DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed 09/09/2026 responsive to the Office Action filed 06/17/2026 have been entered. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 5-9 have been canceled. Claims 1-4 remain pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/09/2026 in pages 4-6 with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) has been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “1) Evangelista does not disclose or suggest at all that the laser source is rotatable with respect to the workpiece… No structure or mechanism for rotating the laser source with respect to the workpiece is disclosed or suggested anywhere in Evangelista.”, “2) … The disclosures in Evangelista concerning the angle of incidence (paragraphs [0063], [0065], [0066]) merely identify a particular angle for each embodiment, or indicate that a suitable angle may be selected at the stage of installation or design, and do not teach or suggest varying the angle of incidence during the course of radiation.”, “3) … Evangelista provides no motivation to configure the second laser source to be rotatable”, and “4) … this is accomplished not by rotating a single laser source but by arranging a separate laser source dedicated to each surface (paragraphs [0060], [0070]; Figs. 16 and 29). This confirms that Evangelista has no need for, and provides no teachings or suggestions toward, a laser radiation unit that is rotated so as to sequentially reach a plurality of surfaces.” (pages 5-6).
These arguments are found to be unpersuasive because:
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “structure or mechanism for rotating”, “varying the angle of incidence during the course of radiation”, and “rotated so as to sequentially reach a plurality of surfaces”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Evangelista teaches a laser ablation apparatus (Fig. 24) comprising a first laser source 100 and a second laser source 100’, and laser beam 102 is impinging the edge region 20 at an angle of incidence that is approximately zero (normal to the side surface), while laser beam 102′ impinges the edge region according to a non-zero angle of incidence α between approximately 15°-75° (e.g., about 45°) (Pa [0065]), and the second laser beam 102′ may be directed with any suitable angle of incidence α, zero or non-zero, at the protrusion 114 in order to remove it from the edge region 20 (Pa [0066]). Namely, Evangelista teaches the second laser radiation unit (“a second laser source 100’ ”) configured to be rotatable with respect to the film within a set angular range. Even though Evangelista does not explicitly teach any specific structure or mechanism for rotating the second laser radiation unit, varying the angle of incidence during the course of radiation, and rotating the second laser radiation unit so as to sequentially reach a plurality of surfaces during the course of radiation, as recited above, the claim does not require those features upon which applicant relies in the arguments, thus Evangelista still meets the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Evangelista et al. (US 2013/0316185A1-of record).
With respect to claim 1, Evangelista teaches an apparatus (Fig. 24) comprising:
a first laser radiation unit (“first laser source 100”) configured to radiate a first laser beam (“first laser beam 102”) in a first direction (−Z-axis direction) perpendicular to a film to notch at least a portion of the film (“Laser beam 102 is shown here impinging the edge region 20 at an angle of incidence that is approximately zero (normal to the side surface)”, “the first laser beam 102 moves along the edge region 20 (x-axis direction) and removes material primarily from the side surface 24 of the sheet metal piece”, Pa [0065]; “At this stage, molten material struck by the first laser beam 102 can flow or splatter away from the weld notch 30 due to the rapid thermal expansion at the ablasion site.”, Pa [0066]); and
a second laser radiation unit (“second laser source 100’ ”) configured to radiate a second laser beam (“second laser beam 102′ ”) to a notched area of the film, which is notched by the first laser radiation unit, to remove a material of a surface of the film melted by the first laser beam (“laser beam 102′ impinges the edge region according to a non-zero angle of incidence α between approximately 15°-75° (e.g., about 45°).”, “the second laser beam 102′ follows behind and removes material from the edge surface 28.”, Pa [0065]; “The second laser beam 102′ may be directed with any suitable angle of incidence α, zero or non-zero, at the protrusion 114 in order to remove it from the edge region 20.”, Pa [0066]),
wherein the film (“sheet metal piece 12”) includes an uncoated part (“the base material layer 14”) and coated parts (“intermediate material layers 16, and coating material layers 18”) arranged to face each other on both surfaces of the uncoated part (“the base material layer 14 is the central or core material layer (e.g., a steel core) and is sandwiched between the intermediate material layers 16 and the coating material layers 18”, Pa [0039] and Fig. 3), and the first laser beam is radiated in the first direction to remove the coated parts and the uncoated part (“For sheet metal pieces that include base, intermediate, and coating material layers 14, 16, 18, such as that shown in FIG. 3, the weld notch 30 may be formed by removing all or some of the coating material layer 18, all or some of the intermediate material layer 16, and/or some of the base material layer 14 along the edge region 20.”, Pa [0055]),
wherein the second laser radiation unit radiates the second laser beam to be inclined with respect to a second direction (−X-axis direction) toward a side of the electrode film to remove the melted material remaining on the uncoated part and the coated parts (“If the protrusion 114 includes material from the material layers 16, 18, then any subsequently formed weld joint along edge region 20 could become contaminated or compromised. The second laser beam 102′ may be directed with any suitable angle of incidence α, zero or non-zero, at the protrusion 114 in order to remove it from the edge region 20.”, Pa [0066]), and
wherein the second laser radiation unit is configured to be rotatable with respect to the electrode film within a set angular range (“laser beam 102′ impinges the edge region according to a non-zero angle of incidence α between approximately 15°-75° (e.g., about 45°).”, Pa [0065]; “The second laser beam 102′ may be directed with any suitable angle of incidence α, zero or non-zero, at the protrusion 114 in order to remove it from the edge region 20.”, Pa [0066]).
It is noted that “electrode plate manufacturing” in line 1 is an intended use since the apparatus taught by Evangelista is capable of being used in the claimed operation. IT has been held that if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation"); Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d at 152, 88 USPQ2d at 480-81 (preamble is not a limitation where claim is directed to a product and the preamble merely recites a property inherent in an old product defined by the remainder of the claim). MPEP 2111.02.
It is noted that “an electrode film located between rollers of a transfer device” in lines 4-5 is an intended use since the apparatus taught by Evangelista is capable of processing the claimed material. It has been held that “Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Furthermore, “[i]nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” See In re Young, 75 F.2d *>996<, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)) (see MPEP § 2115).
It is noted that “the electrode film includes…” in lines 9-10 is an intended use since the apparatus taught by Evangelista is capable of processing the claimed material. It has been held that “Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Furthermore, “[i]nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” See In re Young, 75 F.2d *>996<, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)) (see MPEP § 2115).
It is noted that the limitation “the first laser beam is radiated in the first direction to remove the coated parts and the uncoated part” in line 10-12 is an intended use since the apparatus taught by Evangelista is capable of performing the claimed operation. It has been held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987).
It is noted that the limitation “remaining on the uncoated part and the coated parts” in lines 15-16 is an intended use since the apparatus taught by Evangelista is capable of performing the claimed operation. It has been held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987).
With respect to claim 2, Evangelista as applied to claim 1 above teaches that the second laser radiation unit is spaced apart from the first laser radiation unit in a second direction (−X-axis direction) and radiates the second laser beam at an angle inclined with respect to the first direction (“Laser beam 102 is shown here impinging the edge region 20 at an angle of incidence that is approximately zero (normal to the side surface), while laser beam 102′ impinges the edge region according to a non-zero angle of incidence α between approximately 15°-75° (e.g., about 45°).”, Pa [0065] and Fig. 24).
With respect to claim 3, Evangelista as applied to claim 1 above teaches that the second laser radiation unit radiates the second laser beam at an angle of 1° to 179° with respect to the first direction (“laser beam 102′ impinges the edge region according to a non-zero angle of incidence α between approximately 15°-75° (e.g., about 45°).”, Pa [0065]).
With respect to claim 4, Evangelista as applied to claim 3 above teaches that the second laser radiation unit sets a radiation path of the second laser beam for removing the material melted by the first laser beam (“The second laser beam 102′ may be directed with any suitable angle of incidence α, zero or non-zero, at the protrusion 114 in order to remove it from the edge region 20.”, Pa [0066] and Fig. 25).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YUNJU KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742