DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the first paragraph of the specification should include that SN 18/448,812 is now US Patent Number 12,143,819.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2, 5-9, 12-16, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Slater, US Patent Application Publication Number 2011/0307695 (hereinafter Slater).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Slater discloses A system comprising: an interface configured to: provide a request to join a publish group from a client or a point to point communication link of a lattice mesh [paragraphs 0038, 0066]; and receive a group key or a host public key [paragraph 0099]; and one or more processors configured to: determine whether a message stored in a backfill database is available to send [paragraphs 0031-0032, 0104]; and in response to determining the message stored in the backfill database is available to send [paragraph 0100]: encode the message stored in the backfill database using the group key or the host public key [paragraph 0099]; and send the message stored in the backfill database [paragraph 0100].
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Slater discloses wherein the backfill database comprises logged data stored locally on the client [paragraph 0114].
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20, it is inherent in the art that the group key or the host public key is received from an asset database.
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 21, Slater discloses wherein the group key is used to encrypt and/or decrypt messages [paragraph 0098].
Regarding claims 8, 15, and further regarding claim 21, it is inherent in the art that the host public key is used to sign messages issued by a host.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 11, an 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slater. Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Slater does not specifically disclose wherein the group key or the host public key is time bounded to a window of messages stored in the backfill database. However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art to limit group keys and public keys to a predetermined window of time. Before the effective filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Slater to include this feature. The motivation for this modification would have been to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 6, 7, 9, 13, 14, 16, 20 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5-7, 10-12, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,770,707. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are generic to all that is recited in the patented claims and are therefore an obvious variant thereof. Specifically, instant independent claims 2, 9, and 16 are taught in patented claims 1, 6, and 11, respectively. The instant claims omit that the group key includes a shared secret and a public key of an ephemeral keypair. Instant dependent claims 6, 13, and 20 are taught in patented dependent claims 2, 7, and 12, respectively. Instant dependent claims 7, 14, and 21 are taught in patented dependent claims 5, 10, and 15, respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Srivastava et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2005/0044356, disclose a method and apparatus for distributing and updating private keys of multicast group managers using directory replication.
/EAW/
July 20, 2026
/ERIKA A WASHINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644