CTNF 18/912,074 CTNF 83860 DETAILED ACTION This action is responsive to the communications filed on 10/10/2024. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending. 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-4, 8-11, 15, and 17 are concurrently rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1) and 102(a)(2 ) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2014/0064394: hereinafter “Wang”) . With regards to claims 1 and 8 , Wang teaches an apparatus (and method) for wireless communication at a first network device (figs. 1-10: where the apparatus for wireless communication at a first network device is mapped to the Macro-Base Station (hereinafter “BS”) servicing the cell as shown in figure 1. Where the second network device is mapped to at least one of the Remote Radio Heads (RRHs). Note that the method steps are implemented as functions of the cited hardware of Wang) , comprising (addressed below) : at least one memory (figs. 1-10, see at least [0022-0023] and [0083] as well as figure 6 (and [0072-0074], where the claimed ‘at least one memory’ is mapped to ‘storage unit’ (of figure 6 and/or [0083]) and/or the ‘logic part readable program’ ‘storage medium’ as addressed in [0083]. Where said ‘storage medium’ of Wang includes software/program instructions that when executed by at least one processor (or ‘logic part’) controls the hardware of the device to perform the steps/functions and thereby implement the invention of Wang, see at least [0083]) ; and at least one processor (previously addressed and/or readily apparent) coupled to the at least one memory (previously addressed and/or readily apparent) and, based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the at least one memory (previously addressed and/or readily apparent) , the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured (previously addressed and/or readily apparent) to (addressed below) : identify, in a plurality of antennas at a second network device, a first set of activated antennas and a second set of disabled antennas (figs. 1-10: first each of the RRHs may have multiple antennas (e.g. two antennas) as graphically shown by figure 1 and is also addressed in paragraphs [0051-0055]. Second, see figs. 6-10, where the BS identifies a first set of activated/active antennas/RRH(s) and a second set of disabled antennas/RRH(s), based on the received PM/PMI reports and antenna/RRH selection report from the particular User Equipment (UE). See [0072-0074] and [0080] as well as the ‘antenna deactivation judgement unit’ within the BS shown in figure 6)) ; and transmit, to the second network device, an indication of a set of weights (figs. 1-10: where the BS selects (e.g. from the codebook(s)) and transmits the precoding matrix to active antennas/RRH(s) (while excluding the disabled antennas/RRH(s)) for future transmission with the particular UE, where the precoding matrix (excluding the disabled antennas/RRH(s)) includes a set of complex numbers/weights, e.g. see [0058]. Additionally, the Examiner notes that the invention of Wang is directed to LTE cellular communication, e.g. LTE standard is stated in paragraphs [0003] and [0058]. Additionally also see [0058-0064], which addresses two PMIs including W1 and W2. Where matrix W1 indicates the disabled antennas as well as activated antennas. And matrix W2 is the second codebook that indicates the per antenna precoding matrix values (e.g. “[0063] The code book (including the first and second code book) is stored in the storage unit 305. The same code book shall be stored in the base station and the UE. The second code book [W2] may be divided into a 4-antenna second code book for the 4 antennas, a 6-antenna second code book for the 6 antennas, etc .”, [0063]; note these features are also addressed in [0058]). The Examiner also notes [0064] which states “selects a precoding matrix from the second code book [W2]”) , wherein each weight in the set of weights corresponds to an antenna in the first set of activated antennas (previously addressed and/or readily apparent) and the set of weights does not comprise a weight corresponding to any antenna in the second set of disabled antennas (previously addressed and/or readily apparent, again the deactivated/disabled antennas/RRH(s) do not transmit/communicate with the particular UE) . With regards to claim 15 , Wang teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a first network device (figs. 1-10: where the apparatus for wireless communication at a first network device is mapped to at least one of the Remote Radio Heads (RRHs) servicing the cell as shown in figure 1. Where the second network device is mapped to the Macro-Base Station (hereinafter “BS”) servicing the cell as shown in figure 1) , comprising (addressed below) : at least one memory (figs. 1-10, see at least [0022-0023] and [0083] as well as figure 6 (and [0072-0074], where the claimed ‘at least one memory’ is mapped to ‘storage unit’ and/or the ‘logic part readable program’ ‘storage medium’ as addressed in [0083]. Where said ‘storage medium’ of Wang includes software/program instructions that when executed by at least one processor (or ‘logic part’) controls the hardware of the device to perform the steps/functions and thereby implement the invention of Wang, see at least [0083]. Where [0083] states “ The above devices and methods of the present invention may be implemented through hardware or a combination of hardware and software . The present invention relates to a logic part readable program which when being executed by a logic part, enables the logic part to implement the aforementioned devices or constituent parts, or enables the logic part to implement the aforementioned methods or steps. The logic part for example may be a field programmable logic part, a microprocessor, a processor used in the computer, etc. The present invention further relates to a storage medium for storing the above program, such as hard disc, magnetic disc, optical disc, DVD, flash, magnetic optical disc, memory card, memory stick, etc.”. Where the above devices logically include each of the RRHs) ; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (previously addressed and/or readily apparent) and, based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the at least one memory (previously addressed and/or readily apparent) , the at least one processor (previously addressed and/or readily apparent) , individually or in any combination, is configured (previously addressed and/or readily apparent) to (addressed below) : receive, from a second network device, a first indication of a first set of activated antennas and a second set of disabled antennas in a plurality of antennas at the first network device (figs. 1-10: first each of the RRHs may have multiple antennas (e.g. two antennas) as graphically shown by figure 1 and is also addressed in paragraphs [0051-0055]. Second, see figs. 6-10, where the BS identifies a first set of activated/active antennas/RRH(s) and a second set of disabled antennas/RRH(s), based on the received PM/PMI reports and antenna/RRH selection report from the particular User Equipment (UE). See [0072-0074] and [0080] as well as the ‘antenna deactivation judgement unit’ within the BS shown in figure 6). Where the BS transmits the antenna deactivation judge to the RRH(s) when/if the RRH(s) include one or more deactivated antenna(s); which is/are received and processed by the particular RRH(s). Where [0081] states “ deactivating an antenna or RRH for the UE means making the antenna or RRH do not transmit information for a certain UE , usually rather than turning off it physically, such as shutting off a power supply or a switch”) ; and receive, from the second network device, a second indication of a set of weights (figs. 1-10: where the BS selects (e.g. from the codebook(s)) and transmits/forwards the precoding matrix to active antennas/RRH(s) (while excluding the disabled antennas/RRH(s)) for future transmission with the particular UE, where the precoding matrix (excluding the disabled antennas/RRH(s)) includes a set of complex numbers/weights, e.g. see [0058]. Additionally, the Examiner notes that the invention of Wang is directed to LTE cellular communication, e.g. LTE standard is stated in paragraphs [0003] and [0058]. Additionally also see [0058-0064], which addresses two PMIs including W1 and W2. Where matrix W1 indicates the disabled antennas as well as activated antennas. And matrix W2 is the second codebook that indicates the per antenna precoding matrix values (e.g. “[0063] The code book (including the first and second code book) is stored in the storage unit 305. The same code book shall be stored in the base station and the UE. The second code book [W2] may be divided into a 4-antenna second code book for the 4 antennas, a 6-antenna second code book for the 6 antennas, etc .”, [0063]; note these features are also addressed in [0058]). The Examiner also notes [0064] which states “selects a precoding matrix from the second code book [W2]”) , wherein each weight in the set of weights corresponds to an antenna in the first set of activated antennas (previously addressed and/or readily apparent) and the set of weights does not comprise a weight corresponding to any antenna in the second set of disabled antennas (previously addressed and/or readily apparent, again the deactivated/disabled antennas/RRH(s) do not transmit/communicate with the particular UE). With regards to claims 2 and 9 , Wang teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 8, above. Wang further teaches wherein each weight in the set of weights (previously addressed) comprises an in-phase (I) weight and a quadrature (Q) weight (The Examiner notes that the invention of Wang is directed to LTE cellular communication, e.g. LTE standard is stated in paragraphs [0003] and [0058]. Where the precoding matrix (excluding the disabled antennas/RRH(s)) includes a set of complex numbers/weights, e.g. see [0058]. Where the meaning of term complex in the area/field of LTE for a ‘precoding matrix’ (in the LTE standard) is expected to include ‘an In-phase weight and a Quadrature weight’ used to define a single complex precoding weight/number (e.g. as opposed to scalar weight)) associated with a corresponding antenna in the first set of activated antennas (previously addressed and/or readily apparent) . With regards to claims 3 and 10 , Wang teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 8, above. Wang further teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (previously addressed) and the method of claim 8 (previously addressed) , further comprising a transceiver (figs. 1-10, where [0004] states “As illustrated in FIG. 1, the base station is located at the center of a cell, and seven RRHs are provided in the coverage range of the base station, wherein the RRHs are uniformly distributed at edge positions of the cell, directly connected to the base station through optical cables and capable of forwarding signals transmitted by the base station ”; additionally [0074] states “ The PMI reception unit 601 [within the BS of figure 6] receives a PMI from the UE directly or through an RRH ”. Where the cited paragraphs of Wang show that the BS and RRHs logically show that both the BS and each RRH all include ‘transceiver circuitry’ which enable the transmission/forwarding and reception of signals between the BS and each RRH) coupled to the at least one processor (previously addressed and/or readily apparent) , wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured (previously addressed and/or readily apparent) to (addressed below) : transmit (figs. 1-10: first each of the RRHs may have multiple antennas (e.g. two antennas) as graphically shown by figure 1 and is also addressed in paragraphs [0051-0055]. Second, see figs. 6-10, where the BS identifies a first set of activated/active antennas/RRH(s) and a second set of disabled antennas/RRH(s), based on the received PM/PMI reports and antenna/RRH selection report from the particular User Equipment (UE). See [0072-0074] and [0080] as well as the ‘antenna deactivation judgement unit’ within the BS shown in figure 6). Where the BS transmits the antenna deactivation judge to the RRH(s) when/if the RRH(s) include one or more deactivated antenna(s); which is/are received and processed by the particular RRH(s). Where [0081] states “ deactivating an antenna or RRH for the UE means making the antenna or RRH do not transmit information for a certain UE , usually rather than turning off it physically, such as shutting off a power supply or a switch”) , to the second network device via the transceiver (previously addressed and/or readily apparent) , a prior indication of the first set of activated antennas and the second set of disabled antennas (previously addressed) , wherein the indication of the set of weights is based on the prior indication (previously addressed and/or readily apparent, again the deactivated/disabled antennas/RRH(s) do not transmit/communicate with the particular UE and logically do not have precoding weight(s) for the particular UE, however the active antennas/RRH(s) will have precoding weights for future transmission to the particular UE) . With regards to claims 4 and 11 , Wang teaches the limitations of claims 3 and 10, above. Wang further teaches wherein the indication of the set of weights (previously addressed) has a size based on a number of antennas in the first set of activated antennas indicated in the prior indication (figs. 1-10: as previously addressed, the amount of precoding weights for future transmission to the particular UE logically has a size dependent upon the amount of active antennas/RRH(s) and amount of deactivated antennas/RRH(s). Again the deactivated/disabled antennas/RRH(s) do not transmit/communicate with the particular UE and logically do not have precoding weight(s) for the particular UE, however the active antennas/RRH(s) will have precoding weights for future transmission to the particular UE. The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent) . With regards to claim 17 , Wang teaches the limitations of claim 15, above. Wang further teaches the apparatus of claim 15 (previously addressed) , further comprising a transceiver (figs. 1-10, where [0004] states “As illustrated in FIG. 1, the base station is located at the center of a cell, and seven RRHs are provided in the coverage range of the base station, wherein the RRHs are uniformly distributed at edge positions of the cell, directly connected to the base station through optical cables and capable of forwarding signals transmitted by the base station ”; additionally [0074] states “ The PMI reception unit 601 [within the BS of figure 6] receives a PMI from the UE directly or through an RRH ”. Where the cited paragraphs of Wang show that the BS and RRHs logically show that both the BS and each RRH all include ‘transceiver circuitry’ which enable the transmission/forwarding and reception of signals between the BS and each RRH as well as each RRH including a transceiver able to perform bi-directional wireless communication (e.g. according to LTE standard) with the particular UE) coupled to the at least one processor (previously addressed and/or readily apparent) , wherein the at least one processor (previously addressed and/or readily apparent) , individually or in any combination, is further configured (previously addressed and/or readily apparent) to (addressed below) : transmit, via the transceiver and based on the first indication and the second indication, a signal to a target wireless device (note that the claimed “target wireless device” is mapped to the ‘particular UE’ addressed in the earlier/above rejection(s), where the active RRH (with at least one active antenna post judgement, as previously addressed) performs wireless bi-directional signal communication (using the complex precoding weight(s) for each active antenna) with the particular UE (as controlled by the BS via the previously addressed ‘first and second indications’). The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or readily apparent) . Allowable Subject Matter 07-43 Claims 5-7, 12-14, 16, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and all intervening claims . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and are cited in the attached PTO-892 form . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to James M. Perez, telephone number (571)270-3231. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday: 10am to 6pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, David C. Payne can be reached at (571)272-3024. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JAMES M PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635 5/30/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/912,074 Page 2 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/912,074 Page 3 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/912,074 Page 4 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/912,074 Page 5 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/912,074 Page 6 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/912,074 Page 7 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/912,074 Page 8 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/912,074 Page 9 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/912,074 Page 10 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/912,074 Page 11 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/912,074 Page 12 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/912,074 Page 13 Art Unit: 2635