DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. An attempt by the Office to electronically retrieve, under the priority document exchange program, the foreign application 10-2019-0019477 to which priority is claimed has FAILED on 11/12/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/25/2025, 03/12/2025 and 10/10/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and were considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
5. Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of Song et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,401,900).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both claiming substantially the same features.
Note the following similarities between the application claims and patent claims.
Instant Application No. 18/912,162
U.S. Patent No. 12,401,900
Claim 1
An electronic device comprising:
a camera;
a sensor configured to detect movement information of the camera or the electronic device; at least one processor; and
memory storing instructions which, when collectively or individually executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to:
enter a video capturing mode to capture a video; obtain, using the camera, a plurality of image frames while in the video capturing mode;
obtain, using the sensor, the movement information while one or more images of the plurality of image frames are obtained;
obtain illuminance information of an external environment with respect to the electronic device while the one or more images frames are obtained;
based at least in part on the illumination information corresponding to a first specified illuminance range, perform a video digital image stabilization with respect to at least one image frame of the one or more image frames by compensating a movement of the electronic device by a first proportion; and based at least in part on the illuminance information corresponding to a second specified illuminance range at least partially lower and different from the first specified illumination range, perform the video digital image stabilization with respect to the at least one image frame by compensating the movement by a second proportion smaller than the first proportion.
Claim 1
An electronic device comprising:
a camera;
a motion sensor configured to obtain motion information of the electronic device; a display; a memory storing at least one instruction; and a processor executing the at least one instruction stored in the memory, wherein the processor causes the electronic device to:
enter a video capturing mode in which the camera is activated; display a live-preview corresponding to the video capturing mode using images obtained via the camera; while in the video capturing mode, display a user interface including a first graphical object indicative of a first degree of motion stabilization and a second graphical object indicative of a second degree of motion stabilization greater than the first degree of motion stabilization; receive an input via the user interface to select one of the first graphical object or the second graphical object; based on the first graphical object being selected, display a live-preview by performing…
Claim 5
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine an ambient brightness of the electronic device; and
determine an intensity of a stabilization operation, based on at least one of the ambient brightness and a motion size of the electronic device.
Cont. of claim 1
based on the motion information and a first marginal area having a first size, a first stabilization with respect to the obtained images; and based on the second graphical object being selected, display the live-preview by performing, based on the motion information and a second marginal area having a second size larger than the first size, a second stabilization with respect to the obtained images.
Claim 7
A method for operating an electronic device, the method comprising:
entering a video capturing mode to capture a video; obtaining a plurality of image frames while in the video capturing mode; obtaining a movement information while one or more images of the plurality of image frames are obtained;
obtaining illuminance information of an external environment with respect to the electronic device while the one or more images frames are obtained;
based at least in part on the illumination information corresponding to a first specified illuminance range, performing a video digital image stabilization with respect to at least one image frame of the one or more image frames by compensating a movement of the electronic device by a first proportion; and based at least in part on the illuminance information corresponding to a second specified illuminance range at least partially lower and different from the first specified illumination range, performing the video digital image stabilization with respect to the at least one image frame by compensating the movement by a second proportion smaller than the first proportion.
Claim 12
A method of operating an electronic device comprising a camera, the method comprising:
entering a video capturing mode in which the camera is activated; displaying a live-preview corresponding to the video capturing mode using images obtained via the camera; while in the video capturing mode, displaying a user interface including a first graphical object indicative of a first degree of motion stabilization and a second graphical object indicative of a second degree of motion stabilization greater than the first degree of motion stabilization; receiving an input via the user interface to select one of the first graphical object or the second graphical object; obtaining motion information of the electronic device via a motion sensor; based on the first graphical object being selected, displaying a live-preview by performing…
Claim 16
The method of claim 12, further comprising: determining an ambient brightness of the electronic device; and
determining an intensity of a stabilization operation, based on at least one of the ambient brightness and a motion size of the electronic device.
Cont. of claim 12
based on the motion information and a first marginal area having a first size, a first stabilization with respect to the obtained images; and based on the second graphical object being selected, displaying the live-preview by performing, based on the motion information and a second marginal area having a second size lager than the first size, a second stabilization with respect to the obtained images.
Claim 13
A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions, which, when executed by an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform operations comprising:
entering a video capturing mode to capture a video; obtaining a plurality of image frames while in the video capturing mode; obtaining a movement information while one or more images of the plurality of image frames are obtained;
obtaining illuminance information of an external environment with respect to the electronic device while the one or more images frames are obtained;
based at least in part on the illumination information corresponding to a first specified illuminance range, performing a video digital image stabilization with respect to at least one image frame of the one or more image frames by compensating a movement of the electronic device by a first proportion; and based at least in part on the illuminance information corresponding to a second specified illuminance range at least partially lower and different from the first specified illumination range, performing the video digital image stabilization with respect to the at least one image frame by compensating the movement by a second proportion smaller than the first proportion.
Claim 12
A method of operating an electronic device comprising a camera, the method comprising:
entering a video capturing mode in which the camera is activated; displaying a live-preview corresponding to the video capturing mode using images obtained via the camera; while in the video capturing mode, displaying a user interface including a first graphical object indicative of a first degree of motion stabilization and a second graphical object indicative of a second degree of motion stabilization greater than the first degree of motion stabilization; receiving an input via the user interface to select one of the first graphical object or the second graphical object; obtaining motion information of the electronic device via a motion sensor; based on the first graphical object being selected, displaying a live-preview by performing…
Claim 16
The method of claim 12, further comprising: determining an ambient brightness of the electronic device; and
determining an intensity of a stabilization operation, based on at least one of the ambient brightness and a motion size of the electronic device.
Cont. of claim 12
based on the motion information and a first marginal area having a first size, a first stabilization with respect to the obtained images; and based on the second graphical object being selected, displaying the live-preview by performing, based on the motion information and a second marginal area having a second size lager than the first size, a second stabilization with respect to the obtained images.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-3, 7-3 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Honjo et al. (JP 2016-167801A), see attached English Translation document.
Regarding claim 1, Honjo discloses an electronic device (Digital camera 1; see fig. 1 and page 2, lines 27-29) comprising:
a camera (CCD 110; see fig. 1 and page 2, lines 30-21 and page 3, lines 1-10);
a sensor configured to detect movement information of the camera or the electronic device (Gyro sensor 184/224 detects shake of the digital camera; see page 4 and paragraphs 6 and 9);
at least one processor; and memory storing instructions which, when collectively or individually executed by the one or more processors (Microcomputer using a program; see page 4; paragraph 7), cause the electronic device to:
enter a video capturing mode to capture a video; obtain, using the camera, a plurality of image frames while in the video capturing mode (Executing a through image capturing operation; see page 3, paragraph 2);
obtain, using the sensor, the movement information while one or more images of the plurality of image frames are obtained (The gyro sensor 184 or 224 detects shake (vibration) in the yawing direction and the pitching direction based on an angular change per unit time of the digital camera 1; see page 4, paragraph 6);
obtain illuminance information of an external environment with respect to the electronic device while the one or more images frames are obtained (Controller 140 corrects the image captured by the CCD 110, and changes the correction amount of the peripheral light amount of the image captured by CCD 110 when executing image blur correction; see abstract and page 7, paragraph 2);
based at least in part on the illumination information corresponding to a first specified illuminance range, perform a video digital image stabilization with respect to at least one image frame of the one or more image frames by compensating a movement of the electronic device by a first proportion (The peripheral light amount correction gain is increased as the peripheral light amount correction gain is larger after the CCD shift than the OIS lens shift when the image height is 1.0. The CCD shift is set larger than the OIS lens shift. O; see page 11, paragraph 5); and
based at least in part on the illuminance information corresponding to a second specified illuminance range at least partially lower and different from the first specified illumination range, perform the video digital image stabilization with respect to the at least one image frame by compensating the movement by a second proportion smaller than the first proportion (The peripheral light amount correction gain becomes smaller after the CCD shift than the OIS lens shift when the image height is −1.0. Is set smaller during CCD shift than during OIS lens shift; see page 11, paragraph 5 and page 12, paragraphs 2-3).
Regarding claim 2, Honjo discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Honjo discloses the instructions comprising: perform the video digital image stabilization further based on a movement level associated with the movement such that the movement is compensated by a first proportion when the movement corresponds to a first movement level (The OIS processing unit 223 receives the detection signal from the gyro sensor 224 and generates a shake detection signal from the received detection signal. Then, the shake detection signal is separated into a high frequency shake signal and a low frequency shake signal. The OIS processing unit 223 generates a drive signal for shifting the OIS lens 220 based on the high-frequency blur signal and the position information from the position sensor 222, and outputs the drive signal to the OIS drive unit 221; see page 6, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 3, Honjo discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Honjo discloses the instructions comprising: perform the video digital image stabilization further based on a movement level associated with the movement such that the movement is compensated by a second proportion when the movement corresponds to a second movement level higher than the first movement level (The BIS processing unit 183 generates a drive signal for driving the CCD 110 based on the low-frequency blur signal from the interchangeable lens 200 and the position information from the position sensor 182, and transmits the drive signal to the CCD drive unit 181; see page 6, paragraph 3. The low-frequency component of the shake is associated with the greater movement).
Regarding claim 7, Honjo discloses a method for operating an electronic device (Digital camera 1; see fig. 1 and page 2, lines 27-29), the method comprising:
entering a video capturing mode to capture a video; obtaining a plurality of image frames while in the video capturing mode (Executing a through image capturing operation; see page 3, paragraph 2);
obtaining a movement information while one or more images of the plurality of image frames are obtained (The gyro sensor 184 or 224 detects shake (vibration) in the yawing direction and the pitching direction based on an angular change per unit time of the digital camera 1; see page 4, paragraph 6);
obtaining illuminance information of an external environment with respect to the electronic device while the one or more images frames are obtained (Controller 140 corrects the image captured by the CCD 110, and changes the correction amount of the peripheral light amount of the image captured by CCD 110 when executing image blur correction; see abstract and page 7, paragraph 2);
based at least in part on the illumination information corresponding to a first specified illuminance range, performing a video digital image stabilization with respect to at least one image frame of the one or more image frames by compensating a movement of the electronic device by a first proportion (The peripheral light amount correction gain is increased as the peripheral light amount correction gain is larger after the CCD shift than the OIS lens shift when the image height is 1.0. The CCD shift is set larger than the OIS lens shift. O; see page 11, paragraph 5); and
based at least in part on the illuminance information corresponding to a second specified illuminance range at least partially lower and different from the first specified illumination range, performing the video digital image stabilization with respect to the at least one image frame by compensating the movement by a second proportion smaller than the first proportion (The peripheral light amount correction gain becomes smaller after the CCD shift than the OIS lens shift when the image height is −1.0. Is set smaller during CCD shift than during OIS lens shift; see page 11, paragraph 5 and page 12, paragraphs 2-3).
Regarding claim 8, Honjo discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7). In addition, Honjo discloses performing the video digital image stabilization further based on a movement level associated with the movement such that the movement is compensated by a first proportion when the movement corresponds to a first movement level (The OIS processing unit 223 receives the detection signal from the gyro sensor 224 and generates a shake detection signal from the received detection signal. Then, the shake detection signal is separated into a high frequency shake signal and a low frequency shake signal. The OIS processing unit 223 generates a drive signal for shifting the OIS lens 220 based on the high-frequency blur signal and the position information from the position sensor 222, and outputs the drive signal to the OIS drive unit 221; see page 6, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 9, Honjo discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8). In addition, Honjo discloses performing the video digital image stabilization further based on a movement level associated with the movement such that the movement is compensated by a second proportion when the movement corresponds to a second movement level higher than the first movement level (The BIS processing unit 183 generates a drive signal for driving the CCD 110 based on the low-frequency blur signal from the interchangeable lens 200 and the position information from the position sensor 182, and transmits the drive signal to the CCD drive unit 181; see page 6, paragraph 3. The low-frequency component of the shake is associated with the greater movement).
Regarding claim 13, Honjo discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions (A program; see page 4; paragraph 7), which, when executed by an electronic device (Digital camera 1; see fig. 1 and page 2, lines 27-29), cause the electronic device to perform operations comprising:
entering a video capturing mode to capture a video; obtaining a plurality of image frames while in the video capturing mode (Executing a through image capturing operation; see page 3, paragraph 2);
obtaining a movement information while one or more images of the plurality of image frames are obtained (The gyro sensor 184 or 224 detects shake (vibration) in the yawing direction and the pitching direction based on an angular change per unit time of the digital camera 1; see page 4, paragraph 6);
obtaining illuminance information of an external environment with respect to the electronic device while the one or more images frames are obtained (Controller 140 corrects the image captured by the CCD 110, and changes the correction amount of the peripheral light amount of the image captured by CCD 110 when executing image blur correction; see abstract and page 7, paragraph 2);
based at least in part on the illumination information corresponding to a first specified illuminance range, performing a video digital image stabilization with respect to at least one image frame of the one or more image frames by compensating a movement of the electronic device by a first proportion (The peripheral light amount correction gain is increased as the peripheral light amount correction gain is larger after the CCD shift than the OIS lens shift when the image height is 1.0. The CCD shift is set larger than the OIS lens shift. O; see page 11, paragraph 5); and
based at least in part on the illuminance information corresponding to a second specified illuminance range at least partially lower and different from the first specified illumination range, performing the video digital image stabilization with respect to the at least one image frame by compensating the movement by a second proportion smaller than the first proportion (The peripheral light amount correction gain becomes smaller after the CCD shift than the OIS lens shift when the image height is −1.0. Is set smaller during CCD shift than during OIS lens shift; see page 11, paragraph 5 and page 12, paragraphs 2-3).
Regarding claim 14, Honjo discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13). In addition, Honjo discloses performing the video digital image stabilization further based on a movement level associated with the movement such that the movement is compensated by a first proportion when the movement corresponds to a first movement level (The OIS processing unit 223 receives the detection signal from the gyro sensor 224 and generates a shake detection signal from the received detection signal. Then, the shake detection signal is separated into a high frequency shake signal and a low frequency shake signal. The OIS processing unit 223 generates a drive signal for shifting the OIS lens 220 based on the high-frequency blur signal and the position information from the position sensor 222, and outputs the drive signal to the OIS drive unit 221; see page 6, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 15, Honjo discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14). In addition, Honjo discloses performing the video digital image stabilization further based on a movement level associated with the movement such that the movement is compensated by a second proportion when the movement corresponds to a second movement level higher than the first movement level (The BIS processing unit 183 generates a drive signal for driving the CCD 110 based on the low-frequency blur signal from the interchangeable lens 200 and the position information from the position sensor 182, and transmits the drive signal to the CCD drive unit 181; see page 6, paragraph 3. The low-frequency component of the shake is associated with the greater movement).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 4-5, 10-11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honjo in view of Masuda (US-PGPUB 2002/0146245).
Regarding claim 4, Honjo discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). However, Honjo fails to expressly disclose perform the obtaining of the one or more image frames using different shutter speeds for the camera such that a first shutter speed and a second shutter speed different from the first shutter speed are set for the camera based at least in part on the movement level corresponding to the first movement level and the second movement level, respectively.
On the other hand, Masuda discloses perform the obtaining of the one or more image frames using different shutter speeds for the camera such that a first shutter speed and a second shutter speed different from the first shutter speed are set for the camera based at least in part on the movement level corresponding to the first movement level and the second movement level, respectively (A shutter speed information determining unit for determining a shutter speed at photo-shooting; and a varying unit for varying a response manner of the image shake correcting means to the output of the shake detecting means in accordance with a combination of the determination made by the support condition determining means and the determination made by the shutter speed information determining means; see paragraph 0012. Figure 6 illustrates different anti-shake processing controls in accordance to the detected different shutter speeds; see paragraphs 0061-0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Honjo and Masuda to provide perform the obtaining of the one or more image frames using different shutter speeds for the camera such that a first shutter speed and a second shutter speed different from the first shutter speed are set for the camera based at least in part on the movement level corresponding to the first movement level and the second movement level, respectively for the purpose of effectively adjusting image shake correction control for each of a plurality of finely defined ranges of the shutter speed so as to improve image quality.
Regarding claim 5, Honjo discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 4). However, Honjo fails to expressly disclose the instructions comprising: set, as the first shutter speed and the second shutter speed, the camera into a first shutter speed frequency and a second shutter speed frequency higher than the first frequency, respectively.
Nevertheless, Masuda discloses set, as the first shutter speed and the second shutter speed, the camera into a first shutter speed frequency and a second shutter speed frequency higher than the first frequency, respectively (If not slower than 1/4 second, this means that the shutter speed is slower than {fraction (1/60)} second but not slower than 1/4 second. The process flow therefore goes to step #504, in which image shake correction control for correcting the camera shake of a high-frequency and small amplitude is performed; see fig. 6 and paragraph 0063).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Honjo and Masuda to provide set, as the first shutter speed and the second shutter speed, the camera into a first shutter speed frequency and a second shutter speed frequency higher than the first frequency, respectively, for the purpose of effectively adjusting image shake correction control for each of a plurality of finely defined ranges of the shutter speed so as to improve image quality.
Regarding claim 10, Honjo discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9). However, Honjo fails to expressly disclose performing the obtaining of the one or more image frames using different shutter speeds for the camera such that a first shutter speed and a second shutter speed different from the first shutter speed are set for the camera based at least in part on the movement level corresponding to the first movement level and the second movement level, respectively.
On the other hand, Masuda discloses performing the obtaining of the one or more image frames using different shutter speeds for the camera such that a first shutter speed and a second shutter speed different from the first shutter speed are set for the camera based at least in part on the movement level corresponding to the first movement level and the second movement level, respectively (A shutter speed information determining unit for determining a shutter speed at photo-shooting; and a varying unit for varying a response manner of the image shake correcting means to the output of the shake detecting means in accordance with a combination of the determination made by the support condition determining means and the determination made by the shutter speed information determining means; see paragraph 0012. Figure 6 illustrates different anti-shake processing controls in accordance to the detected different shutter speeds; see paragraphs 0061-0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Honjo and Masuda to provide performing the obtaining of the one or more image frames using different shutter speeds for the camera such that a first shutter speed and a second shutter speed different from the first shutter speed are set for the camera based at least in part on the movement level corresponding to the first movement level and the second movement level, respectively, for the purpose of effectively adjusting image shake correction control for each of a plurality of finely defined ranges of the shutter speed so as to improve image quality.
Regarding claim 11, Honjo discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10). However, Honjo fails to disclose setting as the first shutter speed and the second shutter speed, the camera into a first shutter speed frequency and a second shutter speed frequency higher than the first frequency, respectively.
Nevertheless, Masuda discloses setting as the first shutter speed and the second shutter speed, the camera into a first shutter speed frequency and a second shutter speed frequency higher than the first frequency, respectively (If not slower than 1/4 second, this means that the shutter speed is slower than {fraction (1/60)} second but not slower than 1/4 second. The process flow therefore goes to step #504, in which image shake correction control for correcting the camera shake of a high-frequency and small amplitude is performed; see fig. 6 and paragraph 0063).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Honjo and Masuda to provide setting as the first shutter speed and the second shutter speed, the camera into a first shutter speed frequency and a second shutter speed frequency higher than the first frequency, respectively, for the purpose of effectively adjusting image shake correction control for each of a plurality of finely defined ranges of the shutter speed so as to improve image quality.
Regarding claim 16, Honjo discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15). However, Honjo fails to expressly disclose performing the obtaining of the one or more image frames using different shutter speeds for the camera such that a first shutter speed and a second shutter speed different from the first shutter speed are set for the camera based at least in part on the movement level corresponding to the first movement level and the second movement level, respectively.
On the other hand, Masuda discloses performing the obtaining of the one or more image frames using different shutter speeds for the camera such that a first shutter speed and a second shutter speed different from the first shutter speed are set for the camera based at least in part on the movement level corresponding to the first movement level and the second movement level, respectively (A shutter speed information determining unit for determining a shutter speed at photo-shooting; and a varying unit for varying a response manner of the image shake correcting means to the output of the shake detecting means in accordance with a combination of the determination made by the support condition determining means and the determination made by the shutter speed information determining means; see paragraph 0012. Figure 6 illustrates different anti-shake processing controls in accordance to the detected different shutter speeds; see paragraphs 0061-0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Honjo and Masuda to provide performing the obtaining of the one or more image frames using different shutter speeds for the camera such that a first shutter speed and a second shutter speed different from the first shutter speed are set for the camera based at least in part on the movement level corresponding to the first movement level and the second movement level, respectively for the purpose of effectively adjusting image shake correction control for each of a plurality of finely defined ranges of the shutter speed so as to improve image quality.
Regarding claim 17, Honjo discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16). However, Honjo fails to disclose setting as the first shutter speed and the second shutter speed, the camera into a first shutter speed frequency and a second shutter speed frequency higher than the first frequency, respectively.
Nevertheless, Masuda discloses setting as the first shutter speed and the second shutter speed, the camera into a first shutter speed frequency and a second shutter speed frequency higher than the first frequency, respectively (If not slower than 1/4 second, this means that the shutter speed is slower than {fraction (1/60)} second but not slower than 1/4 second. The process flow therefore goes to step #504, in which image shake correction control for correcting the camera shake of a high-frequency and small amplitude is performed; see fig. 6 and paragraph 0063).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Honjo and Masuda to provide setting as the first shutter speed and the second shutter speed, the camera into a first shutter speed frequency and a second shutter speed frequency higher than the first frequency, respectively, for the purpose of effectively adjusting image shake correction control for each of a plurality of finely defined ranges of the shutter speed so as to improve image quality.
12. Claims 6, 12 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honjo in view of Yamagishi (US Patent 6,510,283).
Regarding claim 6, Honjo discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). However, Honjo fails to expressly disclose display a graphical object such that at least one characteristic of the graphical object is displayed as changed to indicate a corresponding one of the first degree and the second degree of the video digital image stabilization.
On the other hand, Yamagishi discloses display a graphical object such that at least one characteristic of the graphical object is displayed as changed to indicate a corresponding one of the first degree and the second degree of the video digital image stabilization (Highlighting in the display with a dynamic square the selected image stabilizing setting between optical degree stabilization and electronic degree stabilization; see fig. 22(b) and column 25, lines 38-57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Honjo and Yamagishi to provide display a graphical object such that at least one characteristic of the graphical object is displayed as changed to indicate a corresponding one of the first degree and the second degree of the video digital image stabilization for the purpose of effectively alerting the user of the image stabilization technique that is being applied to the captured image.
Regarding claim 12, Honjo discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7). However, Honjo fails to disclose displaying a graphical object such that at least one characteristic of the graphical object is displayed as changed to indicate a corresponding one of the first degree and the second degree of the video digital image stabilization.
Nevertheless, Yamagishi discloses displaying a graphical object such that at least one characteristic of the graphical object is displayed as changed to indicate a corresponding one of the first degree and the second degree of the video digital image stabilization (Highlighting in the display with a dynamic square the selected image stabilizing setting between optical degree stabilization and electronic degree stabilization; see fig. 22(b) and column 25, lines 38-57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Honjo and Yamagishi to provide displaying a graphical object such that at least one characteristic of the graphical object is displayed as changed to indicate a corresponding one of the first degree and the second degree of the video digital image stabilization for the purpose of effectively alerting the user of the image stabilization technique that is being applied to the captured image.
Regarding claim 18, Honjo discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). However, Honjo fails to disclose displaying a graphical object such that at least one characteristic of the graphical object is displayed as changed to indicate a corresponding one of the first degree and the second degree of the video digital image stabilization.
On the other hand, Yamagishi discloses displaying a graphical object such that at least one characteristic of the graphical object is displayed as changed to indicate a corresponding one of the first degree and the second degree of the video digital image stabilization (Highlighting in the display with a dynamic square the selected image stabilizing setting between optical degree stabilization and electronic degree stabilization; see fig. 22(b) and column 25, lines 38-57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Honjo and Yamagishi to provide displaying a graphical object such that at least one characteristic of the graphical object is displayed as changed to indicate a corresponding one of the first degree and the second degree of the video digital image stabilization for the purpose of effectively alerting the user of the image stabilization technique that is being applied to the captured image.
Contact Information
/CYNTHIA CALDERON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639 01/06/2026