DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Examiner Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-7, 12-13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng et al (US20190306000), in view of Zhang et al (US20210297300).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Meng discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a memory; and a processor (Fig. 7 discloses a schematic block diagram for an apparatus (first terminal device no or the second terminal device), the apparatus includes a transceiver 710 and a processor 720 and using storage such as RAM or ROM (¶0157)) configured to: receive information indicating a set of resources associated with accessing a network, wherein the set of resources comprises a first set of time-frequency resources and a second set of time-frequency resources (¶0031 discloses that the fifth indication information may directly indicate, to the first terminal device, that the first physical resource is the multiplexing resource... Morespecifically, when the first terminal device is an eMBB terminal device, the eMBB terminal device may occupy all the physical resources by default. Whenreceiving the fifth indication information sent by the network device, the eMBB terminal device may determine that the first physical resource is the multiplexingresource, and the remaining physical resources other than the first physical resource are dedicated resources); receive information indicating a multiple access signature (MAS) set (¶0078 discloses that receiving, by the first terminal device no, the second indication information sent by the network device 130, where the second indication information is used to indicate a first MAS set…determining, by the first terminal device no, the first MAS set according to the second indication
information, and determining, by the first terminal device no, the first MAS in the
first MAS set); select the first set of time-frequency resources or the second set of time-frequency resources thereby obtaining a selected set of time-frequency resources (¶0082 discloses that the first terminal device no determines the first MAS in the first MAS set. ¶0088 discloses that the eMBB terminal device may send the data on the multiplexing resource by using one MAS, and send the data on the dedicated resources by using another MAS. A MAS used to send the data on the multiplexing resource is different from a MAS used to send the data on the dedicated resources); and perform a transmission in the selected set of time-frequency resources using the WTRU determined MAS (¶0031 discloses that the eMBB terminal device may send the data on the multiplexing resource by using one MAS, and send the data on the dedicated resources by using another MAS).
However, Meng does not explicitly teach determine, by the WTRU, a MAS from the MAS set, according to the WTRU’s state of RRC connection, being one of: idle mode or inactive mode, thereby obtaining a WTRU determined MAS.
In an analogous art Zhang teaches determine, by the WTRU, a MAS from the MAS set, according to the WTRU’s state of RRC connection, being one of: idle mode or inactive mode, thereby obtaining a WTRU determined MAS (¶0783-¶786 disclose that the multiple access resources in the scheduling-free systems are allocated by the following two methods.
1. A multiple access resource pool is configured by a higher-layer signaling or a downlink control channel. A terminal equiprobably selects, from the multiple access resource pool, a multiple access resource for uplink data transmission.
2. Multiple access resources for scheduling-free transmission are configured semi-statically. A terminal performs data transmission by using the configured multiple access resources.
The first method of the two methods is applicable to terminals in the … the non-activated state or even the idle state, so that the signaling overhead can be reduced more effectively. However, since a terminal randomly selects, from the multiple access resource pool, resources for uplink data transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Zhang where the signaling overhead
can be reduced more effectively.
Regarding claims 6, 12, and 18, the combination of Meng and Zhang discloses all limitations of claims 1, 7, and 13 respectively. Zhang further discloses the set of resources associated with accessing the network comprises non-orthogonal resources (¶0808-¶0809 discloses that receiving, from a base station, configuration information of a multiple access resource pool… The multiple access resource pool includes any one of the following situations: a set of non-orthogonal multiple access time-frequency resources, and a correspondence between the reference signals and the set of non-orthogonal multiple access time-frequency resources; a set of orthogonal multiple access time-frequency resources, and a correspondence between the reference signals and the set of orthogonal multiple access time-frequency resources; and, a set of non-orthogonal multiple access time-frequency resources, a set of orthogonal multiple access time-frequency resources, a correspondence between the reference signals and the set of non-orthogonal multiple access time-frequency resources, and a correspondence between the reference signals and the set of orthogonal multiple access time-frequency resources).
Regarding claim 7, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, the cited reference Meng discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon which, when executed by one or more processors (Fig. 7 and ¶0157), cause the one or more processors to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Claims 2, 8, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng et al (US20190306000), in view of Zhang et al (US20210297300), in further view of Karaoguz et al (US20120157111).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Meng and Zhang discloses all limitations of claim 1. However, the combination does not explicitly teach the first set of time-frequency resources is associated with a high level reliability for the transmission and the second set of time-frequency resources is associated with a low level reliability for the transmission.
In an analogous art Karaoguz teaches the first set of time-frequency resources is associated with a high level reliability for the transmission and the second set of time-frequency resources is associated with a low level reliability for the transmission (¶0042 discloses that the first set of MIMO communication resources correspond to relatively high reliability communications, while the second set of MIMO communication resources might
generally correspond to relatively low reliability communications).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Karaoguz to allow efficient usage of the resource for different payload sizes and reduce base station complexity.
Regarding claim 8, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 10. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is drawn to a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon which, when executed by one or more processors perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 10. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 2.
Claims 3, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng et al (US20190306000), in view of Zhang et al (US20210297300) in further view of Park et al (US20190260417).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Meng and Zhang discloses all limitations of
claim 1. However, the combination does not explicitly teach determine a number of layers associated with the transmission; and perform the transmission in the selected set of time-frequency resources using the determined number of layers associated with the transmission.
In an analogous art Park teaches determine a number of layers associated with the transmission; and perform the transmission in the selected set of time-frequency resources using the determined number of layers associated with the transmission (¶0053 discloses that the base station may receive multiple concurrent uplink NOMA transmissions from multiple UEs. ¶0109-¶0110 disclose that the layer identifier may be used to index the codebook to identify a particular spreading sequence includes the set of spreading sequences to be used by the UE. The spreading sequence codebook used by the spreading sequence component 465-a may be designed as a total number of NOMA Layers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Park where NOMA techniques allow multiple different transmitters to transmit concurrent transmissions and enable access to more system bandwidth for transmitting devices (e.g., a user equipment (UE)), while simultaneously enabling a greater number of users to communicate on a set of time frequency resources.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 10. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as
claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is drawn to a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon which, when executed by one or more processors perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 10. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 2.
Claims 4-5, 10-11, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng et al (US20190306000), in view of Zhang et al (US20210297300), in further view of Cao et al (US20170288817).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Meng and Zhang discloses all limitations of claim 1. However, the combination does not explicitly teach receive an indication from the network; adjust the selected set of time-frequency resources and the MAS associated with the transmission based on the received indication from the network, thereby obtaining an adjusted set of time-frequency resources and an adjusted MAS; and perform a retransmission in the adjusted set of time-frequency resources using the adjusted MAS.
In an analogous art Cao teaches receive an indication from the network; adjust the selected set of time-frequency resources and the MAS associated with the transmission based on the received indication from the network, thereby obtaining an adjusted set of time-frequency resources and an adjusted MAS; and perform a retransmission in the adjusted set of time-frequency resources using the adjusted MAS (¶0057-¶0058 discloses that each UE may be assigned the use of a different MA signature. The assignment may change over time. For example, a UE may be assigned a first MA signature, and then at a later time the UE may be assigned another MA signature. The MA signature received and the time-frequency resource used may uniquely identify the UE and a particular UE may be assigned multiple MA signatures, e.g. a first MA signature for initial transmissions and a second MA signature for retransmissions where ¶0045 discloses that the time-frequency resources and MA signatures used for the data transmission may have a predefined mapping relationship, which means that a change of MA signature correspond to change in time-frequency resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Cao to use different MA signatures (i.e. first and second MA signature) where a first MA signature may be used for an initial transmission of a packet, and a second MA signature may be used for all retransmissions of that packet when
transmission is not successfully decoded.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Meng, Zhang, and Cao discloses all limitations of
claim 4. Cao further teaches adjusting the MAS comprises the processor being further configured to adjust one or more of a set of sequence indices, lengths, seeds, and cyclic phase shifts associated with the MAS (¶0047 discloses that each UE may be assigned the use of a different MA signature where ¶0034 discloses that the MA signature may take different forms. ¶0058 further discloses that the MA signature assigned to each UE of a group of UEs may change over time according to a hopping pattern).
Regarding claim 10, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 4. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 4.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same
features of the method of claim 5. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is drawn to a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon which, when executed by one or more processors perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 4. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 4.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is drawn to a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon which, when executed by one or more processors perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 5. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 5.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP ~ 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Respectfully submitted,
/ABDELILLAH ELMEJJARMI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462