DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first support ring” and “second support ring”, as required in claim 18, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Figure 4 shows reference numerals 406 and 408 disclosed in the written description as the first and second rings, however, nowhere in the drawings is shown in detailed the first and second support rings. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2014/0069931).
Claim 1
Kim discloses a liquid gas (LNG) storage container (80) (see abstract) comprising an inner shell (81), comprising an inner surface forming a cavity (defined by interior space of the inner shell); and an outer surface; an outer shell (82) disposed around the inner shell; and a plurality of support members (83) disposed between the inner shell and the outer shell, wherein the plurality of support members are oriented in mirrored directions, each of the plurality of supports comprising a first end (defined by end of the support member coupled to the inner shell at connection 83a) coupled to the inner shell at an angle about tangent to the outer surface of the inner shell at a point where the first end is closest to the outer surface; and a second end (defined by end of support 83 coupled to the outer shell at connection point 83a) coupled to the outer shell (see figure 21).
Claim 4
Kim further discloses each of the plurality of support members is a metal material (see [0203]).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Faure (US 9,938,025).
Claim 18
Faure discloses a liquid gas storage container (1) comprising an inner shell (100), comprising a first inner surface forming a cavity (defined by interior space of the inner shell); and a first outer surface; an outer shell (10) disposed around the inner shell and comprising a second inner surface; and a support structure (defined by any of first means 2a-2d) disposed between the first outer surface and the second inner surface and comprising a first support ring (defined by opening in which pin 51 is inserted within joint 53) contacting the first outer surface; a second support ring (defined by opening which pin 53 is inserted within joint 54) contacting the second inner surface; and a plurality of support members (defined by link rods 2 and 3, and/or link rods 30) disposed between the inner shell and the outer shell (see figures 2-5), wherein the plurality of support members (defined by link rods 3 and 3A) are oriented in mirrored directions (see figure 4A), each of the plurality of supports comprising a first end (defined by joint 53) coupled to a first bracket (defined by portion of attachment 103 engaging with joint 53) within the first support ring, the first end disposed at an angle about tangent to the outer surface of the inner shell at a point where the first end is closest to the outer surface; and a second end coupled to a second bracket (defined by portion of attachment 11 engaging with joint 54) within the second support ring (see figures 3-5).
Claim 19
Faure further discloses the first bracket offsets the first end of the support member from the first outer surface (see figure 5).
Claim 20
Faure further discloses the first bracket includes a first pin and the second bracket include a second pin, such that the first end of the support member is coupled to the first pin while the second end of the support member is coupled to the second pin and the support member actuates around each of the first pin and the second pin during heating or cooling of the inner shell (see figure 5, column 5 lines 64-67, column 6 lines 1-3, lines 65-67, and column 7 lines 1-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2014/0069931) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Faure (US 9,938,025).
Claims 2 and 3
Kim discloses the first and second ends of the support members coupled to the outer and inner shells by support points (83a), but other methods of connecting the support points to the inner and outer shell could be used (see [0208]). Kim does not disclose first and second ends coupled to the inner and outer shells, respectively with a bracket. However, Faure discloses brackets (103 and 11) coupled to an inner and outer shells for attaching support members (30) disposed between the inner and outer shells (see figure 5 and column 6 lines 4-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the attachment connection of the support members from support points for brackets as taught by Faure since both types of connection are equivalent in the art and will perform the function attaching the inner shell to the outer shell equally well.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2014/0069931) as applied to claim 1 above.
Claims 5 and 6
Kim discloses the inner shell is made of stainless steel (see [0204]). Kim does not explicitly disclose the metal support is stainless steel or aluminum. However, Kim, embodiment of figure 23, discloses inner shell (511) is made from a metal material that can withstand the low temperature of the LNG, for example aluminum or stainless steel (see [0098]) while support member (517) may be made from a metal material that withstands the low temperature of LNG (see [0107]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the metal core being made from stainless steel material because stainless steel is a known metal to withstand the low temperature of the liquid natural gas.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2014/0069931) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schuler (4,129,146).
Kim is silent about the size of the cavity. However, Schuler discloses a liquid natural gas tank of 25,000 cubic meters (see column 2 lines 30-36). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage tank of Kim having the required storage capacity as taught by Schuler because liquified natural gas tanks holding more than 1,300 cubic meters are well-known and common in the art.
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2014/0069931) in view of Faure (US 9,938,025).
Claim 12
Kim discloses a liquid gas storage container (80) comprising an inner shell (81), comprising an inner surface forming a cavity (defined by interior space of the inner shell); and an outer surface; an outer shell (82) disposed around the inner shell; a plurality of support members (83) disposed between the inner shell and the outer shell, wherein the plurality of support members are oriented in mirrored directions, each of the plurality of support members comprising a first end (defined by end of the support member coupled to the inner shell at connection 83a) coupled to the inner shell at an angle about tangent to the outer surface of the inner shell at a point where the first end is closest to the outer surface; and a second end (defined by end of support 83 coupled to the outer shell) coupled to the outer shell (see figure 21). Kim discloses the first and second ends of the support members coupled to the outer and inner shells by support points (83a), but other methods of connecting the support points to the inner and outer shell could be used (see [0208]). Kim does not disclose a bracket offsetting the first end from the outer surface of the inner shell. However, Faure discloses brackets (103 and 11) coupled to an inner and outer shells for attaching support members (30) disposed between the inner and outer shells (see figure 5 and column 6 lines 4-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the attachment connection of the support members from support points for brackets as taught by Faure since both types of connection are equivalent in the art and will perform the function attaching the inner shell to the outer shell equally well.
Claim 13
Kim further discloses a cross section of each of the inner shell and the outer shell is circular, such that a first cross section of the inner shell is concentric with a second cross section of the outer shell (see figure 21).
Claim 14
Faure further discloses the bracket includes a pin (51) and a first end (53) is coupled to the pin (see figure 5). Kim discloses the inner shell is made from a metal material that could withstand low temperature of negative 120 to negative 95 Celsius Degrees (see [0036] and [0037]). After Kim is modified by Faure, the support member will actuate about a central axis of the pin during heating or cooling of the inner shell.
Claim 15
Kim further discloses two support members attached to a single connection point (83a) (see figure 21). After Kim is modified by Faure, two support members will be coupled to the same bracket at the first end, such that both of the support members are coupled to the pin and both support members actuate about the central axis of the pin during heating or cooling of the inner shell.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/14/2026 have been fully considered they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s argument of amendment to the figures/drawings, the examiner points out that no figure and/or amended drawing is shown in the “Amendments to the Drawings” filed 05/14/21026. Regarding applicant’s argument with respect to the teachings of Faure, the examiner disagrees. Faure, figure 4A, shows support links 3 and 3A oriented in mirrored directions from each other. According to applicant’s specification, figure 4B and paragraph [0051], disclose support members 108 oriented in mirrored directions. Therefore, Faure discloses the support links in opposed/mirror direction from each other. Regarding applicant’s argument with respect to the teachings of Kim, the examiner disagrees. Kim, figure 21, shows support members (83) extending in opposite direction from each other from one support point (83a) to another, wherein any of the figures (a) or (b) shown in figure 21, shows the support members extending in same angle but opposite/mirrored directions from each other.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or prior art(s) disclosed by the Examiner (in the attached PTO-892 form).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAFAEL A. ORTIZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
/RAFAEL A ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736