179]-[0180], [0195]-[0200]) along the first operation range is different from a second specified rate of movement associated with a second operation configuration (Fig. 6; Paras. [0238]-[0244]) of the proportional valve (valve arrangement 18 including proportional pressure reducing relieving valve(s)) (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0125]-[0127], [0132], [0179]-[0180], [0195]-[0200]) along the first operational range (Fig. 6; Paras. [0238]-[0244]).
Regarding claim 3, Dunn discloses the system of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Dunn discloses a system wherein a fluid flow rate of the first plurality of fluid flow rates progressively increases in response to advancement along the first plurality of configurations within the first operational range (Fig. 6; Paras. [0238]-[0244]).
Regarding claim 4, Dunn discloses the system of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Dunn discloses a system wherein a fluid flow rate of the second plurality of fluid flow rates progressively increases in response to advancement along the second plurality of configurations within the second operational range (Fig. 6; Paras. [0238]-[0244]).
Regarding claim 5, Dunn discloses the system of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Dunn discloses a system wherein the specified rate of movement progressively increases in response to an increase in flow rate (Fig. 6; Paras. [0238]-[0244]).
Regarding claim 6, Dunn discloses the system of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Dunn discloses a system wherein the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) is pivotable over an angular range from a first limit position (upper limit of the hydraulic cylinders 116 and 117) (Figs. 1, 2-4; Paras. [0173]-[0179], [0197]-[0198], [0200], [0202], [0260]) to a second limit position (lower limit of the hydraulic cylinders 116 and 117) (Figs. 1, 2-4; Paras. [0173]-[0179], [0197]-[0198], [0200], [0202], [0260]) and wherein the first limit position (upper limit of the hydraulic cylinders 116 and 117) (Figs. 1, 2-4; Paras. [0173]-[0179], [0197]-[0198], [0200], [0202], [0260]) corresponds to the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) being in the locked configuration (e.g., retracted position above the ground).
Regarding claim 7, Dunn discloses the system of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Dunn discloses a system further comprising a fluid pressure sensor (pressure sensor(s) 40 and/or 41) (Figs. 2-4; Para. [0187]) configured to sense a fluid pressure of the fluid in the first location (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0196]-[0199]), and wherein the proportional valve (valve arrangement 18 including proportional pressure reducing relieving valve(s)) (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0125]-[0127], [0132], [0179]-[0180], [0195]-[0200]) includes a closed configuration that prevents passage of the fluid into or out of the first location (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0196]-[0199]), and wherein the proportional valve (valve arrangement 18 including proportional pressure reducing relieving valve(s)) (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0125]-[0127], [0132], [0179]-[0180], [0195]-[0200]) is configured into the closed configuration from the first operational range in response to a fluid pressure sensed by the fluid pressure sensor (pressure sensor(s) 40 and/or 41) (Figs. 2-4; Para. [0187]) satisfying a selected fluid pressure (Para. [0187]).
Regarding claim 8, Dunn discloses the system of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Dunn discloses a system further comprising a fluid pressure sensor (pressure sensor(s) 40 and/or 41) (Figs. 2-4; Para. [0187]) configured to sense a fluid pressure of the fluid in the first location (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0196]-[0199]), and wherein the proportional valve (valve arrangement 18 including proportional pressure reducing relieving valve(s)) (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0125]-[0127], [0132], [0179]-[0180], [0195]-[0200]) includes a closed configuration that prevents passage of the fluid into or out of the first location (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0196]-[0199]), and wherein the proportional valve (valve arrangement 18 including proportional pressure reducing relieving valve(s)) (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0125]-[0127], [0132], [0179]-[0180], [0195]-[0200]) is configured into the closed configuration from the second operational range in response to a fluid pressure sensed by the fluid pressure sensor (pressure sensor(s) 40 and/or 41) (Figs. 2-4; Para. [0187]) satisfying a selected fluid pressure (Para. [0187]).
Regarding claim 9, Dunn discloses the system of claim 8 (see above). Furthermore, Dunn discloses a system wherein the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) is pivotable over an angular range from a first limit position (upper limit of the hydraulic cylinders 116 and 117) (Figs. 1, 2-4; Paras. [0173]-[0179], [0197]-[0198], [0200], [0202], [0260]) to a second limit position (lower limit of the hydraulic cylinders 116 and 117) (Figs. 1, 2-4; Paras. [0173]-[0179], [0197]-[0198], [0200], [0202], [0260]), wherein the first limit position (upper limit of the hydraulic cylinders 116 and 117) (Figs. 1, 2-4; Paras. [0173]-[0179], [0197]-[0198], [0200], [0202], [0260]) corresponds to the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) being in the locked configuration (e.g., retracted position above the ground), and wherein, in response to the selected fluid pressure, the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) occupies a location along the angular range displaced from first limit position (upper limit of the hydraulic cylinders 116 and 117) (Figs. 1, 2-4; Paras. [0173]-[0179], [0197]-[0198], [0200], [0202], [0260]) and the second limit position (lower limit of the hydraulic cylinders 116 and 117) (Figs. 1, 2-4; Paras. [0173]-[0179], [0197]-[0198], [0200], [0202], [0260]).
Regarding claim 10, Dunn discloses the system of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Dunn discloses a system further comprising an accumulator (accumulator 60 and/or accumulator 200) (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0195], [0246], [0248], [0251]) in fluid communication with the first location (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0196]-[0199]).
Regarding claim 11, Dunn discloses an agricultural header (header 104) (Fig. 1A; Paras. [0170]-[0172], [0174], [0176], [0255]) comprising:
a first section (center frame section 64) (Fig. 9; Paras. [0037], [0256]-[0258], [0260]-[0261], [0273], [0282]-[0283]);
a wing section (Figs. 1A, 9; Paras. [0037], [0124], [0130], [0256]-[0258], [0260]-[0261], [0273], [0282]-[0283]) including a first end pivotably connected to the first section (center frame section 64) (Fig. 9; Paras. [0037], [0256]-[0258], [0260]-[0261], [0273], [0282]-[0283]), the wing section (Figs. 1A, 9; Paras. [0037], [0124], [0130], [0256]-[0258], [0260]-[0261], [0273], [0282]-[0283]) including a float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]), the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) moveable between a locked configuration (e.g., retracted position above the ground) in which the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) is secured in a retracted position and an unlocked configuration (e.g., float above ground) in which the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) is released from the retracted position;
a cutter bar (cutter bar 128) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) including a first portion (Figs. 1A, 9; Paras. [0037], [0124], [0130], [0256]-[0258], [0260]-[0261], [0273], [0282]-[0283]) and second portion (Figs. 1A, 9; Paras. [0037], [0124], [0130], [0256]-[0258], [0260]-[0261], [0273], [0282]-[0283]), the first portion (Figs. 1A, 9; Paras. [0037], [0124], [0130], [0256]-[0258], [0260]-[0261], [0273], [0282]-[0283]) of the cutter bar (cutter bar 128) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) extending along the first section (center frame section 64) (Fig. 9; Paras. [0037], [0256]-[0258], [0260]-[0261], [0273], [0282]-[0283]) and the second portion (Figs. 1A, 9; Paras. [0037], [0124], [0130], [0256]-[0258], [0260]-[0261], [0273], [0282]-[0283]) of the cutter bar (cutter bar 128) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) extending along the wing section (Figs. 1A, 9; Paras. [0037], [0124], [0130], [0256]-[0258], [0260]-[0261], [0273], [0282]-[0283]), the second portion (Figs. 1A, 9; Paras. [0037], [0124], [0130], [0256]-[0258], [0260]-[0261], [0273], [0282]-[0283]) connected to the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]); and
a float arm control system including:
a source of pressurized fluid (source 12 and/or pump 16) (Fig. 2; Para. [0178]) including a fluid at a first fluid pressure; and
a proportional valve (valve arrangement 18 including proportional pressure reducing relieving valve(s)) (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0125]-[0127], [0132], [0179]-[0180], [0195]-[0200]) that includes a first operational range configured to control a first rate of movement of the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) into the locked configuration (e.g., retracted position above the ground) and a second operational range configured to control a second rate of movement of the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) into the unlocked configuration (e.g., float above ground), the first rate of movement progressively increasing in response to the proportional valve (valve arrangement 18 including proportional pressure reducing relieving valve(s)) (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0125]-[0127], [0132], [0179]-[0180], [0195]-[0200]) being progressively advanced along the first operational range and the second rate of movement progressively adjusted in response to the proportional valve (valve arrangement 18 including proportional pressure reducing relieving valve(s)) (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0125]-[0127], [0132], [0179]-[0180], [0195]-[0200]) being progressively adjusted along the second operational range. It should be noted that when control valve 204 and shutoff valve 203 are both open to supply pressure on the head side of cylinder 116 that the position of the proportional valve 18 controls the rate of movement and fluid discharge into the sump of the hydraulic system. The same likewise applies in the other direction.
Regarding claim 12, Dunn discloses the agricultural header of claim 11 (see above). Furthermore, Dunn discloses an agricultural header (header 104) (Fig. 1A; Paras. [0170]-[0172], [0174], [0176], [0255]) wherein progressive adjustment of the proportional valve (valve arrangement 18 including proportional pressure reducing relieving valve(s)) (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0125]-[0127], [0132], [0179]-[0180], [0195]-[0200]) along the first operational range is operable to generate an increased fluid flow rate of the fluid into a first location (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0196]-[0199]), and wherein the fluid flow rate into the first location (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0196]-[0199]) controls the first rate of movement of the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) into the locked configuration (e.g., retracted position above the ground).
Regarding claim 13, Dunn discloses the agricultural header of claim 11 (see above). Furthermore, Dunn discloses an agricultural header (header 104) (Fig. 1A; Paras. [0170]-[0172], [0174], [0176], [0255]) wherein progressive adjustment of the proportional valve (valve arrangement 18 including proportional pressure reducing relieving valve(s)) (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0125]-[0127], [0132], [0179]-[0180], [0195]-[0200]) along the second operational range is operable to generate an increased fluid flow rate of the fluid from the first location (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0196]-[0199]), and wherein the fluid flow rate from the first location (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0196]-[0199]) controls the second rate of movement of the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) into the unlocked configuration (e.g., float above ground).
Regarding claim 14, Dunn discloses the agricultural header of claim 11 (see above). Furthermore, Dunn discloses an agricultural header (header 104) (Fig. 1A; Paras. [0170]-[0172], [0174], [0176], [0255]) wherein the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) is pivotable over an angular range from a first limit position (upper limit of the hydraulic cylinders 116 and 117) (Figs. 1, 2-4; Paras. [0173]-[0179], [0197]-[0198], [0200], [0202], [0260]) to a second limit position (lower limit of the hydraulic cylinders 116 and 117) (Figs. 1, 2-4; Paras. [0173]-[0179], [0197]-[0198], [0200], [0202], [0260]) and wherein the first limit position (upper limit of the hydraulic cylinders 116 and 117) (Figs. 1, 2-4; Paras. [0173]-[0179], [0197]-[0198], [0200], [0202], [0260]) corresponds to the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) being in the locked configuration (e.g., retracted position above the ground).
Regarding claim 15, Dunn discloses the agricultural header of claim 11 (see above). Furthermore, Dunn discloses an agricultural header (header 104) (Fig. 1A; Paras. [0170]-[0172], [0174], [0176], [0255]) further comprising a fluid pressure sensor (pressure sensor(s) 40 and/or 41) (Figs. 2-4; Para. [0187]) configured to sense a fluid pressure of the fluid in the first location (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0196]-[0199]), wherein the proportional valve (valve arrangement 18 including proportional pressure reducing relieving valve(s)) (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0125]-[0127], [0132], [0179]-[0180], [0195]-[0200]) is configured to prevent fluid flow of the first fluid into the first location (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0196]-[0199]) in response to the fluid pressure sensed by the fluid pressure sensor (pressure sensor(s) 40 and/or 41) (Figs. 2-4; Para. [0187]) satisfying a selected fluid pressure.
Regarding claim 16, Dunn discloses the agricultural header of claim 11 (see above). Furthermore, Dunn discloses an agricultural header (header 104) (Fig. 1A; Paras. [0170]-[0172], [0174], [0176], [0255]) further comprising a fluid pressure sensor (pressure sensor(s) 40 and/or 41) (Figs. 2-4; Para. [0187]) configured to sense a fluid pressure of the fluid in the first location (Paras. [0196]-[0199]), wherein the proportional valve is configured to prevent fluid flow of the first fluid from the first location (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0196]-[0199]) in response to the fluid pressure sensed by the fluid pressure sensor (pressure sensor(s) 40 and/or 41) (Figs. 2-4; Para. [0187]) satisfying a selected fluid pressure.
Regarding claim 17, Dunn discloses the agricultural header of claim 16 (see above). Furthermore, Dunn discloses an agricultural header (header 104) (Fig. 1A; Paras. [0170]-[0172], [0174], [0176], [0255]) wherein the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) is pivotable over an angular range from a first limit position (upper limit of the hydraulic cylinders 116 and 117) (Figs. 1, 2-4; Paras. [0173]-[0179], [0197]-[0198], [0200], [0202], [0260]) to a second limit position (lower limit of the hydraulic cylinders 116 and 117) (Figs. 1, 2-4; Paras. [0173]-[0179], [0197]-[0198], [0200], [0202], [0260]), wherein the first limit position (upper limit of the hydraulic cylinders 116 and 117) (Figs. 1, 2-4; Paras. [0173]-[0179], [0197]-[0198], [0200], [0202], [0260]) corresponds to the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) being in the locked configuration (e.g., retracted position above the ground), and wherein, in response to the selected fluid pressure, the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) occupies a location along the angular range displaced from first limit position (upper limit of the hydraulic cylinders 116 and 117) (Figs. 1, 2-4; Paras. [0173]-[0179], [0197]-[0198], [0200], [0202], [0260]) and the second limit position (lower limit of the hydraulic cylinders 116 and 117) (Figs. 1, 2-4; Paras. [0173]-[0179], [0197]-[0198], [0200], [0202], [0260]).
Regarding claim 18, Dunn discloses a method of controlling a position of a float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) of an agricultural header (header 104) (Fig. 1A; Paras. [0170]-[0172], [0174], [0176], [0255]), the method comprising:
moving a float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) of the agricultural header (header 104) (Fig. 1A; Paras. [0170]-[0172], [0174], [0176], [0255]) into a locked configuration (e.g., retracted position above the ground) including:
selectively operating a proportional valve (valve arrangement 18 including proportional pressure reducing relieving valve(s)) (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0125]-[0127], [0132], [0179]-[0180], [0195]-[0200]) within a first operational range in response to a first input, the input indicative of a rate at which a float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) of the agricultural header (header 104) (Fig. 1A; Paras. [0170]-[0172], [0174], [0176], [0255]) is to be moved into a locked configuration (e.g., retracted position above the ground);
flowing a fluid from a source of pressurized fluid (source 12 and/or pump 16) (Fig. 2; Para. [0178]) into a first location (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0196]-[0199]) in response to the selective operation of the proportional valve within the first operational range; and
moving the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) into a first position corresponding to the locked configuration (e.g., retracted position above the ground); or
moving the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) of the agricultural header (header 104) (Fig. 1A; Paras. [0170]-[0172], [0174], [0176], [0255]) into an unlocked configuration (e.g., float above ground) including:
selectively operating the proportional valve (valve arrangement 18 including proportional pressure reducing relieving valve(s)) (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0125]-[0127], [0132], [0179]-[0180], [0195]-[0200]) within a second operational range in response to a second input indicative of a rate at which the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) of the agricultural header (header 104) (Fig. 1A; Paras. [0170]-[0172], [0174], [0176], [0255]) is to be moved into an unlocked configuration (e.g., float above ground);
flowing the fluid into a first location (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0196]-[0199]) in response to the selective operation of the proportional valve (valve arrangement 18 including proportional pressure reducing relieving valve(s)) (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0125]-[0127], [0132], [0179]-[0180], [0195]-[0200]) within the second operational range; and
moving the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) into a second portion corresponding to an unlocked configuration (e.g., float above ground). It should be noted that when control valve 204 and shutoff valve 203 are both open to supply pressure on the head side of cylinder 116 that the position of the proportional valve 18 controls the rate of movement and fluid discharge into the sump of the hydraulic system. The same likewise applies in the other direction.
Regarding claim 19, Dunn discloses the method of claim 18 (see above). Furthermore, Dunn discloses a method wherein moving the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) of the agricultural header (header 104) (Fig. 1A; Paras. [0170]-[0172], [0174], [0176], [0255]) into the unlocked configuration (e.g., float above ground) further comprises:
sensing, with a fluid pressure sensor (pressure sensor(s) 40 and/or 41) (Figs. 2-4; Para. [0187]), a fluid pressure of the pressure in the first location (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0196]-[0199]), and
wherein selectively operating the proportional valve (valve arrangement 18 including proportional pressure reducing relieving valve(s)) (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0125]-[0127], [0132], [0179]-[0180], [0195]-[0200]) within the second operational range in response to the second input indicative of the rate at which the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) of the agricultural header (header 104) (Fig. 1A; Paras. [0170]-[0172], [0174], [0176], [0255]) is to be moved into an unlocked configuration (e.g., float above ground) includes selectively configuring the proportional valve (valve arrangement 18 including proportional pressure reducing relieving valve(s)) (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0125]-[0127], [0132], [0179]-[0180], [0195]-[0200]) into a closed condition in which fluid flow of the fluid from the first location (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0196]-[0199]) is prevented in response to the fluid pressure sensed by the fluid pressure sensor (pressure sensor(s) 40 and/or 41) (Figs. 2-4; Para. [0187]) satisfying a selected fluid pressure.
Regarding claim 20, Dunn discloses the method of claim 18 (see above). Furthermore, Dunn discloses a method wherein moving the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) into the second portion corresponding to the unlocked configuration (e.g., float above ground) includes pivoting the float arm (side draper(s) 305) (Fig. 1A; Para. [0174]) to a selected position along an angular range between a first limit position (upper limit of the hydraulic cylinders 116 and 117) (Figs. 1, 2-4; Paras. [0173]-[0179], [0197]-[0198], [0200], [0202], [0260]) corresponding to the locked configuration (e.g., retracted position above the ground) and a second limit position (lower limit of the hydraulic cylinders 116 and 117) (Figs. 1, 2-4; Paras. [0173]-[0179], [0197]-[0198], [0200], [0202], [0260]), the selected position being displaced from the first limit position (upper limit of the hydraulic cylinders 116 and 117) (Figs. 1, 2-4; Paras. [0173]-[0179], [0197]-[0198], [0200], [0202], [0260]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0274706 to Cook relates to an adjustable automatic flex arm lockout. Canadian Pat. Pub. No. CA 3 213 182 to Barnett et al. relates to a flexing header with float system. Canadian Pat. Pub. No. CA 3 200 682 to Vadnere et al. relates to a header height correction system and method. European Pat. Pub. No. EP 3 281 508 A1 to Barfels relates to an electronic latching circuit.
/CLAUDE J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671