DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 4-7 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the first band opening…the second band opening" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites “wherein at least one of the first opening and the second opening includes an actuation portion and a locking portion”. It appears the actuation portions and locking portions are located on the band openings (see Fig. 3-4) and not the openings of the main body (opening area where Lumen 114 is located). However, it’s a bit unclear to the examiner which openings applicant may be referring to.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the one or more band openings" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 12-13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maimon et al. US 2013/0152659.
Maimon discloses a crimping device (200) comprising: a housing comprising a base (214) and a main body (212), wherein the main body extends from the base and comprises a lumen (opening formed by 212) configured to receive a mechanically expandable prosthetic heart valve (216), the main body further comprising a first opening and a second opening, wherein the first opening and the second opening are spaced apart and extend from an inner surface of the main body that defines the lumen to an outer surface of the main body (see Figs. 15 and 17); and a crimping band (210) comprising a first end portion (211), a second end portion (213), and a loop (see Fig. 16) disposed between the first and second end portions.
As for claim 2, Maimon discloses wherein the first end portion (211) of the crimping band is fixedly coupled to the housing (212, see Fig. 17 above).
As for claim 3, Maimon discloses wherein the first end portion (211) of the crimping band is movably coupled to the housing (214, see fig. 17 above, movable by adjustable threaded screw knob 215).
As for claim 12, Maimon discloses a locking mechanism (threaded spindle and knob, 215 and movable jaw 214 relative to 212) coupled to the housing and configured to restrict relative movement between the crimping band and the housing.
As for claim 13, Maimon discloses wherein the locking mechanism is disposed adjacent to the one or more band openings (see Fig. 15).
As for claim 20, Maimon discloses wherein, when in the first configuration, the loop of the crimping band (210) has a first diameter and is configured such that the prosthetic heart valve (216) in a radially expanded configuration can be positioned radially within the loop, and when in the second configuration, the loop of the crimping band has a second diameter less than the first diameter (adjust threaded spindle 215 and jaws 212, 214; ¶0039).
Claim(s) 1-4, 12-13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown et al. WO 01/21110.
Brown discloses a crimping device (150, pg. 7, lines 26-33 and pg. 8, lines 1-9) comprising: a housing comprising a base (see Fig. 11 below, 150) and a main body (162), wherein the main body extends from the base and comprises a lumen (166) configured to receive a mechanically expandable prosthetic heart valve (130, 134), the main body further comprising a first opening (front open end of 166) and a second opening (back open end of 166), wherein the first opening and the second opening are spaced apart and extend from an inner surface of the main body that defines the lumen to an outer surface of the main body (see Fig. 11 below); and a crimping band (110) comprising a first end portion (122), a second end portion (122), and a loop (114, see Figs. 10-11) disposed between the first and second end portions.
As for claim 2, Brown discloses wherein the first end portion (122) of the crimping band (110) is fixedly coupled to the housing (154, 158).
As for claim 3, Brown discloses wherein the first end portion (122) of the crimping band (110) is movably coupled to the housing (movable through openings 170 and movable blocks 154; pg. 7, lines 26-33 and pg. 8, lines 1-9).
As for claim 4, Brown discloses wherein the first end portion (122) of the crimping band (110) is extends through a first band opening (170), and wherein the second end portion (122) of the crimping band extends through a second band opening (170).
As for claim 12, Brown discloses a locking mechanism (Pulling member 158 locks position of movable block 154) coupled to the housing and configured to restrict relative movement between the crimping band (110) and the housing (150, 162).
As for claim 13, Brown discloses wherein the locking mechanism is disposed adjacent to the one or more band openings (170, see Fig. 11 above).
As for claim 20, Brown discloses wherein, when in the first configuration, the loop of the crimping band (110) has a first diameter and is configured such that the prosthetic heart valve (130, 134) in a radially expanded configuration can be positioned radially within the loop, and when in the second configuration, the loop of the crimping band has a second diameter less than the first diameter (pg. 7, lines 26-33 and pg. 8, lines 1-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. WO 01/21110.
As for claims 8-9, Brown discloses all the limitations as recited above and further illustrates and recites wherein the loop of the crimping band is adjustable to contact an axial length of a prosthetic valve stent (130, 134). Brown does not specify wherein the loop of the crimping band is configured to contact less than one fourth of the axial length of the prosthetic heart valve or less than one eighth of the axial length of the prosthetic heart valve. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, that the crimping band of Brown would inherently have the dimensions to meet the claimed limitation. Furthermore, it would have been obvious
through routine engineering and/or optimization to modify the thickness of the crimping band such that the band only contacts less than one fourth to one eight of the axial length of the prosthetic heart valve as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10-11 and 14-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TYRONE V HALL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723