Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1-12 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments that Cao, Liang-kuo et al and (CN 1484070A) cannot be combined because the optical functions and system purposes of the corresponding components are different is not persuasive.
Cao, Liang-kuo et al and (CN 1484070A) are both directed to optical structures for reflective display devices and address the common problem of controlling polarization to improve display contrast and reduce glare. (CN 1484070A) discloses the use of polarizers in a front light module to reduce stray light, and Cao, Liang-kuo et al and (CN 1484070A) discloses quarter wave plate in combination with a polarizer to improve polarization efficiency in reflective displays. The quarter wave plate of (CN 1484070A) performs a known and predictable polarization control function that is not limited to a particular illumination configuration and is equally applicable to the front light optical path of Cao, Liang-kuo et al and (CN 1484070A). Therefore the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3,7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao, Liang-kuo et al (CN 216748375 U) in view of (CN 1484070A)
Regarding Claim 1,
Cao, Liang-kuo et al discloses (Drawing 1 to Drawing 2) a front light module (100), a first polarizing module (TA2), and a reflective display unit (200), wherein: the front light module comprises a light guide plate (100) and a light source (110), and the light source (110) is disposed next to a light incident surface of the light guide plate (100); and the first polarizing module (TA2) comprises a first polarizer (140) and there is a first air gap layer (as shown in the drawing) between the light guide plate (100) and the first quarter wave plate (first quarter wave plate is on the polarizer so yes the air gap is between these two elements); wherein the light guide plate (100) is located between the first polarizing module (TA2) and the reflective display unit (200).
Cao, Liang-kuo et al does not disclose and a first quarter wave plate, wherein the first quarter wave plate is located between the light guide plate and the first polarizer.
(CN 1484070A) discloses (Fig. 5) a first quarter wave plate (3b), wherein the first quarter wave plate is located between the light guide plate (5) and the first polarizer (4b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cao, Lian-Kuo et al to include (CN 1484070A)’s first quarter wave plate (3b), wherein the first quarter wave plate is located between the light guide plate (5) and the first polarizer (4b) motivated by the desire to get the polarization state of the second polarized light to return to its initial state. (ABSTRACT)
Regarding Claim 3,
In addition to Cao, Liang-kuo et al and (CN 1484070A), Cao, Liang-kuo et al discloses (Drawing 1 to Drawing 2) wherein an included angle between an optical axis of the first quarter wave plate and an absorption axis of the first polarizer is 45 degrees.(“… On the other hand, in this embodiment, the display polarizer 210 has a first penetrating axis TA1, the front light polarizing plate 140 has a second penetrating axis TA2, the first penetrating axis TA1 is parallel to the second penetrating axis TA2 (as shown in FIG. 2). In other embodiments, the first penetrating axis TA1 and the second penetrating axis TA2 included angle θ can be less than or equal to 45 degrees (as shown in FIG. 3). In a preferred embodiment, the included angle theta can be less than or equal to 10 degrees…”)
Regarding Claim 7,
In addition to Cao, Liang-kuo et al and (CN 1484070A), Cao, Liang-kuo et al discloses (Drawing 1 to Drawing 2) wherein the reflective display unit comprises a reflective liquid crystal display panel (200) and a second polarizing module (210), wherein the second polarizing module (210) is located between the reflective liquid crystal display panel (200) and the light guide plate (100), the second polarizing module comprises a second polarizer (210) and a second quarter wave plate, and the second polarizer is located between the reflective liquid crystal display panel and the second quarter wave plate (as taught by (CN 1484070A)).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao, Liang-kuo et al (CN 216748375 U) in view of (CN 1484070A) in view of (JP4190205B2)
Regarding Claim 2,
Cao, Lian-kuo et al and (CN 1484070A) discloses everything as disclosed above.
Cao, Liang-kuo et al and (CN 1484070A) do not discloses wherein an in-plane phase retardation of the light guide plate is less than 50 nm.
(JP4190205B2) discloses wherein an in-plane phase retardation of the light guide plate is less than 50 nm (“… If the slow axes of the second light guide layer 120b are substantially aligned in the plane as in the light guide 120 ′ shown in FIGS. 9A and 9B, the second light guide layer Even if the retardation of 120b exceeds 15 nm, the light utilization efficiency can be improved. Conversely, as in the light guide 120 shown in FIG. 1, if the retardation of the second light guide layer 120b is 15 nm or less, the slow axes of the second light guide layer 120b may not be aligned in the plane. , Light utilization efficiency can be improved. In FIG. 6, the slow axis of the second light guide layer 120 b (light guide plate 128) is arranged so as to form an angle of approximately 45 ° with respect to the ridge line 126 r of the prism 126 a formed on the prism sheet 127. Shows the case…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cao, Lian-Kuo et al and (CN 1484070A) to include (JP4190205B2) in-plane phase retardation of the light guide plate is less than 50 nm motivated by the desire to efficiently improve light utilization.
Claim(s) 4,5,11,12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao, Liang-kuo et al (CN 216748375 U) in view of (CN 1484070A) in view of Taguchi (US 20190310488)
Regarding Claim 4,5,11,12,
Cao, Lian-kuo et al and (CN 1484070A) discloses everything as disclosed above.
Cao, Liang-kuo et al and (CN 1484070A) do not discloses wherein the first quarter wave plate and half waveplate is a reverse wavelength dispersion material.
Taguchi discloses wherein the first quarter wave plate and half waveplate is a reverse wavelength dispersion material [0114].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cao, Lian-Kuo et al and (CN 1484070A) to include Taguchi’s first quarter wave plate and half waveplate is a reverse wavelength dispersion material [0114] motivated by the desire to provide a good suitable reverse dispersion of phase differences [0115].
Claim(s) 6,8, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao, Liang-kuo et al (CN 216748375 U) in view of (CN 1484070A) in view of (JP 2020534563 A5)
Regarding Claim 6,8,
Cao, Lian-kuo et al and (CN 1484070A) discloses everything as disclosed above.
Cao, Liang-kuo et al and (CN 1484070A) do not discloses wherein the reflective display unit is an electrophoresis display panel, the display device further comprises an optical adhesive layer, and the optical adhesive layer is bonded between the light guide plate and the electrophoresis display panel. Regarding Claim 8, wherein the display device further comprises an optical adhesive layer, the optical adhesive layer is bonded between the light guide plate and the second quarter wave plate.
(JP 2020534563 A5) discloses wherein the reflective display unit is an electrophoresis display panel, the display device further comprises an optical adhesive layer, and the optical adhesive layer is bonded between the light guide plate and the electrophoresis display panel.(“… The third optically transparent adhesive layer 132 may be positioned between the light guide 130 and the flexible electrophoresis display 134, or the flexible electrophoresis display 134 may be coupled to the light guide 130. good. Each of the optically transparent adhesive layers may consist of the same or different materials or adhesives. The flexible electrophoresis display 134 may be an electronic ink (“e-ink”) that may include a plurality of different layers, as shown in an exemplary embodiment in subsequent figures. Some embodiments may include an electrode layer, a touch layer, a microcapsule layer, a thin film transistor (TFT) layer, a backplane substrate or post-protection sheet layer, and / or other or different components or layers. One or more color adjustable light emitting diodes (LEDs) 158 may be positioned adjacent to one or more surfaces of the light guide 130…”) Regarding Claim 8, it’s obvious to have an adhesive to combine anything together thus, wherein the display device further comprises an optical adhesive layer, the optical adhesive layer is bonded between the light guide plate and the second quarter wave plate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cao, Lian-Kuo et al and (CN 1484070A) to include (JP 2020534563 A5)’s reflective display unit is an electrophoresis display panel, the display device further comprises an optical adhesive layer, and the optical adhesive layer is bonded between the light guide plate and the electrophoresis display motivated by the desire to secure the two elements together.
Claim(s) 9,10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao, Liang-kuo et al (CN 216748375 U) in view of (CN 1484070A) in view of Zhong et al (US 20210405457)
Regarding Claim 9,10,
Cao, Lian-kuo et al and (CN 1484070A) discloses everything as disclosed above.
Cao, Liang-kuo et al and (CN 1484070A) do not discloses Regarding Claim 9, wherein an absorption axis of the second polarizer is parallel to an absorption axis of the first polarizer, and an optical axis of the first quarter wave plate is orthogonal to an optical axis of the second quarter wave plate. Regarding Claim 10, wherein an absorption axis of the second polarizer is orthogonal to an absorption axis of the first polarizer, and an optical axis of the first quarter wave plate is parallel to an optical axis of the second quarter wave plate.
Zhong et al discloses Regarding Claim 9, wherein an absorption axis of the second polarizer is parallel to an absorption axis of the first polarizer, and an optical axis of the first quarter wave plate is orthogonal to an optical axis of the second quarter wave plate. Regarding Claim 10, wherein an absorption axis of the second polarizer is orthogonal to an absorption axis of the first polarizer, and an optical axis of the first quarter wave plate is parallel to an optical axis of the second quarter wave plate (Claim 1 and Claim 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cao, Lian-Kuo et al and (CN 1484070A) to include Zhong et al’s Regarding Claim 9, wherein an absorption axis of the second polarizer is parallel to an absorption axis of the first polarizer, and an optical axis of the first quarter wave plate is orthogonal to an optical axis of the second quarter wave plate. Regarding Claim 10, wherein an absorption axis of the second polarizer is orthogonal to an absorption axis of the first polarizer, and an optical axis of the first quarter wave plate is parallel to an optical axis of the second quarter wave plate (Claim 1 and Claim 5) motivated by the desire to provide a light and thin low power consumption device [0002].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871