Claim Interpretation
During patent examination, pending claims must be “given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.” MPEP 2111; See also, MPEP 2173.02. Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-551 (CCPA 1969). See also, In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321-22, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“During patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow”). The reason is simply that during patent prosecution when claims can be amended, ambiguities should be recognized, scope and breadth of language explored, and clarification imposed. An essential purpose of patent examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous. Only in this way can uncertainties of claim scope be removed, as much as possible, during the administrative process.
The Examiner respectfully requests of the Applicant in preparing responses, to consider fully the entirety of the reference(s) as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. It is noted, REFERENCES ARE RELEVANT AS PRIOR ART FOR ALL THEY CONTAIN.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0105473 A1 to Bar-Zeev et al. (hereinafter Bar-Zeev).
With regard to claim 1, Bar-Zeev discloses:
1. An information processing system comprising:
a first information processing apparatus (see, Fig. 2, and Fig, 3, ; and detailed description, including, each head mounted display device 2 is in communication with its own processing unit 4, para. 0026)
a second information processing apparatus comprising circuitry configured to
receive an image of a real space captured by an image capturing device (see, detailed description, including, the hub computing system and one or more of the processing units may cooperate to build a model of the environment including the x, y, z Cartesian positions of all users, real world objects, para. 0004);
identify at least one feature point based on the received image (see, detailed description, including, the system will detect and track moving objects such as humans moving in the room, and update the scene map based on the positions of moving objects, para. 0106);
generate a three-dimensional map of the real space based on the at least one identified feature point (see, detailed description, including, the hub determines the x, y and z position, the orientation and the FOV of each head mounted display device 2 for all users within the system 10, para. 0106);
determine a first target area based on the generated three-dimensional map (see, detailed description, including, the calibrated image data for the scene is analyzed at the hub to determine both the user head position and a face unit vector looking straight out from a user's face, para. 0107); and
control a display to display a first virtual object (see, detailed description, including, Using current and past data relating to a model of the environment (including users, real world objects and virtual objects) and a user's field of view of that environment, the system extrapolates into the future to predict the model of the environment and a user's field of view of that environment at a time when the image of the environment is to be displayed to the user. Using this prediction, the virtual images may then be rendered without latency, para. 0025),
wherein the first virtual object is related to a real object in the first target area (see, as above, and detailed description, including, Using current and past data relating to a model of the environment (including users, real world objects and virtual objects) and a user's field of view of that environment, the system extrapolates into the future to predict the model of the environment and a user's field of view of that environment at a time when the image of the environment is to be displayed to the user, para. 0025).
With regard to claim 2, Bar-Zeev discloses:
2. The information processing system according to claim 1,
wherein the first virtual object is displayed in spatial relation to the first target area based on information related to the first information processing apparatus (see, Fig. 17, and detailed description, including, The FOV 840 includes an actual direct view of real world objects including another user 18 and a chair 842. The FOV 840 further includes a display of virtual images 844 and 846. The virtual image 846 is shown climbing the chair 842, para. 0154).
With regard to claim 3, Bar-Zeev discloses:
3. The information processing system according to claim 2,
wherein the information related to the first information processing apparatus includes direction information indicating a direction of the first information processing apparatus (see, detailed description, including, hub computing system 12 and processing units 4 work together to create the scene map or model of the environment that the one or more users are in and track various moving objects in that environment. In addition, hub computing system 12 and/or processing unit 4 track the FOV of a head mounted display device 2 worn by a user 18a, 18b, 18c by tracking the position and orientation of the head mounted display device 2. Sensor information obtained by head mounted display device 2 is transmitted to processing unit 4. In one example, that information is transmitted to the hub computing system 12 which updates the scene model and transmits it back to the processing unit, para. 0067).
With regard to claim 4, Bar-Zeev discloses:
4. The information processing system according to claim 1,
wherein the circuitry is further configured to determine a second target area based on user operation information regarding an operation input from the first information processing apparatus (see, as above, and detailed description, including, hub computing system 12 and processing units 4 work together to create the scene map or model of the environment that the one or more users are in and track various moving objects in that environment. In addition, hub computing system 12 and/or processing unit 4 track the FOV of a head mounted display device 2 worn by a user 18a, 18b, 18c by tracking the position and orientation of the head mounted display device 2. Sensor information obtained by head mounted display device 2 is transmitted to processing unit 4. In one example, that information is transmitted to the hub computing system 12 which updates the scene model and transmits it back to the processing unit, para. 0067).
With regard to claim 5, Bar-Zeev discloses:
5. The information processing system according to claim 4,
wherein the circuitry is further configured to control the display to display a second virtual object in spatial relation to the second target area (see, as above, One or more of the sensors are used to scan the neighboring environment and build a model of the scanned environment. Using the model, a virtual image is added to a view of the model at a location that is in reference to a real world object that is part of the model, para. 0024),
wherein the second virtual object is different from the first virtual object (see, detailed description, including, Using current and past data relating to a model of the environment (including users, real world objects and virtual objects) and a user's field of view of that environment, the system extrapolates into the future to predict the model of the environment and a user's field of view of that environment at a time when the image of the environment is to be displayed to the user. Using this prediction, the virtual images may then be rendered without latency. The image is rendered by sizing and orienting the virtual image and rendering that sized/oriented image on the display of the head mounted display device for each user that has a view of the virtual image, para. 0025), and
wherein the second virtual object is related to a real object in the second target area (see, detailed description, including, hub computing system 12 and processing units 4 work together to create the scene map or model of the environment that the one or more users are in and track various moving objects in that environment. In addition, hub computing system 12 and/or processing unit 4 track the FOV of a head mounted display device 2 worn by a user 18a, 18b, 18c by tracking the position and orientation of the head mounted display device 2. Sensor information obtained by head mounted display device 2 is transmitted to processing unit 4. In one example, that information is transmitted to the hub computing system 12 which updates the scene model and transmits it back to the processing unit, para. 0067).
With regard to claim 6, Bar-Zeev discloses:
6. The information processing system according to claim 5,
wherein the second virtual object is displayed in the spatial relation to the second target area based on information related to the first information processing apparatus (including users, real world objects and virtual objects) and a user's field of view of that environment, the system extrapolates into the future to predict the model of the environment and a user's field of view of that environment at a time when the image of the environment is to be displayed to the user. Using this prediction, the virtual images may then be rendered without latency. The image is rendered by sizing and orienting the virtual image and rendering that sized/oriented image on the display of the head mounted display device for each user that has a view of the virtual image. In embodiments, the virtual image or the view of the real world objects can be changed to account for occlusions, para. 0025). (The virtual image is sized/oriented relative to the past data of the environment, which is interpreted a as horizontal space (x-feet by y-feet).
With regard to claim 7, Bar-Zeev discloses:
7. The information processing system according to claim 1,
wherein the first information processing apparatus is spatially separated from the second information processing apparatus (see, detailed description, Summary, The system includes mobile display devices wirelessly communicating with a powerful hub computing system, para. 0003).
.
With regard to claim 8, Bar-Zeev discloses:
8. The information processing system according to claim 1,
wherein the first information processing apparatus includes a bar-shaped member (see, detailed description, including, Fig. 2, and Fig. 3, head mounted display device 2 is in communication with its own processing unit 4 via wire 6. In other embodiments, head mounted display device 2 communicates with processing unit 4 via wireless communication. Head mounted display device 2, which in one embodiment is in the shape of glasses, para. 0026).
With regard to claim 9, claim 9 (a method claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 1 (a system claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 10, claim 10 (a method claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 2 (a system claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 11, claim 11 (a method claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 3 (a system claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 12, claim 12 (a method claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 4 (a system claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 13, claim 13 (a method claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 5 (a system claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 14, claim 14 (a method claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 6 (a system claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 15, claim 15 (a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 1 (a system claim) (with the addition of a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see, According to an example embodiment, memory 434 may include random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM), cache, flash memory, a hard disk, or any other suitable storage component, para. 0060)) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 16, claim 16 (a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 2 (a system claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 17, claim 17 (a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 3 (a system claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 18, claim 18 (a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 4 (a system claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 19, claim 19 (a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 5 (a system claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 20, claim 20 (a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 6 (a system claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
A sampling of the prior art made of record and not relied upon and considered pertinent to Applicants’ disclosure, includes:
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0278635 A1 to Maggiore, The communication method involves capturing sensing data belonging to a working space of a sensing device of the augmented reality system. The presentation of the variable marker (1016) is identified. A n-th presentation is displayed on the variable marker. The n-th presentation of the variable marker is identified.
Conclusion
WILLIAM D. TITCOMB
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2178
/WILLIAM D TITCOMB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178 9-15-2026