DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Besnard et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2025/0075766).
Re claim 1, Besnard discloses an energy absorbing device for use in a vehicle, the energy absorbing device comprising: a sheet formed (51, figure 8, see paragraph 0131) of a composite material, the sheet having a width extending along a width of the vehicle and a length extending along a length of the vehicle (as suggested by figure 1), wherein the sheet has a sinusoidal form formed along the length of the sheet (as shown in figure 8).
Re claim 3, the sinusoidal form is irregular (see paragraph 0119, Besnard discloses the succession of corrugations can have different shapes and/or dimensions).
Re claim 4, the sheet includes a plurality of arcuate sections along the sinusoidal form and a number of arcuate sections in a load portion is greater than the number of arcuate sections in a non-load portion. See the annotated figure below.
Re claim 5, the sheet is a first sheet of material (51, figure 8) and a second sheet of material (also labeled 51 in figure 8), the first sheet of material joined to the second sheet of material to form a plurality of tubes interconnected to each other by a neck portion. See the annotated figure below)
Re claim 6, the composite material is one selected from the group consisting of: carbon fiber reinforced polymer, glass fiber reinforced polymer, aramid fiber reinforced polymer, and natural fiber reinforced polymer (see paragraph 0097).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Besnard et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2025/0075766).
Re claim 2, Besnard et al. discloses all the limitations of the claim, as applied above, except for a thickness of the sheet of material varying.
Besnard does teach the successive corrugations can have different shapes and/or dimensions (see paragraph 0119).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an energy absorbing device, such as that disclosed by Besnard, to have a thickness of the sheet of material varying, with a reasonable expectation of success, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component and a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Besnard et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2025/0075766) in view of Shirai et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2025/0206378).
Re claims 7 and 8, Besnard et al. discloses a rocker assembly for use in a vehicle (see paragraph 0095 which teaches the shock-absorbing structure being configured to be placed/integrated in a side rail of the vehicle), a carrier (60) disposed within the interior space, and an energy absorbing device (50) disposed within the interior space and held by the carrier, wherein energy absorbing device is a sheet formed of a composite material (see paragraph 0097), the sheet having a length extending along the length of the rocker and a width extending between in the, wherein the sheet has a sinusoidal form extending along the length of the sheet.
Besnard et al. does not disclose the rocker assembly comprising an inner rocker and an outer rocker coupled together so as to enclose an interior space, the inner rocker and the outer rocker extending along a length of the vehicle, the inner rocker and the outer rocker being made of metal.
Shirai et al. teaches a rocker assembly comprising an inner rocker (26, figure 4) and an outer rocker (24, figure 4) coupled together so as to enclose an interior space, the inner rocker and the outer rocker extending along a length of the vehicle, the inner rocker and the outer rocker being made of metal (steel, see paragraph 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an energy absorbing device, such as that disclosed by Besnard et al., to have the rocker assembly comprise an inner rocker and an outer rocker coupled together so as to enclose an interior space, the inner rocker and the outer rocker extending along a length of the vehicle, the inner rocker and the outer rocker being made of metal, as taught by Shirai et al, in order to construct the rocker in a conventional manner in which the rocker can be easily manufactured by stamping.
Re claim 9, Bensard further discloses the carrier includes a first flange (58 would necessarily be attached to the energy absorbing device between the inner and outer rocker as it fits in the space between the inner and outer rocker) configured to be attached between the inner rocker and the outer rocker.
Re claim 10, Bensard further discloses the carrier includes a fastening member (58) for attachment to one of the inner rocker or the outer rocker.
Re claim 11 and 18, Bensard does not disclose a thickness of the sheet material varying.
Besnard does teach the successive corrugations can have different shapes and/or dimensions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an energy absorbing device, such as that disclosed by Besnard, to have a thickness of the sheet of material varying, with a reasonable expectation of success, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component and a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Re claims 12 and 19, Bensard further discloses the sheet includes a plurality of arcuate sections along the sinusoidal form and a number of arcuate sections in a load portion is greater than the number of arcuate sections in a non-load portion (see the annotated figure below).
Re claims 13 and 20, Bensard further discloses the sheet includes a plurality of tubes interconnected to each other by a neck portion (see the annotated figure below).
Re claim 14, Bensard further discloses the composite material is one selected from the group consisting of: carbon fiber reinforced polymer, glass fiber reinforced polymer, aramid fiber reinforced polymer, and natural fiber reinforced polymer (see paragraph 0097).
Re claims15 and 17, Bensard further discloses the carrier includes a planar surface (58) extending along the length of the sheet and interposed between the sheet and at least one of the inner rocker and the outer rocker (58 would necessarily be attached to the energy absorbing device between the inner and outer rocker as it fits in the space between the inner and outer rocker).
Re claim 16, Bensard in view of Shirai et al. disclose all the limitations of the claim, as applied above, except for a chassis extending along a length of the vehicle between a front of the vehicle and a rear of the vehicle, and a plurality of cross bars extending along a width of the vehicle.
Shirai et al. further discloses a chassis (30, figure 4) extending along a length of the vehicle between a front of the vehicle and a rear of the vehicle, and a plurality of cross bars (28, figure 4) extending along a width of the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a vehicle, such as that disclosed by Bensard in view of Shirai et al., to have a chassis extending along a length of the vehicle between a front of the vehicle and a rear of the vehicle, and a plurality of cross bars extending along a width of the vehicle, as taught by Shirai, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide the vehicle with structural integrity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references all disclose energy absorbing devices.
DE 102019208224A1 teaches a wave shaped energy absorbing element.
/JASON S MORROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612
June 13, 2026