DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanai (JP2016203061A) IDS 10/10/2024 with machine translation in view of Kushiya (JP2011173099A) IDS 10/10/2024 with machine translation.
Regarding Claim 1, Yanai discloses a recycling device for a solar cell module (Fig. 1, ti, abs solar cell module – 100) which includes a cover glass (Fig. 10, paragraph [0015] glass substrate – 101), an electric cell layer (Fig. 1 paragraphs [0015] [0016] solar cells – 102, cell matrix – 106), and a sealing material which closely adheres the cover glass and the electric cell layer (Fig. 1 paragraph [0015] solar cells – 102 sealed with a sealant – 104), comprising:
a heater (Figs. 5(a), 14 paragraph [0021] IR (infrared lamp heater – 19) configured to heat an interface between the cover glass and the sealing material (Fig. 14 paragraph [0045] IR lamp heater – 19 is used to heat and melt the sealant – 104 of the solar cell module – 100 which inherently heats the interface between the cover glass and the sealing material)
a separator configured to apply a force from a side surface of the solar cell module to the sealing material (Fig. 10, paragraph [0018] heated blade – 1 brought into contact with the space between the glass substrate – 101 and the cell matrix – 10g of the solar cell module – 100 to separate the cell matrix – 106 from the glass substrate – 101);
a drive unit configured to generate a relative speed between the solar cell module and the separator in a direction parallel to a surface of the cover glass (Fig. 4 paragraphs [0023] [0028] downstream conveying section – 36 downstream conveying rollers – 28 that convey the peeled glass substrate – 108 after the solar cell module – 100 has been peeled off; and
a control unit configured to control the heater and the drive unit (Fig.4 paragraph [0024] [0032] central processing control unit – 34, operation of the heaters – 13 controlled by a central processing controller – 34).
However, Yanai is silent as to the control unit set to a prescribed temperature range in order to cause the sealing material and the electric cell layer to be peeled off from the interface while applying force from the side surface of the solar cell module.
In the same field of endeavor, Kushiya discloses a method of recycling a solar cell module utilizing a blade for removing the cover glass and electric cell layer by crushing the material followed by heating (softening) the sealing material (Fig. 1C abs, paragraphs [0018] [0019] cover glass – 101 solar cell element – 102 filler (sealing material) – 106 where the filler bonds and laminates the cover glass – 101, the substrate – 1023 and the solar cell element (electric cell layer) – 102)). This softening is performed by heating the sealing material (filler) at a specific temperature range (paragraph [0032] specifically 100- 250 °C, preferably 130-170 °C).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Yanai with the teaching of Kushiya whereby the control unit of Yanai causes the interface to be set to the prescribed temperature range using its heater to cause the sealing material and the electric cell layer to be peeled off from the interface by applying the force from the side surface of the solar cell module to the sealing material using the drive unit with the interface while maintaining the heat to a prescribed temperature range, as taught by Kushiya.
This controlled temperature as applied by the control unit of Yanai would be considered and performed by one with ordinary skill because the temperature range would be maintained below the temperature where it would be burned or carbonized and thus not recyclable (Kushiya, paragraph [0032]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Yanai, and Kushiya disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Yanai further discloses that the heater heats the interface to the prescribed temperature range from the cover glass side (Figs. 4, 13 paragraph [0045] IR lamp heater – 19 is used to heat and melt the sealant – 104 arranged between each of the multiple upper conveying rollers – 3a which is the cover glass (glass substrate – 101 side).
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanai (JP2016203061A) IDS 10/10/2024 with machine translation in view of Kushiya (JP2011173099A) IDS 10/10/2024 with machine translation as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miller (WO 2017/127489 A1) IDS 10/10/2024.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Yanai and Kushiya disclose all the limitations of claim 1 including that the force is applied by pressing a separator (blade) against the sealing material from the side surface (Yanai, paragraph [0018] heated blade – 1brought into contact with the space between the glass substrate – 101 and the cell matrix – 10g of the solar cell module – 100 to separate the cell matrix – 106 from the glass substrate – 101) but are silent as to the separator not coming into contact with a boundary portion in which the cover glass and the sealing material are separated.
Miller discloses a method for processing a substrate by pressing a separator (wedge) against the side in order ti initiated debonding (peeling) through relative movement between the wedge and the outer surface of the substrate (Fig. 3 abs).
Miller then discloses that this separator does not come into contact with a boundary portion in which the cover glass and the sealing material are separated (Figs. 6, 8 paragraphs [0087] [0088] insertion tool – 329 includes outer end provided with the wedge – 601 that tapers from a larger thickness – T1 to a smaller thickness – T2 win and outward direction – 331; steps carried out without contacting any part of the substrate – 301 with the wedge (separator ) – 601) at a second time point other than a first time point at which the separator first comes into contact with the side surface of the solar cell module, (where this is indicated in the step sequence between Figs. 6-8).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the combination of Yanai and Kushiya with the teachings of Miller whereby a force that is applied by pressing a separator (blade) against the sealing material from the side surface as disclosed by Yanai, would configured the separator such that it does not into contact with a boundary portion in which the cover glass and the sealing material are separated at a second time point other than a first time point at which the separator first comes into contact with the side surface of the solar cell module, as taught by Miller.
The skilled artisan would consider this feature advantageous because preventing contact between the cover glass (substrate) and the separator can avoid application of pressure to the cover glass thereby reducing a probability of damaging the cover glass that might otherwise occur with other techniques that engage the cover glass and sealing material interface that would break through the interface (paragraph [0088]).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Yanai, Kushiya and Miller disclose all the limitations of claim 3, and Miller further discloses that the separator has a contact portion in which the separator comes into contact with the sealing material at the second time point (Fig. 8 paragraph [0088] fully inserted position),and while Miller teaches that sharp points on the separator (wedge) of the insertion tool can further reduce of prevent damage if contact occurs, and that the angle of approach of the separator (wedge) toward a chamfered corner of a first and second carrier of the carrier of the substrate (Fig. 1 paragraph [0084]),
Miller does not disclose a range of angle formed by a tangent line of the contact portion and a surface of the cover glass.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use an angle formed by a tangent line of the contact portion and a surface of the cover glass is 36° or more and 51° or less since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to use this range of angle formed by a tangent line of the contact position and a surface of the cover glass for the purpose of reducing stress concentrations at the point of engagement with the surface of the cover glass to allow for easier complete debonding (paragraphs [0078] [0084]).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Yanai, Kushiya and Miller disclose all the limitations of claim 3, and Miller further discloses that a surface of the separator that comes into contact with the sealing material is formed with a curved surface (Figs. 3, 5 paragraphs [0014] [0086] a tapered thickness of an insertion tool defines the wedge – 601).
Conclusion
/WAYNE K. SWIER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748