Status of Claims
2. This is a final action on the merits in response to the reply received 3/10/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejections.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11, and 20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 19-20 of copending Application No. 18910977 in view of US 20220094940 A1-Bandyopadhyay (Hereinafter referred to as “Band”), in view of US 20220248025 A1-Deng et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Deng”).
Referring to claims 1, 11, and 20, taking claim 1 as exemplary, although conflicting application 18910977, does not explicitly disclose what’s claimed in instant application 18912041, wherein determining the first decoding parameter based on the template region comprises: determining a reference sample value of the template region and determining the first decoding parameter based on the reference sample value of the template region ,wherein determining the reference sample value of the template region comprises: determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the template region, and determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of a reference region of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the reference region of the template region; when the above template and the left template are adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a top neighbouring region of the above template and a left neighbouring region of the left template, when the above template and the left template are non-adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a bottom neighbouring region of the above template and a right neighbouring region of the left template.
However, Band discloses determining a first predicted value of a second colour component of the current block based on the first weighting coefficient and a reference sample value of the second colour component of the current block ([0113]), wherein determining the first decoding parameter based on the template region comprises: determining a reference sample value of the template region (Fig 9-10, 13-14); and determining the first decoding parameter based on the reference sample value of the template region ([0110]), wherein determining the reference sample value of the template region comprises: determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the template region ([0113], reconstructed luma and chroma); and determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of a reference region of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the reference region of the template region ([0113], reconstructed chroma and luma)
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant's invention would have clearly recognized that it is quite advantageous for the instant application 18912041 to combine the teachings of Band. It is for this reason one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement wherein determining the first decoding parameter based on the template region comprises: determining a reference sample value of the template region and determining the first decoding parameter based on the reference sample value of the template region ,wherein determining the reference sample value of the template region comprises: determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the template region, and determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of a reference region of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the reference region of the template region to improve linear model estimation for template-based video coding (Band, [0122]).
In addition, conflicting application 18910977, does not explicitly disclose what’s claimed in instant application 18912041, when the above template and the left template are adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a top neighbouring region of the above template and a left neighbouring region of the left template, when the above template and the left template are non-adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a bottom neighbouring region of the above template and a right neighbouring region of the left template.
. Conversely, Deng discloses when the above template and the left template are adjacent to the current block (Fig 20, shows above and left templat that is adjacent to a target block; Fig 25 also discloses this limitation; fig 33), the reference region of the template region comprises a top neighbouring region of the above template and a left neighbouring region of the left template (Fig. 20 shows reference region comprising top neigboring region of the above and left regions; see fig. 25; fig 33), when the above template and the left template are non-adjacent to the current block (Fig 32 discloses above and left templates that are not adjacent. [0199] discloses an above sub-template 3230, and a right-above sub-template 3260 that are spaced apart from a block. the left sub-template 3240, and the left-below sub-template 3260 may be spaced horizontally apart from the block 2410 by a gap 3270), the reference region of the template region comprises a bottom neighbouring region of the above template and a right neighbouring region of the left template (See fig. 32).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant's invention would have clearly recognized that it is quite advantageous for the instant application 18910977 to combine the teachings of Band and Deng. It is for this reason one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement when the above template and the left template are adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a top neighbouring region of the above template and a left neighbouring region of the left template, when the above template and the left template are non-adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a bottom neighbouring region of the above template and a right neighbouring region of the left template to improve the prediction of the template ([0206], Deng). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 11, and 20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 19-20 of copending Application No. 18909593 in view of US 20220094940 A1-Bandyopadhyay (Hereinafter referred to as “Band”), in view of US 20220248025 A1-Deng et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Deng”).
Referring to claims 1, 11, and 20, taking claim 1 as exemplary, although conflicting application 18909593, does not explicitly disclose what’s claimed in instant application 18912041, wherein determining the first decoding parameter based on the template region comprises: determining a reference sample value of the template region and determining the first decoding parameter based on the reference sample value of the template region ,wherein determining the reference sample value of the template region comprises: determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the template region, and determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of a reference region of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the reference region of the template region; when the above template and the left template are adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a top neighbouring region of the above template and a left neighbouring region of the left template, when the above template and the left template are non-adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a bottom neighbouring region of the above template and a right neighbouring region of the left template.
However, Band discloses determining a first predicted value of a second colour component of the current block based on the first weighting coefficient and a reference sample value of the second colour component of the current block ([0113]), wherein determining the first decoding parameter based on the template region comprises: determining a reference sample value of the template region (Fig 9-10, 13-14); and determining the first decoding parameter based on the reference sample value of the template region ([0110]), wherein determining the reference sample value of the template region comprises: determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the template region ([0113], reconstructed luma and chroma); and determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of a reference region of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the reference region of the template region ([0113], reconstructed chroma and luma)
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant's invention would have clearly recognized that it is quite advantageous for the instant application 18912041 to combine the teachings of Band. It is for this reason one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement wherein determining the first decoding parameter based on the template region comprises: determining a reference sample value of the template region and determining the first decoding parameter based on the reference sample value of the template region ,wherein determining the reference sample value of the template region comprises: determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the template region, and determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of a reference region of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the reference region of the template region to improve linear model estimation for template-based video coding (Band, [0122]).
In addition, conflicting application 18909593, does not explicitly disclose what’s claimed in instant application 18912041, when the above template and the left template are adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a top neighbouring region of the above template and a left neighbouring region of the left template, when the above template and the left template are non-adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a bottom neighbouring region of the above template and a right neighbouring region of the left template.
. Conversely, Deng discloses when the above template and the left template are adjacent to the current block (Fig 20, shows above and left templat that is adjacent to a target block; Fig 25 also discloses this limitation; fig 33), the reference region of the template region comprises a top neighbouring region of the above template and a left neighbouring region of the left template (Fig. 20 shows reference region comprising top neigboring region of the above and left regions; see fig. 25; fig 33), when the above template and the left template are non-adjacent to the current block (Fig 32 discloses above and left templates that are not adjacent. [0199] discloses an above sub-template 3230, and a right-above sub-template 3260 that are spaced apart from a block. the left sub-template 3240, and the left-below sub-template 3260 may be spaced horizontally apart from the block 2410 by a gap 3270), the reference region of the template region comprises a bottom neighbouring region of the above template and a right neighbouring region of the left template (See fig. 32).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant's invention would have clearly recognized that it is quite advantageous for the instant application 18910977 to combine the teachings of Band and Deng. It is for this reason one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement when the above template and the left template are adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a top neighbouring region of the above template and a left neighbouring region of the left template, when the above template and the left template are non-adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a bottom neighbouring region of the above template and a right neighbouring region of the left template to improve the prediction of the template ([0206], Deng). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 11, and 20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 19-20 of copending Application No. 18908346 in view of US 20220094940 A1-Bandyopadhyay (Hereinafter referred to as “Band”), in view of US 20220248025 A1-Deng et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Deng”).
Referring to claims 1, 11, and 20, taking claim 1 as exemplary, although conflicting application 18908346, does not explicitly disclose what’s claimed in instant application 18912041, wherein determining the first decoding parameter based on the template region comprises: determining a reference sample value of the template region and determining the first decoding parameter based on the reference sample value of the template region ,wherein determining the reference sample value of the template region comprises: determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the template region, and determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of a reference region of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the reference region of the template region; when the above template and the left template are adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a top neighbouring region of the above template and a left neighbouring region of the left template, when the above template and the left template are non-adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a bottom neighbouring region of the above template and a right neighbouring region of the left template.
However, Band discloses determining a first predicted value of a second colour component of the current block based on the first weighting coefficient and a reference sample value of the second colour component of the current block ([0113]), wherein determining the first decoding parameter based on the template region comprises: determining a reference sample value of the template region (Fig 9-10, 13-14); and determining the first decoding parameter based on the reference sample value of the template region ([0110]), wherein determining the reference sample value of the template region comprises: determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the template region ([0113], reconstructed luma and chroma); and determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of a reference region of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the reference region of the template region ([0113], reconstructed chroma and luma)
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant's invention would have clearly recognized that it is quite advantageous for the instant application 18912041 to combine the teachings of Band. It is for this reason one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement wherein determining the first decoding parameter based on the template region comprises: determining a reference sample value of the template region and determining the first decoding parameter based on the reference sample value of the template region ,wherein determining the reference sample value of the template region comprises: determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the template region, and determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of a reference region of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the reference region of the template region to improve linear model estimation for template-based video coding (Band, [0122]).
In addition, conflicting application 18909593, does not explicitly disclose what’s claimed in instant application 18912041, when the above template and the left template are adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a top neighbouring region of the above template and a left neighbouring region of the left template, when the above template and the left template are non-adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a bottom neighbouring region of the above template and a right neighbouring region of the left template.
. Conversely, Deng discloses when the above template and the left template are adjacent to the current block (Fig 20, shows above and left templat that is adjacent to a target block; Fig 25 also discloses this limitation; fig 33), the reference region of the template region comprises a top neighbouring region of the above template and a left neighbouring region of the left template (Fig. 20 shows reference region comprising top neigboring region of the above and left regions; see fig. 25; fig 33), when the above template and the left template are non-adjacent to the current block (Fig 32 discloses above and left templates that are not adjacent. [0199] discloses an above sub-template 3230, and a right-above sub-template 3260 that are spaced apart from a block. the left sub-template 3240, and the left-below sub-template 3260 may be spaced horizontally apart from the block 2410 by a gap 3270), the reference region of the template region comprises a bottom neighbouring region of the above template and a right neighbouring region of the left template (See fig. 32).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant's invention would have clearly recognized that it is quite advantageous for the instant application 18908346 to combine the teachings of Band and Deng. It is for this reason one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement when the above template and the left template are adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a top neighbouring region of the above template and a left neighbouring region of the left template, when the above template and the left template are non-adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a bottom neighbouring region of the above template and a right neighbouring region of the left template to improve the prediction of the template ([0206], Deng). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 11, and 20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 19-20 of copending Application No. 18909187 in view of US 20220094940 A1-Bandyopadhyay (Hereinafter referred to as “Band”), in view of US 20220248025 A1-Deng et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Deng”).
Referring to claims 1, 11, and 20, taking claim 1 as exemplary, although conflicting application 18909187, does not explicitly disclose what’s claimed in instant application 18912041, wherein determining the first decoding parameter based on the template region comprises: determining a reference sample value of the template region and determining the first decoding parameter based on the reference sample value of the template region ,wherein determining the reference sample value of the template region comprises: determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the template region, and determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of a reference region of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the reference region of the template region; when the above template and the left template are adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a top neighbouring region of the above template and a left neighbouring region of the left template, when the above template and the left template are non-adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a bottom neighbouring region of the above template and a right neighbouring region of the left template.
However, Band discloses determining a first predicted value of a second colour component of the current block based on the first weighting coefficient and a reference sample value of the second colour component of the current block ([0113]), wherein determining the first decoding parameter based on the template region comprises: determining a reference sample value of the template region (Fig 9-10, 13-14); and determining the first decoding parameter based on the reference sample value of the template region ([0110]), wherein determining the reference sample value of the template region comprises: determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the template region ([0113], reconstructed luma and chroma); and determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of a reference region of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the reference region of the template region ([0113], reconstructed chroma and luma)
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant's invention would have clearly recognized that it is quite advantageous for the instant application 18912041 to combine the teachings of Band. It is for this reason one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement wherein determining the first decoding parameter based on the template region comprises: determining a reference sample value of the template region and determining the first decoding parameter based on the reference sample value of the template region ,wherein determining the reference sample value of the template region comprises: determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the template region, and determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of a reference region of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the reference region of the template region to improve linear model estimation for template-based video coding (Band, [0122]).
In addition, conflicting application 18909187, does not explicitly disclose what’s claimed in instant application 18912041, when the above template and the left template are adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a top neighbouring region of the above template and a left neighbouring region of the left template, when the above template and the left template are non-adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a bottom neighbouring region of the above template and a right neighbouring region of the left template.
. Conversely, Deng discloses when the above template and the left template are adjacent to the current block (Fig 20, shows above and left templat that is adjacent to a target block; Fig 25 also discloses this limitation; fig 33), the reference region of the template region comprises a top neighbouring region of the above template and a left neighbouring region of the left template (Fig. 20 shows reference region comprising top neigboring region of the above and left regions; see fig. 25; fig 33), when the above template and the left template are non-adjacent to the current block (Fig 32 discloses above and left templates that are not adjacent. [0199] discloses an above sub-template 3230, and a right-above sub-template 3260 that are spaced apart from a block. the left sub-template 3240, and the left-below sub-template 3260 may be spaced horizontally apart from the block 2410 by a gap 3270), the reference region of the template region comprises a bottom neighbouring region of the above template and a right neighbouring region of the left template (See fig. 32).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant's invention would have clearly recognized that it is quite advantageous for the instant application 18912041 to combine the teachings of Band and Deng. It is for this reason one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement when the above template and the left template are adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a top neighbouring region of the above template and a left neighbouring region of the left template, when the above template and the left template are non-adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a bottom neighbouring region of the above template and a right neighbouring region of the left template to improve the prediction of the template ([0206], Deng). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 11, and 20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12, 20 of copending Application No. 18907838 in view of US 20220094940 A1-Bandyopadhyay (Hereinafter referred to as “Band”), in view of US 20220248025 A1-Deng et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Deng”).
Referring to claims 1, 11, and 20, taking claim 1 as exemplary, although conflicting application 18907838, does not explicitly disclose what’s claimed in instant application 18912041, when the above template and the left template are adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a top neighbouring region of the above template and a left neighbouring region of the left template, when the above template and the left template are non-adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a bottom neighbouring region of the above template and a right neighbouring region of the left template.
However, Deng discloses when the above template and the left template are adjacent to the current block (Fig 20, shows above and left templat that is adjacent to a target block; Fig 25 also discloses this limitation; fig 33), the reference region of the template region comprises a top neighbouring region of the above template and a left neighbouring region of the left template (Fig. 20 shows reference region comprising top neigboring region of the above and left regions; see fig. 25; fig 33), when the above template and the left template are non-adjacent to the current block (Fig 32 discloses above and left templates that are not adjacent. [0199] discloses an above sub-template 3230, and a right-above sub-template 3260 that are spaced apart from a block. the left sub-template 3240, and the left-below sub-template 3260 may be spaced horizontally apart from the block 2410 by a gap 3270), the reference region of the template region comprises a bottom neighbouring region of the above template and a right neighbouring region of the left template (See fig. 32).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant's invention would have clearly recognized that it is quite advantageous for the instant application 18912041 to combine the teachings of Deng. It is for this reason one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement when the above template and the left template are adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a top neighbouring region of the above template and a left neighbouring region of the left template, when the above template and the left template are non-adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a bottom neighbouring region of the above template and a right neighbouring region of the left template to improve the prediction of the template ([0206], Deng). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220094940 A1-Bandyopadhyay (Hereinafter referred to as “Band”), in view of US 20220248025 A1-Deng et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Deng”).
Regarding claim 1, Band discloses a decoding method, comprising:
determining a first decoding parameter based on a template region ([0110], LIC parameters);
determining a reference sample value of a first colour component of a current block ([0107], wherein reconstructed samples are used. Reconstructed samples are reference samples; [0109], wherein reconstructed neighboring luma samples. The luma samples are interpreted as the first colour component);
determining a first weighting coefficient based on the reference sample value of the first colour component of the current block and the first decoding parameter ([0107], [0110] wherein scaling factor α and offset β based on template reference samples from regions. The scaling factors are weight); and
determining a first predicted value of a second colour component of the current block based on the first weighting coefficient and a reference sample value of the second colour component of the current block ([0113]), wherein determining the first decoding parameter based on the template region comprises: determining a reference sample value of the template region (Fig 9-10, 13-14); and determining the first decoding parameter based on the reference sample value of the template region ([0110]), wherein determining the reference sample value of the template region comprises: determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the template region ([0113], reconstructed luma and chroma); and determining a reconstructed value of a first colour component of a reference region of the template region, and a reconstructed value of a second colour component of the reference region of the template region ([0113], reconstructed chroma and luma)
Band explicitly fails to disclose when the above template and the left template are adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a top neighbouring region of the above template and a left neighbouring region of the left template, when the above template and the left template are non-adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a bottom neighbouring region of the above template and a right neighbouring region of the left template.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Deng discloses when the above template and the left template are adjacent to the current block (Fig 20, shows above and left templat that is adjacent to a target block; Fig 25 also discloses this limitation; fig 33), the reference region of the template region comprises a top neighbouring region of the above template and a left neighbouring region of the left template (Fig. 20 shows reference region comprising top neigboring region of the above and left regions; see fig. 25; fig 33), when the above template and the left template are non-adjacent to the current block (Fig 32 discloses above and left templates that are not adjacent. [0199] discloses an above sub-template 3230, and a right-above sub-template 3260 that are spaced apart from a block. the left sub-template 3240, and the left-below sub-template 3260 may be spaced horizontally apart from the block 2410 by a gap 3270), the reference region of the template region comprises a bottom neighbouring region of the above template and a right neighbouring region of the left template (See fig. 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Band to disclose when the above template and the left template are adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a top neighbouring region of the above template and a left neighbouring region of the left template, when the above template and the left template are non-adjacent to the current block, the reference region of the template region comprises a bottom neighbouring region of the above template and a right neighbouring region of the left template as taught by Deng, to improve the prediction of the template ([0206], Deng).
Regarding claim 11, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 11, wherein encoding is the opposite of decoding ([0122])
Regarding claim 20, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10, 13-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims if Double Patent issues are resolved.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LERON . BECK
Examiner
Art Unit 2487
/LERON BECK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487