DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Pursuant to communications filed on 29 January 2025, claim 1 has been cancelled and claims 2-22 have been added, therefore claims 2-22 are currently pending in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 18 February 2025 and 17 March 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-13 and 15-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takagi (US 2012/0072026 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Takagi teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
identifying, by data processing hardware (Figures 3, 9 & 14, control apparatus 150, 250 & 250A, respectively; at least as in paragraphs 0095, 0160, 0233 and 0282) of a quadruped robot (Figures 26 & 30, wherein the robot is a quadrupedal robot), an event associated with the quadruped robot, wherein a gait of the quadruped robot indicates a transition of a first foot of a first leg of the quadruped robot from a first position to a first location on a ground surface (Figures 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0281-0287, specifically as shown in the gait phase diagram of Figure 28A, wherein each of the respective feet/legs of the quadrupedal robot transition between swing (i.e. motion) state and a stance (i.e. touchdown) state as said quadrupedal robot walks across uneven terrain (i.e. the identified event, in this instance), and further adapts the respective trajectories of the respective feet/legs as necessary to maintain/ensure balance of said quadrupedal robot.);
instructing, by the data processing hardware, transition of the first foot from the first position to a second location on the ground surface based on identifying the event (Figures 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0281-0287, specifically at least as in paragraph 0281, wherein “a gait used in the present embodiment is illustrated in a gait phase diagram of FIG. 28A. Thick line segments indicate stance phases and thin line segments indicate swing phases. One walking period is 1 second. In the present embodiment, by taking into consideration walking on uneven terrain, a duty factor is set to .beta.=0.8 and a wave gait is used whereby the right hind leg, right front leg, left hind leg, and left front leg are lifted in this order”, and as further shown in the gait phase diagram of Figure 28A, wherein each of the respective feet/legs of the quadrupedal robot transition between swing (i.e. motion) state and a stance (i.e. touchdown) state as said quadrupedal robot walks across uneven terrain (i.e. the identified event, in this instance), and further adapts the respective trajectories of the respective feet/legs as necessary to maintain/ensure balance of said quadrupedal robot.); and
instructing, by the data processing hardware, transition of a second foot of a second leg of the quadruped robot from a second position to a third location on the ground surface based on instructing transition of the first foot from the first position to the second location (Figures 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0281-0287, specifically at least as in paragraph 0281, wherein “a gait used in the present embodiment is illustrated in a gait phase diagram of FIG. 28A. Thick line segments indicate stance phases and thin line segments indicate swing phases. One walking period is 1 second. In the present embodiment, by taking into consideration walking on uneven terrain, a duty factor is set to .beta.=0.8 and a wave gait is used whereby the right hind leg, right front leg, left hind leg, and left front leg are lifted in this order”, and as further shown in the gait phase diagram of Figure 28A, wherein each of the respective feet/legs of the quadrupedal robot transition between swing (i.e. motion) state and a stance (i.e. touchdown) state as said quadrupedal robot walks across uneven terrain (i.e. the identified event, in this instance), and further adapts the respective trajectories of the respective feet/legs as necessary to maintain/ensure balance of said quadrupedal robot.).
Regarding claim 3, Takagi further teaches wherein the event comprises one or more of: a slip of a third foot of a third leg of the quadruped robot; an intersection of a target swing trajectory of the first foot with a third leg of the quadruped robot, the target swing trajectory associated with the gait; a state of a joint of the quadruped robot corresponding to a range of motion limit; a third foot of a third leg of the quadruped robot contacting the ground surface at a first time that is different as compared to a second time that is based on an estimated swing time for the third leg, the estimated swing time associated with the gait; or a traversal by the quadruped robot of uneven terrain (Figures 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0281-0287). Examiner notes wherein only one of these limitations is required to be addressed by the prior art in order to satisfy addressing the claim limitation(s).
Regarding claim 4, Takagi further teaches wherein the first position comprises: a fourth location on the ground surface, wherein the gait comprises: a mechanically timed gait, and wherein the computer-implemented method further comprises: instructing transition of the first foot from the fourth location to the second location according to the mechanically timed gait (Figures 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0281-0287, specifically as shown in at least Figures 28A & 33A-33B).
Regarding claim 5, Takagi further teaches wherein the first position comprises: a position within a swing trajectory of the first leg, the swing trajectory associated with the gait, and wherein identifying the event comprises: identifying the event associated with the quadruped robot with the first foot at the position within the swing trajectory (Figures 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0281-0287).
Regarding claim 6, Takagi teaches the method further comprising: determining the second location based on sensor data associated with a sensor of the quadruped robot (Figures 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0281-0287).
Regarding claim 7, Takagi teaches the method further comprising: obtaining sensor data from a sensor of the quadruped robot (Figures 1, 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0094-0101 and 0281-0287),
wherein identifying the event comprises: identifying the event based on the sensor data (Figures 1, 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0094-0101 and 0281-0287).
Regarding claim 8, Takagi teaches the method further comprising: identifying a footfall pattern associated with the gait, wherein the footfall pattern indicates the first location (Figures 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0281-0287, specifically as shown in at least Figures 28A & 33A-33B).
Regarding claim 9, Takagi teaches the method further comprising: identifying the first location based on a swing trajectory of the first foot, the swing trajectory associated with the gait (Figures 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0281-0287, specifically as shown in at least Figures 28A & 33A-33B).
Regarding claim 10, Takagi further teaches wherein instructing transition of the first foot from the first position to the second location comprises: transmitting, to the quadruped robot, instructions to transition the first foot from the first position to the second location, and wherein the computer-implemented method further comprises: transitioning the first foot from the first position to the second location based on the instructions (Figures 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0281-0287, specifically as shown in at least Figures 28A & 33A-33B).
Regarding claim 11, Takagi teaches the method further comprising: selecting the gait from a plurality of gaits stored in the data processing hardware (Figures 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0281-0287, specifically as shown in at least Figures 28A & 33A-33B); and instructing movement by the quadruped robot according to the gait based on selecting the gait (Figures 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0281-0287, specifically as shown in at least Figures 28A & 33A-33B).
Regarding claim 12, Takagi teaches the method further comprising: determining a force provided to the first foot based on contact by the first foot with the ground surface (Figures 1 & 28A-29; at least as in paragraphs 0094-0101 and 0281-0282); and instructing movement by the quadruped robot according to the gait based on the force (Figures 1 & 28A-29; at least as in paragraphs 0094-0101 and 0281-0282).
Regarding claim 13, Takagi teaches the method further comprising: determining a first force provided to the first foot based on contact by the first foot with the ground surface (Figures 1 & 28A-29; at least as in paragraphs 0094-0101 and 0281-0282); and determining a second force for the second foot based on the first force, wherein instructing transition of the second foot from the second position to the third location comprises: instructing transition of the second foot from the second position to the third location based on the second force (Figures 1 & 28A-29; at least as in paragraphs 0094-0101 and 0281-0282).
Regarding claim 15, Takagi teaches the method further comprising: determining a velocity of the quadruped robot; and determining a velocity for the second foot based on the velocity of the quadruped robot, wherein instructing transition of the second foot from the second position to the third location comprises: instructing transition of the second foot from the second position to the third location based on the velocity for the second foot (Figures 30-34B; at least as in paragraphs 0284-0288).
Regarding claim 16, Takagi further teaches the method further comprising: determining the first position based on sensor data associated with a sensor of the quadruped robot (Figures 1, 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0094-0101 and 0281-0287).
Regarding claim 17, wherein the first location comprises a first location on a set of stairs, and wherein the second location comprises a second location on the set of stairs.
Regarding claim 18, Takagi further teaches wherein the first location indicates an end of a swing trajectory of the first foot, the swing trajectory associated with the gait, and wherein the second location is associated with a deviation from the swing trajectory of the gait (Figures 1, 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0094-0101 and 0281-0287).
Regarding claim 19, Takagi teaches a legged robot comprising:
at least two legs (Figures 26 & 30, wherein the robot is a quadrupedal robot);
memory hardware storing instructions (Figure 29, Memory; at least as in paragraphs 0095, 0160, 0233 and 0282) Examiner notes wherein the control apparatus comprising one or more PID controllers would implicitly include/require some kind of memory element associated with said controller, either with or in addition to the memory provided in at least the control apparatus of Figure 29.; and
data processing hardware (Figures 3, 9 & 14, control apparatus 150, 250 & 250A, respectively; at least as in paragraphs 0095, 0160, 0233 and 0282) in communication with the memory hardware, wherein execution of the instructions by the data processing hardware causes the data processing hardware to:
identify an event associated with the legged robot, wherein a gait of the legged robot indicates a transition of a first foot of a first leg of the at least two legs from a first position to a first location on a ground surface (Figures 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0281-0287, specifically as shown in the gait phase diagram of Figure 28A, wherein each of the respective feet/legs of the quadrupedal robot transition between swing (i.e. motion) state and a stance (i.e. touchdown) state as said quadrupedal robot walks across uneven terrain (i.e. the identified event, in this instance), and further adapts the respective trajectories of the respective feet/legs as necessary to maintain/ensure balance of said quadrupedal robot.);
instruct transition of the first foot from the first position to a second location on the ground surface based on identifying the event (Figures 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0281-0287, specifically at least as in paragraph 0281, wherein “a gait used in the present embodiment is illustrated in a gait phase diagram of FIG. 28A. Thick line segments indicate stance phases and thin line segments indicate swing phases. One walking period is 1 second. In the present embodiment, by taking into consideration walking on uneven terrain, a duty factor is set to .beta.=0.8 and a wave gait is used whereby the right hind leg, right front leg, left hind leg, and left front leg are lifted in this order”, and as further shown in the gait phase diagram of Figure 28A, wherein each of the respective feet/legs of the quadrupedal robot transition between swing (i.e. motion) state and a stance (i.e. touchdown) state as said quadrupedal robot walks across uneven terrain (i.e. the identified event, in this instance), and further adapts the respective trajectories of the respective feet/legs as necessary to maintain/ensure balance of said quadrupedal robot.); and
instruct transition of a second foot of a second leg of the at least two legs from a second position to a third location on the ground surface based on instructing transition of the first foot from the first position to the second location (Figures 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0281-0287, specifically at least as in paragraph 0281, wherein “a gait used in the present embodiment is illustrated in a gait phase diagram of FIG. 28A. Thick line segments indicate stance phases and thin line segments indicate swing phases. One walking period is 1 second. In the present embodiment, by taking into consideration walking on uneven terrain, a duty factor is set to .beta.=0.8 and a wave gait is used whereby the right hind leg, right front leg, left hind leg, and left front leg are lifted in this order”, and as further shown in the gait phase diagram of Figure 28A, wherein each of the respective feet/legs of the quadrupedal robot transition between swing (i.e. motion) state and a stance (i.e. touchdown) state as said quadrupedal robot walks across uneven terrain (i.e. the identified event, in this instance), and further adapts the respective trajectories of the respective feet/legs as necessary to maintain/ensure balance of said quadrupedal robot.).
Regarding claim 20, Takagi further teaches wherein the legged robot transitions the first foot from the first position to the second location based on instructing transition of the first foot from the first position to the second location (Figures 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0281-0287).
Regarding claim 21, Takagi teaches a computing system comprising:
memory hardware storing instructions (Figure 29, Memory; at least as in paragraphs 0095, 0160, 0233 and 0282) Examiner notes wherein the control apparatus comprising one or more PID controllers would implicitly include/require some kind of memory element associated with said controller, either with or in addition to the memory provided in at least the control apparatus of Figure 29.; and
data processing hardware (Figures 3, 9 & 14, control apparatus 150, 250 & 250A, respectively; at least as in paragraphs 0095, 0160, 0233 and 0282) in communication with the memory hardware, wherein execution of the instructions by the data processing hardware causes the data processing hardware to:
identify an event associated with a legged robot (Figures 26 & 30, wherein the robot is a quadrupedal robot), wherein a gait of the legged robot indicates a transition of a first foot of a first leg of the legged robot from a first position to a first location on a ground surface (Figures 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0281-0287, specifically as shown in the gait phase diagram of Figure 28A, wherein each of the respective feet/legs of the quadrupedal robot transition between swing (i.e. motion) state and a stance (i.e. touchdown) state as said quadrupedal robot walks across uneven terrain (i.e. the identified event, in this instance), and further adapts the respective trajectories of the respective feet/legs as necessary to maintain/ensure balance of said quadrupedal robot.);
instruct transition of the first foot from the first position to a second location on the ground surface based on identifying the event (Figures 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0281-0287, specifically at least as in paragraph 0281, wherein “a gait used in the present embodiment is illustrated in a gait phase diagram of FIG. 28A. Thick line segments indicate stance phases and thin line segments indicate swing phases. One walking period is 1 second. In the present embodiment, by taking into consideration walking on uneven terrain, a duty factor is set to .beta.=0.8 and a wave gait is used whereby the right hind leg, right front leg, left hind leg, and left front leg are lifted in this order”, and as further shown in the gait phase diagram of Figure 28A, wherein each of the respective feet/legs of the quadrupedal robot transition between swing (i.e. motion) state and a stance (i.e. touchdown) state as said quadrupedal robot walks across uneven terrain (i.e. the identified event, in this instance), and further adapts the respective trajectories of the respective feet/legs as necessary to maintain/ensure balance of said quadrupedal robot.); and
instruct transition of a second foot of a second leg of the legged robot from a second position to a third location on the ground surface based on instructing transition of the first foot from the first position to the second location (Figures 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0281-0287, specifically at least as in paragraph 0281, wherein “a gait used in the present embodiment is illustrated in a gait phase diagram of FIG. 28A. Thick line segments indicate stance phases and thin line segments indicate swing phases. One walking period is 1 second. In the present embodiment, by taking into consideration walking on uneven terrain, a duty factor is set to .beta.=0.8 and a wave gait is used whereby the right hind leg, right front leg, left hind leg, and left front leg are lifted in this order”, and as further shown in the gait phase diagram of Figure 28A, wherein each of the respective feet/legs of the quadrupedal robot transition between swing (i.e. motion) state and a stance (i.e. touchdown) state as said quadrupedal robot walks across uneven terrain (i.e. the identified event, in this instance), and further adapts the respective trajectories of the respective feet/legs as necessary to maintain/ensure balance of said quadrupedal robot.).
Regarding claim 22, Takagi further teaches wherein the legged robot transitions the first foot from the first position to the second location based on instructing transition of the first foot from the first position to the second location (Figures 28A-30 and 33A-33B; at least as in paragraphs 0281-0287).
Examiner notes wherein a secondary 35 USC § 102 rejection is provided below for claims 19-22, due to the broader scope of the claims not being distinctly claimed as a “quadruped” or “four-legged” type robot, as in claims 2-18 above, and to show/emphasize how additional/different prior art may read directly on at least the independent claims, whereas the prior art reference below would appear to not anticipate at least independent claim 2 above as a stand-alone prior art reference.
Claim(s) 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goulding (US 2011/0231050 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Goulding teaches a legged robot comprising:
at least two legs (Figures 1-5, leg(s) 43a-c; at least as in paragraph 0431);
memory hardware storing instructions (Figure 31, ROM 88, RAM 89, data storage 90; at least as in paragraph 0454); and
data processing hardware (Figure 31, CPU 87; at least as in paragraph 0454) in communication with the memory hardware, wherein execution of the instructions by the data processing hardware causes the data processing hardware to:
identify an event associated with the legged robot, wherein a gait of the legged robot indicates a transition of a first foot of a first leg of the at least two legs from a first position to a first location on a ground surface (Figures 31-35; at least as in paragraphs 0450-0459 and 0479-0491, specifically as in at least paragraph 0479, wherein “When uncontrolled slip is detected, a leg in flight or near flight phase or the leg contributing least to the expected stability of the body is repositioned to catch the fall. That is in order to stabilize the legged vehicle and prevent turnover, the trajectory of the body 42 as an inverted pendulum is computed and the at least one leg, called the swing leg, is extended in the direction of the fall”, and further as in at least paragraph 0488, wherein “Controlling a legged mobile robot includes sensing terrain, path planning, selecting footholds, and adjusting step length”) Examiner notes wherein the detected “slip” and/or detected “terrain” are construed as at least two potential identified event(s).;
instruct transition of the first foot from the first position to a second location on the ground surface based on identifying the event (Figures 31-35; at least as in paragraphs 0450-0459 and 0479-0491, specifically as in at least paragraph 0487, wherein “The operator only provides high-level control input, leaving the legged mobile robot on-board control system to operate the legs, provide stability on rough terrain, and reflex responses to external disturbances”, and further as in at least paragraph 0489, wherein “fourth method is to place one or more footsteps on the available footholds at the expense of stability and recover balance over one or more subsequent footsteps. Especially in rough terrain, isolated footholds are key to locomotion. While controlled step length adjusts the length of its steps such that the feet land on the available footholds, forward speed, body height, and duration of ground contact must be controlled to actively balance the walking machine while traversing rough terrain. Being configured in the foregoing three methods, the embodiment is able to generate a gait with a high margin of stability even on uneven terrain and in other situations where ground contact is made with two or more planes simultaneously”); and
instruct transition of a second foot of a second leg of the at least two legs from a second position to a third location on the ground surface based on instructing transition of the first foot from the first position to the second location (Figures 31-35; at least as in paragraphs 0450-0459 and 0479-0491, specifically as in at least paragraph 0487, wherein “The operator only provides high-level control input, leaving the legged mobile robot on-board control system to operate the legs, provide stability on rough terrain, and reflex responses to external disturbances”, and further as in at least paragraph 0489, wherein “fourth method is to place one or more footsteps on the available footholds at the expense of stability and recover balance over one or more subsequent footsteps. Especially in rough terrain, isolated footholds are key to locomotion. While controlled step length adjusts the length of its steps such that the feet land on the available footholds, forward speed, body height, and duration of ground contact must be controlled to actively balance the walking machine while traversing rough terrain. Being configured in the foregoing three methods, the embodiment is able to generate a gait with a high margin of stability even on uneven terrain and in other situations where ground contact is made with two or more planes simultaneously”).
Regarding claim 20, Goulding teaches wherein the legged robot transitions the first foot from the first position to the second location based on instructing transition of the first foot from the first position to the second location (Figures 31-35; at least as in paragraphs 0450-0459 and 0479-0491).
Regarding claim 21, Goulding teaches a computing system (Figure 31, control system 86; at least as in paragraph 0454) comprising:
memory hardware storing instructions (Figure 31, ROM 88, RAM 89, data storage 90; at least as in paragraph 0454); and
data processing hardware (Figure 31, CPU 87; at least as in paragraph 0454) in communication with the memory hardware, wherein execution of the instructions by the data processing hardware causes the data processing hardware to:
identify an event associated with a legged robot (Figures 1-5, leg(s) 43a-c; at least as in paragraph 0431), wherein a gait of the legged robot indicates a transition of a first foot of a first leg of the legged robot from a first position to a first location on a ground surface (Figures 31-35; at least as in paragraphs 0450-0459 and 0479-0491, specifically as in at least paragraph 0479, wherein “When uncontrolled slip is detected, a leg in flight or near flight phase or the leg contributing least to the expected stability of the body is repositioned to catch the fall. That is in order to stabilize the legged vehicle and prevent turnover, the trajectory of the body 42 as an inverted pendulum is computed and the at least one leg, called the swing leg, is extended in the direction of the fall”, and further as in at least paragraph 0488, wherein “Controlling a legged mobile robot includes sensing terrain, path planning, selecting footholds, and adjusting step length”) Examiner notes wherein the detected “slip” and/or “terrain” are construed as an identified event.;
instruct transition of the first foot from the first position to a second location on the ground surface based on identifying the event (Figures 31-35; at least as in paragraphs 0450-0459 and 0479-0491, specifically as in at least paragraph 0487, wherein “The operator only provides high-level control input, leaving the legged mobile robot on-board control system to operate the legs, provide stability on rough terrain, and reflex responses to external disturbances”, and further as in at least paragraph 0489, wherein “fourth method is to place one or more footsteps on the available footholds at the expense of stability and recover balance over one or more subsequent footsteps. Especially in rough terrain, isolated footholds are key to locomotion. While controlled step length adjusts the length of its steps such that the feet land on the available footholds, forward speed, body height, and duration of ground contact must be controlled to actively balance the walking machine while traversing rough terrain. Being configured in the foregoing three methods, the embodiment is able to generate a gait with a high margin of stability even on uneven terrain and in other situations where ground contact is made with two or more planes simultaneously”); and
instruct transition of a second foot of a second leg of the legged robot from a second position to a third location on the ground surface based on instructing transition of the first foot from the first position to the second location (Figures 31-35; at least as in paragraphs 0450-0459 and 0479-0491, specifically as in at least paragraph 0487, wherein “The operator only provides high-level control input, leaving the legged mobile robot on-board control system to operate the legs, provide stability on rough terrain, and reflex responses to external disturbances”, and further as in at least paragraph 0489, wherein “fourth method is to place one or more footsteps on the available footholds at the expense of stability and recover balance over one or more subsequent footsteps. Especially in rough terrain, isolated footholds are key to locomotion. While controlled step length adjusts the length of its steps such that the feet land on the available footholds, forward speed, body height, and duration of ground contact must be controlled to actively balance the walking machine while traversing rough terrain. Being configured in the foregoing three methods, the embodiment is able to generate a gait with a high margin of stability even on uneven terrain and in other situations where ground contact is made with two or more planes simultaneously”).
Regarding claim 22, Goulding teaches wherein the legged robot transitions the first foot from the first position to the second location based on instructing transition of the first foot from the first position to the second location (Figures 31-35; at least as in paragraphs 0450-0459 and 0479-0491).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi (US 2012/0072026 A1) in view of Goulding (US 2011/0231050 A1).
The teachings of Takagi have been discussed above.
Regarding claim 14, Takagi is silent specifically regarding wherein the method further comprises: obtaining, from a user computing device, a selection of the gait. Goulding, in the same field of endeavor of controlling gaits of legged robots, teaches an operator interface (i.e. user computing device) that is communicatively coupled (i.e. hardwired or wireless) to the legged robot, for providing user inputs to control said legged robot (at least as in paragraphs 0063-0065, 0107-0109 and 0298-0299 and 0487, specifically wherein “the legged mobile robot has three general modes of operation: 1) it is a fully autonomous mobile robot (with or without a passenger), 2) it is partially autonomous and remotely controlled through an operator control unit, and 3) it is partially autonomous and ridden by a human operator that communicates with the robot via body motions, verbal commands, and an interface (e.g., handle bars and hand-grip controls). The operator (remote or rider) uses the operator control unit to provide high-level steering and speed input to guide the walking machine along its path and to control the speed of travel. The operator can also command the walking machine to turn on or off, stand up, squat down, walk, trot, or jog. A visual display provides the operator operational and engineering data. The operator only provides high-level control input, leaving the legged mobile robot on-board control system to operate the legs, provide stability on rough terrain, and reflex responses to external disturbances”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Takagi, to include Goulding’s teaching of an operator interface configured to receive user inputs to control said legged robot, since Goulding teaches wherein providing such an operator interface provides the advantage of remotely-directed control of the legged vehicle, and allows a rider/operator to control the legged vehicle, thereby providing a more enhanced and robust legged robotic control system/method.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 – Notice of References Cited form. Examiner additionally notes the following prior art references, in the same field of endeavor as the instant invention, and also appears to read on several of the currently provided claim limitations above;
US 2007/0013506 A1, issued to Takenaka et al, which is directed towards a control device for a legged robot (i.e. bipedal, quadruped, six-legged, etc.) that controls the gait of the robot based on the detected surroundings of said legged robot.
US 2015/0120044 A1, issued to Cory, which is directed towards a method for gait generation and tracking control for a bipedal walking robot.
/JONATHAN L SAMPLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657