DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-12 and 14-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the horizontal plane" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the y-direction" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 10-12, 14, 16, and 17 depend from claim 9.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the bin manipulators" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 16 depends from claim 14.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the x-direction" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the y-direction" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 13, 15, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by King (USP 7,381,022).
Regarding claim 1, King discloses a track system for a three-dimensional storage and distributing system comprising:
a track (78) comprising:
a section (79) configured for horizontal operation and a section (80) configured for vertical operation;
a plurality of individual members (89) designed to mesh with a toothed rotational device (68 or 69), the plurality of individual members allowing for a low-vibration interface between the track and the toothed rotational device (see column 7 lines 49-51 and column 9 lines 57-59); and
a gap (99 or 100 or 99,100) to allow a passage of a guide during a transition between horizontal operation and vertical operation (see Figures 15A-15D).
Regarding claim 2, King discloses the track system of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of individual members (89) is rounded to encourage the toothed rotational device (68) to slide back to mesh with the plurality of individual members to correct misalignments (see Figure 7A).
Regarding claim 3, King discloses the track system of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of individual members is able to spin (see “roller chain” in column 8 line 28) to facilitate passage of the toothed rotational device over the plurality of individual members.
Regarding claim 4, King discloses the track system of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of individual members is attached to a conductive structural member (see column 7 lines 46-47).
Regarding claim 5, King discloses the track system of claim 1, wherein the section configured for horizontal operation is interrupted along its length by a plurality of trapdoors (see column 8 lines 37-38).
Regarding claim 6, King discloses the track system of claim 5, wherein the plurality of trapdoors (95) comprises:
a hinge (96) on a first side;
a mount on a second side configured to bias the hinge in an open position (see column 8 lines 40-43); and
at least one elastic member (see “elastic bands” in column 8 lines 45-46) to allow for biasing, decreased oscillation, and guidance of the toothed rotational device during the horizontal-vertical transition.
Regarding claim 7, King discloses the track system of claim 5, further comprising a plurality of carriages (56 or 125 or 115,125), each of the plurality of carriages comprising:
a drive system using a motor (131), wherein the drive system comprises:
four toothed rotational devices (130);
gearing (132) configured to allow slowing or stopping of the motor;
a drive shaft of the motor (131) for driving a primary axle (128) through a single gear set; and
a secondary axle (127) driven by the primary axle using a non-slip belt or chain (129).
Regarding claim 8, King discloses the track system of claim 7, wherein the plurality of carriages (56) further comprise a plurality of rolling guides (61 or 69 or 68) mounted fore and aft of the toothed rotational device (68), wherein the plurality of rolling guides engages the plurality of trapdoors during the horizontal vertical transition (see column 9 lines 55-67 to column 10 lin2 1-48).
Regarding claim 13, King discloses the track system of claim 7, further comprising:
a plurality of bin manipulators (125) mounted to each of the plurality of carriages, wherein each of the plurality of bin manipulators comprises a framework for transporting bins, wherein the framework for transporting bins comprises an open bottom on the plurality of carriages to allow for transportation of bins of differing heights (see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 15 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), King discloses the track system of claim 7, further comprising a delivery system, wherein the delivery system comprises a plurality of delivery interfaces (see Figure 1), the plurality of delivery interfaces (49) comprising:
a delivery shelf configured to:
interact directly with the plurality of carriages operating in the x-direction without moving in the y-direction (see Figures 1 and 11);
move in the y-direction (see Figures 1 and 11); and
interact with a customer interface (47) configured to deliver items to respective addresses by consulting a database (157 or 146,157) associating the items with the addresses.
Regarding claim 18, King discloses a method comprising: operating a track, wherein the track comprises:
a section (79) configured for horizontal operation and a section (80) configured for vertical operation;
a plurality of individual members (89) designed to mesh with a toothed rotational device (68 or 69), the plurality of individual members allowing for a low-vibration interface between the track and the toothed rotational device (see column 7 lines 49-51 and column 9 lines 57-59); and
a gap (99 or 100 or 99,100) to allow a passage of a guide during a transition between horizontal operation and vertical operation (see Figures 15A-15D).
Regarding claim 19, King discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions to perform operations when executed by a processor, the instructions comprising:
operating a track system, where the track system comprises:
a section (79) configured for horizontal operation and a section (80) configured for vertical operation;
a plurality of individual members (89) designed to mesh with a toothed rotational device (68 or 69), the plurality of individual members allowing for a low-vibration interface between the track and the toothed rotational device (see column 7 lines 49-51 and column 9 lines 57-59); and
a gap (99 or 100 or 99,100) to allow a passage of a guide during a transition between horizontal operation and vertical operation (see Figures 15A-15D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-12, 14, 16, and 17 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King (USP 7,381,022) as applied to claims 1-8, 13, 15, and 18-19 above, and further in view of Bastian, II et al. (USPGPUB 2020/0277137).
Regarding claim 9 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), King discloses the track system of claim 7, further comprising a plurality of actuated turners (69 or 68 or 77). However, King does not disclose a system further comprising a plurality of actuated turners, each of the plurality of actuated turners comprising: a receiver for receiving the plurality of carriages, wherein the receiver is configured to allow for rotating the plurality of carriages in the horizontal plane with or without movement in the y-direction, and wherein the receiver is configured to allow the plurality of carriages to continue operation after the rotation. Bastian, II et al. disclose a system further comprising a plurality of actuated turners, each of the plurality of actuated turners comprising: a receiver for receiving the plurality of carriages, wherein the receiver is configured to allow for rotating the plurality of carriages in the horizontal plane with or without movement in the y-direction, and wherein the receiver is configured to allow the plurality of carriages to continue operation after the rotation (see paragraph [0121] and Figure 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by King by including a system further comprising a plurality of actuated turners, each of the plurality of actuated turners comprising: a receiver for receiving the plurality of carriages, wherein the receiver is configured to allow for rotating the plurality of carriages in the horizontal plane with or without movement in the y-direction, and wherein the receiver is configured to allow the plurality of carriages to continue operation after the rotation, as disclosed by Bastian, II et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a shuttle switch to facilitate the transition between vertical and horizontal movement (see paragraph [0121]).
Regarding claim 10 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), King discloses the track system of claim 9, further comprising a visual acquisition system (144) mounted to each of the plurality of carriages.
Regarding claim 11 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), King discloses the track system of claim 10. However, King does not disclose a system wherein the visual acquisition system is configured to align the plurality of carriages with the plurality of actuated turners. Bastian, II et al. disclose a system wherein the visual acquisition system is configured to align the plurality of carriages with the plurality of actuated turners (see paragraph [0136]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by King by including a system wherein the visual acquisition system is configured to align the plurality of carriages with the plurality of actuated turners, as disclosed by Bastian, II et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a vision system to make adjustments (see paragraph [0136]).
Regarding claim 12 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), King discloses the track system of claim 9, further comprising:
a plurality of horizontal rails running in the z-direction, wherein the horizontal rails running in the z-direction are interrupted along their length by a second plurality of trapdoors (see Figures 9-10 and 16) and are connected to the plurality of actuated turners (69).
Regarding claim 14 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), King in view of Bastian, II et al. disclose the track system of claim 10. Furthermore, Bastian, II et al. disclose a system wherein the visual acquisition system is configured to:
identify unique bins using visual information (see column 12 lines 44-61);
identify presence of bins (see column 12 lines 44-61);
identify absence of bins (see column 12 lines 44-61).
Furthermore, Bastian, II et al. disclose a system wherein the visual acquisition system is configured to:
assist alignment of the plurality of carriages to allow operation of the bin manipulators (see paragraph [0136]);
identify presence of an item within bins using visual information (see paragraph [0136]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by King by including a system wherein the visual acquisition system is configured to: assist alignment of the plurality of carriages to allow operation of the bin manipulators; identify presence of an item within bins using visual information, as disclosed by Bastian, II et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a vision system to make adjustments (see paragraph [0136]).
Regarding claim 16 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), King discloses the track system of claim 14, further comprising an electronic control system configured to connect the customer interface to a vendor interface, wherein the database comprises inputs from the customer interface and the vendor interface to associate the items with the addresses (see column 9 lines 44-54 and column 12 lines 44-61).
Regarding claim 17 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), King discloses the track system of claim 10. However, King does not disclose a system wherein the visual acquisition system is configured to align the plurality of carriages with a plurality of delivery shelves. Bastian, II et al. disclose a system wherein the visual acquisition system is configured to align the plurality of carriages with a plurality of delivery shelves (see paragraph [0136]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by King by including a system wherein the visual acquisition system is configured to align the plurality of carriages with a plurality of delivery shelves, as disclosed by Bastian, II et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a vision system to make adjustments (see paragraph [0136]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
M.K.C.
10/27/2026
/MICHAEL COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655