DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 20 recites limitations having “means for” plus function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US2015/0189606 A1, and further in view of Liu et al., US2025/0392996 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 11, par. 0119; configuration of the UE), comprising: one or more memories (Fig. 11; although the memory of the configuration for the UE is not shown in Fig. 11 or taught in the specification. However, it is implicit that the UE has a memory which is part of the UE for storing data as led by one of ordinary skill in the art.); and one or more processors (Fig. 11, par. 0120; a controller 1110, a control message processor 1135, and higher layer processors 1125 and 1130.), the one or more processors, individually or collectively and based at least in part on information stored in the one or more memories, being configured to: receive a power class change reporting configuration (par. 0060; Upon receipt of the control message, the UE 505 configures downlink and uplink and continues normal operations according to the instruction from the eNB 510.); and transmit one or more medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) communications (par. 0082; The UE transmits the MAC PDU to the eNB.), wherein at least one of the one or more MAC-CE communications indicates a power class change or a change in one or more uplink capability parameters (par. 0077; The UE inserts the PH and other information per serving cell in the extended PHR MAC CE.).
Kim fails to teach the following recited limitation. However, Liu teaches wherein at least one of the one or more MAC-CE communications indicates one or more uplink full power transmission (ULFPTx) parameters or one or more ULFPTx modes (par. 0009; That the full power transmission mode changes means that a power class currently supported by the terminal device for a specific band/carrier is different from a full power transmission mode currently configured for the band/carrier, or is different from a full power transmission mode reported by the terminal device for the band/carrier.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Kim’s teachings with Liu’s teachings in order to enable the network device to properly allocate transmission power to the terminal to improve communication performance (Liu, par. 0003).
Regarding claim 2, Kim and Liu teach all the limitations in claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein at least one of the one or more MAC-CE communications indicates an uplink multiple input multiple output (MIMO) capability (par. 0009).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Kim and Liu teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 12. Liu further teaches wherein each of the one or more ULFPTx parameters or each of the one or more ULFPTx modes correspond to a ULFPTx value stored in a table (par. 0118). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Kim’s teachings with Liu’s teachings in order to enable the network device to properly allocate transmission power to the terminal to improve communication performance (Liu, par. 0003).
Regarding claim 4, Kim and Liu teach all the limitations in claim 3. Kim further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a configuration for the table (par. 0105).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Kim and Liu teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 12. Kim further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: detect the power class change or the change in one or more uplink capability parameters, wherein transmitting the one or more MAC-CE communications occurs as a result of detecting the power class change (par. 0052).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Kim and Liu teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 12. Kim further teaches wherein the power class change reporting configuration includes a configuration for the one or more MAC-CE communications (par. 0054).
Regarding claim 7, Kim and Liu teach all the limitations in claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein the configuration for the one or more MAC-CE communications includes one or more rules, and wherein each rule is associated with one or more of a reporting threshold, a reporting timer, a prohibit timer, a cell or resource pool identifier, or a secondary cell group identifier (par. 0055).
Regarding claim 8, Kim and Liu teach all the limitations in claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein the power class change reporting configuration includes one or more timing parameters, and wherein each of the one or more timing parameters is associated with one or more of a reporting of the power class change, a reporting of a change in an uplink full power transmission parameter, or a reporting of a change in an uplink rank (par. 0055).
Regarding claims 9 and 16, Kim and Liu teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 12. Kim further teaches wherein the power class change reporting configuration is received via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (par. 0105).
Regarding claims 10 and 17, Kim and Liu teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 12. Kim further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a UE assistance information (UAI) message in accordance with the power class change reporting configuration, wherein the UAI message includes one or more of an uplink full power transmission parameter or an uplink rank capability (par. 0109).
Regarding claims 11 and 18, Kim and Liu teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 12. Kim further teaches further comprising transmitting, via a measurement report, one or more of an uplink full power transmission parameter or an uplink rank capability (par. 0080).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 5), comprising: receiving a power class change reporting configuration (par. 0060; Upon receipt of the control message, the UE 505 configures downlink and uplink and continues normal operations according to the instruction from the eNB 510.); and transmitting one or more medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) communications (par. 0082; The UE transmits the MAC PDU to the eNB.), wherein at least one of the one or more MAC-CE communications indicates a power class change or a change in one or more uplink capability parameters (par. 0077; The UE inserts the PH and other information per serving cell in the extended PHR MAC CE.).
Kim fails to teach the following recited limitation. However, Liu teaches wherein at least one of the one or more MAC-CE communications indicates one or more uplink full power transmission (ULFPTx) parameters or one or more ULFPTx modes (par. 0009; That the full power transmission mode changes means that a power class currently supported by the terminal device for a specific band/carrier is different from a full power transmission mode currently configured for the band/carrier, or is different from a full power transmission mode reported by the terminal device for the band/carrier.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Kim’s teachings with Liu’s teachings in order to enable the network device to properly allocate transmission power to the terminal to improve communication performance (Liu, par. 0003).
Regarding claim 19, Kim and Liu teaches all the limitations in claim 12. Kim further teaches further comprising transmitting a capability update indicating a change in a power control capability (par. 0047).
Regarding claim 20, Kim teaches An apparatus for wireless communication (Fig. 11, par. 0119; configuration of the UE), comprising: means for receiving a power class change reporting configuration (par. 0060; Upon receipt of the control message, the UE 505 configures downlink and uplink and continues normal operations according to the instruction from the eNB 510.); and means for transmitting one or more medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) communications (par. 0082; The UE transmits the MAC PDU to the eNB.), wherein at least one of the one or more MAC-CE communications indicates a power class change or a change in one or more uplink capability parameters (par. 0077; The UE inserts the PH and other information per serving cell in the extended PHR MAC CE.).
Kim fails to teach the following recited limitation. However, Liu teaches wherein at least one of the one or more MAC-CE communications indicates one or more uplink full power transmission (ULFPTx) parameters or one or more ULFPTx modes (par. 0009; That the full power transmission mode changes means that a power class currently supported by the terminal device for a specific band/carrier is different from a full power transmission mode currently configured for the band/carrier, or is different from a full power transmission mode reported by the terminal device for the band/carrier.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Kim’s teachings with Liu’s teachings in order to enable the network device to properly allocate transmission power to the terminal to improve communication performance (Liu, par. 0003).
Conclusion
/AYODEJI O AYOTUNDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649