DETAILED ACTION
This initial written action is responding to the communication dated on 10/10/2024.
Claims 1 is canceled
Claims 2-21 are submitted for examination.
Claims 2-21 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The following Information Disclosure Statements in the instant application submitted in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, and thus, have been fully considered:
IDS filed on 30 October 2024.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3 recites a limitation, “….wherein the data captured from the identity document is verified if the document attribute satisfies the predefined document criterion..”. If is a conditional statement. It is not clear whether the condition satisfied or not. Examiner suggest replacing “if” with “when or “in response to”. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer.
Claims 2, 20-21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 10,853,592. Claims 2, 20-21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 10,325,090. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Please refer to comparison table below.
Instant Application 18/912,469
US PAT. # US 10,853,592 (App. # 15/808,701)
Digital Identity System
Digital Identity System
2
A method implemented at a digital identity system, the method comprising: receiving an electronic message comprising data captured from an identity document, wherein the identity document is associated with a user; storing at least a portion of the data captured from the identity document at a user profile stored at the digital identity system in persistent electronic storage, wherein the user profile stores one or more identity data items of the user; verifying the data captured from the identity document; in response to verifying the data captured from the identity document, generating a user credential associated with the user profile; and providing, to a device of the user, the electronic message comprising the user credential.
1
A digital identity system comprising: an enrolment module configured to receive a data item captured from an identity document, and create in persistent electronic storage a digital identity comprising the data item; a credential creation module configured to issue to a user device a credential bound to the digital identity; and a validation service configured to receive an electronic message comprising the credential and identifying a target device, validate the credential, and if the credential is valid, use the credential to transmit an electronic message to the target device, so as to render the data item of the digital identity available to the target device.
2
2
The digital identity system according to claim 1 further comprising: a verification service configured to compare data captured from the identity document with an identifier captured from a user at the user device; wherein the creation of the digital identity, the issuing of the credential, or the transmitting of the electronic message to the target device is conditional on the identifier matching the data captured from the identity document.
20
. One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising computer readable instructions that, when executed on one or more processors of a digital identity system, cause the digital identity system to: receive an electronic message comprising data captured from an identity document, wherein the identity document is associated with a user; store at least a portion of the data captured from the identity document at a user profile stored at the digital identity system in persistent electronic storage, wherein the user profile stores one or more identity data items of the user; verify the data captured from the identity document; in response to verifying the data captured from the identity document, generating a user credential associated with the user profile; and provide, to a device of the user, the electronic message comprising the user credential.
20
Non-transitory computer readable storage media including code executable on a user device to implement a method comprising: capturing a data item from an identity document; creating an electronic message comprising the data item; transmitting the electronic message from the user device to a digital identity system; receiving from the digital identity system an electronic message comprising a credential, which is bound to a digital identity comprising the data item, the digital identity having been created at the digital identity system in response to the electronic message comprising the data item; and storing the credential at the user device, wherein later presentation of the credential to the digital identity system causes the data item of the digital identity to be rendered available to a device presenting the credential.
20
2
The digital identity system according to claim 1 further comprising: a verification service configured to compare data captured from the identity document with an identifier captured from a user at the user device; wherein the creation of the digital identity, the issuing of the credential, or the transmitting of the electronic message to the target device is conditional on the identifier matching the data captured from the identity document.
21
A digital identity system comprising: persistent electronic storage; and one or more processors configured to: receive an electronic message comprising data captured from an identity document, wherein the identity document is associated with a user; store at least a portion of the data captured from the identity document at a user profile stored at the digital identity system in persistent electronic storage, wherein the user profile stores one or more identity data items of the user; verify the data captured from the identity document; in response to verifying the data captured from the identity document, generating a user credential associated with the user profile; provide, to a device of the user, the electronic message comprising the user credential.
1
A digital identity system comprising: an enrolment module configured to receive a data item captured from an identity document, and create in persistent electronic storage a digital identity comprising the data item; a credential creation module configured to issue to a user device a credential bound to the digital identity; and a validation service configured to receive an electronic message comprising the credential and identifying a target device, validate the credential, and if the credential is valid, use the credential to transmit an electronic message to the target device, so as to render the data item of the digital identity available to the target device.
21
2
The digital identity system according to claim 1 further comprising: a verification service configured to compare data captured from the identity document with an identifier captured from a user at the user device; wherein the creation of the digital identity, the issuing of the credential, or the transmitting of the electronic message to the target device is conditional on the identifier matching the data captured from the identity document.
Instant Application 18/912,469
US PAT. # US 10,325,090 (App. # 15/818,538)
Digital Identity System
Digital Identity System
2
A method implemented at a digital identity system, the method comprising: receiving an electronic message comprising data captured from an identity document, wherein the identity document is associated with a user; storing at least a portion of the data captured from the identity document at a user profile stored at the digital identity system in persistent electronic storage, wherein the user profile stores one or more identity data items of the user; verifying the data captured from the identity document; in response to verifying the data captured from the identity document, generating a user credential associated with the user profile; and providing, to a device of the user, the electronic message comprising the user credential.
1
A digital identity system comprising: a computer interface for receiving electronic messages; and one or more hardware processors configured to execute: an enrolment module configured to receive a data item captured from an identity document, and create in persistent electronic storage a digital identity comprising the data item; a credential creation module configured to transmit from the digital identity system to a user device via the computer interface a credential for storing at the user device, the credential being bound to the digital identity; and a validation service configured to receive an electronic message comprising the credential and identifying a target device, validate the credential, and if the credential is valid, use the credential to transmit from the digital identity system to the target device, an electronic message so as to render the data item of the digital identity available to the target device.
2
3
A digital identity system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute a verification service configured to compare data captured from the identity document with an identifier captured from a user at the user device; and wherein the creation of the digital identity, the issuing of the credential, or the transmitting of the electronic message to the target device is conditional on the identifier matching the data captured from the identity document.
20
. One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising computer readable instructions that, when executed on one or more processors of a digital identity system, cause the digital identity system to: receive an electronic message comprising data captured from an identity document, wherein the identity document is associated with a user; store at least a portion of the data captured from the identity document at a user profile stored at the digital identity system in persistent electronic storage, wherein the user profile stores one or more identity data items of the user; verify the data captured from the identity document; in response to verifying the data captured from the identity document, generating a user credential associated with the user profile; and provide, to a device of the user, the electronic message comprising the user credential.
1
A digital identity system comprising: a computer interface for receiving electronic messages; and one or more hardware processors configured to execute: an enrolment module configured to receive a data item captured from an identity document, and create in persistent electronic storage a digital identity comprising the data item; a credential creation module configured to transmit from the digital identity system to a user device via the computer interface a credential for storing at the user device, the credential being bound to the digital identity; and a validation service configured to receive an electronic message comprising the credential and identifying a target device, validate the credential, and if the credential is valid, use the credential to transmit from the digital identity system to the target device, an electronic message so as to render the data item of the digital identity available to the target device.
20
3
A digital identity system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute a verification service configured to compare data captured from the identity document with an identifier captured from a user at the user device; and wherein the creation of the digital identity, the issuing of the credential, or the transmitting of the electronic message to the target device is conditional on the identifier matching the data captured from the identity document.
21
A digital identity system comprising: persistent electronic storage; and one or more processors configured to: receive an electronic message comprising data captured from an identity document, wherein the identity document is associated with a user; store at least a portion of the data captured from the identity document at a user profile stored at the digital identity system in persistent electronic storage, wherein the user profile stores one or more identity data items of the user; verify the data captured from the identity document; in response to verifying the data captured from the identity document, generating a user credential associated with the user profile; provide, to a device of the user, the electronic message comprising the user credential.
1
A digital identity system comprising: a computer interface for receiving electronic messages; and one or more hardware processors configured to execute: an enrolment module configured to receive a data item captured from an identity document, and create in persistent electronic storage a digital identity comprising the data item; a credential creation module configured to transmit from the digital identity system to a user device via the computer interface a credential for storing at the user device, the credential being bound to the digital identity; and a validation service configured to receive an electronic message comprising the credential and identifying a target device, validate the credential, and if the credential is valid, use the credential to transmit from the digital identity system to the target device, an electronic message so as to render the data item of the digital identity available to the target device.
21
3
A digital identity system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute a verification service configured to compare data captured from the identity document with an identifier captured from a user at the user device; and wherein the creation of the digital identity, the issuing of the credential, or the transmitting of the electronic message to the target device is conditional on the identifier matching the data captured from the identity document.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites receiving an electronic message comprising data captured from an identity document, wherein the identity document is associated with a user; storing at least a portion of the data captured from the identity document at a user profile stored at the digital identity system in persistent electronic storage, wherein the user profile stores one or more identity data items of the user; verifying the data captured from the identity document; in response to verifying the data captured from the identity document, generating a user credential associated with the user profile; and providing, to a device of the user, the electronic message comprising the user credential.
The limitations of receiving an electronic message comprising data captured from an identity document , wherein the identity document is associated with a user, verifying the data captured from the identity document, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “electronic message,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “electronic message” language, “receiving” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually receives identification document and manually provides generated credential. Similarly, the limitation of verifying the data captured from the identity document, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, a user manually compares received identification data with an official document for a verification. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – storing at least portion of the data captured from the identity document at a user profile stored at the digital identity system in persistent electronic storage. The electronic storage is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., generic computer component) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of storing at least portion of the data captured from the identity document at a user profile stored at the digital identity system in persistent electronic storage step amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Independent Claim 19 and Claim 20 recites similar limitations with additional generic computer components and therefore Claim 19 and 20 are also rejected.
The dependent Claims 3-19 do not represent significantly more and are too directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 6-8 and 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Didier Grossemy (US PGPUB. # US 2015/0007297, hereinafter “Grossemy”), and further in view of Kalman Casaba Toth (US PGPUB. # US 2015/0095999, hereinafter “Toth”).
Referring to Claims 2, 20 and 21:
Regarding Claim 2, Grossemy teaches,
A method implemented at a digital identity system, the method comprising: receiving an electronic message comprising data captured from an identity document, wherein the identity document is associated with a user; (¶54, “enable a user to upload personal information. The personal information preferably includes one or more independently verifiable identification details (for example, identification numbers of government issued identification cards), and one or more biometrically verifiable identification details (for example, photos, fingerprint scans, iris scans, and so on), ¶62-¶67, i.e. data captured from an identity document associated with a user is received)
storing at least a portion of the data captured from the identity document at a user profile stored at the digital identity system in persistent electronic storage, wherein the user profile stores one or more identity data items of the user; (Fig. 2A(204), ¶111, “upload prescribed aspects of personal information (for example, name, date of birth, cell phone number, address, etc.). This may also include uploading documents and/or other files. UI components 211 handle this user interaction process, and enable updating of a profile and identity management database”, ¶118, i.e. portion of identification data is stored in a user profile)
verifying the data captured from the identity document; (Fig. 2A(206), ¶113, “data collected from user is verified against third party sources thereby to determine whether the provided details are authentic”, Fig.2A (208), ¶115, “a process conducted thereby to enable independent verification of a document uploaded by a user”, i.e. data captured from the identity document are verified)
in response to verifying the data captured from the identity document, generating a user credential associated with the user profile; (¶54, “In the case that the user is to be registered as a verified user, the method includes defining a verification certificate for the verified user”, ¶55, “Data indicative of the verification certificate is embedded in the user's profile. In this manner, when viewing the profile, the further user is able to view the verification certificate”, ¶60, “A verification interface module 106 enables a user (referred to as a "VID user") of a client terminal, such as exemplary client terminal 120, to engage in a process thereby to obtain (or seek to obtain) a certification certificate (referred to herein as a VID certificate)”, ¶100, “all supplied details are able to be successfully verified”, “Following determination that the user is to be registered as a verified user, a verification certificate (VID certificate) for the verified user. This certificate is, in the embodiment of FIG. 1, maintained in a database of user data 170, along with other details of the VID user”, ¶104, i.e. verification certificate is interpreted as user credential which is generated and associated with the user profile) and
Grossemy does not teach explicitly,
providing, to a device of the user, the electronic message comprising the user credential.
However, Toth teaches,
providing, to a device of the user, the electronic message comprising the user credential. (Fig. 8, ¶454, “Finally, issuer 804, by means of the issuer's personal identity device 202 and mutually trusted channel 803, sends digitally sealed e-credential 809 to the personal credentialing device 202 of requester 801”, i.e. requester (user) is provided an e-credential via an electronic message).
As per KSR vs Teleflex, combining prior art elements according to known methods (device, product) to yield predictable results may be used to create a prima facie case of obviousness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the teachings of Toth with the invention of Grossemy.
Grossemy teaches, generating a credential for a user based on verified received identification data where the credential is associated with the user profile. Toth teaches, providing a user a generated credential based on verified personal identification information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to provide a user a generated credential based on verified personal identification information of Toth with generating a credential for a user based on verified received identification data where the credential is associated with the user profile of Grossemy so the user can receive services from third parties by presenting verified credentials that can be checked easily.
KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Regarding Claim 20, it is a non-transitory computer-readable media claim of above method Claim 2 and therefore Claim 20 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against Claim 2 above.
Regarding Claim 21, it is a system claim of above method Claim 2 and therefore Claim 21 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against Claim 2 above.
Grossemy teaches electronic storage (Fig. 1(170, 103)), a processor (Fig. 1(102)).
Regarding Claim 3, rejection of Claim 2 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy does not teach explicitly,
The method of claim 2, wherein the data captured from the identity document comprises a document attribute, wherein verifying the data captured from the identity document comprises comparing the document attribute to a predefined document criterion, wherein the data captured from the identity document is verified if the document attribute satisfies the predefined document criterion.
However, Toth teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the data captured from the identity document comprises a document attribute, wherein verifying the data captured from the identity document comprises comparing the document attribute to a predefined document criterion, wherein the data captured from the identity document is verified if the document attribute satisfies the predefined document criterion. (¶394, “for example, by matching the requester to the photograph and signature on their driver's license, and by asking probing questions to ferret out imposters”, i.e. Examiner submits that photograph and signature are interpreted as document attributes and they are verified if the photograph of the person and signature by the person matches with the license’s photograph and signature).
Regarding Claim 6, rejection of Claim 2 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the data captured from the identity document comprises a first data item, wherein verifying the data captured from the identity document comprises: obtaining a second data item associated with the user; and determining that the first data item matches the second data item. (¶21, ¶98, i.e. first data item is a photo from a government issue id and second data item comprises a current photo of a user, which is associated with the user as it is obtained via a webcam).
Regarding Claim 7, rejection of Claim 6 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 6, wherein obtaining the second data item comprises receiving the second data item from the user device. (¶98, i.e. current photo is obtained from a webcam (user device)).
Regarding Claim 8, rejection of Claim 7 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 7, wherein the first data item is a first image of the face of the user captured from the identity document and the second data item is a second image of the face of the user. (¶98, Fig. 2A(207), ¶114, i.e. first data item is first image of the face captured from the identity document and the second data item is image of the face of the user taken via a webcam).
Regarding Claim 10, rejection of Claim 2 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the data captured from the identity document comprises a first identity data item, wherein the stored portion of the data captured comprises the first identity data item. (¶119-¶120, i.e. photo captured from the identity document is stored).
Regarding Claim 11, rejection of Claim 2 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the data captured from the identity document indicates or comprises an anchor identifier of the identity document, wherein the stored portion of the captured data comprises the anchor identifier. (¶62, “government issued ID numbers”, ¶111, i.e. identification number of a passport is interpreted as anchor identifier).
Regarding Claim 12, rejection of Claim 11 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 11, wherein the anchor identifier comprises a type of identity document. (¶62, “government issued ID numbers”, ¶111, i.e. identification number of a passport is interpreted as anchor identifier which is a type of identity document also birth date identifies a birth certificate).
Regarding Claim 13, rejection of Claim 11 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 11, wherein the anchor identifier comprises a unique document identifier. (¶62, “government issued ID numbers”, ¶111, i.e. identification number of a passport is interpreted as anchor identifier which is a type of identity document also birth date identifies a birth certificate. Passport number and birth dates are unique identifiers).
Regarding Claim 14, rejection of Claim 2 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the data capture from the digital identity document is received from the user device. (Fig. 2A, ¶111, “a user interacts with a website (or app) thereby to upload prescribed aspects of personal information (for example, name, date of birth, cell phone number, address, etc.). This may also include uploading documents and/or other files”, ¶114, i.e. digital identity documents are received from the user device).
Regarding Claim 15, rejection of Claim 2 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the method further comprises storing the user credential at the user profile. (¶55, “Data indicative of the verification certificate is embedded in the user's profile. In this manner, when viewing the profile, the further user is able to view the verification certificate”, ¶104, i.e. verification certificate (user credential) is stored in a user profile).
Regarding Claim 16, rejection of Claim 2 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein presentation of the user credential to the digital identity system renders at least part of the user profile available to a presenting entity. (¶103, “when viewing the profile, the further user is able to view the verification certificate”).
Regarding Claim 17, rejection of Claim 2 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the user device stores at least one of a first identity data item associated with the identity document and the user credential. (Fig. 2, ¶398, “personal identifying information 203 (e.g. utility bills, certificates, driver's licenses), ¶399, “an identity engine 204 that holds e-credentials (electronic credentials) of the owner 220”, ¶400-¶404).
Regarding Claim 18, rejection of Claim 2 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the method further comprises publishing the user profile by storing a version of the user profile to an addressable memory location. (¶55, ¶103, “generating data indicative of a user profile that is viewable by a further user of the web service. For example, this data is maintained in a database, and able to be viewed in an on-screen rendered interface by the further user”, Fig. 4, ¶106, ¶118, i.e. user profile is stored in an addressable memory location).
Regarding Claim 19, rejection of Claim 18 is included and for the same motivation Grossemy teaches,
The method of claim 18, wherein the method further comprises providing a link to the addressable memory location. (¶103-¶104, Fig. 4, ¶106-¶107, Fig. 6H, ¶125).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Didier Grossemy (US PGPUB. # US 2015/0007297, hereinafter “Grossemy”), and further in view of Kalman Casaba Toth (US PGPUB. # US 2015/0095999, hereinafter “Toth”), and further in view of Michael Peirce (US PAT. # US 7,690,032, hereinafter “Peirce”).
Regarding Claim 4, rejection of Claim 3 is included and for combination of Grossemy and Toth does not teach explicitly,
The method of claim 3, wherein the predefined document criterion defines a format of the document attribute.
However, Peirce teaches,
The method of claim 3, wherein the predefined document criterion defines a format of the document attribute. (CL(5), LN(25-48), CL(7), LN(61-67), CL(8), LN(1-16)).
As per KSR vs Teleflex, combining prior art elements according to known methods (device, product) to yield predictable results may be used to create a prima facie case of obviousness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the teachings of Peirce with the invention of Grossemy in view of Toth.
Grossemy in view of Toth teaches, generating a credential for a user based on verified received identification data where the credential is associated with the user profile and providing a user a generated credential based on verified personal identification information. Peirce teaches, providing a format of document identifier. Therefore, it would have been obvious to providing a format of document identifier of Peirce into the teachings of Grossemy in view of Toth so a user’s identity can be verified utilizing consolidated identifications from various identity documents provided by various government entities.
KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Regarding Claim 5, rejection of Claim 3 is included and for combination of Grossemy and Toth does not teach explicitly,
The method of claim 3, wherein the predefined document criterion is associated with an identity document type.
However, Peirce teaches,
The method of claim 3, wherein the predefined document criterion is associated with an identity document type. (Fig. 4, CL(8), LN(34-67), CL(9), LN(1-16), Fig. 5, CL(9), LN(19-67), CL(10), LN(1-20)).
As per KSR vs Teleflex, combining prior art elements according to known methods (device, product) to yield predictable results may be used to create a prima facie case of obviousness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the teachings of Peirce with the invention of Grossemy in view of Toth.
Grossemy in view of Toth teaches, generating a credential for a user based on verified received identification data where the credential is associated with the user profile and providing a user a generated credential based on verified personal identification information. Peirce teaches, providing a format of document identifier. Therefore, it would have been obvious to providing a format of document identifier of Peirce into the teachings of Grossemy in view of Toth so a user’s identity can be verified utilizing consolidated identifications from various identity documents provided by various government entities.
KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Didier Grossemy (US PGPUB. # US 2015/0007297, hereinafter “Grossemy”), and further in view of Kalman Casaba Toth (US PGPUB. # US 2015/0095999, hereinafter “Toth”), and further in view of Xie et al. (US PGPUB. # US 2013/0147845, hereinafter “Xie”).
Regarding Claim 9, rejection of Claim 7 is included and for combination of Grossemy and Toth does not teach explicitly,
The method of claim 7, wherein the second data item is stored in the user profile at the identity system, wherein obtaining the second data item comprises obtaining the second data item from the user profile.
However, Xie teaches,
The method of claim 7, wherein the second data item is stored in the user profile at the identity system, wherein obtaining the second data item comprises obtaining the second data item from the user profile. (¶8, ¶16, Fig. 2, ¶32, i.e. second data item is stored in the user profile at server).
As per KSR vs Teleflex, combining prior art elements according to known methods (device, product) to yield predictable results may be used to create a prima facie case of obviousness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the teachings of Xie with the invention of Grossemy in view of Toth.
Grossemy in view of Toth teaches, generating a credential for a user based on verified received identification data where the credential is associated with the user profile and providing a user a generated credential based on verified personal identification information. Xie, teaches providing an image of a user from the user profile. Therefore, it would have been obvious to providing an image of a user from the user profile of Xie into the teachings of Grossemy in view of Toth so a user’s identity can be verified based on the stored profile picture on a server.
KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
Kragh (US PAT. # US 9,280,684) discloses, a method verify and validate a user identity for enrollment in a secure personal dataset accessing system, wherein a personal dataset includes identifiable attributes of the user. Authenticity of an asserted user identity includes electronically verified identifiable attributes to form the personal dataset. A biometric identifier is automatically captured for validating the identifiable attributes by confirming that the asserted identity matches identifiable attributes. A traceable e-audit trail is provided in an enterprise infrastructure and bench mark performance indicator. A generated digital security element results in the user electronically receiving a password and unique electronic address assigned to the user. The digital security element is then transmitted to the user and enables electronic access to the personal dataset, the personal dataset having been authenticated through the verification and validation. The user can use a smartphone, tablet, PC or laptop to generate their Emergency Medical and Contact DataSet.
Kumar (US PGPUB. # US 2015/0237026) discloses, a method directed towards a highly secure and intelligent, end to end provisioning, authentication, and transaction system which creates and/or consolidates user data for a unified profile for the user (e.g., a person, place, organization, object, etc.) to allow for the safe, secure, and verifiable exchange of information.
Khan (US PGPUB. # US 2015/0047003) method is disclosed for user verification. From a user system personal data of a first user is provided to a server. From the server the personal data of the first user is provided to an authority server, the personal data for being verified. The personal data of the first user is verified against data stored by the authority server to provide a verification signal indicative of whether the personal data is verified as accurate or other than accurate, the authority server other than a commercial party to a commercial transaction between the first user and the server; and when the personal data of the first user corresponds with data stored by the authority server. Then the verification signal indicating that the personal data is accurate personal data of the first user is provided to the server.
Matsunaga (US PGPUB. # US 2014/0285849) discloses, a document management apparatus includes a holding unit, a searching unit, and a deletion unit. The holding unit holds print data that includes an image of a printed document and attribute information on the printed document. In a case where an image of a document to be registered and attribute information on the document to be registered are registered in the holding unit, the holding unit holds deletion information and the attribute information on the document to be registered in association with each other. In a case where the document to be registered is registered in the holding unit, the searching unit searches the print data held in the holding unit for print data having the deletion information associated with the attribute information on the registered document. The deletion unit deletes at least an image of a document included in the print data found as a result of the search.
Liberman et al. (US PGPUB. # US 2013/0036458) discloses, identity verification and identity management, and in particular, to methods and systems for identifying individuals, identifying users accessing one or more services over a network, determining member identity ratings, and based on member identity ratings that restrict access to network-based content and certain user-to-user interactions. Further, the user experience in performing identity management is simplified and enhanced as disclosed herein.
/DARSHAN I DHRUV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2498