DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
§ 101 Rejection
Claims 22-42 were rejected in the non-final Office action (“NFOA”) under § 101 as being drawn to an abstract idea without significantly more. See NFOA at 2-5. The applicant’s arguments traversing this rejection are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the claims recite steps that cannot “be performed in someone’s mind or using pen/paper.” Remarks at 9. The examiner disagrees. The claims have been amended to recite that various steps require the use of sensors, a data delivery platform, and a database. But these are simply generic computing devices that are only invoked to implement what would otherwise be mental steps. Other than these generic computing elements, the underlying concept that is recited in the claims is a mental process. The courts do not “distinguish between claims that recite mental processes performed by humans and claims that recite mental processes performed on a computer. As the Federal Circuit has explained, ‘[c]ourts have examined claims that required the use of a computer and still found that the underlying, patent-ineligible invention could be performed via pen and paper or in a person’s mind.’ Versata Dev. Group v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1335, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1702 (Fed. Cir. 2015).” MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
The applicant also argues that even if an abstract idea is present, it is integrated into a practical application. Remarks at 10. The examiner disagrees. Many of the examples provided by the applicant of how the claimed invention is integrated into a practical application are not recited in the claims. For example, the applicant submits that “the claimed approach is directed towards the practical application of using location data linked to individual mobile devices that allows advertisers to better target their ads to relevant audiences with greater accuracy.” Remarks at 10. But no claim recites this, so it cannot be said that the claims integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application for this reason. The applicant’s remaking arguments on pg. 10 of the Remarks are not persuasive that the claims integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the rejected claims.
For a claim to integrate an abstract idea into a practical application, there must be “additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception” that “integrate the exception into a practical application.” MPEP 2106.04(d)(II). That is, the claim must include limitations that fall outside of the abstract idea and are more than the mere application of the abstract idea on a generic computer, or the linking of the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(I). The applicant has identified no such additional elements in the claims of this application.
Applicant’s arguments on pg. 11-12 of the Remarks are also unpersuasive. The applicant argues that the claimed invention “efficiently searches through large databases of location data” from mobile devices. Remarks at 11. The applicant also argues that the claimed invention solves a technical problem in the prior art “by using a plurality of sensors to transmit location data to a data delivery platform that can use location data records from websites, mobile ad networks, mobile applications, and other networks with sensors located in malls, airports, transportation terminals, hotels, medical offices, etc. in order to build location profiles that can be linked to residential addresses.” Id. at 11-12. But the claims recite none of this alleged improvement. These arguments are not consistent with claim scope and thus unpersuasive.
Double Patenting Rejections
All claims were rejected in the NFOA under obviousness-type double patenting. See NFOA at 5-7. This issue has not been overcome, and these rejections are maintained.
§ 103 Rejections
Claims 22-27 and 31-36 were previously rejected as obvious over Andreasson and Alen. See NFOA at 8-11. The applicant submits that the amended claims overcome this rejection. Remarks at 13-15. While new grounds of rejection are presented below, it is necessary to respond to certain of the applicant’s arguments.
The applicant argues that Andreasson does not disclose “collecting the latitude and longitude.” Remarks at 14. The examiner disagrees. Initially, the claims do not require what the applicant alleges. Claim 22, for example, recites collecting location data “on multiple occasions, each occasion including a longitude and a latitude.” This is not a clear requirement that the location data that is collected from the mobile devices includes the longitude and latitude. For instance, it would appear to be within the scope of the claim that a mobile device determines its location by latitude/longitude, then delivers information identifying its location in a different format (for example, a street address). This “occasion” of collecting location data from the mobile device would “includ[e] a latitude and a longitude” and thus would appear to meet the requirements of this limitation. See the § 112(b) rejection below.
Regardless of the above, Andreasson discloses that its server collects latitude and longitude information from the mobile terminals. Andreasson discloses that a mobile terminal determines its location using its GPS receiver. Andreassen ¶¶ 44 and 61. The mobile terminal delivers to the server 130 “geographic … points which correspond to the positions mobile terminal 120 has visited.” Id. ¶ 69. The “position” that is delivered by the mobile terminal is “geographic position information (such as GPS location data…).” Id. ¶ 47. Therefore Andreasson discloses that its mobile terminals determine their position based on GPS location, and deliver that GPS location data to the server. The POSITA would understand that GPS data is latitude/longitude data. Therefore Andreasson discloses that the server collects latitude and longitude data from the mobile device.
The applicant also argues that Andreasson does not disclose collecting a timestamp with the location information. See Remarks at 14. But the claims do not require the timestamp to be received from the mobile device. Claim 22 only recites collecting location data on multiple occasions, “each occasion including a timestamp.” Andreasson discloses that the location information that is received from the mobile terminals is correlated with the times that the devices were at those locations. See Andreasson ¶¶ 66 and 69. That is, the information that is received from the mobile terminal defines the location of the mobile terminal at a particular time. See id. ¶ 71. Therefore each occasion for which location information is collected includes a timestamp, as the claim requires.
The applicant further argues that Alen does not produce “an output file that includes the database with tiers” as recited in the amended claims. New grounds of rejection are presented below that address this limitation. For reasons provided in the claim rejection, the examiner disagrees with the applicant (see Remarks at 14-15) that it would not have been obvious to modify Andreasson to arrive at the invention that is recited in the amended claims.
The assertion of official notice that was taken in the rejection of claim 35 was not traversed, rendering the asserted subject matter admitted prior art. See MPEP 2144.03(C).
Double Patenting
Claims 22-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 11392987, claims 1-21 of US Patent No. 11789372, and claims 1-21 of US Patent No. 12,141,838. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of this application recite only obvious variants of the claims of the patents. For example, instant claim 22 recites a broader and patentably indistinct invention than is found in claim 3 of each patent. All other claims of this application recite only obvious variants of the claims of the patents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 22-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 22 includes the following steps:
collecting location data from a set of mobile devices over a time period on multiple occasions, each occasion including a longitude and a latitude, and a timestamp;
detecting an occurrence that a first mobile device and a second mobile device of the set of mobile devices are contemporaneously co-located with one another based on the location data;
logging the occurrence associated with the first mobile device and the second mobile device based on said detecting;
generating a link … between the first mobile device and the second mobile device based on a number or frequency of logged occurrences of contemporaneously co-location therebetween
classifying the link in the database into tiers based on a number or frequency of the logged occurrences, wherein progressively larger or more frequent amounts correspond to progressively higher tiers
Claims 31 and 37 recite similar steps. These steps amount to observation, evaluation, and judgement, which is an abstract idea under the “mental processes” category of abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Collecting location data and detecting that two mobile devices have been in the same location at the same time amounts to obtaining and evaluating observations. Using these observations to generate a link between the devices is a judgement that the mobile devices or their owners are related in some manner. And classifying that link into tiers based on the number of times the devices have been co-located is no more than inferring, or judging, the type of the relationship based on evaluating the observation data.
Observing and logging occurrences of device co-location, linking the devices, and classifying the relationship between the devices are all steps that “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper." MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) and CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372 (Fed. Cir. 2011). For example, a person may draw a conclusion about the nature of a relationship between two people based on a written log that tracks the times they have been observed to be together. That this is the intent of the invention recited in claim 22 is confirmed by the specification, and by dependent claims such as claim 29. At their core, the claims recite little more than this, only using device location data to determine the times that the people were together.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim limitations that fall outside of the abstract idea include that the location data “is received by a data delivery platform from a plurality of sensors” and “producing an output file that includes the database with tiers.” But this is not sufficient to amount to a practical application of the abstract idea. This only recites the use of common technology to implement the abstract idea, which only links the abstract idea to a particular environment, and as such does not amount to a practical application of the judicial exception. MPEP 2106.04(d)(I). Similarly, the use of a generic “output file that includes the database” also only uses general purpose computer technology to apply the abstract idea, and is also insufficient to amount to a practical application. See id.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Official notice is taken that the limitations in the claims that are identified above to fall outside of the abstract idea were nothing more than well understood, routine, and conventional in this field. As such, these limitations do not provide an inventive concept, and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. MPEP 2106.05.
The dependent claims all recite further abstract ideas, or only routine computer operations that do not amount to a practical application of, or significantly more than, the abstract idea. For example, claim 23 recites graphing a relationship; claim 25 relates to determining relationship types, or tiers; claim 26 relates to judging whether the devices are “together”; claim 27 relates to judging whether the devices were together at a same time; claim 29 is directed to determining a relationship type based on timing of co-location; claim 30 relates to determining a confidence in the relationship type. These claims recite a further abstract idea of a judgement that is performed based on collected data. Claim 24 describes that a user may query a database for particular information, which is nothing more than well-known and routine computer functionality. Claim 28 recites discarding co-location data when the devices are among a larger crowd, which is a further abstract idea of judging the validity of data.
All other claims of this application recite ineligible subject matter for reasons that are similar to those given above. Claim 31 recites additional limitations that fall outside of the abstract idea because the steps are performed by a system comprising a processor and a memory. This is not a practical application of the abstract idea because it only link the judicial exception to a particular computing environment. And the POSITA would clearly recognize that these additional limitations are nothing more than well understood, routine, and conventional in this field. As such, these limitations do not provide an inventive concept, and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. MPEP 2106.05. Claim 37 only recites further mental processes of filtering data and associating the devices with particular frequently-visited locations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 22-42 recite “collecting location data from a set of mobile devices.” The claims later recite that “the location data is received by a data delivery platform from a plurality of sensors.” It is not clear if the location data is received from the mobile devices, or from the plurality of sensors. It is also not clear if the plurality of sensors are a part of the mobile devices, or are separate sensors. The specification appears to imply the latter: see Spec. ¶ 4.
Claims 22 and 31 recite collecting location data on multiple occasions, “each occasion including a longitude and a latitude, and a timestamp.” The claim recites that each “occasion” includes this information, rather than reciting that the “location data” includes this information. Therefore it is not clear if this requires that the “location data” that is collected includes longitude, latitude, and a timestamp.
Claims 22-42 are further rejected as indefinite under § 112(b). Claim 22 has been amended to recite “generating a link in a database”, “classifying the link in the database into tiers”, and “producing an output file that includes the database with tiers.” Claims 31 and 37 have been amended in a similar way. Before this amendment, these claims were understood to require that the single link that is generated is classified into a particular tier. But the claim now recites that an output file is produced that includes plural tiers, even though the preceding limitations in the claim only appear to require generation of a single link that is classified into a single tier. It is not clear if the claim requires the output file to contain plural links that are classified into plural tiers, or only one link classified into a single tier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-27 and 29-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreasson, US 20100112989 in view of Yamada, US 20110276571.
Claim 22: Andreasson discloses a method of building locational device connections comprising:
collecting location data from a set of mobile devices over a time period on multiple occasions, each occasion including a longitude and a latitude, and a timestamp (Device locations (which are GPS locations, thus include latitude/longitude: see ¶¶ 44, 61, 69, etc.) and their corresponding times are collected over a period of time. ¶¶ 69-72.), wherein the location data is received by a data delivery platform from a plurality of sensors (Location data is received at server 130 from a plurality of mobile terminals 120. See e.g. ¶ 69. The server 130 analyzes the location information and delivers output data. ¶¶ 55, 79, and 86. Therefore server 130 meets the BRI of the claimed “data delivery platform” when the term is understood in light of the specification. The location data is received from the mobile terminals and is determined by those mobile terminals using on-board sensors. ¶ 37. Therefore the location data is received from a plurality of sensors. See the § 112(b) rejection above regarding this claim limitation.);
detecting an occurrence that a first mobile device and a second mobile device of the set of mobile devices are contemporaneously co-located with one another based on the location data; logging the occurrence associated with the first mobile device and the second mobile device based on said detecting (Coinciding locations of two devices are detected and are logged. ¶¶72-74);
generating a link in a database between the first mobile device and the second mobile device based on a number or frequency of logged occurrences of contemporaneously co-location therebetween (If a number of coinciding co-locations are detected, devices are determined to be related. ¶74. This implicitly includes linking, or supplying an indication of a relationship between, the devices in a database.).
Andreasson fails to disclose classifying the link in the database into tiers based on a number or frequency of the logged occurrences, wherein progressively larger or more frequent amounts correspond to progressively higher tiers, and producing an output file that includes the database with tiers.
Yamada discloses classifying links between devices in a database into tiers based on a number or frequency of logged occurrences, wherein progressively larger or more frequent amounts correspond to progressively higher tiers (The frequency of instances when devices are co-located determines the tier that the relationship is classified into. ¶¶ 66-68. More frequent co-location corresponds to a more intimate relationship, or a higher tier. Id.), and producing an output file that includes the database with tiers (A file is output that sorts the devices by relationship type. ¶¶ 69-72.).
Yamada would have provided suggestion to modify Andreasson to perform the claimed invention. Andreasson relates to determining the relationship between two user devices based on the number of times that they have been co-located, and suggesting exchange of information based on the determined relationship. See Andreasson ¶ 74. The POSITA would have understood that this system would be improved by providing the user device with information (i.e., a file) on the inferred relationship(s) (i.e., the relationship tier). For instance, Andreasson’s suggestion for exchanging contact information (see e.g. Fig. 8B) indicates that the “potential friend” is likely a co-worker or a family member (that is, indicates a relationship tier), the user would find the suggestion to be more useful than a simple indication that the person is “a potential friend.” As described above, Yamada’s system infers the type of relationship between devices based on frequency of co-location, among other factors. Therefore it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Andreasson with these teachings in Yamada because this would have provided users with more useful and informative suggestions for exchanging contact information.
Claim 23: Andreasson-Yamada discloses generating metadata based on the occurrence; and classifying the link in the database based on the metadata, wherein the metadata is used to graph a relationship between the first mobile device and the second mobile device (Andreasson ¶¶ 74-75; Yamada ¶¶ 66-72).
Claim 24: Andreasson-Yamada discloses that the graph allows a user to query connections between the first mobile device and the second mobile device (Yamada ¶¶ 72-74).
Claim 25: Andreasson-Yamada discloses that increasing number of occurrences correspond to higher tiers in the friendship ranking (see Yamada ¶ 66-68). Andreasson-Yamada does not disclose the specific numbers of occurrences that are recited in this claim, i.e. 5, 10, and 15 occurrences being classified as first, second, and third tiers, respectively. However, this difference between the claim and the prior art does not amount to a patentable distinction. See e.g. MPEP 2144.04(IV). Segregating the various ranks of relationship, as in Yamada ¶¶ 66-68, based on there having been detected 5, 10, and 15 occurrences of co-location, would have amounted to an obvious matter of design choice.
Claim 26: Andreasson-Yamada discloses that co-location is based on the first mobile device and the second mobile device being within a threshold distance of one another (Andreasson ¶¶ 73 and 75).
Claim 27: Andreasson-Yamada discloses that contemporaneously is based on: rounding to the nearest hour; or within a threshold time of one another (see Andreassen Fig. 7A-7B and their description, which determine that devices are co-located if they both occupied a location within a time range T1-T2. This is equivalent to determining contemporaneous co-location as occurring within a threshold time.).
Claim 29: Andreasson-Yamada discloses classifying the relationship as one of: co-workers if occurrences only occur on weekdays; romantic partners if occurrences occur across a wide array of location types over an extended time period; or friends if occurrences occur only in recreational locations (Yamada ¶¶ 36-40 and 66-69).
Claim 30: see rejection of claim 35 below.
Claims 31-34 and 36: see rejection of claims 22, 26, 23, 29, and 25, respectively. Andreasson-Yamada further discloses a system of building locational device connections comprising: a processor; and a memory including instructions that when executed cause the processor to perform the method of claim 22 (Fig. 4).
Claim 35: Andreasson-Yamada does not disclose assigning a confidence score to the classified relationships, wherein the classified relationships are a searchable attribute. However, official notice is taken that both of these features were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Determining confidence of an inferred conclusion was commonly practiced in the relevant fields, as was enabling users to search databases based on attributes stored with the data. Therefore it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Andreasson-Yamada to include this, the rationale being to provide a transparent indication of the conclusion of a relationship type, thereby improving users’ understanding of the results; as well as to enable users to search the database which would improve user interaction and satisfaction with the system.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreasson-Yamada in view of Martinez, US 20090428711.
Claim 28: Andreasson-Yamada fails to disclose that co-location is based on the first mobile device and the second mobile device both being located within a predetermined bounded region and said logging is further based on satisfaction that no more than a maximum threshold number of mobile devices of the set of mobile devices are contemporaneously within the predetermined bounded region.
Martinez discloses a system in which relationships between user devices are inferred based on location data. Martinez ¶¶ 75-76. The location data of the devices are considered to be redundant when a large number of devices are found to be collocated. Id. ¶¶ 88-90. The POSITA would understand this as a disclosure that co-location is based on the first mobile device and the second mobile device both being located within a predetermined bounded region and said logging is further based on satisfaction that no more than a maximum threshold number of mobile devices of the set of mobile devices are contemporaneously within the predetermined bounded region.
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Andreasson-Yamada with this teaching in Martinez, the rationale being to eliminate redundant information that does not accurately reflect relationships.
Claims 37-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreasson, Yamada, and Do, US 20120239291.
Claim 37: Andreasson-Yamada (see above) discloses a method of building locational device connections comprising:
collecting a longitude and a latitude from a set of mobile devices during mobile device application engagement (Device locations (which are GPS locations, thus include latitude/longitude: see Andreasson ¶¶ 44, 61, 69, etc.) and their corresponding times are collected over a period of time. Andreasson ¶¶ 69-72.), wherein the location data is received by a data delivery platform from a plurality of sensors (Location data is received at server 130 from a plurality of mobile terminals 120. See e.g. Andreasson ¶ 69. The server 130 analyzes the location information and delivers output data. Andreasson ¶¶ 55, 79, and 86. Therefore server 130 meets the BRI of the claimed “data delivery platform” when the term is understood in light of the specification. The location data is received from the mobile terminals and is determined by those mobile terminals using on-board sensors. Andreasson ¶ 37. Therefore the location data is received from a plurality of sensors.
generating a link in a database between the first mobile device and the second mobile device based on a number or frequency of logged occurrences of contemporaneously co-location therebetween (If a number of coinciding co-locations are detected, devices are determined to be related. Andreasson ¶74. This implicitly includes linking, or supplying an indication of a relationship between, the devices in a database.). and
classifying the link in the database into tiers based on a number or frequency of the logged occurrences wherein progressively larger or more frequent amounts correspond to progressively higher tiers (The frequency of instances when devices are co-located determines the tier that the relationship is classified into. Yamada ¶¶ 66-68. More frequent co-location corresponds to a more intimate relationship, or a higher tier. Id.), and producing an output file that includes the database with tiers (A file is output that sorts the devices by relationship type. Yamada ¶¶ 69-72.).
Andreasson-Yamada does not disclose filtering the set of location coordinates from the set of mobile devices; identifying a location from the set of location coordinates frequently associated with the set of mobile devices; associating the location with a first mobile device and a second mobile device of the set of mobile devices.
Do discloses filtering the set of location coordinates from the set of mobile devices; identifying a location from the set of location coordinates frequently associated with the set of mobile devices; associating the location with a first mobile device and a second mobile device of the set of mobile devices (¶¶ 30 and 61).
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Andreasson-Yamada with teachings found in Do, the rationale being to provide more accurate and useful location data. See Do ¶ 5.
Claims 38-42 see rejection of claims 23-25, and 29-30, respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT J HANCE/Reexamination Specialist, Art Unit 3992