Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sweeney et al US 12387069 B2.
4. Consider claim 1. Sweeney et al teaches (figs 1 and 3) an apparatus for near field communication (NFC) reading (106 which can be a smart phone col 6, line 1), comprising: an outer body; a power source disposed within the outer body (there is inherently a battery in the body of a smart phone), wherein the power source is configured to provide electric power; a processing circuit (201 in fig 2A) connected to the power source to provide power to the processing circuit, wherein the processing circuit is configured to: receive identification data from an external device (ID card 102); transmit (via network 210) the identification data to a remote server (320 in fig 3) communicatively connected to the apparatus; and generate an external response (512 in fig 5) for the external device based on the identification data; and a display (220) communicatively connected to the processing circuit, wherein the display (220) is configured to information from processing circuit (col 13, lines 49-53). Method claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as apparatus claim 1 since the recited elements would perform the claimed steps.
5. Regarding claims 2 and 12. Sweeney et al teaches (fig 1) wherein the identification data comprises a unique identifier associated with the external device (ID card 102).
6. Regarding claims 3 and 13. Sweeney et al teaches further comprising an ID reader (scanner 108) configured to receive identification data from a form of identification (102) associated with a user.
7. Regarding claims 4 and 14. Sweeney et al teaches wherein the processing circuit (201) is further configured to store (204) the user identification data and compare (via network 210 to server 320) the user identification data to a cutoff date (see col 9, lines 45-64).
8. Regarding claims 5 and 15. Sweeney et al teaches (fig 5) wherein generating the external response comprises generating the external response as a function of the comparison of the user identification data and the cutoff date (see col 14, lines 8-20).
9. Regarding claim 6 and 16. Sweeney et al teaches wherein processing circuit is further configured to receive a user image of the user, compare the user identification data and the user image, and generate the external response as a function of the comparison of the captured image of the form of identification associated and the user and the user image (see col 15, lines 12-16 and col 16, lines 17-32).
10. Regarding claims 7 and 17. Sweeney et al teaches wherein the processing circuit is further configured to transmit received identification data to remote server communicatively connected to the apparatus (see col 7, lines 10-14).
11. Regarding claims 8 and 18. Sweeney et al teaches wherein the processing circuit is further configured to store the identification data to a datastore (see col 6, lines 61-64 and col 9, lines 45-64).
12. Regarding claims 9 and 19. Sweeney et al teaches wherein the processing circuit (201 in combination with server 320) is further configured to generate a user interface data structure as a function of the external response (508 in fig 5 and further it reads on data in col 8, lines 49-57 when queried after scanning the ID).
13. Regarding claims 10 and 20. Sweeney et al teaches wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: receive user metadata (108); transmit (508) the user metadata to a digital identity verification platform (322); receive a verification datum (512) from the digital identity verification (322) generated based on verification of the user metadata (col 8, lines 49-57); and generate the external response based on the verification datum (602).
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Arber US 2017/0076082 A1 teaches an identification verification system comprising a verification server arranged to: receive, via a network, user photo data corresponding to a photo of a user upon the user authorizing the transmission of the user photo data at an identification data provider system, store user identification data in a verification database, the user identification data including at least the user photo data and corresponding user identification string data indicative of a user identification string, transmit the user identification string data to a user device associated with the user for storage on the user device, and transmit to a merchant device at least the user photo data corresponding to the user identification string upon receiving the user identification string or user identification string data from the merchant device, to enable the merchant device to display the photo of the user on the merchant device.
Graham WO 2018167570 A2 teaches a method involves receiving data including a request for verification of the user from a provider system, and determining, whether the user is age verified. An affirmative indication is provided to the provider system. An interface for input of identifying data is provided directly to the user device. The identifying data is received from a user device. The identifying data is provided to a third-party verification source. An indication of verification of age is received based on the identifying data.
Conclusion
/CURTIS A KUNTZ/Primary examiner, Art Unit 2646