DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses phrases which can be implied (“Filter assemblies are described herein.”). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: there appears to be a typo regarding “…from the annulus radially outward toward through the outer filter media.” in line 2, as opposed to “…from the annulus radially outward . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: there appears to be a typo regarding “…from the annulus radially outward toward through the outer filter media.” in line 2, as opposed to “…from the annulus radially outward . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carmody et al. (USPN 10485915).
Regarding claim 1, Carmody discloses a filter assembly (filter 10) comprising:
an outer filter (outer filter portion 28) comprising an outer filter media (large-diameter tubular filter medium 44); and
an inner filter (inner filter portion 34) comprising an inner filter media (smaller-diameter tubular filter medium 48) defining an inner flow channel (inner passage 63), wherein the inner filter is disposed within the outer filter (Figure 1; “The inner filter portion 34 is located coaxially within the outer filter portion 28” [Col 4, lines 9-10]), defining an annulus (coaxial passage 46) between the outer filter and the inner filter (“the diameter of the inner filter portion 34 is smaller than the diameter of the outer filter portion 28 providing a coaxial passage 46 therebetween.” [Col 4, lines 24-26]),
wherein the outer filter media is configured to permit a first flow from the annulus toward an outlet portion of the outer filter and capture particulate from the first flow, and the inner filter media is configured to permit a second flow from the annulus toward the inner flow channel and capture particulate from the second flow (“Liquid 26 entering the outer filter portion 28 may enter this passage 46 and pass either outward through the large-diameter tubular filter medium 44 of the outer filter portion 28 along the passage 36 and downward to coupler 22, or inward through small-diameter tubular filter medium 48 of the inner filter portion 34 and out the open bottom end of the inner filter portion 34 to coupler 22. These two paths of liquid flow provide for parallel filtration effectively increasing the filtration area of the filter 10.” [Col 4, lines 26-35]; “The filtration medium is designed to remove micro aggregates and clots, as well as non-blood particulate matter.” [Col 1, lines 18-20]).
Regarding claim 2, Carmody discloses the filter assembly of Claim 1, wherein the outer filter and the inner filter are cylindrical (“cylindrical walls of the outer filter portion 28 and inner filter portion 34” [Col 5, lines 20-21]).
Regarding claim 3, Carmody discloses the filter assembly of Claim 1, wherein the outer filter media is configured to permit the first flow from the annulus radially outward toward through the outer filter media (“Liquid 26 entering the outer filter portion 28 may enter this passage 46 and pass either outward through the large-diameter tubular filter medium 44 of the outer filter portion 28 along the passage 36 and downward to coupler 22” [Col 4, lines 26-35]).
Regarding claim 4, Carmody discloses the filter assembly of Claim 1, wherein the inner filter media is configured to permit the second flow from the annulus radially inward through the inner filter media (“Liquid 26 entering the outer filter portion 28 may enter this passage 46 and pass…inward through small-diameter tubular filter medium 48 of the inner filter portion 34 and out the open bottom end of the inner filter portion 34 to coupler 22.” [Col 4, lines 26-35]).
Regarding claim 5, Carmody discloses the filter assembly of Claim 1, wherein the inner filter has an inner filter length less than an outer filter length of the outer filter (“The axial length of the tubular filter element for the inner filter portion may be substantially less than the axial length of the tubular filter element for the outer filter portion.” [Col 2, lines 4-6]).
Regarding claim 6, Carmody discloses the filter assembly of Claim 1, wherein the inner filter has an inner filter radius less than an outer filter radius of the outer filter (“the diameter of the inner filter portion 34 is smaller than the diameter of the outer filter portion 28” [Col 4, lines 24-25]).
Regarding claim 7, Carmody discloses the filter assembly of Claim 1, further comprising a frame (housing 12) to support the outer filter media (Figure 7), wherein the frame directs the first flow and the second flow toward the annulus (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Carmody discloses the filter assembly of Claim 7, wherein an upper portion of the frame (at upper end 16) directs the first flow and the second flow toward the annulus (Figure 1; “The volume 14 of the housing 12 holds a filter comprised of a generally tubular outer filter portion 28 fitting coaxially within the volume 14 and coaxially surrounding a generally tubular inner filter portion 34. The outer filter portion 28 has an open upper end 30 that may receive the liquid 26 from the coupler 20 flowing downward under the force of gravity.” [Col 3, lines 60-65]).
Regarding claim 9, Carmody discloses the filter assembly of Claim 8, further comprising a lower portion of the frame (upper ring 33, lower support ring 52 and stop wall 38), wherein the lower portion of the frame prevents the first flow and the second flow from bypassing the outer filter media and the inner filter media (Figures 1 and 6; “the inner fitting of the stop wall 38 and support ring 52 block fluid flow downward through passage 46, requiring the fluid 26 to pass outward through large-diameter tubular filter medium 44 or inward through small-diameter tubular filter medium 48.” [Col 5, lines 41-45]).
Regarding claim 10, Carmody discloses the filter assembly of Claim 9, wherein the upper portion of the frame and the lower portion of the frame are coupled by a column (side walls of housing 12, pillars 50, 53, and 56).
Regarding claim 11, Carmody discloses the filter assembly of Claim 9, wherein the inner filter media (small-diameter tubular filter medium 48) is bonded to the lower portion of the frame (“This stop wall 38 is in-molded to a lower edge of the small-diameter tubular filter medium 48” [Col 5, lines 16-17]; Figures 2 and 6).
Regarding claim 12, Carmody discloses the filter assembly of Claim 1, further comprising a rounded top (cap 40 and axially extending support pillar 56; shown to have a rounded, circular cross section in Figure 2) coupled to an upper portion of the inner filter media (“Pillar 56 joins at its upper end with the cap 40 which may also be in-molded to the upper edge of the small-diameter tubular filter medium 48” [Col 5, lines 8-10]), wherein the rounded top is configured to direct the first flow and the second flow into the annulus (“a cap 40, the latter preventing flow of liquid 26 through the upper end of the inner filter portion 34. The height of the inner filter portion 34 is such that the cap 40 is recessed below the support ring 33. As so positioned, liquid 26 striking the cap 40, when splashing upward as indicated by drop 42, is contained within the outer filter portion 28 to be received by a large-diameter tubular filter medium 44 of the outer filter portion 28.” [Col 4, lines 16-23]; Figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Carmody discloses the filter assembly of Claim 12, wherein the rounded top is bonded to the inner filter media (“Pillar 56 joins at its upper end with the cap 40 which may also be in-molded to the upper edge of the small-diameter tubular filter medium 48” [Col 5, lines 8-10]).
Regarding claim 14, Carmody discloses a method comprising:
introducing an inlet flow (liquid 26) into a chamber volume (volume 14; “liquid 26 such as blood may flow in through the upper coupler 20 through the volume 14 to the lower coupler 22.” [Col 3, line 57-59]; “The outer filter portion 28 has an open upper end 30 that may receive the liquid 26 from the coupler 20 flowing downward under the force of gravity.” [Col 3, lines 63-65]);
permitting the inlet flow from an inlet portion (upper coupler 20) of the chamber volume through an annulus (coaxial passage 46) defined between an outer filter and an inner filter (“the diameter of the inner filter portion 34 is smaller than the diameter of the outer filter portion 28 providing a coaxial passage 46 therebetween.” [Col 4, lines 24-26]), through the outer filter and into an outlet portion (lower coupler 22) of the chamber volume (“Liquid 26 entering the outer filter portion 28 may enter this passage 46 and pass either outward through the large-diameter tubular filter medium 44 of the outer filter portion 28 along the passage 36 and downward to coupler 22” [Col 4, lines 26-35]);
capturing particulate from the inlet flow in the outer filter (“The filtration medium is designed to remove micro aggregates and clots, as well as non-blood particulate matter.” [Col 1, lines 18-20]);
permitting the inlet flow from the inlet portion of the chamber volume through the annulus, through the inner filter, and into the outlet portion of the chamber volume (“Liquid 26 entering the outer filter portion 28 may enter this passage 46 and pass…inward through small-diameter tubular filter medium 48 of the inner filter portion 34 and out the open bottom end of the inner filter portion 34 to coupler 22.” [Col 4, lines 26-35]); and
capturing particulate from the inlet flow in the inner filter (“The filtration medium is designed to remove micro aggregates and clots, as well as non-blood particulate matter.” [Col 1, lines 18-20]).
Regarding claim 15, Carmody discloses the method of Claim 14, further comprising permitting the inlet flow from the annulus radially outward through the outer filter (“Liquid 26 entering the outer filter portion 28 may enter this passage 46 and pass either outward through the large-diameter tubular filter medium 44 of the outer filter portion 28 along the passage 36 and downward to coupler 22” [Col 4, lines 26-35]).
Regarding claim 16, Carmody discloses the method of Claim 14, further comprising permitting the inlet flow from the annulus radially inward through the inner filter (“Liquid 26 entering the outer filter portion 28 may enter this passage 46 and pass…inward through small-diameter tubular filter medium 48 of the inner filter portion 34 and out the open bottom end of the inner filter portion 34 to coupler 22.” [Col 4, lines 26-35]).
Regarding claim 17, Carmody discloses the method of Claim 14, further comprising permitting the inlet flow from the annulus through the inner filter and into an inner flow channel defined by the inner filter (“Liquid 26 entering the outer filter portion 28 may enter this passage 46 and pass…inward through small-diameter tubular filter medium 48 of the inner filter portion 34 and out the open bottom end of the inner filter portion 34 to coupler 22.” [Col 4, lines 26-35]; “the stop wall 38 includes a central aperture 65 allowing fluid flowing into the inner filter portion 34 through small-diameter tubular filter medium 48 to be discharged through inner passage 63 within inner filter portion 34 downward out of the inner filter portion 34.” [Col 5, lines 36-40]).
Regarding claim 18, Carmody discloses a drip chamber assembly (filter 10), comprising:
a drip chamber (housing 12) comprising a chamber body defining a chamber volume (volume 14; Figure 1); and
a filter disposed within the chamber volume (“The volume 14 of the housing 12 holds a filter comprised of a generally tubular outer filter portion 28 fitting coaxially within the volume 14 and coaxially surrounding a generally tubular inner filter portion 34.” [Col 3, lines 60-64]), the filter comprising:
a cylindrical outer filter (outer filter portion 28) comprising an outer filter media (large-diameter tubular filter medium 44); and
a cylindrical inner filter (inner filter portion 34) comprising an inner filter media (small-diameter tubular filter medium 48) defining an inner flow channel (passage 63), wherein the inner filter is disposed within the outer filter (Figure 1; “The inner filter portion 34 is located coaxially within the outer filter portion 28” [Col 4, lines 9-10]), defining an annulus (coaxial passage 46) between the outer filter and the inner filter (“the diameter of the inner filter portion 34 is smaller than the diameter of the outer filter portion 28 providing a coaxial passage 46 therebetween.” [Col 4, lines 24-26]),
wherein the outer filter media is configured to permit a first flow from an inlet portion (coupler 20) of the chamber volume through the annulus and toward an outlet portion (coupler 22) of the chamber volume (“liquid 26 such as blood may flow in through the upper coupler 20 through the volume 14 to the lower coupler 22” [Col 3, lines 57-59]) and capture particulate from the first flow, and the inner filter media is configured to permit a second flow from the inlet portion of the chamber volume through the annulus and toward the outlet portion of the chamber volume and capture particulate from the second flow (“Liquid 26 entering the outer filter portion 28 may enter this passage 46 and pass either outward through the large-diameter tubular filter medium 44 of the outer filter portion 28 along the passage 36 and downward to coupler 22, or inward through small-diameter tubular filter medium 48 of the inner filter portion 34 and out the open bottom end of the inner filter portion 34 to coupler 22. These two paths of liquid flow provide for parallel filtration effectively increasing the filtration area of the filter 10.” [Col 4, lines 26-35]; “The filtration medium is designed to remove micro aggregates and clots, as well as non-blood particulate matter.” [Col 1, lines 18-20]).
Regarding claim 19, Carmody discloses the drip chamber assembly of Claim 18, wherein the outer filter media is configured to permit the first flow from the annulus radially outward toward through the outer filter media (“Liquid 26 entering the outer filter portion 28 may enter this passage 46 and pass either outward through the large-diameter tubular filter medium 44 of the outer filter portion 28 along the passage 36 and downward to coupler 22” [Col 4, lines 26-35]).
Regarding claim 20, Carmody discloses the drip chamber assembly of Claim 18, wherein the inner filter media is configured to permit the second flow from the annulus radially inward through the inner filter media (“Liquid 26 entering the outer filter portion 28 may enter this passage 46 and pass…inward through small-diameter tubular filter medium 48 of the inner filter portion 34 and out the open bottom end of the inner filter portion 34 to coupler 22.” [Col 4, lines 26-35]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Howard et al. (US 20060191839) discloses a filter assembly (10) comprising: an outer filter comprising an outer filter media (12); and an inner filter comprising an inner filter media (14) defining an inner flow channel (Figure 3), wherein the inner filter is disposed within the outer filter (Figure 3), defining an annulus (13) between the outer filter and the inner filter (Figure 3)
Barnes et al. (USPN 4954251) discloses a filter assembly (Figure 5A) comprising: an outer filter comprising an outer filter media (24); and an inner filter comprising an inner filter media (26) defining an inner flow channel (30), wherein the inner filter is disposed within the outer filter (Figure 5A), defining an annulus (28) between the outer filter and the inner filter (Figure 5A).
/LEAH J SWANSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KEVIN C SIRMONS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783