DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed on 10/10/2024.
Claims 1-15 present for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
It is hereby acknowledged that the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file:
Information Disclosure Statement(s) as received on 10/10/2024, 10/31/2024, and 11/06/2024 is/are considered by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,143,910 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the patent anticipate all the claims in the applications.
Instant Application
Patent (US 12,143,910 B2)
A session manager configured for managing an edge computing resource in a mobile network, wherein the mobile network comprises edge nodes which are configurable to provide edge computing resources to mobile devices, wherein the session manager comprises:
a data network interface configured to establish a connection with a mobile device and with a cloud service system, and
a processor system configured to:
receive a device identifier from the mobile device that identifies the mobile device on the mobile network,
obtain a location of the mobile device in the mobile network using the device identifier,
generate a session identifier for the mobile device and associate the session identifier with the mobile device,
send the session identifier to the mobile device, the mobile device being configured to forward the session identifier to the cloud service system,
receive a request from the cloud service system for deployment of an edge computing resource for the mobile device on an edge node, wherein the request identifies the mobile device with the session identifier,
select an edge node for the mobile device in dependence on the location, and
initiate the edge computing resource for the mobile device on the edge node.
A session manager configured for managing an edge computing resource in a mobile network, wherein the mobile network comprises edge nodes which are configurable to provide edge computing resources to mobile devices, wherein the session manager comprises:
a data network interface configured to establish a connection with a mobile device and with a cloud service system, and
a processor system configured to:
receive a device identifier from the mobile device that identifies the mobile device on the mobile network,
obtain a location of the mobile device in the mobile network using the device identifier,
generate a session identifier for the mobile device and associate the session identifier with the mobile device,
send the session identifier to the mobile device, the mobile device being configured to forward the session identifier to the cloud service system,
receive a request from the cloud service system for deployment of an edge computing resource for the mobile device on an edge node, wherein the request identifies the mobile device with the session identifier,
select an edge node for the mobile device in dependence on the location,
initiate the edge computing resource for the mobile device on the edge node;
send a data network address of the initiated edge computing resource on the edge node to the cloud service system, and/or
send a reconfiguration message to a routing interface from the mobile network to a data network, the routing interface being associated with the mobile device and/or the edge node to route traffic to the initiated edge computing resource.
A session manager as in Claim 1, wherein the processor system is configured to:
send a data network address of the initiated edge computing resource on the edge node to the cloud service system, and/or
send a reconfiguration message to a routing interface from the mobile network to the data network, the routing interface being associated with the mobile device and/or the edge node to route traffic to the initiated edge computing resource.
A session manager configured for managing an edge computing resource in a mobile network, wherein the mobile network comprises edge nodes which are configurable to provide edge computing resources to mobile devices, wherein the session manager comprises:
…
…
send a data network address of the initiated edge computing resource on the edge node to the cloud service system, and/or
send a reconfiguration message to a routing interface from the mobile network to a data network, the routing interface being associated with the mobile device and/or the edge node to route traffic to the initiated edge computing resource.
A session manager as in claim 1, wherein the processor system of the session manager is configured to:
collect mobile network level information for the cloud service system from the mobile network to indicate network congestion to the cloud service system.
2. The session manager as in claim 1, wherein the processor system of the session manager is configured to:
collect mobile network level information for the cloud service system from the mobile network to indicate network congestion to the cloud service system.
A session manager as in claim 1, comprising:
a mobile network interface configured to establish a connection with the mobile network, wherein the processor subsystem is configured to obtain the location of the mobile device via the mobile network interface to the mobile network.
3. The session manager as in claim 1, comprising:
a mobile network interface configured to establish a connection with the mobile network, wherein the processor system is configured to obtain the location of the mobile device via the mobile network interface to the mobile network.
An edge computing manager comprising the session manager of claim 1, the edge computing manager being configured to:
start a virtual machine on the edge node, the virtual machine supporting the edge computing resources for the mobile device on the edge node, and
configure traffic routing from the mobile device to the edge node.
4.An edge computing manager comprising the session manager of claim 1, the edge computing manager being configured to:
start a virtual machine on the edge node, the virtual machine supporting the edge computing resources for the mobile device on the edge node, and
configure traffic routing from the mobile device to the edge node.
A cloud service system comprising:
a data network interface configured to establish a connection with a mobile device and with a session manager, and
a processor system configured to:
connect to the mobile device to provide a cloud service,
receive a session identifier from the mobile device, the session identifier being associated to mobile device through the session manager,
determine a need for an edge computing resource for the mobile device, and
send a request to the session manager for deployment of the edge computing resource for the mobile device on an edge node, wherein the request identifies the mobile device with the session identifier.
5.A cloud service system comprising:
a data network interface configured to establish a connection with a mobile device and with a session manager, and
a processor system configured to:
connect to the mobile device to provide a cloud service,
receive a session identifier from the mobile device, the session identifier being associated to the mobile device through the session manager,
determine a need for an edge computing resource for the mobile device,
send a request to the session manager for deployment of the edge computing resource for the mobile device on an edge node, wherein the request identifies the mobile device with the session identifier,
receive from the session manager a data network address of an initiated edge computing resource, and
send the data network address to the mobile device.
A cloud service system as in Claim 6, wherein the processor system of the cloud service system is configured to:
receive from the session manager a data network address of an initiated edge computing resource, and
send the address to the mobile device.
5.A cloud service system comprising:
…
…
receive from the session manager a data network address of an initiated edge computing resource, and
send the data network address to the mobile device.
A cloud service system as in Claim 7, wherein the processor system of the cloud service system is configured to:
send a request to the session manager for information indicating mobile network congestion, the request comprising data network information identifying one or more network flows to servers of the cloud service system,
receive a network congestion report from the session manager when network congestion is detected for a server,
select one or more mobile devices connected to the server, and
send a request for deployment of the edge computing resource for the one or more mobile devices.
The cloud service system as in claim 5, wherein the processor system of the cloud service system is configured to:
send a request to the session manager for information indicating mobile network congestion, the request comprising data network information identifying one or more network flows to servers of the cloud service system,
receive a network congestion report from the session manager when network congestion is detected for a server,
select one or more mobile devices connected to the server, and
send a request for deployment of the edge computing resource for the one or more mobile devices.
A cloud service system as in Claim 7, wherein the request comprises multiple session identifiers identifying multiple mobile devices and determining a need comprises detecting a peak in demand originating from a location in the mobile network associated with the multiple mobile devices, wherein determining a peak in demand comprises:
determining a peak in demand originating from a particular server instance of the cloud service system to which the multiple mobile devices connect, and/or
determining a common location of the multiple mobile devices from data network addresses used by the multiple mobile devices, and/or
receiving geographical information from the mobile devices and determining a peak in demand originating the multiple mobile devices having matching geographical information, and
receiving location information for the mobile devices in the mobile network and determining a peak in demand originating from the multiple mobile devices having matching location information.
The cloud service system as in claim 5, wherein the request comprises multiple session identifiers identifying multiple mobile devices and determining the need comprises detecting a peak in demand originating from a location in a mobile network associated with the multiple mobile devices, wherein determining the peak in demand comprises:
determining a peak in demand originating from a particular server instance of the cloud service system to which the multiple mobile devices connect, and/or
determining a common location of the multiple mobile devices from data network addresses used by the multiple mobile devices, and/or
receiving geographical information from the multiple mobile devices and determining a peak in demand originating from the multiple mobile devices having matching geographical information, and
receiving location information for the multiple mobile devices in the mobile network and determining a peak in demand originating from the multiple mobile devices having matching location information.
A mobile device comprising:
a data network interface configured to establish a connection with a cloud service system and with a session manager, and
a processor system configured to:
connect to the cloud service system to obtain a cloud service,
send a device identifier to the session manager that identifies the mobile device on a mobile network,
receive a session identifier from the session manager, and
send the session identifier to the cloud service system.
A mobile device comprising:
a data network interface configured to establish a connection with a cloud service system and with a session manager, and
a processor system configured to:
connect to the cloud service system to obtain a cloud service,
send a device identifier to the session manager that identifies the mobile device on a mobile network,
receive a session identifier from the session manager,
send the session identifier to the cloud service system, wherein the cloud service system receives a data network address of an initiated edge computing resource from the session manager, and
receive from the cloud service system the data network address of the initiated edge computing resource.
A mobile device as in Claim 10, wherein the processor system is configured for a cloud application and an operating system, the operating system being configured to:
send the device identifier to the session manager that identifies the mobile device on a mobile network, and
receive the session identifier from the session manager, and
the cloud application being configured to:
obtain the session identifier from the operating system and to send the session identifier to the cloud service system.
9. The mobile device as in claim 8, wherein the processor system is configured for a cloud application and an operating system,
the operating system being configured to:
send the device identifier to the session manager that identifies the mobile device on a mobile network, and
receive the session identifier from the session manager, and
the cloud application being configured to:
obtain the session identifier from the operating system and to send the session identifier to the cloud service system.
A session management method for managing an edge computing resource in a mobile network, wherein the mobile network comprises edge nodes which are configurable to provide edge computing resources to mobile devices, wherein the session management method comprises:
establishing a connection with a mobile device and with a cloud service system,
receiving a device identifier from the mobile device that identifies the mobile device on the mobile network,
obtaining a location of the mobile device in the mobile network using the device identifier,
generating a session identifier for the mobile device and associate the session identifier with the mobile device,
sending the session identifier to the mobile device, the mobile device being configured to forward the session identifier to the cloud service system,
receiving a request from the cloud service system for deployment of an edge computing resource for the mobile device on an edge node, wherein the request identifies the mobile device with the session identifier,
selecting an edge node for the mobile device in dependence on the location, and
initiating the edge computing resource for the mobile device on the edge node.
A session management method for managing an edge computing resource in a mobile network, wherein the mobile network comprises edge nodes which are configurable to provide edge computing resources to mobile devices, wherein the session management method comprises:
establishing a connection with a mobile device and with a cloud service system,
receiving a device identifier from the mobile device that identifies the mobile device on the mobile network,
obtaining a location of the mobile device in the mobile network using the device identifier,
generating a session identifier for the mobile device and associate the session identifier with the mobile device,
sending the session identifier to the mobile device, the mobile device being configured to forward the session identifier to the cloud service system,
receiving a request from the cloud service system for deployment of an edge computing resource for the mobile device on an edge node, wherein the request identifies the mobile device with the session identifier,
selecting an edge node for the mobile device in dependence on the location,
initiating the edge computing resource for the mobile device on the edge node,
sending a data network address of the initiated edge computing resource on the edge node to the cloud service system, and/or
sending a reconfiguration message to a routing interface from the mobile network to a data network, the routing interface being associated with the mobile device and/or the edge node to route traffic to the initiated edge computing resource.
13.A cloud service method comprising:
establishing a connection with a mobile device and with a session manager, and
connecting to the mobile device to provide a cloud service,
receiving a session identifier from the mobile device, the session identifier being associated to mobile device through the session manager,
determining a need for an edge computing resource for the mobile device, and
sending a request to the session manager for deployment of the edge computing resource for the mobile device on an edge node, wherein the request identifies the mobile device with the session identifier.
12. A cloud service method comprising:
establishing a connection with a mobile device and with a session manager, and
connecting to the mobile device to provide a cloud service,
receiving a session identifier from the mobile device, the session identifier being associated to the mobile device through the session manager,
determining a need for an edge computing resource for the mobile device,
sending a request to the session manager for deployment of the edge computing resource for the mobile device on an edge node, wherein the request identifies the mobile device with the session identifier,
receiving from the session manager a data network address of an initiated edge computing resource, and
sending the data network address to the mobile device.
14.A mobile device method comprising:
establishing a connection with a cloud service system and with a session manager, and
connecting to the cloud service system to obtain a cloud service,
sending a device identifier to the session manager that identifies the mobile device on a mobile network,
receiving a session identifier from the session manager, and
sending the session identifier to the cloud service system.
13. A mobile device method comprising:
establishing a connection with a cloud service system and with a session manager, and
connecting to the cloud service system to obtain a cloud service,
sending a device identifier to the session manager that identifies the mobile device on a mobile network,
receiving a session identifier from the session manager,
sending the session identifier to the cloud service system, wherein the cloud service system receives a data network address of an initiated edge computing resource from the session manager, and
receiving from the cloud service system the data network address of the initiated edge computing resource.
15. A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising data representing instructions, which when executed by a processor system, cause the processor system to perform the method according to claim 12.
11. A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising data representing instructions, which when executed by a processor system, cause the processor system to perform the method according to claim 10.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-4, 7-9, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, line 1, “A session manager” should read “The session manager”;
Claim 3, line 1, “A session manager” should read “The session manager”;
Claim 4, line 1, “A session manager” should read “The session manager”;
Claim 7, line 1, “A cloud service system” should read “The cloud service system”;
Claim 7, line 5, “the address” should read “the data network address”;
Claim 8, line 1, “A cloud service system” should read “The cloud service system”;
Claim 8, line 10, “the edge computing resource” should read “the initiated edge computing resource”;
Claim 9, line 1, “A cloud service system” should read “The cloud service system”;
Claim 9, line 3, “a need” should read “the need”;
Claim 9, line 11, “the mobile devices” should read “the multiple mobile devices”;
Claim 9, line 14, “the mobile devices” should read “the multiple mobile devices”;
Claim 11, line 1, “A mobile device” should read “The mobile device”;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the data network" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the processor subsystem" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 5, claim limitation recites “the edge computing resources for the mobile device” in line 4, which renders the claim vague and indefinite. It is unclear whether “the edge computing resources for the mobile device” is referring to “edge computing resources” in claim 1, line 3, or to “an edge computing resource for the mobile device” in claim 1, lines 18-19, or to different edge computing resources for the mobile device.
Regarding claim 6, claim limitation recites “the mobile device” in lines 9-10, which renders the claim vague and indefinite. It is unclear whether “the mobile device” is referring to “a mobile device” in claim 6, line 3, or to “mobile device” in claim 6, line 7, or to a different/distinct mobile device.
Regarding claim 6, claim limitation recites “the mobile device” in line 12, which renders the claim vague and indefinite. It is unclear whether “the mobile device” is referring to “a mobile device” in claim 6, line 3, or to “mobile device” in claim 6, line 7, or to a different/distinct mobile device.
Regarding claim 6, claim limitation recites “the mobile device” in line 13, which renders the claim vague and indefinite. It is unclear whether “the mobile device” is referring to “a mobile device” in claim 6, line 3, or to “mobile device” in claim 6, line 7, or to a different/distinct mobile device.
Regarding claim 7, claim limitation recites “the mobile device” in line 5, which renders the claim vague and indefinite. It is unclear whether “the mobile device” is referring to “a mobile device” in claim 6, line 3, or to “mobile device” in claim 6, line 7, or to a different/distinct mobile device.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the mobile network" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 9, claim limitation recites “originating the multiple mobile devices” in line 12, which renders the claim vague and indefinite.
All dependent claims are rejected as having the same deficiencies as the claims they depend from.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 12, 13, and 15 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (US 2018/0263039 A1), hereinafter Fang, in view of Gan et al. (US 8,478,899 B2), hereinafter Gan, and in view of Kraiman et al. (US 2012/0166627 A1), hereinafter Kraiman.
Regarding claim 1, Fang discloses
A session manager configured for managing an edge computing resource in a mobile network, wherein the mobile network comprises edge nodes which are configurable to provide edge computing resources to mobile devices ([0004]: detecting data traffic path change of UE when it is being served by an Internet application instance running on a mobile edge host), wherein the session manager comprises:
a data network interface configured to establish a connection with a mobile device and with a cloud service system ([0034]: an Access Point (AP) of a radio access network provides the air interface to a mobile device (UE)), and
a processor system configured to:
generate a session identifier for the mobile device and associate the session identifier with the mobile device ([0060]: in a multi-session scenario, a UE keeps an old IP session on the source MEH and establish a new IP session at T-MEH during movement in underlying bearer network; some traffic might be transmitted through the old session and some traffic might be sent over the new session),
receive a request from the cloud service system for deployment of an edge computing resource for the mobile device on an edge node ([0006]: receiving an application resource request for a cloud-computing services from a user equipment (UE)),
select an edge node for the mobile device in dependence on the location ([0006]: allocating resources at a mobile edge computing platform to the application resource request in lieu of a server of the cloud-computing services that is reachable via an internet connection, where a data latency between the UE and the mobile edge computing platform is less than a data latency between the UE and the server of the cloud-computing services at least due to proximity of the mobile edge computing platform to the UE), and
initiate the edge computing resource for the mobile device on the edge node ([0006]: allocating resources at a mobile edge computing platform to the application resource request in lieu of a server of the cloud-computing services that is reachable via an internet connection, where a data latency between the UE and the mobile edge computing platform is less than a data latency between the UE and the server of the cloud-computing services at least due to proximity of the mobile edge computing platform to the UE).
Fang does not explicitly disclose
receive a device identifier from the mobile device that identifies the mobile device on the mobile network,
obtain a location of the mobile device in the mobile network using the device identifier,
send the session identifier to the mobile device, the mobile device being configured to forward the session identifier to the cloud service system,
However, Gan discloses
receive a device identifier from the mobile device that identifies the mobile device on the mobile network (Col. 4, lines 23-25: the second message handler also receives a client device identifier that may be used to identify a location of the client device),
obtain a location of the mobile device in the mobile network using the device identifier (Col. 4, lines 23-25: the second message handler also receives a client device identifier that may be used to identify a location of the client device),
send the session identifier to the mobile device, the mobile device being configured to forward the session identifier to the cloud service system (Claim 7: providing the response to the client device, server device employs the session identifier to manage a second message from the client device towards the application by sending with the second message with the second identifier to the second server device),
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Gan to Fang because Fang discloses allocating resources at a mobile edge computing platform to the application resource request in lieu of a server of the cloud-computing services ([0006]) and Gan further suggests receive client device identifier to identify a location of the client device (Col. 4, lines 23-25).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Gan in the Fang system in order to reduce latency.
Fang and Gan do not explicitly disclose
wherein the request identifies the mobile device with the session identifier.
However, Kraiman discloses
wherein the request identifies the mobile device with the session identifier ([0005]: server generating a unique session identifier (session ID) upon receiving a first request from the client; & [0021]: determines whether valid information uniquely identifying a session (i.e., session ID information) is included with the request message; & Claim 1: receiving a HTTP request message from a client requesting resources located on a target server wherein the HTTP request message includes session ID information).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Kraiman to Fang and Gan because Fang and Gan disclose allocating resources at a mobile edge computing platform to the application resource request in lieu of a server of the cloud-computing services (Fang: [0006]) and Kraiman further suggests receiving request message includes session ID information ([0021]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kraiman in the Fang and Gan system in order to uniquely identify a session with user.
Regarding claim 3, Fang, Gan, and Kraiman disclose the session manager as described in claim 1. Fang further discloses
collect mobile network level information for the cloud service system from the mobile network to indicate network congestion to the cloud service system ([0040]: as Internet services are located at the cloud, they may be far away from end users who consume services; therefore, the service traffic may experience a long delay over the wireless communication network before arriving to a UE).
Regarding claim 4, Fang, Gan, and Kraiman disclose the session manager as described in claim 1. Fang and Gan further disclose
a mobile network interface configured to establish a connection with the mobile network, wherein the processor subsystem is configured to obtain the location of the mobile device via the mobile network interface to the mobile network (Gan: Col. 4, lines 23-25: the second message handler also receives a client device identifier that may be used to identify a location of the client device). Therefore, the limitations of claim 4 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 5, Fang, Gan, and Kraiman disclose the session manager as described in claim 1. Fang further discloses
start a virtual machine on the edge node, the virtual machine supporting the edge computing resources for the mobile device on the edge node ([0007]: creating a special application instance running on the virtualization infrastructure machine of mobile edge computing host; & [0010]: relocating the application instance being served to the UE to another mobile edge host with better QoS), and
configure traffic routing from the mobile device to the edge node ([0009]: configure the traffic detection rule of traffic path change detection application instance through the mobile edge platform manager and virtualization infrastructure manager).
Regarding claim 6, Fang discloses
A cloud service system comprising:
a data network interface configured to establish a connection with a mobile device and with a session manager ([0034]: an Access Point (AP) of a radio access network provides the air interface to a mobile device (UE)), and
a processor system configured to:
connect to the mobile device to provide a cloud service ([0039]: a cloud computing platform is a type of Internet-based cloud computing environment that provides shared computing resources and data to other computing devices),
determine a need for an edge computing resource for the mobile device ([0105]: receive an application resource request for cloud-computing services from a user equipment (UE)), and
send a request to the session manager for deployment of the edge computing resource for the mobile device on an edge node ([0006]: receiving an application resource request for a cloud-computing services from a user equipment (UE)).
Fang does not explicitly disclose
receive a session identifier from the mobile device, the session identifier being associated to mobile device through the session manager.
However, Gan discloses
receive a session identifier from the mobile device, the session identifier being associated to mobile device through the session manager (Claim 7: providing the response to the client device, server device employs the session identifier to manage a second message from the client device towards the application by sending with the second message with the second identifier to the second server device),
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Gan to Fang because Fang discloses allocating resources at a mobile edge computing platform to the application resource request in lieu of a server of the cloud-computing services ([0006]) and Gan further suggests receive client device identifier to identify a location of the client device (Col. 4, lines 23-25).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Gan in the Fang system in order to reduce latency.
Fang and Gan do not explicitly disclose
wherein the request identifies the mobile device with the session identifier.
However, Kraiman discloses
wherein the request identifies the mobile device with the session identifier ([0005]: server generating a unique session identifier (session ID) upon receiving a first request from the client; & [0021]: determines whether valid information uniquely identifying a session (i.e., session ID information) is included with the request message; & Claim 1: receiving a HTTP request message from a client requesting resources located on a target server wherein the HTTP request message includes session ID information).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Kraiman to Fang and Gan because Fang and Gan disclose allocating resources at a mobile edge computing platform to the application resource request in lieu of a server of the cloud-computing services (Fang: [0006]) and Kraiman further suggests receiving request message includes session ID information ([0021]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kraiman in the Fang and Gan system in order to uniquely identify a session with user.
Regarding claims 12 and 15, the limitations of claims 12 and 15 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 13, the limitations of claim 13 are rejected in the analysis of claim 6 above and this claim is rejected on that basis.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang in view of Gan, in view of Kraiman, and further in view of Smart et al. (US 8,775,564 B1), hereinafter Smart.
Regarding claim 2, Fang, Gan, and Kraiman disclose the session manager as described in claim 1. Fang, Gan, and Kraiman do not explicitly disclose
send a data network address of the initiated edge computing resource on the edge node to the cloud service system, and/or
send a reconfiguration message to a routing interface from the mobile network to the data network, the routing interface being associated with the mobile device and/or the edge node to route traffic to the initiated edge computing resource.
However, Smart discloses
send a data network address of the initiated edge computing resource on the edge node to the cloud service system (Col. 1, lines 26-29: the traffic engine transmits one or more IP addresses of the edge servers to an interface to a domain name service (DNS) while the service function has the serve value for the domain name), and/or
send a reconfiguration message to a routing interface from the mobile network to the data network, the routing interface being associated with the mobile device and/or the edge node to route traffic to the initiated edge computing resource.
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Smart to Fang, Gan, and Kraiman because Fang, Gan, and Kraiman disclose allocating resources at a mobile edge computing platform to the application resource request in lieu of a server of the cloud-computing services (Fang: [0006]) and Smart further suggests transmitting IP address of edge server to a domain name service (Col. 1, lines 26-29).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Smart in the Fang, Gan, and Kraiman system in order to keep track of information.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang in view of Gan, in view of Kraiman, and further in view of Lucas et al. (US 2010/0125626 A1), hereinafter Lucas.
Regarding claim 7, Fang, Gan, and Kraiman disclose the cloud service system as described in claim 6. Fang, Gan, and Kraiman do not explicitly disclose
receive from the session manager a data network address of an initiated edge computing resource, and
send the address to the mobile device.
However, Lucas discloses
receive from the session manager a data network address of an initiated edge computing resource ([0020]: ISP DNS 212 can send a reply 218 to client system 202 including the IP address of edge server 206 received from CDN DNS 204), and
send the address to the mobile device ([0020]: ISP DNS 212 can send a reply 218 to client system 202 including the IP address of edge server 206 received from CDN DNS 204).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Lucas to Fang, Gan, and Kraiman because Fang, Gan, and Kraiman disclose allocating resources at a mobile edge computing platform to the application resource request in lieu of a server of the cloud-computing services (Fang: [0006]) and Lucas further suggests transmitting received IP address of edge server to client ([0020]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Lucas in the Fang, Gan, and Kraiman system in order to provide optimal edge server to client as suggested by Lucas ([0022]).
Claim(s) 10-11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang in view of Gan.
Regarding claim 10, Fang discloses
A mobile device comprising:
a data network interface configured to establish a connection with a cloud service system and with a session manager ([0034]: an Access Point (AP) of a radio access network provides the air interface to a mobile device (UE); & [0039]: a cloud computing platform (105) is a type of Internet-based cloud computing environment that provides shared computing resources and data to other computing devices; the cloud computing platform can offer an opportunity to third-party service providers with various capabilities to store and process data serving their customers), and
a processor system configured to:
connect to the cloud service system to obtain a cloud service ([0039]: a cloud computing platform (105) is a type of Internet-based cloud computing environment that provides shared computing resources and data to other computing devices; the cloud computing platform can offer an opportunity to third-party service providers with various capabilities to store and process data serving their customers).
Fang does not explicitly disclose
send a device identifier to the session manager that identifies the mobile device on a mobile network;
receive a session identifier from the session manager, and
send the session identifier to the cloud service system.
However, Gan discloses
send a device identifier to the session manager that identifies the mobile device on a mobile network (Col. 4, lines 23-25: the second message handler also receives a client device identifier that may be used to identify a location of the client device),
receive a session identifier from the session manager (Claim 7: providing the response to the client device, server device employs the session identifier to manage a second message from the client device towards the application by sending with the second message with the second identifier to the second server device), and
send the session identifier to the cloud service system (Claim 7: providing the response to the client device, server device employs the session identifier to manage a second message from the client device towards the application by sending with the second message with the second identifier to the second server device).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Gan to Fang because Fang discloses allocating resources at a mobile edge computing platform to the application resource request in lieu of a server of the cloud-computing services ([0006]) and Gan further suggests receive client device identifier to identify a location of the client device (Col. 4, lines 23-25).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Gan in the Fang system in order to reduce latency.
Regarding claim 11, Fang and Gan disclose the mobile device as described in claim 10. Fang and Gan further disclose
the processor system is configured for a cloud application (Fang: [0004]: an Internet application instance running on a mobile edge host) and an operating system (Fang: [0104]: processor electronics 1110, FIG. 11),
the operating system being configured to:
send the device identifier to the session manger that identifies the mobile device on a mobile network (Gan: Claim 7: providing the response to the client device, server device employs the session identifier to manage a second message from the client device towards the application by sending with the second message with the second identifier to the second server device), and
receive the session identifier from the session manger (Gan: Claim 7: providing the response to the client device, server device employs the session identifier to manage a second message from the client device towards the application by sending with the second message with the second identifier to the second server device), and
the cloud application being configured to:
obtain the session identifier from the operating system and to send the session identifier to the cloud service system (Gan: Claim 7: providing the response to the client device, server device employs the session identifier to manage a second message from the client device towards the application by sending with the second message with the second identifier to the second server device).
Regarding claim 14, the limitations of claim 14 are rejected in the analysis of claim 10 above and this claim is rejected on that basis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chung et al. (US 2005/0036501 A1). The mobile host that has received the address of the domain name server from the edge router caches the address therein.
Shimizu et al. (US 2006/0159084 A1). The Web browser of the client terminal receives the IP address notice from the edge router on the client side; when the edge router on the client side receives the request including the IP address from the client terminal, the edge router on the client side stores data of the request into a storage device such as a buffer.
Reed et al. (US 9,549,388 B2). The level of traffic congestion can be determined from obtaining the location of devices on a wireless network.
Rosen et al. (US 6,014,090). Deliver resource server address to mobile communication system based on the geographic location of mobile communication system.
Lekontsev et al. (US 2020/0274935 A1). Create an identifier of a connection session (session identifier) with the device wherein the session identifier is associated with the device’s identifier, and saving the session and device’s identifiers in the database.
Kaylee Huang
01/13/2026
/KAYLEE J HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447