DETAILED ACTION
This written action is responding to the amendment dated on 07/07/2026.
Claims 1 is canceled
Claims 2-3, 12-13 and 20-21 have been amended, Claims 1 and 11 have been cancelled and all other Claims are previously presented.
Claims 2-10 and 12-21 are submitted for examination.
Claims 2-10 and 12-21 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The following Information Disclosure Statements in the instant application submitted in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, and thus, have been fully considered:
IDS filed on 30 October 2024.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment, filed on July 07, 2026 has claim 1 canceled, 2-3, 12-13 and 20-21 amended and all other claims are previously presented.
The prior objection of Claim 3 has been withdrawn in view of the amendment received on July 07, 2026.
Applicant’s remark filed on July 07, 2026 on bottom of page 6 regarding submission of Terminal Disclaimer referencing the ‘592 and ‘092 patents has been considered. Examiner points that there is no Terminal Disclaimer provided in the file wrapper, hence the previous obviousness-type double patenting rejection is maintained for instant application # 18/912,469 in view of the ‘592 and ‘092 patents.
Applicant’s remark, filed on July 07, 2026 on top of page 7 regarding the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection has been considered, however is not found persuasive. The Claim as amended recites, receiving at the digital identity system an electronic message comprising data captured from an identity document, wherein the identity document is associated with a user; storing at least a portion of the data captured from the identity document at a user profile stored at the digital identity system in persistent electronic storage, wherein the user profile stores one or more identity data items of the user; wherein the data captured from the identity document comprises at least one of the one or more identity data items, verifying, at the digital identity system the data captured from the identity document; in response to verifying the data captured from the identity document, generating a user credential bound to the user profile; and providing, to a device of the user by the digital identity system, the electronic message comprising the user credential. wherein the data captured from the identity document indicates or comprises an anchor identifier of the identity document, wherein the stored portion of the captured data comprises the anchor identifier, wherein the anchor identifier is stored in association with the at least one or the one or more identity data items in the user profile in the persistent electronic storage. Thus claim limitations primarily recites, receiving identity data, verifying identity data, storing the identity data along with identification numbers, generating user credentials and providing the generated user credentials to the user. In addition an anchor identifier (identification number) is stored along with the identification data in the user profile. Additional elements processor, the digital identity system, electronic storage are nothing but the generic computer components. Hence the claim is not patent eligible. Applicant’s further remark, filed on bottom of page 7 and top of page 8 regarding, “These operations require computer-mediated data processing, storage, and transmission, and are not practically performable in the human mind. In particular: i) a human cannot mentally perform the recited storage of data in persistent electronic storage associated with a structured user profile; ii) a human cannot mentally perform the generation and electronic provisioning of a machine-usable credential to a user device; and iii) the claimed operations require manipulation of electronic messages and system- managed data structures, not merely observation or judgment”, has been considered, however is not found persuasive. Examiner has interpreted the claims as per guidance of the MPEP and identified the claims under the grouping of “Mental Process”. The courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 (2012) ("‘[M]ental processes[] and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978) (same).
Examiner suggest that incorporating utilization of generated credential in the claim (provided support in the specification) may help in overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection.
Applicant’s remark, filed on July 07, 2026 on the middle of page 9 regarding, “More specifically, each independent claim has been amended to include recitations similar to those previously presented in claim Accordingly, applicant submits that the reasoning of the Office Action with respect to the independent claims as previously presented does not establish a prima facie case of obviousness with respect to these claims as amended. Moreover, while the Office Action alleges that Grossemy and Toth teach or suggest the recitations of claim 11 as previously presented, applicant respectfully submits that the cited art, individually or in combination, does not teach or suggest the independent claims as amended” has been considered, however is not found persuasive. Grossemy teaches, “providing an interface thereby to enable a user to upload personal information. The personal information preferably includes one or more independently verifiable identification details (for example, identification numbers of government issued identification cards), and one or more biometrically verifiable identification details (for example, photos, fingerprint scans, iris scans, and so on). A first verification module is configured to communicate with one or more remote data servers, thereby to seek respective verification of the one or more independently verifiable identification details. A second verification module is configured to seek verification of the one or more biometrically verifiable identification details. A verification approval module is responsive to input from at least the first and second verification modules thereby to selectively determine that the user is to be registered as a verified user. In the case that the user is to be registered as a verified user, the method includes defining a verification certificate for the verified user”. (¶54). Grossemy further teaches, “Data collected from the VID user via modules 106 includes one or more independently verifiable identification details, such as government issued ID numbers, and so on. In overview, data checking modules 107 are configured to receive the independently verifiable identification details, and verify those details by communication with independent data sources 130, thereby to determine whether the provided details are authentic (or able to be deemed as authentic subject to the present verification process). Examples of independently verifiable identification details include, but are not limited to details from: Government issued ID cards (for example, driving licenses). Passports. Medical insurance cards. Utilities invoices. Birth certificates”. (¶63-¶67). “Data collected from the VID user via modules 106 also includes one or more biometrically verifiable identification details. In the example of FIG. 1, the biometrically verifiable identification details include a current photo (for example, captured via a webcam or other device during the registration process), which are verified against a photo on a digitally transmitted copy of a photo ID document (for example, a government issued photo ID) or from a photo obtained from one of sources 130. A facial image processing module 112 is used to compare facial images, thereby to determine whether the VID user is the same person as in the ID document (or other independently verified photo). Numerous facial recognition and matching methods are known in the art”. (¶98). “Functional block 203 represents a profile creation process, whereby a user interacts with a website (or app) thereby to upload prescribed aspects of personal information (for example, name, date of birth, cell phone number, address, etc.). This may also include uploading documents and/or other files. UI components 211 handle this user interaction process, and enable updating of a profile and identity management database”. (¶111). Thus Grossemy teaches government documents such as driver’s license, passport, birth certificate each has a unique identification number. The unique identification number (anchor identifier) is associated with the document and when a user uploads the identification document to a user profile, the identification document along with identification number (anchor identifier) are uploaded to the user profile. Thus uploaded identification document along with the identification number (anchor identifier) are stored in a user profile.
The Applicant’s remark, filed on July 07, 2026 on top of page 10 regarding, “The portions of Grossemy cited by the Office Action do not disclose that relationship. Even assuming, for purposes of argument only, that a government-issued ID number in Grossemy could identify a document, Grossemy does not disclose storing that number as an anchor identifier in association with identity data item(s) in the user profile. Grossemy 62 concerns identification details used for authenticity verification, while Grossemy 111 concerns uploading personal information and documents and updating a profile database. Neither passage teaches or suggests the claimed profile structure in which an anchor identifier derived from or indicated by captured document data is stored in association with identity data item(s) of the user”. Has been considered and addressed in above paragraph 14.
Applicant further recites similar remarks as listed above for dependent claims, 3-19. Please see response for remarks in above paragraph 15 that clearly shows how the cited prior arts Grossemy, Toth, Peirce and Xie clearly teaches the claimed limitations.
Double Patenting
www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer.
Claims 2, 20-21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 10,853,592. Claims 2, 20-21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 10,325,090. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Please refer to comparison table below.
Instant Application 18/912,469
US PAT. # US 10,853,592 (App. # 15/808,701)
Digital Identity System
Digital Identity System
2
A method implemented at a digital identity system, the method comprising: receiving an electronic message comprising data captured from an identity document, wherein the identity document is associated with a user; storing at least a portion of the data captured from the identity document at a user profile stored at the digital identity system in persistent electronic storage, wherein the user profile stores one or more identity data items of the user; verifying the data captured from the identity document; in response to verifying the data captured from the identity document, generating a user credential associated with the user profile; and providing, to a device of the user, the electronic message comprising the user credential.
1
A digital identity system comprising: an enrolment module configured to receive a data item captured from an identity document, and create in persistent electronic storage a digital identity comprising the data item; a credential creation module configured to issue to a user device a credential bound to the digital identity; and a validation service configured to receive an electronic message comprising the credential and identifying a target device, validate the credential, and if the credential is valid, use the credential to transmit an electronic message to the target device, so as to render the data item of the digital identity available to the target device.
2
2
The digital identity system according to claim 1 further comprising: a verification service configured to compare data captured from the identity document with an identifier captured from a user at the user device; wherein the creation of the digital identity, the issuing of the credential, or the transmitting of the electronic message to the target device is conditional on the identifier matching the data captured from the identity document.
20
. One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising computer readable instructions that, when executed on one or more processors of a digital identity system, cause the digital identity system to: receive an electronic message comprising data captured from an identity document, wherein the identity document is associated with a user; store at least a portion of the data captured from the identity document at a user profile stored at the digital identity system in persistent electronic storage, wherein the user profile stores one or more identity data items of the user; verify the data captured from the identity document; in response to verifying the data captured from the identity document, generating a user credential associated with the user profile; and provide, to a device of the user, the electronic message comprising the user credential.
20
Non-transitory computer readable storage media including code executable on a user device to implement a method comprising: capturing a data item from an identity document; creating an electronic message comprising the data item; transmitting the electronic message from the user device to a digital identity system; receiving from the digital identity system an electronic message comprising a credential, which is bound to a digital identity comprising the data item, the digital identity having been created at the digital identity system in response to the electronic message comprising the data item; and storing the credential at the user device, wherein later presentation of the credential to the digital identity system causes the data item of the digital identity to be rendered available to a device presenting the credential.
20
2
The digital identity system according to claim 1 further comprising: a verification service configured to compare data captured from the identity document with an identifier captured from a user at the user device; wherein the creation of the digital identity, the issuing of the credential, or the transmitting of the electronic message to the target device is conditional on the identifier matching the data captured from the identity document.
21
A digital identity system comprising: persistent electronic storage; and one or more processors configured to: receive an electronic message comprising data captured from an identity document, wherein the identity document is associated with a user; store at least a portion of the data captured from the identity document at a user profile stored at the digital identity system in persistent electronic storage, wherein the user profile stores one or more identity data items of the user; verify the data captured from the identity document; in response to verifying the data captured from the identity document, generating a user credential associated with the user profile; provide, to a device of the user, the electronic message comprising the user credential.
1
A digital identity system comprising: an enrolment module configured to receive a data item captured from an identity document, and create in persistent electronic storage a digital identity comprising the data item; a credential creation module configured to issue to a user device a credential bound to the digital identity; and a validation service configured to receive an electronic message comprising the credential and identifying a target device, validate the credential, and if the credential is valid, use the credential to transmit an electronic message to the target device, so as to render the data item of the digital identity available to the target device.
21
2
The digital identity system according to claim 1 further comprising: a verification service configured to compare data captured from the identity document with an identifier captured from a user at the user device; wherein the creation of the digital identity, the issuing of the credential, or the transmitting of the electronic message to the target device is conditional on the identifier matching the data captured from the identity document.
Instant Application 18/912,469
US PAT. # US 10,325,090 (App. # 15/818,538)
Digital Identity System
Digital Identity System
2
A method implemented at a digital identity system, the method comprising: receiving an electronic message comprising data captured from an identity document, wherein the identity document is associated with a user; storing at least a portion of the data captured from the identity document at a user profile stored at the digital identity system in persistent electronic storage, wherein the user profile stores one or more identity data items of the user; verifying the data captured from the identity document; in response to verifying the data captured from the identity document, generating a user credential associated with the user profile; and providing, to a device of the user, the electronic message comprising the user credential.
1
A digital identity system comprising: a computer interface for receiving electronic messages; and one or more hardware processors configured to execute: an enrolment module configured to receive a data item captured from an identity document, and create in persistent electronic storage a digital identity comprising the data item; a credential creation module configured to transmit from the digital identity system to a user device via the computer interface a credential for storing at the user device, the credential being bound to the digital identity; and a validation service configured to receive an electronic message comprising the credential and identifying a target device, validate the credential, and if the credential is valid, use the credential to transmit from the digital identity system to the target device, an electronic message so as to render the data item of the digital identity available to the target device.
2
3
A digital identity system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute a verification service configured to compare data captured from the identity document with an identifier captured from a user at the user device; and wherein the creation of the digital identity, the issuing of the credential, or the transmitting of the electronic message to the target device is conditional on the identifier matching the data captured from the identity document.
20
. One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising computer readable instructions that, when executed on one or more processors of a digital identity system, cause the digital identity system to: receive an electronic message comprising data captured from an identity document, wherein the identity document is associated with a user; store at least a portion of the data captured from the identity document at a user profile stored at the digital identity system in persistent electronic storage, wherein the user profile stores one or more identity data items of the user; verify the data captured from the identity document; in response to verifying the data captured from the identity document, generating a user credential associated with the user profile; and provide, to a device of the user, the electronic message comprising the user credential.
1
A digital identity system comprising: a computer interface for receiving electronic messages; and one or more hardware processors configured to execute: an enrolment module configured to receive a data item captured from an identity document, and create in persistent electronic storage a digital identity comprising the data item; a credential creation module configured to transmit from the digital identity system to a user device via the computer interface a credential for storing at the user device, the credential being bound to the digital identity; and a validation service configured to receive an electronic message comprising the credential and identifying a target device, validate the credential, and if the credential is valid, use the credential to transmit from the digital identity system to the target device, an electronic message so as to render the data item of the digital identity available to the target device.
20
3
A digital identity system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute a verification service configured to compare data captured from the identity document with an identifier captured from a user at the user device; and wherein the creation of the digital identity, the issuing of the credential, or the transmitting of the electronic message to the target device is conditional on the identifier matching the data captured from the identity document.
21
A digital identity system comprising: persistent electronic storage; and one or more processors configured to: receive an electronic message comprising data captured from an identity document, wherein the identity document is associated with a user; store at least a portion of the data captured from the identity document at a user profile stored at the digital identity system in persistent electronic storage, wherein the user profile stores one or more identity data items of the user; verify the data captured from the identity document; in response to verifying the data captured from the identity document, generating a user credential associated with the user profile; provide, to a device of the user, the electronic message comprising the user credential.
1
A digital identity system comprising: a computer interface for receiving electronic messages; and one or more hardware processors configured to execute: an enrolment module configured to receive a data item captured from an identity document, and create in persistent electronic storage a digital identity comprising the data item; a credential creation module configured to transmit from the digital identity system to a user device via the computer interface a credential for storing at the user device, the credential being bound to the digital identity; and a validation service configured to receive an electronic message comprising the credential and identifying a target device, validate the credential, and if the credential is valid, use the credential to transmit from the digital identity system to the target device, an electronic message so as to render the data item of the digital identity available to the target device.
21
3
A digital identity system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute a verification service configured to compare data captured from the identity document with an identifier captured from a user at the user device; and wherein the creation of the digital identity, the issuing of the credential, or the transmitting of the electronic message to the target device is conditional on the identifier matching the data captured from the identity document.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites receiving an electronic message comprising data captured from an identity document, wherein the identity document is associated with a user; storing at least a portion of the data captured from the identity document at a user profile stored at the digital identity system in persistent electronic storage, wherein the user profile stores one or more identity data items of the user; verifying the data captured from the identity document; in response to verifying the data captured from the identity document, generating a user credential associated with the user profile; and providing, to a device of the user, the electronic message comprising the user credential.
The limitations of receiving an electronic message comprising data captured from an identity document , wherein the identity document is associated with a user, verifying the data captured from the identity document, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “electronic message,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “electronic message” language, “receiving” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually receives identification document and manually provides generated credential. Similarly, the limitation of verifying the data captured from the identity document, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, a user manually compares received identification data with an official document for a verification. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – storing at least portion of the data captured from the identity document at a user profile stored at the digital identity system in persistent electronic storage. The electronic storage is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., generic computer component) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of storing at least portion of the data captured from the identity document at a user profile stored at the digital identity system in persistent electronic storage step amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Independent Claim 19 and Claim 20 recites similar limitations with additional generic computer components and therefore Claim 19 and 20 are also rejected.
The dependent Claims 3-19 do not represent significantly more and are too directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 6-8, 10 and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Didier Grossemy (US PGPUB. # US 2015/0007297, hereinafter “Grossemy”), and further in view of Kalman Casaba Toth (US PGPUB. # US 2015/0095999, hereinafter “Toth”).
Referring to Claims 2, 20 and 21:
Regarding Claim 2, Grossemy teaches,
A method implemented at a digital identity system comprising one or more processors, the method comprising:
Receiving, at the digital identity system an electronic message comprising data captured from an identity document, wherein the identity document is associated with a user; (¶54, “enable a user to upload personal information. The personal information preferably includes one or more independently verifiable identification details (for example, identification numbers of government issued identification cards), and one or more biometrically verifiable identification details (for example, photos, fingerprint scans, iris scans, and so on), ¶62-¶67, i.e. data captured from an identity document associated with a user is received)
storing at least a portion of the data captured from the identity document at a user profile stored at the digital identity system in persistent electronic storage, wherein the user profile stores one or more identity data items of the user; wherein the data captured from the identity document comprises at least one of the one or more identity data items; (Fig. 2A(204), ¶111, “upload prescribed aspects of personal information (for example, name, date of birth, cell phone number, address, etc.). This may also include uploading documents and/or other files. UI components 211 handle this user interaction process, and enable updating of a profile and identity management database”, ¶118, ¶54, ¶62-¶67, i.e. portion of identification data is stored in a user profile and identity document has identity data items such as government issued id cards)
verifying, at the digital identity system, the data captured from the identity document; (Fig. 2A(206), ¶113, “data collected from user is verified against third party sources thereby to determine whether the provided details are authentic”, Fig.2A (208), ¶115, “a process conducted thereby to enable independent verification of a document uploaded by a user”, i.e. data captured from the identity document are verified)
in response to verifying the data captured from the identity document, generating a user credential bound to the user profile by the digital identity system; (¶54, “In the case that the user is to be registered as a verified user, the method includes defining a verification certificate for the verified user”, ¶55, “Data indicative of the verification certificate is embedded in the user's profile. In this manner, when viewing the profile, the further user is able to view the verification certificate”, ¶60, “A verification interface module 106 enables a user (referred to as a "VID user") of a client terminal, such as exemplary client terminal 120, to engage in a process thereby to obtain (or seek to obtain) a certification certificate (referred to herein as a VID certificate)”, ¶100, “all supplied details are able to be successfully verified”, “Following determination that the user is to be registered as a verified user, a verification certificate (VID certificate) for the verified user. This certificate is, in the embodiment of FIG. 1, maintained in a database of user data 170, along with other details of the VID user”, ¶104, i.e. verification certificate is interpreted as user credential which is generated and associated with the user profile) and
wherein the data captured from the identity document indicates or comprise an anchor identifier of the identity document, wherein the stored portion of the captured data comprises the anchor identifier, wherein the anchor identifier is stored in association with the at least one or more identity data items in the user profile in the persistent electronic storage. (¶54, “providing an interface thereby to enable a user to upload personal information. The personal information preferably includes one or more independently verifiable identification details (for example, identification numbers of government issued identification cards)”, ¶62, “government issued ID numbers”, ¶63-¶67, ¶98, ¶111, ¶114, “perform facial matching between a government issued ID (such as a driver license or passport) and a webcam capture”, ¶115, i.e. government issued identification included identification number which is interpreted as an anchor identifier. User uploads government issued ID to her profile which indicates that an identification number (anchor identifier) is stored in a user profile).
Grossemy does not teach explicitly,
providing, to a device of the user by the digital identity system, the electronic message comprising the user credential;
However, Toth teaches,
providing, to a device of the user by the digital identity system, the electronic message comprising the user credential. (Fig. 8, ¶454, “Finally, issuer 804, by means of the issuer's personal identity device 202 and mutually trusted channel 803, sends digitally sealed e-credential 809 to the personal credentialing device 202 of requester 801”, i.e. requester (user) is provided an e-credential via an electronic message).
As per KSR vs Teleflex, combining prior art elements according to known methods (device, product) to yield predictable results may be used to create a prima facie case of obviousness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the teachings of Toth with the invention of Grossemy.
Grossemy teaches, generating a credential for a user based on verified received identification data where the credential is associated with the user profile. Toth teaches, providing a user a generated credential based on verified personal identification information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to provide a user a generated credential based on verified personal identification information of Toth with generating a credential for a user based on verified received identification data where the credential is associated with the user profile of Grossemy so the user can receive services from third parties by presenting verified credentials that can be checked easily.
KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Regarding Claim 20, it is a non-transitory computer-readable media claim of above method Claim 2 and therefore Claim 20 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against Claim 2 above.
Regarding Claim 21, it is a system claim of above method Claim 2 and therefore Claim 21 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against Claim 2 above.
Grossemy teaches electronic storage (Fig. 1(170, 103)), a processor (Fig. 1(102)).
Regarding Claim 3, rejection of Claim 2 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy does not teach explicitly,
The method of claim 2, wherein the data captured from the identity document comprises a document attribute, wherein verifying the data captured from the identity document comprises comparing the document attribute to a predefined document criterion, wherein the data captured from the identity document is verified when the document attribute satisfies the predefined document criterion.
However, Toth teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the data captured from the identity document comprises a document attribute, wherein verifying the data captured from the identity document comprises comparing the document attribute to a predefined document criterion, wherein the data captured from the identity document is verified when the document attribute satisfies the predefined document criterion. (¶394, “for example, by matching the requester to the photograph and signature on their driver's license, and by asking probing questions to ferret out imposters”, i.e. Examiner submits that photograph and signature are interpreted as document attributes and they are verified if the photograph of the person and signature by the person matches with the license’s photograph and signature).
Regarding Claim 6, rejection of Claim 2 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the data captured from the identity document comprises a first data item, wherein verifying the data captured from the identity document comprises: obtaining a second data item associated with the user; and determining that the first data item matches the second data item. (¶21, ¶98, i.e. first data item is a photo from a government issue id and second data item comprises a current photo of a user, which is associated with the user as it is obtained via a webcam).
Regarding Claim 7, rejection of Claim 6 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 6, wherein obtaining the second data item comprises receiving the second data item from the user device. (¶98, i.e. current photo is obtained from a webcam (user device)).
Regarding Claim 8, rejection of Claim 7 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 7, wherein the first data item is a first image of the face of the user captured from the identity document and the second data item is a second image of the face of the user. (¶98, Fig. 2A(207), ¶114, i.e. first data item is first image of the face captured from the identity document and the second data item is image of the face of the user taken via a webcam).
Regarding Claim 10, rejection of Claim 2 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the data captured from the identity document comprises a first identity data item, wherein the stored portion of the data captured comprises the first identity data item. (¶119-¶120, i.e. photo captured from the identity document is stored).
Claim 11 - Cancelled
Regarding Claim 12, rejection of Claim 11 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 12, wherein the anchor identifier comprises a type of identity document. (¶62, “government issued ID numbers”, ¶111, i.e. identification number of a passport is interpreted as anchor identifier which is a type of identity document also birth date identifies a birth certificate).
Regarding Claim 13, rejection of Claim 2 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the anchor identifier comprises a unique document identifier. (¶62, “government issued ID numbers”, ¶111, i.e. identification number of a passport is interpreted as anchor identifier which is a type of identity document also birth date identifies a birth certificate. Passport number and birth dates are unique identifiers).
Regarding Claim 14, rejection of Claim 2 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the data capture from the digital identity document is received from the user device. (Fig. 2A, ¶111, “a user interacts with a website (or app) thereby to upload prescribed aspects of personal information (for example, name, date of birth, cell phone number, address, etc.). This may also include uploading documents and/or other files”, ¶114, i.e. digital identity documents are received from the user device).
Regarding Claim 15, rejection of Claim 2 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the method further comprises storing the user credential at the user profile. (¶55, “Data indicative of the verification certificate is embedded in the user's profile. In this manner, when viewing the profile, the further user is able to view the verification certificate”, ¶104, i.e. verification certificate (user credential) is stored in a user profile).
Regarding Claim 16, rejection of Claim 2 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein presentation of the user credential to the digital identity system renders at least part of the user profile available to a presenting entity. (¶103, “when viewing the profile, the further user is able to view the verification certificate”).
Regarding Claim 17, rejection of Claim 2 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the user device stores at least one of a first identity data item associated with the identity document and the user credential. (Fig. 2, ¶398, “personal identifying information 203 (e.g. utility bills, certificates, driver's licenses), ¶399, “an identity engine 204 that holds e-credentials (electronic credentials) of the owner 220”, ¶400-¶404).
Regarding Claim 18, rejection of Claim 2 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the method further comprises publishing the user profile by storing a version of the user profile to an addressable memory location. (¶55, ¶103, “generating data indicative of a user profile that is viewable by a further user of the web service. For example, this data is maintained in a database, and able to be viewed in an on-screen rendered interface by the further user”, Fig. 4, ¶106, ¶118, i.e. user profile is stored in an addressable memory location).
Regarding Claim 19, rejection of Claim 18 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 18, wherein the method further comprises providing a link to the addressable memory location. (¶103-¶104, Fig. 4, ¶106-¶107, Fig. 6H, ¶125).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Didier Grossemy (US PGPUB. # US 2015/0007297, hereinafter “Grossemy”), and further in view of Kalman Casaba Toth (US PGPUB. # US 2015/0095999, hereinafter “Toth”), and further in view of Michael Peirce (US PAT. # US 7,690,032, hereinafter “Peirce”).
Regarding Claim 4, rejection of Claim 3 is included and for combination of Grossemy and Toth does not teach explicitly,
The method of claim 3, wherein the predefined document criterion defines a format of the document attribute.
However, Peirce teaches,
The method of claim 3, wherein the predefined document criterion defines a format of the document attribute. (CL(5), LN(25-48), CL(7), LN(61-67), CL(8), LN(1-16)).
As per KSR vs Teleflex, combining prior art elements according to known methods (device, product) to yield predictable results may be used to create a prima facie case of obviousness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the teachings of Peirce with the invention of Grossemy in view of Toth.
Grossemy in view of Toth teaches, generating a credential for a user based on verified received identification data where the credential is associated with the user profile and providing a user a generated credential based on verified personal identification information. Peirce teaches, providing a format of document identifier. Therefore, it would have been obvious to providing a format of document identifier of Peirce into the teachings of Grossemy in view of Toth so a user’s identity can be verified utilizing consolidated identifications from various identity documents provided by various government entities.
KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Regarding Claim 5, rejection of Claim 3 is included and for combination of Grossemy and Toth does not teach explicitly,
The method of claim 3, wherein the predefined document criterion is associated with an identity document type.
However, Peirce teaches,
The method of claim 3, wherein the predefined document criterion is associated with an identity document type. (Fig. 4, CL(8), LN(34-67), CL(9), LN(1-16), Fig. 5, CL(9), LN(19-67), CL(10), LN(1-20)).
As per KSR vs Teleflex, combining prior art elements according to known methods (device, product) to yield predictable results may be used to create a prima facie case of obviousness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the teachings of Peirce with the invention of Grossemy in view of Toth.
Grossemy in view of Toth teaches, generating a credential for a user based on verified received identification data where the credential is associated with the user profile and providing a user a generated credential based on verified personal identification information. Peirce teaches, providing a format of document identifier. Therefore, it would have been obvious to providing a format of document identifier of Peirce into the teachings of Grossemy in view of Toth so a user’s identity can be verified utilizing consolidated identifications from various identity documents provided by various government entities.
KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Didier Grossemy (US PGPUB. # US 2015/0007297, hereinafter “Grossemy”), and further in view of Kalman Casaba Toth (US PGPUB. # US 2015/0095999, hereinafter “Toth”), and further in view of Xie et al. (US PGPUB. # US 2013/0147845, hereinafter “Xie”).
Regarding Claim 9, rejection of Claim 7 is included and for combination of Grossemy and Toth does not teach explicitly,
The method of claim 7, wherein the second data item is stored in the user profile at the identity system, wherein obtaining the second data item comprises obtaining the second data item from the user profile.
However, Xie teaches,
The method of claim 7, wherein the second data item is stored in the user profile at the identity system, wherein obtaining the second data item comprises obtaining the second data item from the user profile. (¶8, ¶16, Fig. 2, ¶32, i.e. second data item is stored in the user profile at server).
As per KSR vs Teleflex, combining prior art elements according to known methods (device, product) to yield predictable results may be used to create a prima facie case of obviousness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the teachings of Xie with the invention of Grossemy in view of Toth.
Grossemy in view of Toth teaches, generating a credential for a user based on verified received identification data where the credential is associated with the user profile and providing a user a generated credential based on verified personal identification information. Xie, teaches providing an image of a user from the user profile. Therefore, it would have been obvious to providing an image of a user from the user profile of Xie into the teachings of Grossemy in view of Toth so a user’s identity can be verified based on the stored profile picture on a server.
KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
Kragh (US PAT. # US 9,280,684) discloses, a method verify and validate a user identity for enrollment in a secure personal dataset accessing system, wherein a personal dataset includes identifiable attributes of the user. Authenticity of an asserted user identity includes electronically verified identifiable attributes to form the personal dataset. A biometric identifier is automatically captured for validating the identifiable attributes by confirming that the asserted identity matches identifiable attributes. A traceable e-audit trail is provided in an enterprise infrastructure and bench mark performance indicator. A generated digital security element results in the user electronically receiving a password and unique electronic address assigned to the user. The digital security element is then transmitted to the user and enables electronic access to the personal dataset, the personal dataset having been authenticated through the verification and validation. The user can use a smartphone, tablet, PC or laptop to generate their Emergency Medical and Contact DataSet.
Kumar (US PGPUB. # US 2015/0237026) discloses, a method directed towards a highly secure and intelligent, end to end provisioning, authentication, and transaction system which creates and/or consolidates user data for a unified profile for the user (e.g., a person, place, organization, object, etc.) to allow for the safe, secure, and verifiable exchange of information.
Khan (US PGPUB. # US 2015/0047003) method is disclosed for user verification. From a user system personal data of a first user is provided to a server. From the server the personal data of the first user is provided to an authority server, the personal data for being verified. The personal data of the first user is verified against data stored by the authority server to provide a verification signal indicative of whether the personal data is verified as accurate or other than accurate, the authority server other than a commercial party to a commercial transaction between the first user and the server; and when the personal data of the first user corresponds with data stored by the authority server. Then the verification signal indicating that the personal data is accurate personal data of the first user is provided to the server.
Matsunaga (US PGPUB. # US 2014/0285849) discloses, a document management apparatus includes a holding unit, a searching unit, and a deletion unit. The holding unit holds print data that includes an image of a printed document and attribute information on the printed document. In a case where an image of a document to be registered and attribute information on the document to be registered are registered in the holding unit, the holding unit holds deletion information and the attribute information on the document to be registered in association with each other. In a case where the document to be registered is registered in the holding unit, the searching unit searches the print data held in the holding unit for print data having the deletion information associated with the attribute information on the registered document. The deletion unit deletes at least an image of a document included in the print data found as a result of the search.
Liberman et al. (US PGPUB. # US 2013/0036458) discloses, identity verification and identity management, and in particular, to methods and systems for identifying individuals, identifying users accessing one or more services over a network, determining member identity ratings, and based on member identity ratings that restrict access to network-based content and certain user-to-user interactions. Further, the user experience in performing identity management is simplified and enhanced as disclosed herein.
/DARSHAN I DHRUV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2498