DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. The amendment(s), filed on 06/29/2026, have been entered and made of record. Claims 1-18 are pending.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed on 06/29/2026 with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/14/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and was considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,401,900 and further in view of Thivent et al. (US-PGPUB 2017/0280059).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both claiming substantially the same features.
Note the following similarities between the application claims and patent claims.
Instant Application No. 18/912,162
U.S. Patent No. 12,401,900
Claim 1
An electronic device comprising:
a camera;
a sensor configured to detect movement information of the camera or the electronic device; at least one processor; and
memory storing instructions which, when collectively or individually executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to:
enter a video capturing mode to capture a video; obtain, using the camera, a plurality of image frames while in the video capturing mode;
obtain, using the sensor, the movement information while one or more images of the plurality of image frames are obtained;
obtain brightness information of an external environment with respect to the electronic device, using exposure-related information used for controlling the camera while obtaining of the plurality of image frames;
identify, based at least in part on the brightness information, a compensation proportion for a video digital image stabilization;
based at least in part on the brightness information corresponding to a first specified brightness range, perform the video digital image stabilization with respect to at least one image frame of the plurality image frames by compensating a movement of the electronic device by the compensation proportion, wherein the compensation proportion is a first proportion; and based at least in part on the brightness information corresponding to a second specified brightness range at least partially lower and different from the first specified brightness range, perform the video digital image stabilization with respect to the at least one image frame by compensating the movement by the compensation proportion, wherein the compensation proportion is a second proportion smaller than the first proportion.
Claim 1
An electronic device comprising:
a camera;
a motion sensor configured to obtain motion information of the electronic device; a display; a memory storing at least one instruction; and a processor executing the at least one instruction stored in the memory, wherein the processor causes the electronic device to:
enter a video capturing mode in which the camera is activated; display a live-preview corresponding to the video capturing mode using images obtained via the camera; while in the video capturing mode, display a user interface including a first graphical object indicative of a first degree of motion stabilization and a second graphical object indicative of a second degree of motion stabilization greater than the first degree of motion stabilization; receive an input via the user interface to select one of the first graphical object or the second graphical object; based on the first graphical object being selected, display a live-preview by performing…
Claim 5
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine an ambient brightness of the electronic device; and
determine an intensity of a stabilization operation, based on at least one of the ambient brightness and a motion size of the electronic device.
Cont. of claim 1
based on the motion information and a first marginal area having a first size, a first stabilization with respect to the obtained images; and based on the second graphical object being selected, display the live-preview by performing, based on the motion information and a second marginal area having a second size larger than the first size, a second stabilization with respect to the obtained images.
Claim 7
A method for operating an electronic device, the method comprising:
entering a video capturing mode to capture a video; obtaining a plurality of image frames while in the video capturing mode; obtaining a movement information while one or more images of the plurality of image frames are obtained;
obtaining brightness information of an external environment with respect to the electronic device using exposure-related information used for controlling the camera while obtaining of the plurality of image frames;
identifying, based at least in part on the brightness information, a compensation proportion for a video digital image stabilization;
based at least in part on the brightness information corresponding to a first specified brightness range, performing the video digital image stabilization with respect to at least one image frame of the plurality image frames by compensating a movement of the electronic device by the compensation proportion, wherein the compensation proportion is a first proportion; and based at least in part on the brightness information corresponding to a second specified brightness range at least partially lower and different from the first specified brightness range, performing the video digital image stabilization with respect to the at least one image frame by compensating the movement by the compensation proportion, wherein the compensation proportion is a second proportion smaller than the first proportion.
Claim 12
A method of operating an electronic device comprising a camera, the method comprising:
entering a video capturing mode in which the camera is activated; displaying a live-preview corresponding to the video capturing mode using images obtained via the camera; while in the video capturing mode, displaying a user interface including a first graphical object indicative of a first degree of motion stabilization and a second graphical object indicative of a second degree of motion stabilization greater than the first degree of motion stabilization; receiving an input via the user interface to select one of the first graphical object or the second graphical object; obtaining motion information of the electronic device via a motion sensor; based on the first graphical object being selected, displaying a live-preview by performing…
Claim 16
The method of claim 12, further comprising: determining an ambient brightness of the electronic device; and
determining an intensity of a stabilization operation, based on at least one of the ambient brightness and a motion size of the electronic device.
Cont. of claim 12
based on the motion information and a first marginal area having a first size, a first stabilization with respect to the obtained images; and based on the second graphical object being selected, displaying the live-preview by performing, based on the motion information and a second marginal area having a second size lager than the first size, a second stabilization with respect to the obtained images.
Claim 13
A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions, which, when executed by an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform operations comprising:
entering a video capturing mode to capture a video; obtaining a plurality of image frames while in the video capturing mode; obtaining a movement information while one or more images of the plurality of image frames are obtained;
obtaining brightness information of an external environment with respect to the electronic device using exposure-related information used for controlling the camera while obtaining of the plurality of image frames;
identifying, based at least in part on the brightness information, a compensation proportion for a video digital image stabilization
based at least in part on the brightness information corresponding to a first specified brightness range, performing the video digital image stabilization with respect to at least one image frame of the plurality image frames by compensating a movement of the electronic device by the compensation proportion, wherein the compensation proportion is a first proportion; and based at least in part on the brightness information corresponding to a second specified brightness range at least partially lower and different from the first specified brightness range, performing the video digital image stabilization with respect to the at least one image frame by compensating the movement by the compensation proportion, wherein the compensation proportion is a second proportion smaller than the first proportion.
Claim 12
A method of operating an electronic device comprising a camera, the method comprising:
entering a video capturing mode in which the camera is activated; displaying a live-preview corresponding to the video capturing mode using images obtained via the camera; while in the video capturing mode, displaying a user interface including a first graphical object indicative of a first degree of motion stabilization and a second graphical object indicative of a second degree of motion stabilization greater than the first degree of motion stabilization; receiving an input via the user interface to select one of the first graphical object or the second graphical object; obtaining motion information of the electronic device via a motion sensor; based on the first graphical object being selected, displaying a live-preview by performing…
Claim 16
The method of claim 12, further comprising: determining an ambient brightness of the electronic device; and
determining an intensity of a stabilization operation, based on at least one of the ambient brightness and a motion size of the electronic device.
Cont. of claim 12
based on the motion information and a first marginal area having a first size, a first stabilization with respect to the obtained images; and based on the second graphical object being selected, displaying the live-preview by performing, based on the motion information and a second marginal area having a second size lager than the first size, a second stabilization with respect to the obtained images.
However, US Patent 12,401, 900 fails to expressly disclose “obtain[ing] brightness information of an external environment with respect to the electronic device using exposure-related information used for controlling the camera while obtaining of the plurality of image frames and identify[ing], based at least in part on the brightness information, a compensation proportion for a video digital image stabilization”.
On the other hand, Thivent discloses obtain[ing] brightness information of an external environment with respect to the electronic device (Using ambient light sensor; see paragraph 0064), using exposure-related information used for controlling the camera while obtaining of the plurality of image frames (Using estimated light level during the capture of the current image; see paragraph 0012) and identify[ing], based at least in part on the brightness information, a compensation proportion (Adjustment of stabilization strength value) for a video digital image stabilization (Determine a stabilization strength to apply to an electronic image stabilization transformation to stabilize the current image; wherein determining an adjustment of the stabilization strength value is based on the exposure time of the current image and the estimated light level during the capture of the current image. Modulate the strengths of EIS/VIS based on estimated light levels during capture; see paragraphs 0009, 0011-0012, 0004).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify US Patent 12,401,900 by specifically providing obtaining brightness information of an external environment with respect to the electronic device using exposure-related information used for controlling the camera while obtaining of the plurality of image frames and identifying, based at least in part on the brightness information, a compensation proportion for a video digital image stabilization, as taught by Thivent for the purpose of effectively implementing image stabilization techniques that are power efficient and computationally efficient.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-3, 6-9 and 12-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thivent et al. (US-PGPUB 2017/0280059).
Regarding claim 1, Thivent discloses an electronic device (Electronic Device 800; see fig. 8, paragraph 0064 and claim 16 of Thivent) comprising:
a camera (Image capture circuit 850/camera module; see fig. 8, paragraph 0064 and claim 16 of Thivent);
a sensor configured to detect movement information of the camera or the electronic device (Sensors 825 including accelerometer and gyroscope; see fig. 8 and paragraph 0064. Motion sensors; see claim 16 of Thivent);
at least one processor (Processor 805; see fig. 8, paragraph 0064 and claim 16 of Thivent); and memory (Memory 860; see fig. 8, paragraph 0064 and claim 16 of Thivent) storing instructions which, when collectively or individually executed by the at least one processor (Processor 805 executes instructions necessary to carry out or control the operation of many functions performed by device 800; see paragraph 0065), cause the electronic device to:
enter a video capturing mode to capture a video (User interface 815 can be the conduit through which a user views a captured video stream; see paragraph 0065);
obtain, using the camera, a plurality of image frames while in the video capturing mode (Display 810 displays a video stream as it is captured and Image capture circuitry 850 captures video frames that are processed to generate stabilized video; see paragraphs 0065-0066);
obtain, using the sensor, the movement information while one or more images of the plurality of image frames are obtained (Obtain a first set of images and one or more motion information samples associated with the first set of images; see claim 16 of Thivent. Obtain motion data from image capture device; see step 702 and fig. 7. The EIS transformation using an amplitude of the motion information samples associated with the captured video frames; see paragraph 0063);
obtain brightness information of an external environment with respect to the electronic device (Using ambient light sensor; see paragraph 0064), using exposure-related information used for controlling the camera while obtaining of the plurality of image frames (Using estimated light level during the capture of the current image; see paragraph 0012);
identify, based at least in part on the brightness information, a compensation proportion (Adjustment of stabilization strength value) for a video digital image stabilization (Determine a stabilization strength to apply to an electronic image stabilization transformation to stabilize the current image; wherein determining an adjustment of the stabilization strength value is based on the exposure time of the current image and the estimated light level during the capture of the current image. Modulate the strengths of EIS/VIS based on estimated light levels during capture; see paragraphs 0009, 0011-0012, 0004);
based at least in part on the brightness information corresponding to a first specified brightness range (Brighter images related to a high-brightness condition and high-ambient light levels; see paragraph 0040), perform the video digital image stabilization with respect to at least one image frame of the plurality of image frames by compensating a movement of the electronic device by the compensation proportion, wherein the compensation proportion is a first proportion (Detected amount of blur in the image to be smaller, related to brighter images with shorter integration times, then employing a larger stabilization strength for the EIS/VIS; see paragraph 0040); and
based at least in part on the brightness information corresponding to a second specified brightness range at least partially lower and different from the first specified brightness range (Darker images related to a low-brightness condition and low-ambient light levels; see paragraph 0040), perform the video digital image stabilization with respect to the at least one image frame by compensating the movement by the compensation proportion, wherein the compensation proportion is a second proportion smaller than the first proportion (Detected amount of blur in the image to be larger, related to darker images with longer integration times, then employing a smaller stabilization strength for the EIS/VIS; see paragraph 0040. Intelligently modulate the strengths of the EIS used to stabilize particular recorded video frames in a sequence of captured frames based on estimated motion data recorded at the image capture device during capture and estimated light levels during capture; see paragraphs 0009, 0011-0012).
Regarding claim 2, Thivent discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Thivent discloses the instructions, when collectively or individually executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: perform the video digital image stabilization further based on a movement level associated with the movement such that the movement is compensated by the first proportion when the movement corresponds to a first movement level (When the detected motion is classified as stationary, then a very strict stabilization, including a large video stabilization strength value is applied in the IES/VIS; see paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 3, Thivent discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Thivent discloses perform the video digital image stabilization further based on the movement level associated with the movement such that the movement is compensated by the second proportion when the movement corresponds to a second movement level higher than the first movement level (When a large amount of camera motion is detected along a single axis, then the detected motion is classified as strolling/user walking, thus a different, including a smaller video stabilization strength value, is applied; see paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 6, Thivent discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Thivent discloses the instructions, when collectively or individually executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: display a graphical object such that at least one characteristic of the graphical object is displayed as changed to indicate a corresponding one of a first degree and a second degree of the video digital image stabilization (Display 810 displays a video stream as it is captured, while processor 805 and graphics hardware 820 contemporaneously generate a stabilized version of the captured video stream, then display 810 displays a stabilized version of a captured video sequence; see paragraph 0065).
Regarding claim 7, Thivent discloses a method for operating an electronic device (Electronic Device 800; see fig. 8, paragraph 0064 and claim 16 of Thivent and fig. 7), the method comprising:
entering a video capturing mode to capture a video (User interface 815 can be the conduit through which a user views a captured video stream; see paragraph 0065);
obtaining a plurality of image frames while in the video capturing mode (Display 810 displays a video stream as it is captured and Image capture circuitry 850 captures video frames that are processed to generate stabilized video; see paragraphs 0065-0066);
obtaining a movement information while one or more images of the plurality of image frames are obtained (Obtain a first set of images and one or more motion information samples associated with the first set of images; see claim 16 of Thivent. Obtain motion data from image capture device; see step 702 and fig. 7. The EIS transformation using an amplitude of the motion information samples associated with the captured video frames; see paragraph 0063);
obtaining brightness information of an external environment with respect to the electronic device (Using ambient light sensor; see paragraph 0064), using exposure- related information used for controlling a camera during obtaining of the plurality of image frames (Using estimated light level during the capture of the current image; see paragraph 0012);
identifying, based at least in part on the brightness information, a compensation proportion (Adjustment of stabilization strength value) for a video digital image stabilization (Determine a stabilization strength to apply to an electronic image stabilization transformation to stabilize the current image; wherein determining an adjustment of the stabilization strength value is based on the exposure time of the current image and the estimated light level during the capture of the current image. Modulate the strengths of EIS/VIS based on estimated light levels during capture; see paragraphs 0009, 0011-0012, 0004);
based at least in part on the brightness information corresponding to a first specified brightness range (Brighter images related to a high-brightness condition and high-ambient light levels; see paragraph 0040), performing the video digital image stabilization with respect to at least one image frame of the plurality of image frames by compensating a movement of the electronic device by the compensation proportion, wherein the compensation proportion is a first proportion (Detected amount of blur in the image to be smaller, related to brighter images with shorter integration times, then employing a larger stabilization strength for the EIS/VIS; see paragraph 0040); and
based at least in part on the brightness information corresponding to a second specified brightness range at least partially lower and different from the first specified brightness range (Darker images related to a low-brightness condition and low-ambient light levels; see paragraph 0040), performing the video digital image stabilization with respect to the at least one image frame by compensating the movement by the compensation proportion, wherein the compensation proportion is a second proportion smaller than the first proportion (Detected amount of blur in the image to be larger, related to darker images with longer integration times, then employing a smaller stabilization strength for the EIS/VIS; see paragraph 0040. Intelligently modulate the strengths of the EIS used to stabilize particular recorded video frames in a sequence of captured frames based on estimated motion data recorded at the image capture device during capture and estimated light levels during capture; see paragraphs 0009, 0011-0012).
Regarding claim 8, Thivent discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7). In addition, Thivent discloses performing the video digital image stabilization further based on a movement level associated with the movement such that the movement is compensated by the first proportion when the movement corresponds to a first movement level (When the detected motion is classified as stationary, then a very strict stabilization, including a large video stabilization strength value is applied in the IES/VIS; see paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 9, Thivent discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8). In addition, Thivent discloses performing the video digital image stabilization further based on the movement level associated with the movement such that the movement is compensated by the second proportion when the movement corresponds to a second movement level higher than the first movement level (When a large amount of camera motion is detected along a single axis, then the detected motion is classified as strolling/user walking, thus a different, including a smaller video stabilization strength value, is applied; see paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 12, Thivent discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7). In addition, Thivent discloses displaying a graphical object such that at least one characteristic of the graphical object is displayed as changed to indicate a corresponding one of a first degree and a second degree of the video digital image stabilization (Display 810 displays a video stream as it is captured, while processor 805 and graphics hardware 820 contemporaneously generate a stabilized version of the captured video stream, then display 810 displays a stabilized version of a captured video sequence; see paragraph 0065).
Regarding claim 13, Thivent discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions (Memory 860 and Processor 805 executes instructions necessary to carry out or control the operation of many functions performed by device 800; see paragraph 0065), which, when executed by an electronic device (Electronic Device 800; see fig. 8, paragraph 0064 and claim 16 of Thivent), cause the electronic device to perform operations comprising:
entering a video capturing mode to capture a video (User interface 815 can be the conduit through which a user views a captured video stream; see paragraph 0065);
obtaining a plurality of image frames while in the video capturing mode (Display 810 displays a video stream as it is captured and Image capture circuitry 850 captures video frames that are processed to generate stabilized video; see paragraphs 0065-0066);
obtaining a movement information while one or more images of the plurality of image frames are obtained (Obtain a first set of images and one or more motion information samples associated with the first set of images; see claim 16 of Thivent. Obtain motion data from image capture device; see step 702 and fig. 7. The EIS transformation using an amplitude of the motion information samples associated with the captured video frames; see paragraph 0063);
obtaining brightness information of an external environment with respect to the electronic device (Using ambient light sensor; see paragraph 0064), using exposure- related information used for controlling a camera during obtaining of the plurality of image frames (Using estimated light level during the capture of the current image; see paragraph 0012);
identifying, based at least in part on the brightness information, a compensation proportion (Adjustment of stabilization strength value) for a video digital image stabilization (Determine a stabilization strength to apply to an electronic image stabilization transformation to stabilize the current image; wherein determining an adjustment of the stabilization strength value is based on the exposure time of the current image and the estimated light level during the capture of the current image. Modulate the strengths of EIS/VIS based on estimated light levels during capture; see paragraphs 0009, 0011-0012, 0004);
based at least in part on the brightness information corresponding to a first specified brightness range (Brighter images related to a high-brightness condition and high-ambient light levels; see paragraph 0040), performing the video digital image stabilization with respect to at least one image frame of the plurality of image frames by compensating a movement of the electronic device by the compensation proportion, wherein the compensation proportion is a first proportion (Detected amount of blur in the image to be smaller, related to brighter images with shorter integration times, then employing a larger stabilization strength for the EIS/VIS; see paragraph 0040); and
based at least in part on the brightness information corresponding to a second specified brightness range at least partially lower and different from the first specified brightness range (Darker images related to a low-brightness condition and low-ambient light levels; see paragraph 0040), performing the video digital image stabilization with respect to the at least one image frame by compensating the movement by the compensation proportion, wherein the compensation proportion is a second proportion smaller than the first proportion (Detected amount of blur in the image to be larger, related to darker images with longer integration times, then employing a smaller stabilization strength for the EIS/VIS; see paragraph 0040. Intelligently modulate the strengths of the EIS used to stabilize particular recorded video frames in a sequence of captured frames based on estimated motion data recorded at the image capture device during capture and estimated light levels during capture; see paragraphs 0009, 0011-0012).
Regarding claim 14, Thivent discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13). In addition, Thivent discloses performing the video digital image stabilization further based on a movement level associated with the movement such that the movement is compensated by the first proportion when the movement corresponds to a first movement level (When the detected motion is classified as stationary, then a very strict stabilization, including a large video stabilization strength value, is applied in the IES/VIS; see paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 15, Thivent discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14). In addition, Thivent discloses performing the video digital image stabilization further based on the movement level associated with the movement such that the movement is compensated by the second proportion when the movement corresponds to a second movement level higher than the first movement level (When a large amount of camera motion is detected along a single axis, then the detected motion is classified as strolling/user walking, thus a different, including a smaller video stabilization strength value, is applied; see paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 18, Thivent discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13). In addition, Thivent discloses displaying a graphical object such that at least one characteristic of the graphical object is displayed as changed to indicate a corresponding one of a first degree and a second degree of the video digital image stabilization (Display 810 displays a video stream as it is captured, while processor 805 and graphics hardware 820 contemporaneously generate a stabilized version of the captured video stream, then display 810 displays a stabilized version of a captured video sequence; see paragraph 0065).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 4-5, 10-11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thivent in view of Minema et al. (US-PGPUB 2007/0237506).
Regarding claim 4, Thivent discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). Thivent does not expressly discloses using different shutter speeds for the camera such that a first shutter speed and a second shutter speed different from the first shutter speed are set for the camera based at least in part on the movement level corresponding to the first movement level and the second movement level, respectively.
Nevertheless, Minema discloses perform the obtaining of the plurality of image frames using different shutter speeds for the camera such that a first shutter speed and a second shutter speed different from the first shutter speed are set for the camera based at least in part on the movement level corresponding to the first movement level and the second movement level, respectively (If the detected camera motion is below a threshold value, then the images are captured using a normal shutter speed. If the detected camera motion is above the threshold value, then the images are captured using a higher shutter speed, where the higher shutter speed is N times faster than the normal shutter speed; see paragraphs 0030, 0032, 0054 and claim 1 of Minema).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thivent and Mnema to provide using different shutter speeds for the camera such that a first shutter speed and a second shutter speed different from the first shutter speed are set for the camera based at least in part on the movement level corresponding to the first movement level and the second movement level, respectively for the purpose of improving image quality by effectively reducing blurriness of the captured images.
Regarding claim 5, Thivent and Minema disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 4). However, Thivent does not expressly disclose set, as the first shutter speed and the second shutter speed, the camera into a first shutter speed frequency and a second shutter speed frequency higher than a first frequency, respectively.
On the other hand, Minema discloses set, as the first shutter speed and the second shutter speed, the camera into a first shutter speed frequency and a second shutter speed frequency higher than a first frequency, respectively (If the detected camera motion is below a threshold value, then the images are captured using a normal shutter speed. If the detected camera motion is above the threshold value, then the images are captured using a higher shutter speed, where the higher shutter speed is N times faster than the normal shutter speed; see paragraphs 0030, 0032. A faster shutter speed opens and closes more times per second, thus having a higher frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thivent and Mnema to provide set, as the first shutter speed and the second shutter speed, the camera into a first shutter speed frequency and a second shutter speed frequency higher than a first frequency, respectively for the purpose of improving image quality by effectively reducing blurriness of the captured images.
Regarding claim 10, Thivent discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9). However, Thivent does not expressly disclose using different shutter speeds for the camera such that a first shutter speed and a second shutter speed different from the first shutter speed are set for the camera based at least in part on the movement level corresponding to the first movement level and the second movement level, respectively.
On the other hand, Minema discloses performing the obtaining of the plurality of image frames using different shutter speeds for the camera such that a first shutter speed and a second shutter speed different from the first shutter speed are set for the camera based at least in part on the movement level corresponding to the first movement level and the second movement level, respectively (If the detected camera motion is below a threshold value, then the images are captured using a normal shutter speed. If the detected camera motion is above the threshold value, then the images are captured using a higher shutter speed, where the higher shutter speed is N times faster than the normal shutter speed; see paragraphs 0030, 0032, 0054 and claim 1 of Minema).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thivent and Mnema to provide using different shutter speeds for the camera such that a first shutter speed and a second shutter speed different from the first shutter speed are set for the camera based at least in part on the movement level corresponding to the first movement level and the second movement level, respectively for the purpose of improving image quality by effectively reducing blurriness of the captured images.
Regarding claim 11, Thivent and Minema disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10). However, Thivent does not expressly disclose setting as the first shutter speed and the second shutter speed, the camera into a first shutter speed frequency and a second shutter speed frequency higher than a first frequency, respectively.
Nevertheless, Minema discloses setting as the first shutter speed and the second shutter speed, the camera into a first shutter speed frequency and a second shutter speed frequency higher than a first frequency, respectively (If the detected camera motion is below a threshold value, then the images are captured using a normal shutter speed. If the detected camera motion is above the threshold value, then the images are captured using a higher shutter speed, where the higher shutter speed is N times faster than the normal shutter speed; see paragraphs 0030, 0032. A faster shutter speed opens and closes more times per second, thus having a higher frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thivent and Mnema to provide setting as the first shutter speed and the second shutter speed, the camera into a first shutter speed frequency and a second shutter speed frequency higher than a first frequency, respectively for the purpose of improving image quality by effectively reducing blurriness of the captured images.
Regarding claim 16, Thivent discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15). However, Thivent does not expressly disclose using different shutter speeds for the camera such that a first shutter speed and a second shutter speed different from the first shutter speed are set for the camera based at least in part on the movement level corresponding to the first movement level and the second movement level, respectively.
Nevertheless, Minema discloses performing the obtaining of the plurality of image frames using different shutter speeds for the camera such that a first shutter speed and a second shutter speed different from the first shutter speed are set for the camera based at least in part on the movement level corresponding to the first movement level and the second movement level, respectively (If the detected camera motion is below a threshold value, then the images are captured using a normal shutter speed. If the detected camera motion is above the threshold value, then the images are captured using a higher shutter speed, where the higher shutter speed is N times faster than the normal shutter speed; see paragraphs 0030, 0032, 0054 and claim 1 of Minema).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thivent and Mnema to provide using different shutter speeds for the camera such that a first shutter speed and a second shutter speed different from the first shutter speed are set for the camera based at least in part on the movement level corresponding to the first movement level and the second movement level, respectively for the purpose of improving image quality by effectively reducing blurriness of the captured images.
Regarding claim 17, Thivent discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16). However, Thivent does not expressly disclose setting as the first shutter speed and the second shutter speed, the camera into a first shutter speed frequency and a second shutter speed frequency higher than a first frequency, respectively.
Nevertheless, Minema discloses setting as the first shutter speed and the second shutter speed, the camera into a first shutter speed frequency and a second shutter speed frequency higher than a first frequency, respectively (If the detected camera motion is below a threshold value, then the images are captured using a normal shutter speed. If the detected camera motion is above the threshold value, then the images are captured using a higher shutter speed, where the higher shutter speed is N times faster than the normal shutter speed; see paragraphs 0030, 0032. A faster shutter speed opens and closes more times per second, thus having a higher frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thivent and Mnema to provide setting as the first shutter speed and the second shutter speed, the camera into a first shutter speed frequency and a second shutter speed frequency higher than a first frequency, respectively for the purpose of improving image quality by effectively reducing blurriness of the captured images.
Citation of Pertinent Art
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Zhou et al. (US-PGPUB 2016/0006935) discloses the method may apply that adjusted stabilization strength value to the current image to stabilize the current image. The method calculates the beginning and ending integration time for each row of pixels in the captured image, based on the frame capture timestamp, the rolling shutter readout time, and exposure time. The method pertains to more effectively stabilize low light video in real-time. If the amount of blur in the image is smaller (typically found in brighter images with shorter integration times), larger stabilization strengths may be employed without affecting the aforementioned unwanted “shimmering” artifacts in the stabilized video. On the other hand, if the amount of blur in the image is larger (typically found in darker images with longer integration times), smaller stabilization strengths may be employed in an effort to mitigate the appearance of the aforementioned unwanted “shimmering” artifacts in the stabilized video; see paragraphs 0008, 0017, 0032, 0042-0043.
Ishii et al. (US-PGPUB 2013/0057714) discloses setting a blur kernel’s size in accordance to the exposure time information.
Albu et al. (US-PGPUB 2008/0309769) discloses incrementing a counter for each pixel group having a summed luminance that is greater than a first threshold; decrementing said counter for each pixel group having a summed luminance that is less than a second threshold; determining the first and second thresholds as percentages of a dynamic luminance range of the sequence; and computing the desired camera motion including representing the vector values based on final values of counts for the image frames.
Contact Information
/CYNTHIA CALDERON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639 07/16/2026