DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed October 22, 2024 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 13-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, the limitation “the second end” is indefinite because the claims recite both a second end of the body and a second end of the opener. Therefore, it is impossible to determine which second end is being referenced. For further examination, “the second end” of in claims 9 and 19 is considered the second end of the opener.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation “the passageway” in line 11 renders the claim indefinite because the limitation lacks antecedent basis in the claim. It appears that “the passageway” and “a passage” as recited in line 3 are the same limitation and will be treated as such for further examination. However, consistent terminology must be used. Claims 14-17 (see statement “c” regarding claims 16 and 17, below) are rejected based on their dependence from claim 13.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, the claims recite “The method of claim 1,” but claim 1 is drawn to a connector and not to a method. Claims 16 and 17 are considered as depending from claim 13 for further examination.
Double Patenting
Applicant is advised that should claims 8-10 be found allowable, claims 18-20 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Claims 18-20 are identical to claims 8-10.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,129,097 (the ‘097 patent) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2002/0066677 to Moscovitz (Moscovitz). Regarding claims 1 and 13, all of the limitations of the claims are disclosed by or inherent to claims 1 and 15 of the ‘097 patent except for the first container having an opening of a width of a first distance, the opener having a width of a second distance, wherein the first and second distances are substantially the same. Moscovitz teaches a connector (10’’’ in the embodiment of Fig. 8) comprising: a body (the body that forms connector 10’’’) that defines a first end (upper end to which container 12’’’ connects), a second end (lower end having threads 19’’’ to which a bottle is connected), and a passageway that extends between the first end and the second end (the internal passage through the body), wherein the first end and second end are configured to attach to a first container and a second container (12’’’ and the bottle, respectively; see [0030]), respectively, wherein the passageway provides a pathway between the first and second containers when the first and second containers are attached to the first and second ends, respectively (when both containers are connected and the seal on container 12’’’ broken, a fluid path exists from container 12’’’ to the bottle through the connector 10’’’), the first container defines an opening having a width of a first distance (shown in Fig. 8); and an opener (13’’’ having protruding portion 24’’’) having a width of a second distance (shown in Fig. 8), wherein the first and second distances are substantially the same (shown in Fig. 8; the width of the opening of the first container and with width of the opener are substantially equal); the opener configured to engage and open the first container for release of a fluid from within the first container through the passageway and into the second container when the first and second containers are attached to the first and second ends, respectively ([0030]; the protruding portion 24’’’ ruptures the seal on the container 12’’’ when the coupling is made). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of claims 1 and 15 of the ‘097 patent to include the opening of the container and the opener having substantially the same width as taught by Moscovitz such that the opener fully opens the first container when connected to help ensure complete transfer of the fluid material. Claims 2-12 recite the same limitations as claims 2-12 of the ‘097 patent. Claims 14-17 recite the same limitations as claims 16-19 of the ‘097 patent. Claims 18-20 recite the same limitations as claims 8-10 of the ‘097 patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2002/0066677 to Moscovitz (Moscovitz).
Regarding claim 1, Moscovitz discloses a connector (10’’’ in the embodiment of Fig. 8) comprising: a body (the body that forms connector 10’’’) that defines a first end (upper end to which container 12’’’ connects), a second end (lower end having threads 19’’’ to which a bottle is connected), and a passageway that extends between the first end and the second end (the internal passage through the body), wherein the first end and second end are configured to attach to a first container and a second container (12’’’ and the bottle, respectively; see [0030]), respectively, wherein the passageway provides a pathway between the first and second containers when the first and second containers are attached to the first and second ends, respectively (when both containers are connected and the seal on container 12’’’ broken, a fluid path exists from container 12’’’ to the bottle through the connector 10’’’), the first container defines an opening having a width of a first distance (shown in Fig. 8); and an opener (13’’’ having protruding portion 24’’’) having a width of a second distance (shown in Fig. 8), wherein the first and second distances are substantially the same (shown in Fig. 8; the width of the opening of the first container and with width of the opener are substantially equal); the opener configured to engage and open the first container for release of a fluid from within the first container through the passageway and into the second container when the first and second containers are attached to the first and second ends, respectively ([0030]; the protruding portion 24’’’ ruptures the seal on the container 12’’’ when the coupling is made).
Regarding claim 2, Moscovitz discloses the first end is configured for sealed attachment to the first container (via corresponding protrusions 30 and 32; see [0030]).
Regarding claim 3, Moscovitz discloses the second end is configured for sealed attachment to the second container (via threads 19’’’).
Regarding claim 4, Moscovitz discloses the fluid is a concentrate ([0003] describes concentrated products mixed with liquid to be diluted).
Regarding claim 5, Moscovitz discloses the first container is a concentrate container (container 12’’’ contains the concentrate to be mixed with liquid in the bottle).
Regarding claim 6, Moscovitz discloses the second container is a mix and storage container (bottle connected to 19’’’ both stores and mixes the liquid and concentrate after the fluid is dispensed from container 12’’’).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Moscovitz discloses the opener comprises a first end (the lower end of breaking cap 13’’’ which is attached to the wall of the body of the connector; see Fig. 8) and a second end (the upper end of protruding portion 24’’’), wherein the first end of the opener is attached to the body (Fig. 8), and wherein the second end of the opener extends in a direction towards the first end of the body (Fig. 8; the upper end of the opener extends toward the first (upper) end of the body).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Moscovitz discloses the second end of the opener defines a tapered shape (clearly shown in Fig. 8).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Moscovitz discloses the opener defines an interior to form a portion of the pathway (fluid flows through the interior of the opener via the openings 26’’’).
Regarding claim 11, Moscovitz discloses the first end and the second end define a first opening and a second opening (each end of the body has an opening into which container 12’’’ and the bottle can be inserted, respectively; see Fig. 8 and [0030]).
Regarding claim 12, Moscovitz discloses the body defines an interior that is substantially cylindrical in shape (Fig. 8 clearly shows the body having an interior that is substantially cylindrical).
Regarding claim 13, Moscovitz discloses a method of utilizing a connector (10’’’), the method comprising: providing a connector comprising: a body (body forming connector 10’’’) that defines a first end (upper end), a second end (lower end), and a passage that extends between the first end and the second end (fluid path extending through the body), wherein the passage provides a pathway between the first end and the second end (Fig. 8); and an opener (breaking cap 13’’’ having protruding portion 24’’’) attached to the body (Fig. 8) and having a width of a first distance (shown in Fig. 8); attaching the second end to a second container (the bottle connected to threads 19’’’); and attaching the first end to a first container (12’’’) to thereby cause the opener to engage and open the first container for release of a fluid from within the first container through the passageway and into the second container ([0030]); wherein the first container defines an opening having a second distance (shown in Fig. 8) and the first and second distances are substantially the same (shown in Fig. 8; the width of the opening of the first container and with width of the opener are substantially equal).
Regarding claim 14, Moscovitz discloses the first end is configured for sealed attachment to the first container (via corresponding protrusions 30 and 32; see [0030]).
Regarding claim 15, Moscovitz discloses the second end is configured for sealed attachment to the second container (via threads 19’’’).
Regarding claim 16, Moscovitz discloses the fluid is a concentrate ([0003] describes concentrated products mixed with liquid to be diluted).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moscovitz in view of US Patent 6,237,649 to Moisio et al. (Moisio).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Moscovitz discloses the connector of claim 1 and method of claim 13 (see above), but does not disclose a gasket positioned and configured to provide a seal between the first end and the first container when the first container is attached to the first end. Moisio teaches a connector (4) having a gasket (sealing plug 18 is a gasket) positioned and configured to provide a seal between the first end (upper end) and the first container (3) when the first container is attached to the first end, to prevent leaking of the fluid and aid in directing the fluid only to the second container. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a gasket for sealing the first end to the first container when coupled as taught by Moisio in the connector and method of Moscovitz to prevent leaking of the fluid and aid in directing the fluid only to the second container.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and claimed invention.
/NICOLAS A ARNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753 September 23, 2025