DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to claims filed on 10/10/2024.
Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,120,542, hereinafter ‘patent 542’; in view of Moosavi et al. (US 2021/0243624 A1).
Regarding claim 1; claim 1 of ‘patent 542’ recites a method, comprising: transmitting, by a first node to a second node, a first message that includes a physical cell identifier (PCI) of a cell (transmitting, by a secondary node (SN) to a master node (MN), a first message that includes a physical cell identifier (PCI) of a cell), when a cell global identifier (CGI) of the cell associated with the PCI is not found in the first node (when a cell global identifier (CGI) of the cell associated with the PCI is not found in the SN), and receiving, by the first node from the second node, second message that includes the system information related to the PCI (receiving, by the SN from the MN, a second message that includes (i) the information on the cell and (ii) the PCI of the cell).
Claim 1 of ‘patent 542’ discloses a MN transmits system information related to the PCI to a SN.
Claim 1 of ‘patent 542’ does not explicitly disclose the information obtained via instructing a UE to read system information related to the PCI to acquire information on the cell.
Moosavi discloses a second node to instruct a user equipment (UE) to read system information related to the PCI to acquire information on the cell (the MN sends a CGI report request to the UE; the UE retrieves the CGI from the neighbor node and reports the CGI to the MN; the CGI is related to a PCI of the neighbor cell; see paragraphs [0007], [0106] – [0107] and Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of ‘patent 542’ and Moosavi to instruct a UE to read system information related to the PCI to reduce operation costs (see paragraph [0003] of Moosavi).
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of ‘patent 542’; in view of Moosavi; and in further view of Harada et al. (WO2019/138519).
Regarding claim 2; the combination of claim 1 of ‘patent 542’ and Moosavi discloses receiving system information related to the PCI.
The combination of claim 1 of ‘patent 542’ and Moosavi does not explicitly disclose the information on the cell include an indication of whether a SSB is associated with RMSI.
Harada discloses wherein the information on the cell includes an indication of whether a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (SSB) is associated with remaining minimum system information (RMSI) (information is defined to notify the presence or absence of the corresponding RMSI to the SSB; see paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of ‘patent 542’, Moosavi and Harada to include an indication of whether a SSB is associated with a RMSI to suppressing delay (see paragraph [0009] of Harada).
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of ‘patent 542’; in view of Moosavi; and in further view of Luo et al. (US 2021/0377755 A1).
Regarding claim 3; the combination of claim 1 of ‘patent 542’ and Moosavi discloses exchanging messages between a SN and a MN.
The combination of claim 1 of ‘patent 542’ and Moosavi does not explicitly disclose the messages are via an Xn interface.
Luo discloses wherein the first message and the second message are messages of an Xn interface (the MN may be connected to the SN via an Xn interface; see paragraph [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of ‘patent 542’, Moosavi and Luo to exchange messages between a SN and a MN via an Xn interface to support 5G core network (see paragraph [0062] of Luo).
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of ‘patent 542’; in view of Moosavi; and in further view of Teyeb et al. (US 2012/0329461 A1).
Regarding claim 4; the combination of claim 1 of ‘patent 542’ and Moosavi discloses an SN transmits a CGI information request to an MN.
The combination of claim 1 of ‘patent 542’ and Moosavi does not explicitly disclose the request is transmitted responsive to receiving a measurement report of the UE.
Teyeb discloses wherein the first node is a secondary node (SN) and the second node is a master node (MN) wherein the at least one processor is further configured to transmit the first message responsive to receiving a measurement report of the UE including the PCI (a relay node receives measurement reports from a mobile terminal that includes PCIs of candidate cells for handover, if a CGI corresponding to a PCI is not found in the RN, the RN sends a message that include the PCI of the target cell to a donor base station; see paragraphs [0064], [0087] and Fig. 12A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of ‘patent 542’, Moosavi and Teyeb to transmit the request in responsive to a UE’s measurement report to permit a SN to identify a target cell with the cell’s PCI in an handover process (see paragraph [0022]).
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of ‘patent 542’; in view of Moosavi.
Regarding claim 5; claim 11 of ‘patent 542’ discloses a first node, comprising: at least one processor configured to (secondary node (SN) comprising: one or more processors configured to implement steps of): transmit, to a second node, a first message that includes a physical cell identifier (PCI) of a cell (transmitting, to a master node (MN), a first message that includes a physical cell identifier (PCI) of a cell), when a cell global identifier (CGI) of the cell associated with the PCI is not found in the first node (when a cell global identifier (CGI) of the cell associated with the PCI is not found in the SN); and receive from the second node, second message that includes the system information related to the PCI (and receiving, from the MN, a second message that includes (i) information on the cell and (ii) the PCI of the cell).
Claim 11 of ‘patent 542’ discloses a MN transmits system information related to the PCI to a SN.
Claim 11 of ‘patent 542’ does not explicitly disclose the information obtained via instructing a UE to read system information related to the PCI to acquire information on the cell.
Moosavi discloses a second node to instruct a user equipment (UE) to read system information related to the PCI to acquire information on the cell (the MN sends a CGI report request to the UE; the UE retrieves the CGI from the neighbor node and reports the CGI to the MN; the CGI is related to a PCI of the neighbor cell; see paragraphs [0007], [0106] – [0107] and Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 11 of ‘patent 542’ and Moosavi to instruct a UE to read system information related to the PCI to reduce operation costs (see paragraph [0003] of Moosavi).
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of ‘patent 542’; in view of Moosavi; and in further view of Harada.
Regarding claim 6; the combination of claim 11 of ‘patent 542’ and Moosavi discloses receiving system information related to the PCI.
The combination of claim 11 of ‘patent 542’ and Moosavi does not explicitly disclose the information on the cell include an indication of whether a SSB is associated with RMSI.
Harada discloses wherein the information on the cell includes an indication of whether a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (SSB) is associated with remaining minimum system information (RMSI) (information is defined to notify the presence or absence of the corresponding RMSI to the SSB; see paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 11 of ‘patent 542’, Moosavi and Harada to include an indication of whether a SSB is associated with a RMSI to suppressing delay (see paragraph [0009] of Harada).
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of ‘patent 542’; in view of Moosavi; and in further view of Teyeb.
Regarding claim 7; the combination of claim 11 of ‘patent 542’ and Moosavi discloses an SN transmits a CGI information request to an MN.
The combination of claim 11 of ‘patent 542’ and Moosavi does not explicitly disclose the request is transmitted responsive to receiving a measurement report of the UE.
Teyeb discloses wherein the first node is a secondary node (SN) and the second node is a master node (MN) wherein the at least one processor is further configured to transmit the first message responsive to receiving a measurement report of the UE including the PCI (a relay node receives measurement reports from a mobile terminal that includes PCIs of candidate cells for handover, if a CGI corresponding to a PCI is not found in the RN, the RN sends a message that include the PCI of the target cell to a donor base station; see paragraphs [0064], [0087] and Fig. 12A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 11 of ‘patent 542’, Moosavi and Teyeb to transmit the request in responsive to a UE’s measurement report to permit a SN to identify a target cell with the cell’s PCI in an handover process (see paragraph [0022]).
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of ‘patent 542’. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 8; claim 1 of ‘patent 542’ recites a method, comprising: transmitting, by a first node to a second node, a first message that includes a physical cell identifier (PCI) of a cell (a method, comprising: transmitting, by a secondary node (SN) to a master node (MN), a first message that includes a physical cell identifier (PCI) of a cell), when a cell global identifier (CGI) of the cell associated with the PCI is not found in the first node (when a cell global identifier (CGI) of the cell associated with the PCI is not found in the SN), to cause a second node to acquire information on the cell within the MN by searching for a cell identifier corresponding to the PCI (to cause the MN to acquire information on the cell within the MN by searching for the CGI associated with the PCI); and receiving, by the first node from the second node, second message that includes the cell identifier and the information on the cell within the second node (receiving, by the SN from the MN, a second message that includes (i) the information on the cell and (ii) the PCI of the cell, wherein the information on the cell within the MN includes a cell identifier, a public land mobile network (PLMN) list corresponding to the cell, a band list, a tracking area code (TAC), a radio access network (RAN) area code (RANAC), and frequency information).
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of ‘patent 542’. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 9; claim 1 of ‘patent 542’ recites wherein the information on the cell further comprises at least one of a public land mobile network (PLMN), list corresponding to the cell, a band list, a tracking area code (TAC), an RAN area code (RANAC), or frequency point information (wherein the information on the cell within the MN includes a cell identifier, a public land mobile network (PLMN) list corresponding to the cell, a band list, a tracking area code (TAC), a radio access network (RAN) area code (RANAC), and frequency information).
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of ‘patent 542’; in view of Luo.
Regarding claim 10; The combination of claim 1 of ‘patent 542’ and Moosavi does not explicitly disclose the messages via an Xn interface.
Luo discloses wherein the first message and the second message are messages of an Xn interface (the MN may be connected to the SN via an Xn interface; see paragraph [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of ‘patent 542’ and Luo to exchange messages between a SN and a MN via an Xn interface to support 5G core network (see paragraph [0062] of Luo).
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of ‘patent 542’; in view of Teyeb.
Regarding claim 11; the combination of claim 1 of ‘patent 542’ and Moosavi discloses an SN transmits a CGI information request to an MN.
The combination of claim 1 of ‘patent 542’ and Moosavi does not explicitly disclose the request is transmitted responsive to receiving a measurement report of the UE.
Teyeb discloses wherein the first node is a secondary node (SN) and the second node is a master node (MN) wherein the at least one processor is further configured to transmit the first message responsive to receiving a measurement report of the UE including the PCI (a relay node receives measurement reports from a mobile terminal that includes PCIs of candidate cells for handover, if a CGI corresponding to a PCI is not found in the RN, the RN sends a message that include the PCI of the target cell to a donor base station; see paragraphs [0064], [0087] and Fig. 12A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of ‘patent 542’ and Teyeb to transmit the request in responsive to a UE’s measurement report to permit a SN to identify a target cell with the cell’s PCI in an handover process (see paragraph [0022]).
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of ‘patent 542’. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 12; claim 11 of ‘patent 542’ recites a first node, comprising: at least one processor configured to (a secondary node (SN) comprising: one or more processors configured to implement steps of): transmit, to a second node, a first message that includes a physical cell identifier (PCI) of a cell (transmitting, to a master node (MN), a first message that includes a physical cell identifier (PCI) of a cell), when a cell global identifier (CGI) of the cell associated with the PCI is not found in the first node (when a cell global identifier (CGI) of the cell associated with the PCI is not found in the SN), to cause a second node to acquire information on the cell within the MN by searching for a cell identifier corresponding to the PCI (to cause the MN to acquire information on the cell within the MN by searching for the CGI associated with the PCI); and receive, from the second node, second message that includes the cell identifier and the information on the cell within the second node (and receiving, from the MN, a second message that includes (i) information on the cell and (ii) the PCI of the cell, wherein the information on the cell within the MN includes a cell identifier, a public land mobile network (PLN) list corresponding to the cell, a band list, a tracking area code (TAC), a radio access network (RAN) area code (RANAC), and frequency information).
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of ‘patent 542’. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 13; claim 11 of ‘patent 542’ recites wherein the information on the cell further comprises at least one of a public land mobile network (PLMN), list corresponding to the cell, a band list, a tracking area code (TAC), an RAN area code (RANAC), or frequency point information (wherein the information on the cell within the MN includes a cell identifier, a public land mobile network (PLN) list corresponding to the cell, a band list, a tracking area code (TAC), a radio access network (RAN) area code (RANAC), and frequency information).
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of ‘patent 542’; in view of Luo.
Regarding claim 14; claim 11 of ‘patent 542’ recites exchanging messages between a SN and a MN.
Claim 11 of ‘patent 542’ does not explicitly disclose the messages are via an Xn interface.
Luo discloses wherein the first message and the second message are messages of an Xn interface (the MN may be connected to the SN via an Xn interface; see paragraph [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 11 of ‘patent 542’, Moosavi and Luo to exchange messages between a SN and a MN via an Xn interface to support 5G core network (see paragraph [0062] of Luo).
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of ‘patent 542’; in view of Teyeb.
Regarding claim 15; claim 11 of ‘patent 542’ recites an SN transmits a CGI information request to an MN.
Claim 11 of ‘patent 542’ does not explicitly disclose the request is transmitted responsive to receiving a measurement report of the UE.
Teyeb discloses wherein the first node is a secondary node (SN) and the second node is a master node (MN) wherein the at least one processor is further configured to transmit the first message responsive to receiving a measurement report of the UE including the PCI (a relay node receives measurement reports from a mobile terminal that includes PCIs of candidate cells for handover, if a CGI corresponding to a PCI is not found in the RN, the RN sends a message that include the PCI of the target cell to a donor base station; see paragraphs [0064], [0087] and Fig. 12A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 11 of ‘patent 542’ and Teyeb to transmit the request in responsive to a UE’s measurement report to permit a SN to identify a target cell with the cell’s PCI in an handover process (see paragraph [0022]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1; claim 1 recites the limitation "… cause a second node to instruct …" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claims 2-4; claims 2-4 are dependent claims of claim 1 and therefore inherit the 35 U.S.C 112(b) issues of the independent claim.
Regarding claim 5; claim 5 recites the limitation "… cause a second node to instruct …" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claims 6-7; claims 6-7 are dependent claims of claim 5 and therefore inherit the 35 U.S.C 112(b) issues of the independent claim.
Regarding claim 8; claim 8 recites the limitation "… cause a second node to instruct …" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claims 9-11; claims 9-11 are dependent claims of claim 8 and therefore inherit the 35 U.S.C 112(b) issues of the independent claim.
Regarding claim 12; claim 12 recites the limitation "… cause a second node to instruct …" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claims 13-15; claims 13-15 are dependent claims of claim 12 and therefore inherit the 35 U.S.C 112(b) issues of the independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 11-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Teyeb et al. (US 2012/0329461 A1).
Regarding claim 8; Teyeb discloses a method, comprising: transmitting, by a first node to a second node, a first message that includes a physical cell identifier (PCI) of a cell (a mobile relay node (RN) transmits a request including PCI(s) to a donor base station; see paragraphs [0064]-[0066]), when a cell global identifier (CGI) of the cell associated with the PCI is not found in the first node (the mobile RN obtains PCI(s) and does not have corresponding CGIs; see paragraphs [0054]-[0056] and [0064]), to cause a second node to acquire information on the cell within the MN by searching for a cell identifier corresponding to the PCI (the donor base station selects from a set of neighbor cell information stored at the donor base station pertains to the one or more identified cells; the neighbor cell information maps PCI(s) to corresponding CGI(s); see paragraphs [0064] – [0066]; and receiving, by the first node from the second node, second message that includes the cell identifier and the information on the cell within the second node (the donor base station responds to such a request with neighbor cell information that includes the unique cell identifiers (CGI) missing at the RN 16; see paragraphs [0054] and [0064]).
Regarding claim 12; Teyeb discloses a first node (mobile RN; see Fig. 13), comprising: at least one processor (processing circuit; see Fig. 13) configured to: transmit, to a second node, a first message that includes a physical cell identifier (PCI) of a cell (a mobile relay node (RN) transmits a request including PCI(s) to a donor base station; see paragraphs [0064] - [0066]), when a cell global identifier (CGI) of the cell associated with the PCI is not found in the first node (the mobile RN obtains PCI(s) and does not have corresponding CGIs; see paragraphs [0054]-[0056] and [0064]), to cause a second node to acquire information on the cell within the MN by searching for a cell identifier corresponding to the PCI (the donor base station selects from a set of neighbor cell information stored at the donor base station pertains to the one or more identified cells; the neighbor cell information maps PCI(s) to corresponding CGI(s); see paragraphs [0064] – [0066]); and receive, from the second node, second message that includes the cell identifier and the information on the cell within the second node (the donor base station responds to such a request with neighbor cell information that includes the unique cell identifiers (CGI) missing at the RN 16; see paragraphs [0054] and [0064]).
Regarding claims 11 and 15; Teyeb discloses wherein the first node is a secondary node (SN) and the second node is a master node (MN) wherein the at least one processor is further configured to transmit the first message responsive to receiving a measurement report of the UE including the PCI (a relay node receives measurement reports from a mobile terminal that includes PCIs of candidate cells for handover, if a CGI corresponding to a PCI is not found in the RN, the RN sends a message that include the PCI of the target cell to a donor base station; see paragraphs [0064], [0087] and Fig. 12A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1-1817304 (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2#104); in view of Moosavi et al. (US 2021/0243624 A1).
Regarding claim 1; R1-1817304 discloses a method, comprising: transmitting, by a first node to a second node, a first message that includes a physical cell identifier (PCI) of a cell (SN sends the report CGI request to MN via CG-Config; the CG-config includes PCI of the unknow cell; see section 2.2), when a cell global identifier (CGI) of the cell associated with the PCI is not found in the first node (the CG-config report request indicates that the CGI associated with the PCI is not find in the SN; see section 2.2), and receiving, by the first node from the second node, second message that includes the system information related to the PCI (the MN transmit CG-ConfigInfo to the SN; the CG-ConfigInfo includes CGI related to the PCI; see section 2.2).
R1-1817304 discloses a MN transmits CGI information to a SN in response to receiving a request from the SN.
R1-1817304 does not explicitly disclose the information obtained via instructing a UE to read system information related to the PCI to acquire information on the cell.
Moosavi discloses a second node to instruct a user equipment (UE) to read system information related to the PCI to acquire information on the cell (the MN sends a CGI report request to the UE; the UE retrieves the CGI from the neighbor node and reports the CGI to the MN; the CGI is related to a PCI of the neighbor cell; see paragraphs [0007], [0106] – [0107] and Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of R1-1817304 and Moosavi to instruct a UE to read system information related to the PCI to reduce operation costs (see paragraph [0003] of Moosavi).
Regarding claim 5; R1-1817304 discloses transmit, to a second node, a first message that includes a physical cell identifier (PCI) of a cell (SN sends the report CGI request to MN via CG-Config; the CG-config includes PCI of the unknow cell; see section 2.2), when a cell global identifier (CGI) of the cell associated with the PCI is not found in the first node (the CG-config report request indicates that the CGI associated with the PCI is not find in the SN; see section 2.2), and receive from the second node, second message that includes the system information related to the PCI (the MN transmit CG-ConfigInfo to the SN; the CG-ConfigInfo includes CGI related to the PCI; see section 2.2).
R1-1817304 discloses a MN transmits CGI information to a SN in response to receiving a request from the SN.
R1-1817304 does not explicitly disclose the information obtained via instructing a UE to read system information related to the PCI to acquire information on the cell.
Moosavi discloses a first node (network node; see paragraph [0118] and Fig. 6), comprising: at least one processor (processing circuitry; see paragraph [0118] and Fig. 6); and a second node to instruct a user equipment (UE) to read system information related to the PCI to acquire information on the cell (the MN sends a CGI report request to the UE; the UE retrieves the CGI from the neighbor node and reports the CGI to the MN; the CGI is related to a PCI of the neighbor cell; see paragraphs [0007], [0106] – [0107] and Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of R1-1817304 and Moosavi to instruct a UE to read system information related to the PCI to reduce operation costs (see paragraph [0003] of Moosavi).
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1-1817304; in view of Moosavi; and in further view of Harada et al. (WO2019/138519).
Regarding claims 2 and 6; the combination of R1-1817304 and Moosavi discloses receiving system information related to the PCI.
The combination of R1-1817304 and Moosavi does not explicitly disclose the information on the cell include an indication of whether a SSB is associated with RMSI.
Harada discloses wherein the information on the cell includes an indication of whether a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (SSB) is associated with remaining minimum system information (RMSI) (information is defined to notify the presence or absence of the corresponding RMSI to the SSB; see paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of R1-1817304, Moosavi and Harada to include an indication of whether a SSB is associated with a RMSI to suppressing delay (see paragraph [0009] of Harada).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1-1817304; in view of Moosavi; and in further view of Luo et al. (US 2021/0377755 A1).
Regarding claim 3; the combination of R1-1817304 and Moosavi discloses exchanging messages between a SN and a MN.
The combination of R1-1817304 and Moosavi does not explicitly disclose messages are exchanged via an Xn interface.
Luo discloses wherein the first message and the second message are messages of an Xn interface (the MN may be connected to the SN via an Xn interface; see paragraph [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of R1-1817304, Moosavi and Luo to exchange messages between a SN and a MN via an Xn interface to support 5G core network (see paragraph [0062] of Luo).
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1-1817304; in view of Moosavi; and in further view of Teyeb et al. (US 2012/0329461 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 7; the combination of R1-1817304 and Moosavi discloses an SN transmits a CGI information request to an MN.
The combination of R1-1817304 and Moosavi does not explicitly disclose the request is transmitted responsive to receiving a measurement report of the UE.
Teyeb discloses wherein the first node is a secondary node (SN) and the second node is a master node (MN) wherein the at least one processor is further configured to transmit the first message responsive to receiving a measurement report of the UE including the PCI (a relay node receives measurement reports from a mobile terminal that includes PCIs of candidate cells for handover, if a CGI corresponding to a PCI is not found in the RN, the RN sends a message that include the PCI of the target cell to a donor base station; see paragraphs [0064], [0087] and Fig. 12A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of R1-1817304, Moosavi and Teyeb to transmit the request in responsive to a UE’s measurement report to permit a SN to identify a target cell with the cell’s PCI in an handover process (see paragraph [0022]).
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teyeb; in view of Won et al. (US 2016/0316467 A1).
Regarding claims 9 and 13; Teyeb discloses a second node transmits a message including the cell identifier and information on the cell to a first node.
Teyeb does not explicitly disclose the information include a TAC.
Won discloses wherein the information on the cell further comprises at least one of a public land mobile network (PLMN) list corresponding to the cell, a band list, a tracking area code (TAC), an RAN area code (RANAC), or frequency point information (the neighbor cell information may contain a CGI, a PCI, a frequency band and a tracking area code; see paragraph [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Teyeb and Won to include a TAC in the information to efficiently perform PCI confusion mechanism (see paragraph [0014] of Won).
Claims 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teyeb; in view of Yang (WO 2019/136874 A1).
Regarding claims 10 and 14; Teyeb discloses a first node and a second node exchange messages.
Teyeb does not explicitly disclose messages are via an Xn interface.
Yang discloses wherein the first message and the second message are messages of an Xn interface (the interface between the relay node and the base station may be Xn interface; see paragraph [0172]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Teyeb and Yang to exchange messages using Xn interface to enable a first node serves as an access network device (see paragraph [0172] of Yang).
Conclusion
/N.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/MANSOUR OVEISSI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415