DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration as filed on December 2, 2024 is noted by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In particular, acronyms “2D” and “3D” recited through the claim renders the claim indefinite, because the meaning of the acronyms are not apparent. Examiner recommends applicant amend the claim 2, without adding new matter, in a manner that clarifies the acronym. See MPEP § 2173.05(a)
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In particular, acronyms “2D” and “3D” recited through the claim renders the claim indefinite, because the meaning of the acronyms are not apparent. Examiner recommends applicant amend the claim 9, without adding new matter, in a manner that clarifies the acronym. See MPEP § 2173.05(a) Accordingly, any claims dependent on claim 9 are objected to based on same above reasoning.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In particular, acronym “3D” recited through the claim renders the claim indefinite, because the meaning of the acronyms are not apparent. Examiner recommends applicant amend the claim 10, without adding new matter, in a manner that clarifies the acronym. See MPEP § 2173.05(a)
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In particular, acronyms “2D” and “3D” recited through the claim renders the claim indefinite, because the meaning of the acronyms are not apparent. Examiner recommends applicant amend the claim 12, without adding new matter, in a manner that clarifies the acronym. See MPEP § 2173.05(a)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Monteiro Veras et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0233159 A1 (hereinafter Veras).
Regarding claim 9, Veras teaches a flake measurement system of an oilseed crush operation, comprising: an imaging system to determine a thickness of an oilseed flake processed by the oilseed crush operation, the imaging system including an imaging device to capture images of a surface of the oilseed flake and generate 2D profile scans of the surface of the oilseed flake (100, 130 FIGS. 1-3, paragraphs[0042]-[0043] of Veras teaches another example of an embodiment of the grain flake measurement system 100 addressed by this invention is shown in FIG. 3; in this embodiment, the grain flake measurement system 100 comprises a measurement device 130 comprises the image collection device 110; in addition to the image collection device 110, the measurement device 130 may comprise a plurality of cameras and lenses, and an internal lighting device 134; in one embodiment of the grain flake measurement system 100 comprises the plurality of cameras and lenses, the measurement device 130 can capture images of the grain flake from different angles and/or capture images of the grain flake for purposes additional to those already described; images of the grain flake taken from different angles on the same horizontal plane may result in more accurate measurements and endow the measurement system with additional advantages; and furthermore, cameras that capture light outside the visible spectrum may also be used, not being limited to one specific type of camera, and See also at least ABSTRACT, and paragraphs[0008], and [0026]-[0041] of Veras (i.e., Veras teaches a grain flake measurement system that includes a plurality of cameras and lenses capable of capturing images of a grain flake, such as a soybean flake, from different angles and/or capture images of the grain flake)), the imaging system to assemble the 2D profile scans into a 3D heightmap and determine a thickness of the oilseed flake from the 3D heightmap (100, 130 FIGS. 1-3, and 5, paragraphs[0037] of Veras teaches consequently, when collecting the grain flake image through the image collection device 110, the acquisition unit 120 can obtain a number of grain flake thickness pixels at all points forming a grain flake contour; and by comparing compare the number of grain flake thickness pixels with the pixel per millimeter ratio, the acquisition device 120 can define the grain flake thickness over its entire surface profile, and See also at least ABSTRACT, and paragraphs[0008], [0011], [0014], and [0026]-[0036], [0038]-[0043], and [0064]-[0065] of Veras (i.e., Veras teaches the grain flake measurement system that includes the plurality of cameras and lenses capable of capturing images of the grain flake, such as the soybean flake, and forming an defining the grain flake contour and thickness respectively)).
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 11 are allowable, because the prior art references of record do not teach the combination of all element limitations as presently claimed. For example, in regard to claim 1, the prior art of record at least does not expressly teach concept of the imaging system to process the image to identify a local minima region of the surface of the oilseed flake, the imaging system to determine the thickness of the oilseed flake based on displacement of the local minima region relative to the supporting surface. Still for example, in regard to claim 11, the prior art of record at least does not expressly teach concept of processing the image to identify a local minima region of the surface of the oilseed flake; and determining a thickness of the oilseed flake based on displacement of the local minima region relative to the supporting surface. In addition, claims 2-8, and 12-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome applicable objection(s), if any, indicated above because for each of claims 2-8, 10, and 12-18, at least in light of their dependency on their respective independent claim, the prior art references of record do not teach the combination of all element limitations as presently claimed. Still in addition, claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome applicable objection(s) indicated above, and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim(s) because for claim 10 the prior art references of record do not teach the combination of all element limitations as presently claimed.
Conclusion
/ABDUL-SAMAD A ADEDIRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621